HDMI cable length question for 1080p - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 12:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ethyloh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm about to purchase the following from Monoprice for my LG 7600 LED TV. (sorry if this is the wrong forum - wasn't sure)

10 ft high speed 28AWG cable (From Denon AVR-1713 HDMI passthrough to LG 7600)

3 x 5ft 28AWG high speed cable (PS3 to Denon, FiOS HDTV box to Denon, and HD-DVD to Denon)

Do I assume the aggregate length between source and TV for HDMI cable length purposes?
(i.e. 5ft from HDTV box to Denon + 10ft from Denon to LG7600 = 15ft total)

If so, would I lose the high speed capability of the HDMI cables? Will this have any real-world effect?

Would this be solved by using REDMERE cable between the Denon and LG7600?

Thanks in advance.
ethyloh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 03:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
The cables in question would probably be fine. Personally, I'd spend a few extra dollars and get 24AWG HDMI cables.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ethyloh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

I'm concerned that using 24AWG cables would be very difficult. I have an extremely low-profile wall mount, and doubt that I'd be able to make the cable bends with the 24AWG.

Would one 10 foot REDMERE cable fix the issue?
ethyloh is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
It's a crapshoot sitting in my home to give you a definitive answer. wink.gif

Contact Monoprice for support, that way if there is a problem.... you can blame them.

My thoughts were to get "better" cables and hopefully run them once.
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 449 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethyloh View Post

Thanks.

I'm concerned that using 24AWG cables would be very difficult. I have an extremely low-profile wall mount, and doubt that I'd be able to make the cable bends with the 24AWG.

Would one 10 foot REDMERE cable fix the issue?

if you have any tight bends, avoid 24AWG

UN46EH6030 Calibration/Settings
Display: Samsung UN46EH6030 LED-LCD TV; Audio: Yamaha HTR-3066 AVR/AMP, Sony Core Bookshelves (Sony SS-CS5) and Center (Sony SS-CS8) as fronts, Cambridge Audio S20 Bookshelves (CA S20-N) as surrounds, Dayton Audio SUB-1200 as subwoofer; Sources: PS4 (doubles as primary BD player), Xbox One, PS3, Xbox 360, Motorola RNG150N (Cable Box)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 09:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For 10 feet n HDMI standard cable of higher then 24 gauge should certainly work.
See the following link:

http://www.hdmi.org/consumer/finding_right_cable.aspx
walford is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 09:49 AM
Member
 
colohtpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Would this help? I was surprised to see there isn't a right angle molded HDMI connectors on cables. SATA cables came both 90 deg and straight almost immediately

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041913&p_id=5133&seq=1&format=2

colohtpc is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ethyloh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand that 24awg would work. Unfortunately, those cables would be way too stiff to use under the low profile wall mount.

I just want to confirm that I lose the high speed qualification becuase the combined length exceeds the standard, even though individually both cables are high speed (for 28awg).

My understanding is that redmere hdmi cables maintain their high speed rating over much greater distances. So would the main cable from the avr to the tv be sufficient if it were a redmere cable (using 28awg for the individual components) to maintain the high speed rating? I'd prefer not to use all redmere cables, as that jumps into the $100 range quickly.
ethyloh is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 15,180
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 428
28AWG will work (probably). Use what is easier for you. But, a 90 degree "wall saver" would work just as well if you use a higher or lower gauge cable.

You don't need Redmere cables. You won't lose "high speed" with a total of 15' using certified 28AWG HDMI cables.

As I suggested.... buy them, run them and hopefully, only do it once. Retrofitting sucks and is costlier. Call Monoproce for technical assistance/support. Pay now or pay later... your call.

Over-thinking is not equatable to Over-engineering (when applicable). wink.gif
Ratman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off