Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 133 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3961 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 10:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 191
It's official:

LeeSoFl is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3962 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40

I was having masochistic thoughts and pondering whether buying the X1, despite my fears that it will not work.

I then thought .."let me see what movies are on the Sony entertainment network"?

I can't see a damned thing. Does this site exist? Or is this another figment of our imagination?

quovadis123 is offline  
post #3963 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Site is available and "always available" for more funds getting added to the wallet.

LeeSoFl is online now  
post #3964 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post

It's official:

Yeah.. but we can't use it.

Silly us, for wanting it in the first place!!

I bet some people did not buy this tv because it did not have HDMI 2:0.

Now that it does...the graphics cards on pc's can't do HDMI 2.

I was really looking forward to playing games in 60fps.

jjnbos likes this.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #3965 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Can confirm Australia has the 4 update now.
Just need confirmation its HDMI 2.0 though I have no use for it yet lol
jjnbos likes this.
everunman is offline  
post #3966 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
quovadis123 is offline  
post #3967 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40

Ok back up.

Not sure I can find any 4k movies on there.

They all seem 1080 like Apple tv.

 

I thought this site was only for 4k movies linked with the X1?

quovadis123 is offline  
post #3968 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 97
nope, its like the "google play store" for sony stuff,nothing to do with 4k
wase4711 is online now  
post #3969 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 191
At this time, there is no internet site for 4K offerings. The only place you can see what is current (and I use that word in the 1960's sense of loosely) is on the X1 menu.
LeeSoFl is online now  
post #3970 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,045
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post

At this time, there is no internet site for 4K offerings. The only place you can see what is current (and I use that word in the 1960's sense of loosely) is on the X1 menu.

 

And I posted a link recently to a listing of what is available through the X1:

 

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/78476446/SEN%204K%20Content.zip

 

Quovadis123, did you not see that post?

wase4711 and tmac7balla like this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #3971 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
 

I was having masochistic thoughts and pondering whether buying the X1, despite my fears that it will not work.

I then thought .."let me see what movies are on the Sony entertainment network"?

I can't see a damned thing. Does this site exist? Or is this another figment of our imagination?

try updating the network app info in the setup menu.

vega509 is offline  
post #3972 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 12:20 PM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had a little bit of time to chase my blotch issue. I have not been able to replicate it. I have tried varying degrees of black and dark screens, though these always had some form of display content (even just a menu). I had first barely noticed it during scene changes while watching Avatar 3D (wow) - especially during the start. But today I see no sign of it. "IF" I can find a repeatable scenario of seeing it, I will repost, but for now, I would rather spend the effort on optimizing the screen and home theater experience during my brief encounters when no one wants to watch it smile.gif
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #3973 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Sony starts rolling out HDMI 2.0 update for X9 TVs


http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1385646939&rss
dreaux is offline  
post #3974 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,045
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 671
The article states that only one HDMI port will be upgraded, which is different that what we have been expecting.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #3975 of 11851 Old 11-28-2013, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 199
flinchn is offline  
post #3976 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 04:03 AM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post

HDMI 4 again? And the X1 doesn't even need it of course...

Do we know it's HDMI 4?
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #3977 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 05:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 199
flinchn is offline  
post #3978 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 05:52 AM
Member
 
Reddog77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1000 buck price drop at best buy in canada for the 65
Reddog77 is offline  
post #3979 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I hope it's not HDMI 4 since we need that for the X1 which has been modified to HDCP 2.0. It's my understanding that the X1 needs that HDCP 2 port and won't work in another.
dreaux is offline  
post #3980 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
 

 

And I posted a link recently to a listing of what is available through the X1:

 

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/78476446/SEN%204K%20Content.zip

 

Quovadis123, did you not see that post?

I have now.

Thanks

quovadis123 is offline  
post #3981 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Chronotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by trab37 View Post

I used a voltmeter to check for continuity after I cut the 3.5mm audio cable and did the same for the rs232 cable. If you get a 3.5mm cable from CablesToGo its:

Tip - black to pin 2
Center - brown to pin 3
Shield - shield to pin 5

It requires a null modem cable so if that doesn't work, just swap pins 2 and 3. RS232 control works like a champ and was much less work than creating an IP driver for it.


If you don't mind me asking, where we're you able to find the serial protocol? My Google-Fu is completely failing me, and I can't find anyway to control this TV.

Thanks!
Chronotek is offline  
post #3982 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me what the issues are with the 55X900A? I have a friend who wants to get the 55 I told her to spend the extra money and get the 65" instead. Thanks for te info. John
brickyardz is offline  
post #3983 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 07:49 PM
Newbie
 
smoak5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please help me. I have the 65x900A, I have QNAP TS-459 as my NAS running 3 different media servers to get the DLNA thing to work. I have Plex media server, Twonkey, and Serviio running on my QNAP. All of them produce the same problem. For most of my movies, it will stop playing the file and I will get an error message saying "video playback not supported" after exactly 54 minutes into the movie. It will play fine for the first 54 minutes. Also, some files won't even play. These are all blu ray rips encoded with Handbrake using the "high quality" profile and they are made into .m4v files.

Whereas on the Playstation 3 hooked up to my 65x900a, everything works well, all movies play as expected.

Has anyone gotten the DLNA streaming to work?


Appreciate any help.
smoak5 is offline  
post #3984 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
smoak5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by norml4721 View Post

Yes audio issues :

When coming out of HDMI 2 on media player to any input on Pioneer elite receiver The receiver sound goes on and off. PCM displayed on receiver then no sound . Toggles back and forth.. I tried going thru receiver but nothing out. When I disconnected receiver HDMI out I got constant PCM sound but only for a few minutes. Spent about 8 hours in the past 2 days with Sony support. I keep on getting b.oiler plate answers that do not help. Then get switched to another person and repeat the process. It appears that there is a communication problem between the receiver and the server but Sony will not admit that.


Also do you get any HD Master audio formats other that PCM out of media ?

Thank you in advance for any and all help Frustrated, Norm L
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post

I am having the same problems with the media player. When coming out of HDMI 2 I get no audio. I did when I first got it but it lasted about 20 min and dropped out for good. Got a second media player same problem.

I have been told by Sony that the player will have communications problems with some Pioneer receivers and with a Directv Genie. I have neither but still can't get audio.

Here is a second tier phone number you might try 1 866 924 7669.

Right now I am using optical out of the back of the TV to my Onkyo receiver. Sony claims it will put out 5.1 sound but I assumed it would just do 2 channel.

I have the same exact problem. i have the 65x900a, pioneer elite ac-71 and the 4k media player.

This is what I figured out.

On the TV when I select the 4K app to access the 4k media player, the receiver stays on TV output. However, the sound is actually being piped out of the 4k media player via the second hdmi out to a free HDMI port in the receiver. In my case, the DVD input on the receiver.
In order for me to get sound while playing back 4k content, obviously I had to switch to the DVD HDMI input. However, the receiver keeps losing audio. I think it is trying to switch back to the TV input on the receiver. I noticed that my HDMI light switches on and off on the front display of the receiver. With that light off, I get no sound.

The only way I can bypass this is to quickly switch on my receiver to DVD input as soon as I select the 4k app on the TV to "force it" into receiving audio into the DVD input. That seems to work.

Seems like some issue with receiving HDMI signal/ control from the X1 to the receiver .... Hope this helps.
smoak5 is offline  
post #3985 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

This offer is 11/11/13 and 05/01/14, CES is Jan 7-10TH ??

Lol silly americans and their emperial measuremrnts and backwards dates lol. Jokes!!! wink.gif

11th of november 2013 till 5th of jan 2014. It was on the Australian sony website so I have no doubt its this.
jjnbos likes this.

TV: SONY 65" 4K X900 - AVR: DENON AVR x4000 - AMP: ROTEL RMB 1585 5Ch 200w - OPPO 103D BD PLAYER
CENTRE: KEF Q600c - FRONT L/R: KEF Q900 - WIDE FRONT L/R: KEF Q300
SURROUND L/R: KEF Q800DS's - SURROUND BACK L/R: MINX 21's
SUB: SVS PC13-ULTRA
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #3986 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
Marcelitegti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoak5 View Post

Please help me. I have the 65x900A, I have QNAP TS-459 as my NAS running 3 different media servers to get the DLNA thing to work. I have Plex media server, Twonkey, and Serviio running on my QNAP. All of them produce the same problem. For most of my movies, it will stop playing the file and I will get an error message saying "video playback not supported" after exactly 54 minutes into the movie. It will play fine for the first 54 minutes. Also, some files won't even play. These are all blu ray rips encoded with Handbrake using the "high quality" profile and they are made into .m4v files.

Whereas on the Playstation 3 hooked up to my 65x900a, everything works well, all movies play as expected.

Has anyone gotten the DLNA streaming to work?


Appreciate any help.

I had the same issue using Universal media server... Finally got it to play forcing the default renderer as "sony w6,w8,w9" and after that every movie including mkv files work without an issue

I have the 55x900a hope that helps :-)
mitico303 likes this.
Marcelitegti is offline  
post #3987 of 11851 Old 11-29-2013, 11:45 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
found these pictures just thought of sharing

source: http://www.avmagazine.it/



iraqgsm is offline  
post #3988 of 11851 Old 11-30-2013, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jjnbos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post

Can anyone tell me what the issues are with the 55X900A? I have a friend who wants to get the 55 I told her to spend the extra money and get the 65" instead. Thanks for te info. John

The only issue with the TV itself is that 55" "only" does 3D with the same resolution as a cheap HDTV (540 P). Otherwise the only different is the size and cost. Looking back on it, the reason I didn't get the 65 is that it is just that much bigger (an even the 55 is a BIG tv), and I expected the picture on the 65 to be worse because of that extra size. In fact it's just as good as the 55, which is an amazing TV.

The media player has been a real mess, but the TV itself is awesome and to date trouble free. This issue with the 55" is only in 3D, so if 3D is not a factor the set has no problems. So, while I have the 55, and I do notice it when I watch 3D: there is zero 4k content in 3D, and not much 3D in normal HDTV, so I can't say this is killing me.

To a non-technical person, this 3D issue on the 55 looks like extremely thin horizontal lines. At normal distance, "its looks a little odd" is the worst of it. And odd is a relative thing. The 2D picture on these sets, even on a football game, is awesome.

The FMP-X1 media player (your only 4k native video source) has been a mess, but it's a mess with any TV.

Looking back on it, I would get the 65 because even if $1,000 extra dollars isn't nothing:

a) the "smaller" 55 is so still big it takes over the living room, so give up on the idea TV doesn't rule your home,

b) only point of 4k, IMHO, is to make a stunning picture on really big screens. The 65 has just as good of a picture

c) way better 3D. Maybe someday there will be enough to make this a big deal

d) I just looked at the wall, and an extra foot of width the 65" needs, would be blatant, but then again that would be awesome when watching the thing. decisions, decisions
RiED27880 likes this.
jjnbos is offline  
post #3989 of 11851 Old 11-30-2013, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
BillJulyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

The only issue with the TV itself is that 55" "only" does 3D with the same resolution as a cheap HDTV (540 P). Otherwise the only different is the size and cost. Looking back on it, the reason I didn't get the 65 is that it is just that much bigger (an even the 55 is a BIG tv), and I expected the picture on the 65 to be worse because of that extra size. In fact it's just as good as the 55, which is an amazing TV.

The media player has been a real mess, but the TV itself is awesome and to date trouble free. This issue with the 55" is only in 3D, so if 3D is not a factor the set has no problems. So, while I have the 55, and I do notice it when I watch 3D: there is zero 4k content in 3D, and not much 3D in normal HDTV, so I can't say this is killing me.

To a non-technical person, this 3D issue on the 55 looks like extremely thin horizontal lines. At normal distance, "its looks a little odd" is the worst of it. And odd is a relative thing. The 2D picture on these sets, even on a football game, is awesome.

The FMP-X1 media player (your only 4k native video source) has been a mess, but it's a mess with any TV.

Looking back on it, I would get the 65 because even if $1,000 extra dollars isn't nothing:

a) the "smaller" 55 is so still big it takes over the living room, so give up on the idea TV doesn't rule your home,

b) only point of 4k, IMHO, is to make a stunning picture on really big screens. The 65 has just as good of a picture

c) way better 3D. Maybe someday there will be enough to make this a big deal

d) I just looked at the wall, and an extra foot of width the 65" needs, would be blatant, but then again that would be awesome when watching the thing. decisions, decisions

LOL @ "so give up on the idea that TV doesn't rule your home".

I got the 65" and I really like it. It replaced an XBR52HX909 and I was worried that I'd lose some 2D picture quality by going to the 65", but I have been very happy with the picture quality...and I love the additional screen size.

Bill Julyan
BillJulyan is offline  
post #3990 of 11851 Old 11-30-2013, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnbos View Post

The media player has been a real mess, but the TV itself is awesome and to date trouble free.

The FMP-X1 media player (your only 4k native video source) has been a mess, but it's a mess with any TV.

The X1 has worked as expected from the first day the Sony techs came to my house and it was their first service call. It is a nice add-on, but it is far from essential gear. I looked at it as a sidecar to the TV and figured I would grow to like it as Sony loaded it up with viewing options. So far, it's only a fraction of the way there, and I expressed that in a very recent survey I was asked to complete.

Mess is a big overstatement.

Work-in-progress is more like it, and with a 4K TV, gives you a small showcase of wow-em material.
bobnorth65 and RiED27880 like this.
LeeSoFl is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off