Official Samsung UNXXF7100 Owners Thread - Page 183 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #5461 of 5480 Old 03-17-2015, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hmmm...havent heard from samsung since calling for service. Still seeing the clouding after trying everything to minimize it. :angry:
I wish I wasnt so critical of these things, but now that I know its there.....DAMN.
Gonna keep pressing for a refund until my warranty expires I guess. Then maybe try to rub my $1000 panel with a cloth until the clouding goes away. Sad that we, as customers, are subjected to this kind of techno-crapshoot. There needs to be some kind of oversight with these damn panels. Total BS.
cfd272 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5462 of 5480 Old 03-18-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
stinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I live in Louisville,KY USA
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jitter and lag from 24hz (23.976 fps content)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post
Ver 2207 is out. Anybody tried it out yet?
Jitter and Lag or dropped frames when TV is put into 24HZ. I have been living with this since I bought this UN55F7100 3D Smart TV last Nov. Black Friday 2013. I just keep my Auto Motion Plus to "clear", all my Samsung HDTV's are set to clear. I don't like the soap opera/ video effect. This tv just does not do 24HZ Bluray well at all. It has jitter bad maybe even drops frames. I have a good htpc that I built few years ago. I have a Sapphire HD6950 2GB video card with hdmi out. I first blamed it on the video card because I have another htpc that has a XFX HD5830 video card that always played 23.976 fps at 24hz great. My older touch of red LN46A650 does great with 24HZ blu-ray content. This newer 55' F7100 model has never did right. I have tried TMT 5, Power DVD 14 Ultra 3D, and believe it or not the free mpc-hc with lav filters does best.
My update version says 1200. and you folks are talking about 2207. Humm, I have clearly missed some firmware updates. my TV is set to update on it's own according to the settings? UN55F7100AF is my model number
I had BD Wise turned off because I do not have any BD Wise players or equipment. I found it on today! When I turned it off man all the colors changed, greys went pinkish while online here. Looks like I must re-set everything. I tried the piratescove settings but they were not for me. Tv's,areas,lighting etc... is all different. You can't just take settings from one person and apply to yours. I guess it can be a starting point to start at. I just used the color filters we have and the HD709 disk. Got my whites and blacks best I could, then each color. I been happy !! Except for 24HZ, I mean even mpc-hc at 60 fps with 23.98 movies does good. Don't drop frames and has minimum jitter when AMP left on clear.
I want more, I want 24p content to play right, How about hdmi wires? Do they effect this? I buy my hdmi wires from monoprice.com, I buy about the best they have, I believe they work fine but am up for suggestions if anyone has any?
I hope I'm in the right thread because the difference in the numbers from my firmware I have and the one being talked about are big difference. Thanks!

There is no link for 2206 firmware, only 2207 at Samsung support.com. Wondering when was 2206 put out, I see that 2207 was put out 3/10/15. Anybody have link for 2206 to share?

Last edited by stinman; 03-18-2015 at 10:35 AM. Reason: question
stinman is offline  
post #5463 of 5480 Old 03-18-2015, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
slow ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 532
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My firmware updates are set for auto as well, but I have to do them manually. I'm kinda glad though because that way you can get the feedback first here before I decide or not if I want to go through with them.
slow ride is offline  
post #5464 of 5480 Old 03-20-2015, 07:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yep...this clouding is totally normal says Samsung. I have my backlight set to 9. These spots bleed through bad in most dark scenes and is terribly distracting. So pissed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150320_082808_1426903825274.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	615377  
cfd272 is offline  
post #5465 of 5480 Old 03-21-2015, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Rey L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Homestead,FL
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's really bad. I've been lucky so far.
Rey L is offline  
post #5466 of 5480 Old 03-21-2015, 01:36 PM
Member
 
emileg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfd272 View Post
Yep...this clouding is totally normal says Samsung. I have my backlight set to 9. These spots bleed through bad in most dark scenes and is terribly distracting. So pissed.
Definitely, not normal, assuming you did not do any enhancements to the photo. Did you send Samsung this photograph?
emileg is offline  
post #5467 of 5480 Old 03-22-2015, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Not enhanced. And yes, sent this pictute to them.
cfd272 is offline  
post #5468 of 5480 Old 03-22-2015, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfd272 View Post
Yep...this clouding is totally normal says Samsung. I have my backlight set to 9. These spots bleed through bad in most dark scenes and is terribly distracting. So pissed.


Completely Unacceptable clouding!!!!!! It's NOT Normal at all & needs to be corrected ASAP! If Samsung sold this as a typical unit, their sales would be horrible & their reputation would be really BAD also.

I would esclate this problem to Samsung ECR Dept. They have been helpful for some members with past problems such as this. Good Luck!!!
mgh26 is offline  
post #5469 of 5480 Old 03-26-2015, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
coykiam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow....another lucky one here so far. Have the TV for almost 2 years now. I do have an extended warranty just in case.
coykiam is offline  
post #5470 of 5480 Old 03-26-2015, 01:48 PM
Member
 
skyfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfd272 View Post
Yep...this clouding is totally normal says Samsung. I have my backlight set to 9. These spots bleed through bad in most dark scenes and is terribly distracting. So pissed.

Sorry about your situation. That is NOT normal. Is that a 65 inch? My 65 inch for sure has none of that going on. Black all the way. Backlight set at 7 in dark and 9 during daylight.

Samsung 65" F7100
Anthem MRX-310 (5.1)
Oppo BDP-103
Von Schweikert - VR-2 main,. LCR-15 Center
Def Tech. - Pro Monitor 800 Surrounds
HSU - VTF-2 MK2 Sub

skyfi is offline  
post #5471 of 5480 Old Yesterday, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It's a 55". Still haggling with samsung customer service. Uniform black levels are huge to me so this is definitely unacceptable.
cfd272 is offline  
post #5472 of 5480 Old Yesterday, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I've never really had AMP be smooth no matter what firmware I've had. I've also tried it with my Cablevision box and DIRECTV.

I'm wondering now if my receiver is introducing some sort of lag or stutter. It's a older Denon AVR-591 purchased on 12/2010.
s1njin is offline  
post #5473 of 5480 Old Yesterday, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Firmware Ver 2207 has been out for a while now and my only thing I have noticed that is most apparent is the Sharpness setting seems to be less responsive to adjustment changes. Any body else notice this?

It's not a bad thing but I have to set it at a higher setting then any previous version for my personal picture prefrence that my eyes like the most. I looked at one of my sharpness patterns I am used in the past & did verify this seems to be the case.

I remember in the early release versions my Sharpness settings had to be kept much lower (all filters OFF) or my picture became very grainy with added artifacts every where.This may be an over-all improvement & does raise the question for the guys that still believe that sharpness MUST be set to Zero for best picture quality. Not the case at all for my eyes, espically now.
mgh26 is offline  
post #5474 of 5480 Old Today, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 39
With this new firmware I've had to add a 50ms audio delay on my receiver. Lip sync was off.
s1njin is offline  
post #5475 of 5480 Old Today, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post
Firmware Ver 2207 has been out for a while now and my only thing I have noticed that is most apparent is the Sharpness setting seems to be less responsive to adjustment changes. Any body else notice this?

It's not a bad thing but I have to set it at a higher setting then any previous version for my personal picture prefrence that my eyes like the most. I looked at one of my sharpness patterns I am used in the past & did verify this seems to be the case.

I remember in the early release versions my Sharpness settings had to be kept much lower (all filters OFF) or my picture became very grainy with added artifacts every where.This may be an over-all improvement & does raise the question for the guys that still believe that sharpness MUST be set to Zero for best picture quality. Not the case at all for my eyes, espically now.
the dreaded sharpness setting lol ive fiddled around with it so much but now I think ive found the perfect setting for my taste which is 10 and it seems perfect to me with that setting but gaming I have it at around 20 because any lower it seems to have blur look to it
macmane is online now  
post #5476 of 5480 Old Today, 11:42 AM
Member
 
kohmei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It's not that sharpness "must" be set to 0, it's always a personal preference. It's just for a 1080p source, the original picture is 0. Even sharpness 1 is modifying the original image.

That said, especially for console video games, many of them are still not 1080p these days. Like most Xbone games are 900p. The Xbone still connects to your TV at 1080p, but it upscales the 900p image to 1080p by using interpolation. Interpolation will make it blurry. You can certainly TRY to correct this by increasing the sharpness setting, but in my opinion it is not worth the tradeoff. Plus it is annoying to have to constantly screw with the setting on a per-source basis....

Most PS4 games are 1080p native. Like Bloodborne, for instance. If you think Bloodborne looks blurry at 0 sharpness, it's just your brain playing tricks on you because you're so used to an unnatural edge detection filter being run on everything. Bloodborne has other effects going on like chromatic aberration which can appear very strange, possibly blurry for some people, but you won't get rid of it by adjusting the sharpness; you'll just make it worse. Bloodborne doesn't have AA enabled (or if it does, it's very weak) meaning you should be able to see every jagged edge easily with sharpness at 0, at least I can. Sharpness settings above zero will actually enhance the appearance of jaggies. Gross.

Last edited by kohmei; Today at 11:59 AM.
kohmei is offline  
post #5477 of 5480 Old Today, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohmei View Post
It's not that sharpness "must" be set to 0, it's always a personal preference. It's just for a 1080p source, the original picture is 0. Even sharpness 1 is modifying the original image.

That said, especially for console video games, many of them are still not 1080p these days. Like most Xbone games are 900p. The Xbone still connects to your TV at 1080p, but it upscales the 900p image to 1080p by using interpolation. Interpolation will make it blurry. You can certainly TRY to correct this by increasing the sharpness setting, but in my opinion it is not worth the tradeoff. Plus it is annoying to have to constantly screw with the setting on a per-source basis....

Most PS4 games are 1080p native. Like Bloodborne, for instance. If you think Bloodborne looks blurry at 0 sharpness, it's just your brain playing tricks on you because you're so used to an unnatural edge detection filter being run on everything. Bloodborne has other effects going on like chromatic aberration which can appear very strange, possibly blurry for some people, but you won't get rid of it by adjusting the sharpness; you'll just make it worse. Bloodborne doesn't have AA enabled (or if it does, it's very weak) meaning you should be able to see every jagged edge easily with sharpness at 0, at least I can. Sharpness settings above zero will actually enhance the appearance of jaggies. Gross.
I am not gaming on my TV but I do agree that the jaggies are really noticed when bringing up the sharpness setting. The thing I am now seeing while adjusting the sharpness setting starting from 0 is that the jaggies do NOT show their ugly face's nearly as quickly with this latest firmware version using the same test patterns used to adjust the sharpness as in previous versions. Espically the early releases did exhibit really bad jaggies very quickly.

It seems to me, the adjustment is in much finer steps now along with much less overall range that was always overkill. Only a very small amout owners on these forums ever posted setting their sharpness above 50 so why did Samsung provide it to go up to 100. Maybe now the overall range maxed out at around 50-60 so the steps from 0-100 are much less sensitive (does that make sence?) at least on my TV.
mgh26 is offline  
post #5478 of 5480 Old Today, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
mgh26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
the dreaded sharpness setting lol ive fiddled around with it so much but now I think ive found the perfect setting for my taste which is 10 and it seems perfect to me with that setting but gaming I have it at around 20 because any lower it seems to have blur look to it
macmane... Did you notice any sharpness value change after the latest firmware update as I did? Also, like yourself, I have 2 perfered settings for sharpness. My Cox STB seems to like the setting at least 10 steps higher than my Blu-Rays require. I do use higher values then you do though. My eyes are a bit old & tired these days.

My sharpness calibration settings using the test patterns are also different from where I setteled on for my personal taste when viewing videos. I guess I just don't see the jaggie/artifact effect with videos as easy as text/test patterns/video games can display.
mgh26 is offline  
post #5479 of 5480 Unread Today, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgh26 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmane View Post
the dreaded sharpness setting lol ive fiddled around with it so much but now I think ive found the perfect setting for my taste which is 10 and it seems perfect to me with that setting but gaming I have it at around 20 because any lower it seems to have blur look to it
macmane... Did you notice any sharpness value change after the latest firmware update as I did? Also, like yourself, I have 2 perfered settings for sharpness. My Cox STB seems to like the setting at least 10 steps higher than my Blu-Rays require. I do use higher values then you do though. My eyes are a bit old & tired these days.

My sharpness calibration settings using the test patterns are also different from where I setteled on for my personal taste when viewing videos. I guess I just don't see the jaggie/artifact effect with videos as easy as text/test patterns/video games can display.
Actually yes idk if its samsung doing or uverse but at first setting it below 20 would blur but since the uverse and samsung update it seems 10 is the sweet spot for my tv and then again ive gotten kind of use to setting the sharpness below 20 so now my eyes have kinda adjusted but the picture just seems so much better now than before I admit that especially with the sharpness set to 10
macmane is online now  
post #5480 of 5480 Unread Today, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
macmane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohmei View Post
It's not that sharpness "must" be set to 0, it's always a personal preference. It's just for a 1080p source, the original picture is 0. Even sharpness 1 is modifying the original image.

That said, especially for console video games, many of them are still not 1080p these days. Like most Xbone games are 900p. The Xbone still connects to your TV at 1080p, but it upscales the 900p image to 1080p by using interpolation. Interpolation will make it blurry. You can certainly TRY to correct this by increasing the sharpness setting, but in my opinion it is not worth the tradeoff. Plus it is annoying to have to constantly screw with the setting on a per-source basis....

Most PS4 games are 1080p native. Like Bloodborne, for instance. If you think Bloodborne looks blurry at 0 sharpness, it's just your brain playing tricks on you because you're so used to an unnatural edge detection filter being run on everything. Bloodborne has other effects going on like chromatic aberration which can appear very strange, possibly blurry for some people, but you won't get rid of it by adjusting the sharpness; you'll just make it worse. Bloodborne doesn't have AA enabled (or if it does, it's very weak) meaning you should be able to see every jagged edge easily with sharpness at 0, at least I can. Sharpness settings above zero will actually enhance the appearance of jaggies. Gross.
O man bloodborne is what im playing at the moment and that game looks amazing and I actually put my sharpness to zero for it and it does look amazing but its so damn hard to play that game lol ive died so many times and im only on my fifth boss now ha I love it though its epic to me
macmane is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Samsung Un60f7100 60 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv , Samsung Un46f8000 46 Inch 3d Ultra Slim Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off