Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 136 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4051 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Abbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I got home early last night and decided to rent Elysium off the X1 and enjoy it on my X9. When I went to rent it, the only option offered was to buy it for $34.99. What happened to the rent option?
Abbas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4052 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 09:51 AM
Member
 
MGTR420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abbas View Post

I got home early last night and decided to rent Elysium off the X1 and enjoy it on my X9. When I went to rent it, the only option offered was to buy it for $34.99. What happened to the rent option?

Yep, that was the reason for mine being returned.
MGTR420 is offline  
post #4053 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
trab37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronotek View Post

If you don't mind me asking, where we're you able to find the serial protocol? My Google-Fu is completely failing me, and I can't find anyway to control this TV.

Thanks!

Sorry for the delayed reply, I haven't been checking this as often as I had been. Typically the protocol will be in the manual toward the back or in an Apendix, or available from Sony's site. I have a home automation system and there was a driver available for RS232 control of the X900, I believe it was developed by Sony and it works perfectly. It is possible to open the driver in Notepad++ or a similar text editor and break it down to find all the commands; all I use it for is On/Off, input select, and menu controls. If you would like I can send you a copy of it, it should be fairly easy to pick out the commands; just PM me and I'll send it to you. I really wish there were more information for IP control as I would prefer it so I could free up an RS232 port on my processor for another device.

After looking through the driver, there are commands for just about everything down to discrete control of viewing modes, pretty thorough job by Sony on this one.
trab37 is offline  
post #4054 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 10:23 AM
Member
 
sean.scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hyde Park, NY
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry if this has been posted here before guys, but I tried to search this thread before posting. Is there an off the shelf serial to 3.5mm adapter that someone has tested for control of these TVs? I've ordered the 55" and would like to start prepping my automation controller.

I was looking at something like: http://www.cablestogo.com/product/02444

Thanks,
Sean

Pioneer Kuro PRO-151FD | KRP-500M | PDP-5020FD | PDP-4280HD

Pioneer Elite SC-05 | VSX-01TXH | BDP-23FD

Bowers & Wilkins CM8 | CM-Center | M-1

http://sean-scott.com

sean.scott is offline  
post #4055 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Thunderbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGTR420 View Post

Yep, that was the reason for mine being returned.

I wished I could return mine but it is too late. The X1 should have been a free promo item if you purchase the TV. Then, Sony can makes money on Movies and rentals.
Thunderbug is offline  
post #4056 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abbas View Post

I got home early last night and decided to rent Elysium off the X1 and enjoy it on my X9. When I went to rent it, the only option offered was to buy it for $34.99. What happened to the rent option?


is that the "4k" version? you can buy the Blu-Ray for $13.28 on Amazon.

vega509 is offline  
post #4057 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
 
trab37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean.scott View Post

Sorry if this has been posted here before guys, but I tried to search this thread before posting. Is there an off the shelf serial to 3.5mm adapter that someone has tested for control of these TVs? I've ordered the 55" and would like to start prepping my automation controller.

I was looking at something like: http://www.cablestogo.com/product/02444

Thanks,
Sean

That should work, it says it is for 3-wire RS232 connections which the tv requires. I spliced my cables because my equipment rack is too far from my tv to run a DB9 cable. I'm not sure how far your processor is from the tv, but you may need longer than the 1.5 feet that cable provides unless you have a DB9 cable that will connect to it already in place. Also, keep in mind the tv requires a null modem cable, the one in the link does not specify if it is null or not but a null modem adapter is cheap and not a bad idea to order at the same time just in case.
trab37 is offline  
post #4058 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 11:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Abbas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post


is that the "4k" version? you can buy the Blu-Ray for $13.28 on Amazon.

Yes, it is the 4k version off the X1. I have no issues paying $7.99 to rent it but I dont like being forced into buying it.
Abbas is offline  
post #4059 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 11:56 AM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Regarding the clouding issue on the the 4k Sony forum that was me. I will upload some pics tonight just don't be scared
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4060 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone have problem with the Oppo 93 connected to the 65X900A? When I try to connect from HDMI-1 on the 93 to the TV the 93 will freeze and not respond. Get the splash screen, but not the no disc message and will not respond to any commands from remote. If I hook to TV using HDMI-2 out the 93 works just fine, however have to use optical audio to get sound, if I use HDMI-1 for audio to receiver all I can get is stereo. Don't make since does it? Also I have Oppo 103 and it works fine using HDMI-1 to TV and HDMI-2 out to receiver for audio and get all the HD audio as it should. I had to disable Bravia syc or the 103 would also freeze. At least the 103 works as it should, but I have been in contact with OP support for last 2 days and tried all their suggestions with no luck. I'm thinking it must be the TV HDMI is really buggy. If I hook my 93 back to my LG TV the 93 works fine with HDMI-1 out to the LG. Guess will have to live with the optical audio, for now until figure out a fix from somewhere.

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
post #4061 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 02:45 PM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqgsm View Post

Regarding the clouding issue on the the 4k Sony forum that was me. I will upload some pics tonight just don't be scared

I am anxious to see and hear about the results
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #4062 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,409
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by laakness View Post

I have similar clouding to the picture that was linked a few posts up. I have come to terms with it and will take it any day over the plasma IR/burn in issues that I got to experience (+1 for BB warranty).

I found that good settings like AustinJerry posted help quite a bit to minimize it while a calibration for the display would probably make it even better.

This. I'll take clouding over image retention any day of the week, and twice on Sundays. I've got a patch on my 55X9 which is indeed facing where the input board is on the back, but because I don't have the TV on Nukem levels of brightness it's simply not noticeable during normal 2D viewing. In 3D it becomes a little more obvious because of the way that the backlight output is ramped up, but it's still not an overt distraction.

As you say, good settings and/or a proper calibration can make all the difference.
Geoff D is offline  
post #4063 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 03:24 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I contacted Sony recently about the lines which is extremly visable in 3d, to be honest never checked the 3d till people were talking about here then when I checked it was really bad, Sony engineers says both my tv 3d and clouding is ok and part of the technology anyway I'm leaving work in few hours and will upload them.

Fyi: cloudiness became terrable after the hdmi 4 upgrade so I wanted to send the tv back but amazon said since the tv had been tampered (wth Sony came and did it) we can't take it back, went throughy chargeback usaa told me that since I admit that the tv tampered (again WTH it's an upgrade by Sony for god sake) chargeback fails too. I will take them to court very soon
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4064 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 06:41 PM
Member
 
brownriggd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMundt View Post

He's saying the movie looks so good, it's close to what native 4K looks like.

I believe the movie was shot using a Red (or is it Red Ray?) digital 4K camera which gives it a finely detailed look even when upscaled from 1080p on the X900A. Does anyone know of any other movies on BD shot in native 4K worth having a look on our sets?
brownriggd is offline  
post #4065 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
BrianMundt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownriggd View Post

I believe the movie was shot using a Red (or is it Red Ray?) digital 4K camera which gives it a finely detailed look even when upscaled from 1080p on the X900A. Does anyone know of any other movies on BD shot in native 4K worth having a look on our sets?

It was shot on Red. Redray is their proprietary format and player. Thankfully, most movies shot nowadays are on Red. Both The Hobbit and Prometheus were, as was Amazing Spiderman and countless others. They all look great.
BrianMundt is offline  
post #4066 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 07:34 PM
Member
 
Thunderbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqgsm View Post

I contacted Sony recently about the lines which is extremly visable in 3d, to be honest never checked the 3d till people were talking about here then when I checked it was really bad, Sony engineers says both my tv 3d and clouding is ok and part of the technology anyway I'm leaving work in few hours and will upload them.

Fyi: cloudiness became terrable after the hdmi 4 upgrade so I wanted to send the tv back but amazon said since the tv had been tampered (wth Sony came and did it) we can't take it back, went throughy chargeback usaa told me that since I admit that the tv tampered (again WTH it's an upgrade by Sony for god sake) chargeback fails too. I will take them to court very soon

Is yours the 55 inch or the 65 inch version? How long ago did you purchase it?
Thunderbug is offline  
post #4067 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 07:54 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbug View Post

Is yours the 55 inch or the 65 inch version? How long ago did you purchase it?

55
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4068 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 07:58 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17












iraqgsm is offline  
post #4069 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 07:59 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
this is for 3d






Thunderbug likes this.
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4070 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:01 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sony engineers says they don't see a problem with it.
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4071 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 671

It seems obvious to me that the pictures you posted (at least the 2D ones) show a cloudiness that I would not find acceptable.  My sympathies.

tmac7balla likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #4072 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:17 PM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I seem to have stumbled onto a solution for having my X1 play video with sound coming rrom the X1 HDMI 2. I am not sure it works all the time.
My system is configured for ARC with the TV HDMI1 connected to audio 1 of my Yamaha 3020 aventage. Fo my receiver, I am only able to use ARC wtih audio input 1,2,3 or 4. My X1 HDMI1 is connected to the TV HDMI4. My X1 HDMI2 is connected to HDMI5 on my receiver.

When I first go to the application menu and select a video, my ARC kicks in and my receiver switches to audio 1. The 4K video begins playing, but I have no sound at the moment. I then change my receiver to HDMI5 and I get the audio drop outs like everyone else while watching my 4K video. I then backup the video while it is playing trying the chapter back and trying the rewind. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries, but then the sound kicks in and continues to play. I have been able to watch Spiderman for an hour so far with the audio coming out of the X1 HDMI2 to my receive HDMI 5 and no audio drops!

I am not sure if it is tied to a video / audio buffer or what, but (so far) it works. It may be a fluke at this time, so I will play with this offf and on over the next several days. If you try it, let me know if you have success or failure with this.
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #4073 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:27 PM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqgsm View Post

Regarding the clouding issue on the the 4k Sony forum that was me. I will upload some pics tonight just don't be scared

OMG or whatever the phrase is. I thought they were going to take care of you based on your posts in Sony's forum. I would have a hard time accepting that. My sympathies as well and wish you all the luck and prayers that you get that resolved.
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #4074 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:32 PM
Member
 
MultimediaGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did the clouding start off that way after they changed the board or gradually get worse or that bad from the start?
MultimediaGeek is offline  
post #4075 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:33 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just wanted a solution to get my wife stop telling me "I TOLD YOU SO", well getting deployed to Afghanistan after Christmas.
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4076 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:37 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MultimediaGeek View Post

Did the clouding start off that way after they changed the board or gradually get worse or that bad from the start?

Exactly , see I thought the screws were tight on the corners but didn't want to mess with it, BTW sony rep called today and she confirmed that the TV have 1920x540 but she called it full hd 3d and she just insisted she said and I quote "1920x1080 on the 65 is equal to 1920x540 on the 55".
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4077 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:37 PM
Member
 
MGTR420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I cannot believe they find that acceptable. That's just unbelievable. And thank you for your service.
MGTR420 is offline  
post #4078 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:49 PM
Member
 
bad wombatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqgsm 

2D pictures

It looks like there are lights coming out of the corners/sides, right? This is no clouding, looks more like backlight bleeding to me.

Not ok, telling you there’s no problem...
bad wombatz is offline  
post #4079 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:51 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
thank you, I told the service rep that the TV unwatchable at night, she said the best way to watch it in semi lit room.
iraqgsm is offline  
post #4080 of 11845 Old 12-03-2013, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 671

Here is my display with a blank screen.  No clouding.

 

AustinJerry is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off