Official Samsung UNXXF7100 Owners Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 5222 Old 05-25-2013, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Well it's Movie mode for me from now on. I have to say, when viewing the Tv's Browser with PIP on that was being viewed in movie mode, the color palette of the web page is a perfect match to my hi-def monitor I have for my PC. I have always seen a pinkish tinge in the grays like in the boxes "Post a Reply" or "Start a New Thread" at the top of the page but when starting the Smart Hub in Movie mode, the colors are very accurate out of the box and better with minor tweaks. You have to have PIP turned on to actually view the Browser in Movie Mode or the Defalt will be Standard. As far as using Movie Mode, I still avoide the yellowish hue of Warm2 by using Standard Color Temp but that is a personel prefrence of mine. Movie Mode on this TV compared to the ES 7100 series is just much better to my eyes. For the first time since my D-6000, I'm viewing cable and blu-ray in Movie Mode instead of Standard and the Colors are GREAT in every way with just as much POP as Standard always had! biggrin.gif
mgh26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 5222 Old 05-25-2013, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
mmisterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi all,

Just placed an order for the 55f7100. I'm coming from a 46UND7000 which had flashlighting and screen uniformity issues. Hoping the F7100 is the beast it seems to be.

How do I check to see which panel I get? Do I have to remove the back or something? Would appreciate some tips/pics!
mmisterio is offline  
post #273 of 5222 Old 05-25-2013, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone found a way to use smart hub with their receiver? If the TV would pass 5.1 audio broadcast through optical or not switch my vsx52 to the TV input when using hdmi-cec this would be a done deal!

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #274 of 5222 Old 05-25-2013, 10:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmisterio View Post

Hi all,

Just placed an order for the 55f7100. I'm coming from a 46UND7000 which had flashlighting and screen uniformity issues. Hoping the F7100 is the beast it seems to be.

How do I check to see which panel I get? Do I have to remove the back or something? Would appreciate some tips/pics!
Its on a sticker on the back.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #275 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 12:24 AM
Member
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Also, I believe the 'version' is on a sticker on both ends of the box.
lazyboy is offline  
post #276 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 04:13 AM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
My UN60F7100 arrived yesterday. Spent the good part of the day hooking it up to my new Yamaha RX-V673 receiver, along with my Apple TV, Blue-Ray and DVR. I ran out of optical inputs on the receiver, so I used only an HDMI cable with ACR for connecting the TV with the reciver. In that case, the HDMI cable can provide audio back to the receiver's HDMI output. As I began to try out the Smart Hub apps, such as Pandora, I was disappointed to find that the receiver was receiving only a PCM signal and not Dolby Digital. However, then I used the Netflix app. Most shows, even Glee, were PCM. But some movies, such as The King's Speech, had a Dolby symbol on the info page when you select that movie. And, amazingly, the receiver shows that, in fact, it is receiving the Dolby Digital signal via the the HDMI cable with no optical cable required.

Thus, to answer the question previous posters have asked, yes the TV apps will pass along Dolby Digital via ACR HDMI if the original material is so encoded. If not, you get PCM. Still a decent sound, by the way.

This is my first post on the AVS forum in many years and it is good to be back. A generous thanks to all those who have posted since the TV came out and have provided so much useful information.
emileg is offline  
post #277 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Wow, the Touch Remote batteries are drained already.

I read that this could happen in another thread, but its still unexpected...

Looks like the Remote's Bluetooth uses a lot of power.

Maybe its because I retired the DirecTV remote (and traditional remote).

The 3D Glasses are kind-of flimsy, so I suggest using the Samsung SSG-3750CR 3D Rechargeable glasses.

They charge quickly, last longer and fit better.

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-Electronics-SSG-3750CR-Rechargeable-Glasses/dp/B00BMMPPCS
PiratesCove is offline  
post #278 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post

As far as using Movie Mode, I still avoide the yellowish hue of Warm2 by using Standard Color Temp but that is a personel prefrence of mine. Movie Mode on this TV compared to the ES 7100 series is just much better to my eyes. For the first time since my D-6000, I'm viewing cable and blu-ray in Movie Mode instead of Standard and the Colors are GREAT in every way with just as much POP as Standard always had! biggrin.gif

I only use Standard picture Mode for Xbox360, due to Game Mode's default (with Warm 2).

I always liked Movie Mode best, but with Warm1- the F7100 picture is so awesome I switched to Warm2 and it still has "Pop".

I now prefer the accurate whites and when I switch to Dynamic with Standard Color Temp. it looks surreal.

I believe that accurate color, realistic color saturation, lower sharpness and reference color temperature takes a little time to adapt to.

When a viewer begins to expect that picture at home, like they expect/accept at the local cinema its all "clicks".
PiratesCove is offline  
post #279 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

This is my first post on the AVS forum in many years and it is good to be back. A generous thanks to all those who have posted since the TV came out and have provided so much useful information.

+1, I learned from AVS for years and now its all about sharing that knowledge and giving back.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #280 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post

Well it's Movie mode for me from now on. I have to say, when viewing the Tv's Browser with PIP on that was being viewed in movie mode, the color palette of the web page is a perfect match to my hi-def monitor I have for my PC. I have always seen a pinkish tinge in the grays like in the boxes "Post a Reply" or "Start a New Thread" at the top of the page but when starting the Smart Hub in Movie mode, the colors are very accurate out of the box and better with minor tweaks. You have to have PIP turned on to actually view the Browser in Movie Mode or the Defalt will be Standard. As far as using Movie Mode, I still avoide the yellowish hue of Warm2 by using Standard Color Temp but that is a personel prefrence of mine. Movie Mode on this TV compared to the ES 7100 series is just much better to my eyes. For the first time since my D-6000, I'm viewing cable and blu-ray in Movie Mode instead of Standard and the Colors are GREAT in every way with just as much POP as Standard always had! biggrin.gif
Do your cable channels appear sharper on the F7100 than the ES7100? Images on the ES appear soft and not very sharp for local channels. Does the video processing appear to be better on the F series?
tylerSC is offline  
post #281 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Also Sunday sales papers indicate decent price on this model this week, so may go check it out in the store.
tylerSC is offline  
post #282 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Also Sunday sales papers indicate decent price on this model this week, so may go check it out in the store.

Yep best buy just reduced by another 200 bucks from what I bought at on Thursday. Great value now at 1599

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #283 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Do your cable channels appear sharper on the F7100 than the EH7100? Images on the EH appear soft and not very sharp for local channels. Does the video processing appear to be better on the F series?
Since there is NO EH-7100 I assume yor are reffering to the ES-7100. The F7100 has better video processing when watching cable over the ES series. The over-all picture is less grainy and is very sharp to the eye. The ES-7100 does have a sharp image espically with blu-ray but it does appear that this F series may have a better processing Engine as I never use the noise filters and DO NOT see anywhere near the background noise I noticed when watching my COX Cable box with sharpness set to 20 on both models. The best part of the F-7100 improvements are the lack of clouding and probably the best screen uniformity that has been produced in a Edge Lit LED TV mabye as good as the best LCD TV's for quite a few years now. Not perfect due to a small amount of flashlighting in the corners but with the latest firmware, Cinema Black takes care of that for all 2D viewing. I do hope they add the feature to 3D since it does appear that flashlighting shows up more so then when viewing 2D. There are still some of the F Series TV's that are being returned due to hardware issues mostly related to flawed panels so Samsung really really does need to step it's quality control up as well as some panels getting stress damaged (seems to induce clouding) as some have reported due to poor shipping practices. I believe the latest release builds are less likely to have the flaws of the first one's sold as stated on the european 8000 forum. If true, it appears that Samsung has begun to step up it's quality control/manufacturing practices which would be a really good thing for everyone!
mgh26 is offline  
post #284 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 10:52 AM
Member
 
CNOLA85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Also Sunday sales papers indicate decent price on this model this week, so may go check it out in the store.

I just saw the 55 inch is $1600 as opposed to the usual $1800 so I think im going to get it in a few minutes. I keep seeing this is an awesome tv for gaming and that is the main reason for wanting to upgrade my tv.
CNOLA85 is offline  
post #285 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

My UN60F7100 arrived yesterday. Spent the good part of the day hooking it up to my new Yamaha RX-V673 receiver, along with my Apple TV, Blue-Ray and DVR. I ran out of optical inputs on the receiver, so I used only an HDMI cable with ACR for connecting the TV with the reciver. In that case, the HDMI cable can provide audio back to the receiver's HDMI output. As I began to try out the Smart Hub apps, such as Pandora, I was disappointed to find that the receiver was receiving only a PCM signal and not Dolby Digital. However, then I used the Netflix app. Most shows, even Glee, were PCM. But some movies, such as The King's Speech, had a Dolby symbol on the info page when you select that movie. And, amazingly, the receiver shows that, in fact, it is receiving the Dolby Digital signal via the the HDMI cable with no optical cable required.

Thus, to answer the question previous posters have asked, yes the TV apps will pass along Dolby Digital via ACR HDMI if the original material is so encoded. If not, you get PCM. Still a decent sound, by the way.

This is my first post on the AVS forum in many years and it is good to be back. A generous thanks to all those who have posted since the TV came out and have provided so much useful information.

Due you have HDMI CEC enabled? In my case when I use a smart hub the TV would switch my receiver to the TV input which isn't a problem. The problem is that when I first turn on everything (using harmony 900) after 5-10 seconds the TV switches the receiver to the TV input even with smart hub disabled during start up. This leads to a black screen as the TV input has no video (smart hub only). I have to manually switch the receiver back to my direct tv HDMI input. Hope that makes sense.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #286 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post

Do your cable channels appear sharper on the F7100 than the ES7100? Images on the ES appear soft and not very sharp for local channels. Does the video processing appear to be better on the F series?

I also had the ES7100 and F7100- definitely better video processing.

MGMHD used to have large grey artifacts via. DirecTV on the ES, none are on the F.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post

The F7100 has better video processing when watching cable over the ES series. The over-all picture is less grainy and is very sharp to the eye. The ES7100 does have a sharp image especially with blu-ray but it does appear that this F series may have a better processing Engine as I never use the noise filters and DO NOT see anywhere near the background noise I noticed when watching my COX Cable box with sharpness set to 20 on both models. The best part of the F-7100 improvements are the lack of clouding and probably the best screen uniformity that has been produced in a Edge Lit LED TV maybe as good as the best LCD TV's for quite a few years now. Not perfect due to a small amount of flashlighting in the corners but with the latest firmware, Cinema Black takes care of that for all 2D viewing.

+1, Better and more solid HD and SD picture.

I was spoiled with the Samsung A850- it had outstanding picture quality (no banding), yet had clouding (without energy savings auto) and lighter black levels.

The F7100 has better black levels, no clouding, minimum flashlighting, really accurate colors and no artifacts.

The ES7100 had a great picture except for the banding (in 3D), clouding with the center 'V', dead pixels, picture noise/grain and random artifacts.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #287 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
jaronoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never *ever* buy extended warranties, but on the other hand, I've never paid anywhere near this much for a TV before.

Is an extended warranty worth it in this case?
jaronoff is offline  
post #288 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Sasquatch321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaronoff View Post

I never *ever* buy extended warranties, but on the other hand, I've never paid anywhere near this much for a TV before.

Is an extended warranty worth it in this case?

No, you have 30 days to return it to the store and a year under manufacturers warranty. If you buy a lemon it's most likely something you're going to notice in the first year.

Gamertag: Elder Sasquatch
Sasquatch321 is offline  
post #289 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 12:37 PM
Member
 
CNOLA85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaronoff View Post

I never *ever* buy extended warranties, but on the other hand, I've never paid anywhere near this much for a TV before.

Is an extended warranty worth it in this case?

I just bought this tv literally 10 minutes ago and I got a 2 year warranty on it just to be safe. I usually never get a warranty on anything but when she said it covers everything but physical damage I got it.
CNOLA85 is offline  
post #290 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 01:54 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

Due you have HDMI CEC enabled? In my case when I use a smart hub the TV would switch my receiver to the TV input which isn't a problem. The problem is that when I first turn on everything (using harmony 900) after 5-10 seconds the TV switches the receiver to the TV input even with smart hub disabled during start up. This leads to a black screen as the TV input has no video (smart hub only). I have to manually switch the receiver back to my direct tv HDMI input. Hope that makes sense.
Yes, HDMI CEC seems to be enabled, though I don't know what "CEC" means. What are the benefits and disadvantages of having CEC enabled?
emileg is offline  
post #291 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 02:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

Yes, HDMI CEC seems to be enabled, though I don't know what "CEC" means. What are the benefits and disadvantages of having CEC enabled?
It allows the TV to control other devices through HDMI.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #292 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 06:30 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

It allows the TV to control other devices through HDMI.
Thank you for explaining CEC. I noticed that the receiver turns on and off with the TV. In fact, if I turn off the TV with the DVR remote, the receiver turns off as well. Now if I can only get my new Yamaha RX-V673 from acting up, I'll be very happy. There are 64 pages on that AVS Forum thread for me to catch up on.
emileg is offline  
post #293 of 5222 Old 05-26-2013, 11:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by emileg View Post

Thank you for explaining CEC. I noticed that the receiver turns on and off with the TV. In fact, if I turn off the TV with the DVR remote, the receiver turns off as well. Now if I can only get my new Yamaha RX-V673 from acting up, I'll be very happy. There are 64 pages on that AVS Forum thread for me to catch up on.
What is your Yamaha doing?

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #294 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 04:17 AM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by XBRSteve View Post

What is your Yamaha doing?
When I use the TV or DVR remote to turn on the TV, my Yamaha RX-V673 receiver turns on as well. So far so good. However, after about 30 seconds, the receiver spontaneously shifts audio inputs to input 4 resulting in no sound. When I press HDMI input on the remote, the TV sound returns. Sometimes, after switching video inputs back to DVR after using the ARC from Smart Hub, the picture and sound are gone, replaced by total snow. The only remedy is to turn the receiver on and off again. To be fair, I have not had the chance to upgrade the firmware, nor have I read the 64 or more pages of the AVS Forum thread on this unit. I am starting now to read about the almost 2000 posts.

I bought the receiver to replace my 8 year old JVC. With just one cable going to the TV, I figured I could reduce the amount of spaghetti behind the set. However, I think I may have introduced several extra layers of complexity, especially for my wife. At least I was able to get the TV and receiver to turn on with the DVR remote as well as go straight to the DVR feed bypassing the Smart Hub. Now, if I can only get the audio to stay in place, I think she'll be fine.

Incidentally, the 673 was replaced by the 675 that only has one new and unlikely to be used feature. My local BB had one new 673 left that I was able to get for $356 instead of paying $599 for a new 675.

Thanks for your interest and listening to my rant.
emileg is offline  
post #295 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 06:14 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
My RX-v671 does the same with a Samsung UN55D8000. I generally keep CEC. on and just change back to HDMI a few moments after power up. The Blu-Ray reverting to tuner instead of HDMI and then powering back on every time you switch Imputs is far more frustrating.
I don't know if you'll ever get it to work exactly right. Good Luck
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #296 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 08:37 AM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't think there's anything wrong with any of your devices. HDMI-CEC (Anynet on Samsung) has been changing inputs at will for over five years. In the olden days, before ARC and SMART apps, we would simply turn it off in all devices and get a Harmony remote to be able to get away with only one remote. Hopefully someone can figure out how to get these features to work as advertised and let everyone know.
dfp is offline  
post #297 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 10:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfp View Post

I don't think there's anything wrong with any of your devices. HDMI-CEC (Anynet on Samsung) has been changing inputs at will for over five years. In the olden days, before ARC and SMART apps, we would simply turn it off in all devices and get a Harmony remote to be able to get away with only one remote. Hopefully someone can figure out how to get these features to work as advertised and let everyone know.
I guess I could add a smart hub activity to my harmony then use an optical cable. Why does Samsung do the input switch! Makes no sense to do it on power up.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is online now  
post #298 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 3,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Corrected my post. Was referring to the pic quality of the ES7100 compared to the F7100. Good to hear the F series has improved. But have decided to sell my 55ES7100 if I can locally. No perceived issues or problems, but after a month of owning this TV, it just reinforced my preference for plasma. Nice TV if you favor LED, but for me, the ST60 or F8500 plasmas seem to be the better choices. Even the S60 or F5300 look good if you can control glare. Although I was offered a 55FH6030 for $890, slightly under the current BB price. And for some reason, I do prefer these direct lit versions over the more expensive edge lit models.
tylerSC is offline  
post #299 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
wdwms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello all!
Its time to upgrade my TV here... in 2005 I got a Panasonic TH-50px50u, and then in 2009 I replaced it with a Panasonic TC-P50G10. While the plasma's were nice, i never got that amazing "wow" picture from them. Maybe it is personal taste, but the pictures never seemed sharp, never seemed amazing.. My source material is mixed, but mostly Comcast cable and OTA via my Tivo Premier, and some Xbox 360 gaming. We mainly watch sports (hockey, football, baseball) and your average run of the mill television shows.

I'm debating between the UN55F7050 (BJs version of the 7100), the 6400 and 6300

Any thoughts ideas on either? My major likes are crisp clean picture, and I do like a wider field of vision as we have seating that is dead on straight to about 45 degrees off center. Thickness of the unit is a non-issue as it will be inset into our entertainment unit. Smart TV apps do nothing for me, but looks like that is a non issue, try finding a good tv w/out that crap.

I can't remember which unit is direct lit or edge lit... i'll take PQ over either technology.

Thanks!
wdwms is offline  
post #300 of 5222 Old 05-27-2013, 01:30 PM
Member
 
bjd21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just mounted the 60" on the wall last night and watched a bit of The Avengers in 3D and it is pretty awesome. I've never really had a TV this nice or advanced before and don't even know where to start with calibration. Any advice?
bjd21 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un60f7100 60 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off