Samsung UNXXF6400 Thread - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 881 Old 07-18-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
emporio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Golden State
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

I have a Samsung UN75F6400. I never could set the contrast to optimal level. I have it for about 10 months.

I bought Disney WOW disk yesterday and it confirmed it. Before that i used the AVSHD disk from AV forum and i got same results. When i go to section for configuring the contrast, the "ideal star" in the middle is not even close to be "almost not visible". Or using AVSHD Disk only 4 last vertical bars i am able to make disappear. My contrast is at the 100%.
Do you have any idea how to fix this? All other settings i am able to configure just fine.

Do you think i have bad TV panel?

TY in advance

Dude seriously!

Last edited by emporio; 07-18-2014 at 10:19 AM.
emporio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 881 Old 07-26-2014, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
Mozts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by emporio View Post
Hi Guys,

I have a Samsung UN75F6400. I never could set the contrast to optimal level. I have it for about 10 months.

I bought Disney WOW disk yesterday and it confirmed it. Before that i used the AVSHD disk from AV forum and i got same results. When i go to section for configuring the contrast, the "ideal star" in the middle is not even close to be "almost not visible". Or using AVSHD Disk only 4 last vertical bars i am able to make disappear. My contrast is at the 100%.
Do you have any idea how to fix this? All other settings i am able to configure just fine.

Do you think i have bad TV panel?

TY in advance
I came here to ask the exact same question. I'm newbie on this pattern thing, but I have two units of F6400(46" and 60") and neither of them can reach 235 white bar and consequently color clipping pattern also couldn't be fixed. I'm using AVS MP4 pattern, which I'm grateful for and have been very useful, but toying around with every setting found on F6400 and couldn't even begin to make White clipping pattern to work. Maybe its just a native problem of the model?

There is also White Balance and White Balance 10p options to work with on Samsung Movie Mode, but oddly enough It doesn't look like they relate to white level. I'm beginning to wonder if I should use that nasty Dynamic Contrast... The funny thing is, I'm using Movie mode for the patterns of course, but when I toyed around with a mode that makes colors look like a bad acid trip, the Dynamic Mode, usually understood to be over-contrasted, over-satured, and pretty much over-everything, white clipping came close to 235 level. Go figure that one...

So far I've just used some good blu-ray movies(Iron Man 3, Avatar, Man of Steel, Hunger Games Catching Fire...) to set the contrast subjectively. To my eye in a dark room and no bias lighting, pleasure level seems to be higher 70 or lower 80. Maybe it has something to do with the 120Hz panel used by Samsung doubling the 60Hz input signal with some odd cadence making 235+ bars part of the frame they shouldn't be?? I really don't know. I tried the same pattern on my Windows PC with LG E2260, an old low-end 60Hz TN monitor and it worked like a charm.

Last edited by Mozts; 07-26-2014 at 03:32 AM.
Mozts is offline  
post #873 of 881 Old 07-26-2014, 05:36 AM
Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rastapapa View Post
Hello,
I have a PC (running XBMC & spotify) and cable hooked up to the hdmi inputs of the tv. I have the rca audio outputs from the TV going to the inputs of an old receiver to power two speakers. My question is that there are times when I just want the audio from Spotify to go through the tv and to my speakers, but not have the TV on. Whats the best way to darken or turn off the screen and still have audio playing through the rca audio outputs? I havent tried going into settings and just darkening it. I imagine that will work, but was wondering if there was another way.
There is a menu option specifically for turning the screen off. You can do so by going into the PICTURE menu option and scrolling down to SCREEN OFF. Simply choose this option and the screen will turn off but allow the audio to continue. Press any key on the remote except POWER or the VOLUME keys to turn the screen back on.
soulrider is offline  
post #874 of 881 Old 07-29-2014, 08:56 AM
Member
 
SilentHill89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: England, Lancashire, Bolton
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is their any gaming settings anywhere guys? I'm not satisfied with the out of the box picture & I can't find any HD tv channels :\
SilentHill89 is offline  
post #875 of 881 Old 07-29-2014, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Ketnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
What combination of settings do I use to disable or minimize the annoying microdimming?
Ketnis is offline  
post #876 of 881 Old 08-04-2014, 07:32 PM
Newbie
 
snakechile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there!

I have a 40F6400 and i notice that the led, when its turned off, it reflects a lot of light. Is this normal? Does that neccesarily means that the tv have high amount of light reflections when its in use or the fact that the tv, when is turned off, its like a mirror doesn't neccesarily means that?

Does anyone notice the same thing when the tv its shut down?

Thanks
snakechile is offline  
post #877 of 881 Old 08-06-2014, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
surcix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello. I just sold my UE40F5300 that had the blue ghosting problem, lost some money in the deal, but my soul is at rest now. It had the low quality H panel from Sharp. I am looking now for a new tv, and i'm thinking of the 40F6400. I would like to check the Service Mode before I buy so I would like to know which panel should I look for. I assume A model panel, the one from Samsung. Is there anything else I should look for ?
Thank you in advance and hope you can clarify my problem. Sorry if the question has been asked before but a read all the pages in the last few days, but taking account that I really really lost a lot of money in this deal here in Romania, I would not like to get screwed again.
surcix is offline  
post #878 of 881 Old 08-11-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
shadowscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been getting something weird happening I think even since I updated to version 1200 a few months back. While on either Component of HDMI 2 (not sure which one is causing it) the tv will power cycle. Just turn black, wait a couple seconds, and then turn back on. Not sure what is causing this. I will be moving my power plug from my cable box to my main outlet, but it has never happened before the update so it seems unlikely that this will be the cause. Any advice is helpful. Thanks.
shadowscott is offline  
post #879 of 881 Old 08-14-2014, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
Bill-Jr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unexpected Power Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowscott View Post
Been getting something weird happening I think even since I updated to version 1200 a few months back. While on either Component of HDMI 2 (not sure which one is causing it) the tv will power cycle. Just turn black, wait a couple seconds, and then turn back on. Not sure what is causing this. I will be moving my power plug from my cable box to my main outlet, but it has never happened before the update so it seems unlikely that this will be the cause. Any advice is helpful. Thanks.
Funny that you should mention this. The same exact thing just happened to me a few days ago while watching a movie through HDMI 2 (about 1.75 hrs into a 2.5 hr movie). I was just starting to research on this site and came across your post. First time this has happened. I'm also on firmware 1200, which was upgraded a couple of months ago. My receiver and DVR (PC) did not power down at all. I did recently see a notification banner for a couple of days on the top of the display but I don't recall it mentioning to expect a power-reset. Wondering if a change was made which forced a power-reset? Problem has not re-appeared since, to this point. I'm going to keep an eye on it and check other forums for other reports. Hopefully others will chime in as well.

Current Setup:  Samsung UN40f6400, Onkyo TX-NR717
Bill-Jr is offline  
post #880 of 881 Old 08-15-2014, 06:16 AM
Member
 
shadowscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill-Jr View Post
Funny that you should mention this. The same exact thing just happened to me a few days ago while watching a movie through HDMI 2 (about 1.75 hrs into a 2.5 hr movie). I was just starting to research on this site and came across your post. First time this has happened. I'm also on firmware 1200, which was upgraded a couple of months ago. My receiver and DVR (PC) did not power down at all. I did recently see a notification banner for a couple of days on the top of the display but I don't recall it mentioning to expect a power-reset. Wondering if a change was made which forced a power-reset? Problem has not re-appeared since, to this point. I'm going to keep an eye on it and check other forums for other reports. Hopefully others will chime in as well.
It happened a few times over the span of a few weeks (I don't use my tv much but it was happening on HDMI2 when I was playing Xbox.)

Definitely come back here if you notice the problem again or see any news on it.
shadowscott is offline  
post #881 of 881 Old 08-15-2014, 07:29 PM
Member
 
SilentHill89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: England, Lancashire, Bolton
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do u get Freeview HD on? The tv supports it but it doesn't tune any in
SilentHill89 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un46f6400 46 Inch 3d Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Sony Bravia Kdl32bx320 32 Inch 720p Lcd Hdtv Black , Samsung Un46f6300 46 Inch Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung 50 Inch Led Hdtv Un50eh6000
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off