Official Samsung UNxxF7500 Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 277 Old 04-14-2013, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys; I searched around and didn't see a thread anywhere. I just placed my order via Amazon for the TV and it should be here Friday!!!
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 277 Old 04-15-2013, 05:19 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be ordering one (UN55f7500) within the next week. I'm looking forward to a lively thread.
seyclone is offline  
post #3 of 277 Old 04-15-2013, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered the 60
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #4 of 277 Old 04-17-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it is coming friday but i will be working all weekend because our office is moving floors; makes a lot of fun for this network admin!
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #5 of 277 Old 04-22-2013, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Superguy25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm taking a look at this and the F8000 (as well as the F8500 plasma).

Aside from the "lower" clear motion rate and the different micro dimming (pro vs ultimate precision black), is there any other difference that I'm not aware of?

Is it worth another $300 to go up to the F8000?
Superguy25 is offline  
post #6 of 277 Old 04-22-2013, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the first TV i received was damaged; CEVA rejected it; amazon is sending me a new one
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #7 of 277 Old 04-23-2013, 11:25 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally did it! I placed an order for a UN55f7500 with buydig.com. I should have it this week.
seyclone is offline  
post #8 of 277 Old 04-25-2013, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mine will be arriving today!
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #9 of 277 Old 04-25-2013, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its here!

RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #10 of 277 Old 04-26-2013, 04:24 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine yesterday. So far, it looks good - the only adjustment that I made was to set the picture to movie mode and lower the back light about 3 clicks.

I am having a problem, though. When I try to play a movie off of my hard drive on the network, I can get into the directories, see the titles, but when I try to start the movie, the screen says "loading" and never starts. I've tried several movie files all with different formats (MKV, MP4, AVI, etc) but non of them play. This is a major problem. These files all play fine going thru the Sony streamer attached to my old Sharp 37" in the bedroom.

Should I address this question to another forum?
seyclone is offline  
post #11 of 277 Old 04-26-2013, 05:53 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seyclone View Post

Got mine yesterday. So far, it looks good - the only adjustment that I made was to set the picture to movie mode and lower the back light about 3 clicks.

I am having a problem, though. When I try to play a movie off of my hard drive on the network, I can get into the directories, see the titles, but when I try to start the movie, the screen says "loading" and never starts. I've tried several movie files all with different formats (MKV, MP4, AVI, etc) but non of them play. This is a major problem. These files all play fine going thru the Sony streamer attached to my old Sharp 37" in the bedroom.

I moved the hard drive upstairs to the media room and hooked it up the the USB port on the TV. Everything worked just fine - A 3D 1080P copy of Avatar came up and popped into 3D in about 2 seconds - looks awesome. So, it looks like the problem is a compatibility issue between my Router's USB/DLNA port and the Samsung TV. Any ideas anyone?
seyclone is offline  
post #12 of 277 Old 04-26-2013, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Porky56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question..recently my Samsung55d7000 stop working and I just got a called from geek squad telling me that I qualify to get a new tv since they couldn't fix it..and I'm pretty sure when I bought this tv 2 years ago the best buy guy told me that with the geek squad protection was that if they couldn't fix it I would get the newest model of that year..so looks like I would be getting this years model..I'm just unsure if its gonna be this one or the f8000 model I think it's gonna be this model just wanted to ask if ya would know just don't want to get psyched about getting the f8000 ..
Porky56 is offline  
post #13 of 277 Old 04-26-2013, 05:46 PM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seyclone View Post

I moved the hard drive upstairs to the media room and hooked it up the the USB port on the TV. Everything worked just fine - A 3D 1080P copy of Avatar came up and popped into 3D in about 2 seconds - looks awesome. So, it looks like the problem is a compatibility issue between my Router's USB/DLNA port and the Samsung TV. Any ideas anyone?

I was over at Costco this afternoon and they have A Sony BDP-BX510 3D Blueray player for $120.00. I need to get one anyway. This might be the solution to my DLNA problem. Sony products handle the interface well. I'll just use the DVD player to pull in the videos off of the hard drive attached to the router. This could save a lot of hours of questions and messing around with configurations.

I'll keep everybody posted - (that is, if anybody is interested).
seyclone is offline  
post #14 of 277 Old 04-27-2013, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do you download and install apps? i cant seem to do this; do i need an account or something first?
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #15 of 277 Old 04-28-2013, 04:31 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RawisTheGameHhH View Post

how do you download and install apps? i cant seem to do this; do i need an account or something first?

You have to set up an account with Samsung. Then, as soon as you select an APP, they will ask for credit card info. Good Luck!
seyclone is offline  
post #16 of 277 Old 04-28-2013, 05:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i got it working last night; the default apps werent loading for some reason; but finally started to populate!
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #17 of 277 Old 04-29-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seyclone View Post

I was over at Costco this afternoon and they have A Sony BDP-BX510 3D Blueray player for $120.00. I need to get one anyway. This might be the solution to my DLNA problem. Sony products handle the interface well. I'll just use the DVD player to pull in the videos off of the hard drive attached to the router. This could save a lot of hours of questions and messing around with configurations.

I'll keep everybody posted - (that is, if anybody is interested).

Installed the Sony player - everything works perfectly. The Sony sees the DLNA drive and feeds the stream to the Samsung with no problems. The DVD player comes with its own string of APPs and media sources, some in interesting languages. The combo works well. When the DVD player is turned on the HDMI connection turns on the F7500 - neat.

The picture on this TV is so good, I may not even bother to run the calibration disk.
seyclone is offline  
post #18 of 277 Old 04-29-2013, 07:56 PM
Member
 
smooth tha boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porky56 View Post

Quick question..recently my Samsung55d7000 stop working and I just got a called from geek squad telling me that I qualify to get a new tv since they couldn't fix it..and I'm pretty sure when I bought this tv 2 years ago the best buy guy told me that with the geek squad protection was that if they couldn't fix it I would get the newest model of that year..so looks like I would be getting this years model..I'm just unsure if its gonna be this one or the f8000 model I think it's gonna be this model just wanted to ask if ya would know just don't want to get psyched about getting the f8000 ..
They definitely won't give you the f8000. there's a comparable sku finder they use and more then likely it'll pull up this model the f7100 or f6400. My guess though is possible the f7100
smooth tha boss is offline  
post #19 of 277 Old 04-30-2013, 07:09 AM
Member
 
CNOLA85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Best Buy not selling this TV? I dont see it on there website or in the Best Buy by me, but they had the f8000 and f7100 out.
CNOLA85 is offline  
post #20 of 277 Old 04-30-2013, 08:00 AM
Member
 
DTS75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Long time lurker, first time poster. Love this forum.

Got this TV last week and so far, so good. I'm wondering what universal remote, if any, do folks plan on using with their setups? I've got a Harmony 900 that I'm just about to set up. I wonder how good it is going to be, considering the Sammy's touchpad.

I love the ability and ease of pairing my Galaxy S3 and Nexus 7 tablet with it. With a push of a button, I can easily view videos taken on my cell (and they look great) or continue watching a YouTube video from my tablet on the TV.
Quote:
Originally Posted by seyclone View Post

Installed the Sony player - everything works perfectly. The Sony sees the DLNA drive and feeds the stream to the Samsung with no problems. The DVD player comes with its own string of APPs and media sources, some in interesting languages. The combo works well. When the DVD player is turned on the HDMI connection turns on the F7500 - neat.

The picture on this TV is so good, I may not even bother to run the calibration disk.

And thanks for going through the motions regarding the media center, Seyclone. That will definitely help me when I bring my media center back into the fold. Sort of makes sense too, in that you're watching a movie...use the movie player.
DTS75 is offline  
post #21 of 277 Old 05-03-2013, 10:28 AM
Member
 
grinchmcg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNOLA85 View Post

Is Best Buy not selling this TV? I dont see it on there website or in the Best Buy by me, but they had the f8000 and f7100 out.

I am thinking of getting the un60F7500 or un60F7100. My local Best Buy also only has the F800 and F7100. When I asked one of the blue shirts about the F7500 he told me that he didn't think they were going to carry that model.
grinchmcg1 is offline  
post #22 of 277 Old 05-06-2013, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oooo an update
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #23 of 277 Old 05-06-2013, 10:14 PM
Senior Member
 
adgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Can anyone verify if you have the smart led option under picture? Very curious on image control menu option differences...
adgrimes is offline  
post #24 of 277 Old 05-07-2013, 05:58 PM
Member
 
montana girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi everyone, Costco has the Samsung 55" F7450A for sale for $2179, is this the same as the F7500?
montana girl is offline  
post #25 of 277 Old 05-08-2013, 09:11 AM
Member
 
seyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RawisTheGameHhH View Post

oooo an update

Actually, 2 updates - first a firmware update - then a camera update. I have no idea of what the change/additions were.
seyclone is offline  
post #26 of 277 Old 05-08-2013, 07:22 PM
Member
 
DTS75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by adgrimes View Post

Can anyone verify if you have the smart led option under picture? Very curious on image control menu option differences...

There is no Smart LED under the Picture menu.
adgrimes likes this.
DTS75 is offline  
post #27 of 277 Old 05-14-2013, 08:31 PM
Member
 
DTS75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Logitech just added the F7500 to their database. When I first got the TV, I had to learn multiple commands. Then I reprogrammed the remote (my 900 started locking up when I would execute an activity, so I erased all programming) and noticed that I didn't have to re learn all the commands. Additionally, all of the input switching was now working correctly.

Problem now is the Smart Hub button is not in the native programming and the remote refuses to learn the command. It will learn other commands from the remote, just not the Smart Hub button. And I can see the Smart Hub button working, because it works on the TV when I'm trying to get the 900 to learn.

As info. I'll update later if I can get it working.
DTS75 is offline  
post #28 of 277 Old 05-18-2013, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
RawisTheGameHhH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for those that own the TV; what settings are you using?
RawisTheGameHhH is offline  
post #29 of 277 Old 05-21-2013, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kennedale, Tx
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Best Buy don't sale the Samsung LNXXF7500 because they want to sale the higher end F8000. There are only 3 differences between the 2, and they both use the same panel.

1. the F7500 has a swivel stand, F8000 doesn't.
2. The F7500 has the 960 clear motion, F8000 has 1200 clear motion.
3. F7500 has Micro Dimming Pro, the F8000 has Micro Dimming Ultimate with Precision Black Local Dimming.

everything else between the 2 set's are the same. I would rather buy the F7500 and save a hundred dollars myself.

Sony 55W900A
Sony S5100 Blu-ray
Yamaha Aventage A1030
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RC-62 II
Klipsch RS-52 II
Klipsch RB-51 II (Front Preference)
SVS PB-2000
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #30 of 277 Old 05-21-2013, 08:45 AM
Member
 
Jerry98vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RawisTheGameHhH View Post

for those that own the TV; what settings are you using?

Here is the base settings for all my Samsungs, I tweak a bit for each TV, every TV is different in it's own way.

Picture mode: Standard
Backlight: 16
Contrast: 98
Brightness:55
Sharpness: 42
Color: 51/49

Advanced Settings
Black tone: Darkest
Dynamic Contrast: High
Gamma: -1
Expert Pattern: Off
RGB: Off
Color Space: Native
10P White: Off
Flesh Tone: 0
Edge Enhancement: On
Motion Lighting: Off
LED Motion Plus: Normal

Picture Options
Color Tone: Cool
Digital Noise Filter: Auto
MPEG Noise Filter: Auto
HDMI Black Level: Normal
Auto Motion Plus: Clear
Film Mode: Auto2
Smart LED: Standard
Cinema Black: On
Jerry98vert is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un55f7500 55 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Pn51f8500 51 Inch 3d Smart Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off