Official 2013 Vizio E650i-A2 (65" Full Array) Owners Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2013, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up this set the other day at Costco, I have a Disney WOW Blu Ray coming today, so in a few days I will be able to post what the settings ended up being.

Just have the old Monster ISF dvd settings for now and is very nice but I think it could get better.
Crip1g is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2013, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
paofuhaochi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

good,Very pleased with this TV's PQ. Not using the internal speakers, but glad I didn't spend more. Great Value!

6.gif

paofuhaochi is offline  
Old 10-31-2013, 07:34 AM
Newbie
 
ArcturusFinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I bought this TV from Walmart for $1179 ... my review is mixed... I like the size of the TV, and am satisfied with the built in sound... however the picture quality requires a lot of adjustment to get right, but looks promising (Still working on it though).  The smart TV functions are infuriatingly dumb... most of all is lack of DLNA supported formats it.  The TV crashes every every time i try to access my server.

ArcturusFinch is offline  
Old 11-02-2013, 06:25 PM
Member
 
smiley1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm buying this tv tonight at walmart for 1178. I've been watching the pricing for a while. It's replacing a 50" Panasonic plasma TC-P50G10. The panasonic was only 4 yrs old when it died and the only available replacement parts were from panasonic making it a $500 repair. No thanks! I learned from that to make sure to have a long extended warranty and to think twice about panasonic. I mean seriously, the build date was Sept 2009. i'm excited about my new pending purchase.
smiley1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2013, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using the Disney World of Wonder Optimize Blu Ray disc.

Preferred Settings:

(number) = little to no change range

Backlight: 21 (20 to 40)

Contrast: 47 (46 to 48)

Brightness: 50 (49 to 51)

Sharpness: 8 (6 to 10)

Color: 51 (50 to 52

Tint: +1 (0 to +2,using blue filter)

Color Temperature – Custom (All @ 50)

Advanced Settings (All Off, chasing your tail otherwise)

Noise Reduction – Off

MPEG NR – Off

Color Enhancement – Off

Adaptive Luma – Off

Film Mode – Off


Ambient Light Sensor – Off

Backlight = OPC DRC

As you can see most adjustments need to be within just a few to be correct. And sets can vary enough that your optimal setting could be a few off of the above.

The moral of this story is if you want the most out off your HDTV you need to spend the $17 or so for a calibration disc to get the most out of the set.

Out of the box factory settings the Picture Quailty is a 6 out of 10, with a (Disney WOW) calibration disc it is a 9 out of 10.
Crip1g is offline  
Old 11-15-2013, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Changed Backlight setting from OPC (Optimal Power Control) To DCR (Dynamic Contrast Ratio)

The OPC setting had a slight change in brightness level from some scenes to other scenes that was undesirable.
Crip1g is offline  
Old 01-09-2014, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flambe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Just chiming in - I just picked up this TV from CostCo to replace my older Mitsubishi HDTV that died and I love it. Thanks all for the settings to tune the picture - it definitely helped.

Given the low price of this TV, I wouldn't be surprised to see more people pick this model up.
Flambe is online now  
Old 01-12-2014, 08:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flambe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Alright well, first problem smile.gif

I'm trying to turn off the TV's speakers when watching OTA signals as I send the audio to my receiver via the optical cable. however the TV never remembers the 'speakers off' setting. Every time I turn the TV back on, that setting resets to 'on.' As far as I can tell so far, it's the only setting that doesn't save. Any tips or tricks or thoughts on how to prevent this from happening?

Thanks!

EDIT: And I just got an answer from Vizio support. I had to turn the CEC setting to 'off'. Doing that allowed the TV to keep the internal speakers off. Just FYI for anyone else who runs into this problem!
Flambe is online now  
Old 01-19-2014, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
rombot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a picture - dark room, no video, input set to HDMI-1.




I've read all the reviews on Amazon - there's a couple people saying the backlighting is very consistant; there's two or three that say it's not. Maybe it's a quality control issue.

I haven't had time to play with the setiings other than to do what others have posted here and elsewhere; turn the advanced settings off, mode to vivid, etc.

I'll play with it a bit more this week. If I can't get this adjusted out, I'll take it back and try another one.
rombot is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RonF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Just came from a friend's house who had bought this set at Costco a couple months ago for $1200 and has it mounted on their living room wall, Saw a lot of Denver vs New England and Seattle vs San Francisco on it and this right after buying anew E series 40" backlit model with its limited 5 local dimming areas this past week also at Costco. The set looked very nice, certainly at $1200 for a 65 inches.
RonF is offline  
Old 02-21-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Fragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 1,791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi all

Saw this at my local Costco this past weekend. The price makes it very tempting (will replace my 10 yr old projection TV).

Has the firmware issues been fixed in this model? I prefer buying from Costco mainly to get the 'free' 2 yr warranty included with the set.

Due to lack of activity on this thread, I'm taking that as a good sign as owners are enjoying the set smile.gif.

"There are 1 0 kinds of people in this world...one that can read binary while the other that can't!!"
XBL Tag: TacoKommando
My small HT setup:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/27565515@N04/

Fragster is offline  
Old 03-04-2014, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
jayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Va. USA
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We're really happy with ours. No complaints at all.

Check here later for a thoughtful, funny, profound .sig line.
jayw is offline  
Old 03-13-2014, 12:13 PM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayw View Post

We're really happy with ours. No complaints at all.

I concur, once adjusted to the correct calibration, very satisfied and would recommend.
Crip1g is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
usmcnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Definitely a good set once it's calibrated properly (which is a little tricky). The splotchy backlighting is evident when the set is first turned on and there's no video playing, but if you play a video that has a dark background (such a end credits or a dark night time scene) then it goes away (at least on my set).
usmcnyc is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmcnyc View Post

Definitely a good set once it's calibrated properly (which is a little tricky). The splotchy backlighting is evident when the set is first turned on and there's no video playing, but if you play a video that has a dark background (such a end credits or a dark night time scene) then it goes away (at least on my set).

Same here, the backlighting concern all but goes away once content is displayed. I have had it over 5 months now and the set is a very good value for the price. Many, myself included did not have the need for 3D, so this set fits very well.
Crip1g is offline  
Old 04-28-2014, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
ArcturusFinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just got a new firmware update today!  It seems a little bit more responsive. 

ArcturusFinch is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
jayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Va. USA
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if this (or any Vizio) passes 5.1 sound from the Amazon Instant app via TOSLINK (Optical) or do you have to use ARC? I have tried Optical and only get stereo sound from Amazon titles that are marked 5.1. Thanks!

JayW

Check here later for a thoughtful, funny, profound .sig line.
jayw is offline  
Old 06-04-2014, 04:26 PM
Newbie
 
bridge4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought this TV a few weeks ago from Wal-Mart. I'm still trying to get it calibrated. The TV's biggest issue is the native 60hz refresh rate. I've got 4 other Vizio TV's from 37" to 55" (all several years old) and this one blurs the worst, even with smooth motion effect turned on High (I hate the soap opera effect).
bridge4d is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rombot View Post
Here's a picture - dark room, no video, input set to HDMI-1.

I've read all the reviews on Amazon - there's a couple people saying the backlighting is very consistant; there's two or three that say it's not. Maybe it's a quality control issue.

I haven't had time to play with the setiings other than to do what others have posted here and elsewhere; turn the advanced settings off, mode to vivid, etc.

I'll play with it a bit more this week. If I can't get this adjusted out, I'll take it back and try another one.
Was the new one any better? I'm having a similar issue with the dark black screen. See my crappy picture below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0693.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	200.3 KB
ID:	151562  

Last edited by wryhaddock; 07-07-2014 at 03:53 PM.
wryhaddock is offline  
Old 09-17-2014, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is the TV still performing well for you guys? Would you still recommend it?
Miscbrah is offline  
Old 09-18-2014, 07:58 AM
Member
 
alesch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Middlebury IN
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miscbrah View Post
Is the TV still performing well for you guys? Would you still recommend it?
I am still very happy with the PQ on mine after a year. The only problem I have had is that sometimes when using or exiting the TVapps, the set freezes. It still displays the picture, but won't respond to the remote. I have to unplug the set to get it to work again.
alesch1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2014, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
Crip1g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alesch1 View Post
I am still very happy with the PQ on mine after a year. The only problem I have had is that sometimes when using or exiting the TVapps, the set freezes. It still displays the picture, but won't respond to the remote. I have to unplug the set to get it to work again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miscbrah View Post
Is the TV still performing well for you guys? Would you still recommend it?
About a year on mine. No issues and PQ is still a 9 out of 10. I do not use the built in apps as I have a HTPC and use that for any streaming type of stuff.

To be honest though, Vizio has some 2014 sets with "FALD" that are very nice.........
Crip1g is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 08:24 AM
Newbie
 
weizguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Black Friday sale

This TV is going to be $648 at Walmart on Thanksgiving day from 6pm to 7pm (guaranteed for 1 hour)...
weizguy is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Nate2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by weizguy View Post
This TV is going to be $648 at Walmart on Thanksgiving day from 6pm to 7pm (guaranteed for 1 hour)...
Yea, that ad posted is what lead me to this thread. Tempted. Don't really need a new TV. I sorta want one though. (bigger)

Need a new dishwasher. >_<

Currently have Sony Bravia 46" 120hz which for the most part I've had no issues.
Nate2003 is offline  
Old 11-20-2014, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
weizguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate2003 View Post
Yea, that ad posted is what lead me to this thread. Tempted. Don't really need a new TV. I sorta want one though. (bigger)

Currently have Sony Bravia 46" 120hz which for the most part I've had no issues.
lol, that ad is what lead me here as well, I am also in the exact same boat, I have a Sony Bravia 46" 120hz TV as well.

I moved into a much bigger house and 46" is just not cutting it for me. 65" is the max that will fit in the cubby though. I was going to hold out for the OLED 65" 4K TV, but this one is so cheap it will get me by...
weizguy is offline  
Old 11-28-2014, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Now what?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weizguy View Post
This TV is going to be $648 at Walmart on Thanksgiving day from 6pm to 7pm (guaranteed for 1 hour)...
I got one from walmart for $650 and a 55" M series from Amazon (on its way). After the extended warranty and taxes the E is about $50 less than the M.

So...

VIZIO M552i-B2 55-Inch or E650I-B2 65" ?

Which one do I take out the box?
aacd is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
alanr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
E650I. I bought mine (Walmart $648) and it's a nice upgrade over my older Vizio M550NV.
The Yahoo apps are upgraded, and Plex is available with Plex pass, but my preference is to skip them altogether, so I'm using my older logitech revuew for now but will soon replace it with one of the Fire Sticks that Amazon was selling for $19 for a couple of days.

IMO ;-)
alanr2 is offline  
Old 11-30-2014, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jayw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Va. USA
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
65>55. And the picture really is quite good. Once you've gone big (Really Big) who wants 55"?

Check here later for a thoughtful, funny, profound .sig line.
jayw is offline  
Old 12-11-2014, 11:39 PM
Member
 
jh20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The 65" is ok. I have heard about some flaws they had with the apps crashing. I think they were supposed to release firmware to fix that though. I saw the other day on poc network tech blog, that they rated it pretty good. They actually offer some good words with the E-series altogether. I'd say the M-Series is the best way to go since the price is close to the same now that the E version of the 65 has gone back up in price to its normal value. I don't think the M was that far away in value. I'd also go bigger } bigger is always better (unless its a den..........then that would be pretty complicated on the eyes).
jh20001 is offline  
Old 12-31-2014, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
First of all I'm sorry about hijacking this thread but I cant start one of my own for some reason. I have a E650I-A2 and for the most part I'm very happy with it. I've been having issues from day one with the TV becoming un responsive to the remote. I was told by Vizio that this was caused by file sharing on my network and that I had to disable file sharing. The network is trying to access the files on the TV causing it to become unresponsive. I have to unplug it from the wall and restart it. Vizio said to contact my service provider ATT but really? ATT wont be able to help. So I'm hoping someone here can.
Thanks,
foldbak is offline  
 

Tags
Vizio E Series E650i A2 65 Inch 1080p 120hz Smart Hdtv
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off