Official Samsung UNXXF7100 Owners Thread - Page 151 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 5268 Old 02-21-2014, 01:59 PM
Member
 
zeuswsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI the tv will come with its own spacers for the holes. At least my 55 inch tv did.
zeuswsu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 5268 Old 02-21-2014, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Fw. ver. 1121 looks great with Sharpness at 20 and Auto Motion Plus on Clear for 1080i sources.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #4503 of 5268 Old 02-22-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Ghawdex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiratesCove View Post

Fw. ver. 1121 looks great with Sharpness at 20 and Auto Motion Plus on Clear for 1080i sources.


What calib are you using?
Ghawdex is offline  
post #4504 of 5268 Old 02-22-2014, 08:22 AM
Newbie
 
lilmoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 65". The chrome strip on the edge is 0.520". The total thickness from the front of the screen to the back of the rear plastic case near the edge is 0.831".
lilmoose is offline  
post #4505 of 5268 Old 02-22-2014, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghawdex View Post

What calib are you using?

These settings: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1470900/official-samsung-unxxf7100-owners-thread/4020#post_24142810

I'm adjusting sharpness based on sources ( Blu-rays, Internet Streaming or Games may differ).

I have DirecTV and currently have Sharpness set at 15.

I also currently have Auto Motion Plus (A.M.P.) set to Clear, which now had some judder- it no longer has the "Soap Opera" effect.

I also use Auto Motion Plus set to Custom - Blur 10 - Judder 0 - LED Clear Motion On (this can cause stuttering on some 1080i sources) at times for DirecTV.

A.M.P. Custom works best on Blu-rays.

1080i sources vary so I recommend trying Sharpness at 20 (adjust to liking 0-20) and A.M.P. Clear
PiratesCove is offline  
post #4506 of 5268 Old 02-22-2014, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
why does my tv up in the corner say its in 60i? what does that mean?

TV; samsung 65F7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is offline  
post #4507 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 03:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post

why does my tv up in the corner say its in 60i? what does that mean?
It is telling you the signal being received is interlaced as opposed to 60"p" which is progressive scan.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #4508 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 03:19 AM
Member
 
MattKey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas Nevada USA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 55" 7100 coming 2/28, Has anyone had much to report on how well this TV works with one HDMI connection from an AV Receiver. I have A directv HD Genie box, 2 blu ray players, a DVD player, xbox 360 and xbox one all connected to separate HDMI inputs on my receiver with one HDMI out to my TV. This seems to work well with my current Sony set, but its an older non smart tv. Anyone running their systems this way? any issues I may run into that anyone can think of? Appreciate yer thoughts, thanx smile.gif
MattKey is offline  
post #4509 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 04:40 AM
Member
 
asburyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a very similar situation, the 7100 replaced a seven-year old Sony, and I kept my seven-year old Pioneer Elite AVR.

I kept all the components and the DirecTV box running into the receiver, with a single HDMI out to the TV. That part works just fine. In order to get audio out of the TV (SmartHub), I ran an optical cable from the TV out to the receiver.

I was curious if the older receiver was having any effect on the video. SInce I run RGB and Coaxial sound out of the Genie to the receiver, I was able to use the Genie's HDMI out and run it directly to the TV. To me it looks the same either way.

The only real issue with the older receiver is it doesn't support 3D, not a real issue for me.
asburyf is offline  
post #4510 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 05:15 AM
Newbie
 
scott81603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattKey View Post

I have a 55" 7100 coming 2/28, Has anyone had much to report on how well this TV works with one HDMI connection from an AV Receiver. I have A directv HD Genie box, 2 blu ray players, a DVD player, xbox 360 and xbox one all connected to separate HDMI inputs on my receiver with one HDMI out to my TV. This seems to work well with my current Sony set, but its an older non smart tv. Anyone running their systems this way? any issues I may run into that anyone can think of? Appreciate yer thoughts, thanx smile.gif

I'm currently running all my hdmi inputs through my sc-75 and one hdmi out to my samsung 7100. No issues to report
scott81603 is offline  
post #4511 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 06:55 AM
Newbie
 
ncolopy04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Having a bit of an audio issues (maybe it's just a connection issue)?

 

I have the following setup:

 

Time Warner cable box and Samsung bluray player connected to 7100 via HDMI.  Then I run either HDMI or Digital optical cable from tv to HWF550 soundbar.  When connected via HDMI to soundbar the only audio option I can choose is PCM.  When connected via digital optical I can only choose PCM or DTS Neo 2:5.  However, the DTS and dolby digital options are greyed out.  Any suggestions on how to properly set this up so I can choose the DTS or dolby digital option??

ncolopy04 is offline  
post #4512 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Can anyone confirm that by lowing the rgb offsets to 16 range, and brightness over 50, eliminates microdimming in game mode ? I like my Sammy, but this microdimming in game mode has been a deal braker since I got the set. Sports games are good, but fps with dark scenes, or a tomb raider , uncharted game, and screen gets way to black. I hate to take a slight upgrade, but I have option to sell my 55 for around 1100, and grab a sony w900 for around 1700. My Sammy has no clouding, or uniformity issues, but I like to game a lot, and I'm conflicted . Also, nit liking the judder in most recent firmware, hope the next one clears that up.

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #4513 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucknuts07 View Post

Can anyone confirm that by lowing the rgb offsets to 16 range, and brightness over 50, eliminates microdimming in game mode ? I like my Sammy, but this microdimming in game mode has been a deal braker since I got the set. Sports games are good, but fps with dark scenes, or a tomb raider , uncharted game, and screen gets way to black. I hate to take a slight upgrade, but I have option to sell my 55 for around 1100, and grab a sony w900 for around 1700. My Sammy has no clouding, or uniformity issues, but I like to game a lot, and I'm conflicted . Also, nit liking the judder in most recent firmware, hope the next one clears that up.
Make sure that the Eco mode is off or set on with a backlight of at least 10. I have a F6800 with the same Micro dimming scheme as the F7100,but have my Eco mode off which I noticed on initial setup would dim scenes during dead space and uncharted to where it was impossible to play. I have not noticed issue with the micro dimming crushing or overemphasizing darker areas of a scene.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #4514 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PiratesCove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Posts: 4,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 119
The Smart Remote's touch pad' s quick channel change for the Set Top Box is excellent.

I learned to right or left click the touch pad, a square appears in the bottom right corner with "123" in it.

You can swipe up to three digits and it changes the channel.

It takes a little practice, but it quicker than the More number pad or Set Top Box's channel guide.
PiratesCove is offline  
post #4515 of 5268 Old 02-23-2014, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncolopy04 View Post

Having a bit of an audio issues (maybe it's just a connection issue)?

I have the following setup:

Time Warner cable box and Samsung bluray player connected to 7100 via HDMI.  Then I run either HDMI or Digital optical cable from tv to HWF550 soundbar.  When connected via HDMI to soundbar the only audio option I can choose is PCM.  When connected via digital optical I can only choose PCM or DTS Neo 2:5.  However, the DTS and dolby digital options are greyed out.  Any suggestions on how to properly set this up so I can choose the DTS or dolby digital option??
i am having the same issue with the F6800 at the moment,hopefully we'll can get some assistance.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #4516 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 02:08 AM
Member
 
V_Pl_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a REQUEST for you!
Any owner of this HDTV, who also happens to have HD Video camera or hi-end smartphone, can you shoot your TV in absolutely dark room while your TV is playing The Dark Knight or Harry Potter series movie Blu-Ray? I want that TV is in the center of the focus to compare the display with surrounding darkness. Then upload the video to YouTube in HD quality. I just want to know how good is the black levels on these TVs. wink.gif
V_Pl_a is offline  
post #4517 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
Hamilreb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked the 60in up this past weekend.

One problem I'm having is the reciever and the the volume aren't matching up. Let's say I turn the volume up to 30 showing on the reciever, the box on the tv may show the volume being 35.

I don't think it's a big problem , but it's pretty annoying. Any ideas?
Hamilreb is offline  
post #4518 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
rurifan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucknuts07 View Post

Can anyone confirm that by lowing the rgb offsets to 16 range, and brightness over 50, eliminates microdimming in game mode ? I like my Sammy, but this microdimming in game mode has been a deal braker since I got the set. Sports games are good, but fps with dark scenes, or a tomb raider , uncharted game, and screen gets way to black. I hate to take a slight upgrade, but I have option to sell my 55 for around 1100, and grab a sony w900 for around 1700. My Sammy has no clouding, or uniformity issues, but I like to game a lot, and I'm conflicted . Also, nit liking the judder in most recent firmware, hope the next one clears that up.

Why don't you just try it yourself?

I run at B+WB 53/18 and it kills CE Dimming enough not to notice without a microscope. This hack messes up color accuracy a little bit, so I try to minimize how far off I have to push the WB.

If you hate CE Dimming in game mode, open a support request with Samsung to let them know. Maybe if all 1000 people complaining here ask them for an option they'll take notice...

The worse judder in FW1121 pisses me off, and Samsung refuses to even talk about downgrades.

If you're going to try a W802A I suggest you do it before getting rid of your F7100. I'm not in love with the F1700 (see all my posts complaining), but the W802A I had was truly revolting. Never been so happy to pack something up for return.
rurifan is offline  
post #4519 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just ordered the oppo 103 blu ray player. Really hoping the upscale to 1080p will greatly improve the cable tv picture cause the cable tv picture on the 7100 is pretty disappointing as far as motion on tv shows and details. Ill definitely update when I get it in the next week.

TV; samsung 65F7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is offline  
post #4520 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Mike Zaaaaayyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post

Just ordered the oppo 103 blu ray player. Really hoping the upscale to 1080p will greatly improve the cable tv picture cause the cable tv picture on the 7100 is pretty disappointing as far as motion on tv shows and details. Ill definitely update when I get it in the next week.
,Oppo are amazing players and the best out their, I own the Oppo bdp-105 with my 60"and it's link to my Comcast,making the quality even better,you will enjoy the 103 with your Samsung!
Mike Zaaaaayyyy is offline  
post #4521 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Zaaaaayyyy View Post

,Oppo are amazing players and the best out their, I own the Oppo bdp-105 with my 60"and it's link to my Comcast,making the quality even better,you will enjoy the 103 with your Samsung!

how significant was the comcast improvement? Would u say it makes tv look almost blu ray-ish and improved sharpness/depth?

TV; samsung 65F7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is offline  
post #4522 of 5268 Old 02-24-2014, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Zaaaaayyyy View Post

,Oppo are amazing players and the best out their, I own the Oppo bdp-105 with my 60"and it's link to my Comcast,making the quality even better,you will enjoy the 103 with your Samsung!

heres a good question too. Would u say the quality of channels now is all the same or can u still tell which channels are a lower source feed?

TV; samsung 65F7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is offline  
post #4523 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 03:29 AM
Member
 
Mike Zaaaaayyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post

heres a good question too. Would u say the quality of channels now is all the same or can u still tell which channels are a lower source feed?
It's going to be better cause the player is using what ever pic settings you have set and among other settings,it's like watching blu-Rays for me!
Mike Zaaaaayyyy is offline  
post #4524 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 06:17 AM
Newbie
 
nawert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rurifan View Post


Why don't you just try it yourself?

I run at B+WB 53/18 and it kills CE Dimming enough not to notice without a microscope. This hack messes up color accuracy a little bit, so I try to minimize how far off I have to push the WB.

If you hate CE Dimming in game mode, open a support request with Samsung to let them know. Maybe if all 1000 people complaining here ask them for an option they'll take notice...

The worse judder in FW1121 pisses me off, and Samsung refuses to even talk about downgrades.

If you're going to try a W802A I suggest you do it before getting rid of your F7100. I'm not in love with the F1700 (see all my posts complaining), but the W802A I had was truly revolting. Never been so happy to pack something up for return.

Just submitted my support request about the CE Dimming.

nawert is offline  
post #4525 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 533
My 60F7100 arrived yesterday. To be honest I'm not impressed at all. It looked better in the store. Calibrated it to settings in this thread to get me started then fine tuned to my preference. I'm not sure what to do because my old Vizio 552XVT looked better and that was a flagship model about five yrs ago. Very little light bleed from corners and edges which is normal for an LED which is a good thing. My problem is everything looks washed out and can't seem to find a happy medium with settings. Maybe someone here can throw me some tips.

Denon 4520
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #4526 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
rurifan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchunter View Post

My 60F7100 arrived yesterday. To be honest I'm not impressed at all. It looked better in the store. Calibrated it to settings in this thread to get me started then fine tuned to my preference. I'm not sure what to do because my old Vizio 552XVT looked better and that was a flagship model about five yrs ago. Very little light bleed from corners and edges which is normal for an LED which is a good thing. My problem is everything looks washed out and can't seem to find a happy medium with settings. Maybe someone here can throw me some tips.

If blacks weren't black out of the box, you may want to check the HDMI black level matches what your device outputs. (Normal=0-255, Low=16-235)

But if you still have a functional old TV, I'd skip this generation and hope the technology stops sucking by the time you have to upgrade.
rurifan is offline  
post #4527 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by rurifan View Post

If blacks weren't black out of the box, you may want to check the HDMI black level matches what your device outputs. (Normal=0-255, Low=16-235)

But if you still have a functional old TV, I'd skip this generation and hope the technology stops sucking by the time you have to upgrade.
How do you check the black levels?

Denon 4520
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #4528 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 05:36 PM
Newbie
 
wrongway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

is it a Samsung issue or an uverse issue?

wrongway is offline  
post #4529 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 231 Post(s)
Liked: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrongway View Post

is it a Samsung issue or an uverse issue?
I have Charter Digital Cable if you were asking me. PS3 does look amazing in game mode and blurays look awesome as well. Its cable tv that looks like $#!T. I have HD cable.

Denon 4520
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #4530 of 5268 Old 02-25-2014, 07:53 PM
Member
 
SamOner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchunter View Post

I have Charter Digital Cable if you were asking me. PS3 does look amazing in game mode and blurays look awesome as well. Its cable tv that looks like $#!T. I have HD cable.

Charter Cable does look like crap. I use Pirate Coves setting and my set looks great.
SamOner is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un60f7100 60 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off