Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 12610 Old 05-22-2013, 11:07 PM
Newbie
 
malfador2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont know why everyone cant believe this thing is only 120hz r it is copied and pasted from best buys web site Sony - 65" Class (64-1/2" Diag.) - LED - 4K Ultra HD TV (2160p) - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV. you can also tell by the videos that people have posted that there is clearly motion blur whether playing video games or watching movies. im going to best buy tommorow to make my purchase its between the sony and the samsung 9000 rose gold because of the screen size. Im going to take a pic of the specs at best buy and post them so everyone can see its 120hz. im also going to play with the motion settings and see if i can fix them. as i stated before i had the rose gold the sony and the zt60 playing life of pi and the sony had horrible motion blur and the samsung and panny looked fantastic. if i can fix this motion blur ill go with the sony because the picture is superior just not during movement if i cant i think its gonna be the samsung rose gold.
malfador2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 12610 Old 05-22-2013, 11:12 PM
Newbie
 
malfador2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tomorrow im going to best buy and its between the sony 65 4k and the samsung rose gold. if i can fix the motion blur by playing with the settings ill get the sony if not im going with the rose gold. and btw the sony is 120hz and even if it was 240hz which it is not that still would cause motion blur on a 4k set. im really hoping the settings will fix this problem as i really wanted the sony but as it is the motion problems are horrendous. as i said above i had the life of pi on the rose gold the zt60 and the sony. the other two killed the sony but on scenes without motion the sony looked great. this tv is almost $7k and a 120hz refresh is strange but the samsung which is $7k marked down from $9k has its problems too such as flashlighting and clouding:mad: so im kinda stuck it seems pick the lesser of two evils.
malfador2002 is offline  
post #63 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 04:28 AM
Member
 
mbart11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakerphile View Post

Where did you purchase your TV? Did you have it delivered and installed by them?

I ordered it from the Sony store. They just delivered it. I set it up myself.
Standatdnut likes this.
mbart11 is offline  
post #64 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 06:05 AM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's going to kill me that I'll have mine tomorrow but won't be able to set it up because I can't move my Kuro by myself. Even if I could, I'm waiting for my HDMI cables from monoprice, which won't be here until Tuesday. frown.gif
saxguy is offline  
post #65 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speakerphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post

Sony direct may be able to keep track, but no one else could.

Sorry, you are correct there.

On a side note, I hope they wouldn't pull such a petty move if they had an unhappy customer!

Though I am an employee of Magnolia Home Theater, the views and opinions I express on this forum are those of my own and not my employer.
Speakerphile is offline  
post #66 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speakerphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbart11 View Post

I ordered it from the Sony store. They just delivered it. I set it up myself.

I'd call them and return it. They should pick it up for free. Do you have any more pictures of the issue? It is kind of difficult to tell from your image.

Though I am an employee of Magnolia Home Theater, the views and opinions I express on this forum are those of my own and not my employer.
Speakerphile is offline  
post #67 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 12:26 PM
Member
 
honda steffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sony switzerland has confirmed the 120 Hz.mad.gif
honda steffen is offline  
post #68 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by honda steffen View Post

Sony switzerland has confirmed the 120 Hz.mad.gif
I stand corrected. It certainly explains why I could not find the info on Sony's Site after searching for almost 1/2 Hr. Not sure it's all that significant anyways. With the motion blur inherent in most sources, and marketing hype, being what it is, it probably doesn't matter that much.
Would you buy a TV that had a dynamic contrast ratio of 1,000,000:1 or 10,000,000:1? Either is irrelevant and meaningless. I'd settle for a true contrast ratio of 4,000:1 like my big Sharp has.
billdag is offline  
post #69 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 01:25 PM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bottom line is it doesn't matter if it looks good - and it does. I watched a Blu Ray of Iron Man at Best Buy yesterday and the display looked great. Mine is coming tomorrow (confirmed). I think I'm going to run a USB extension cable into my cabinet from the side of the set. Once it's in place I don't see me being able to access it.
saxguy is offline  
post #70 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 02:00 PM
Newbie
 
vphoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I contacted Sony and they told me it is 240Hz. Crutchfield had 240Hz listed, and now has changed it to 120Hz. . Also there are no Sony TVs with motionflow 960 that are not also 240Hz. So this is very confusing. It may actually be 120Hz and the Sony person I spoke with was wrong.
vphoner is offline  
post #71 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 02:03 PM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just to add a little more info - not on the refresh rate - the reds on this set are incredible. Sony's 4K demo had a scene where there was a red dining room, with red chairs and tablecloth with all different shades of red foods on the table. Stunning! The blue is amazing too - there was a scene which looked like the carribean and the set captured the shade of the water perfectly.
saxguy is offline  
post #72 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
malfador2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The set is in fact 120 hz went to best buy today and turned the motion setting to clear as suggested by one of the members and put in avatar on blu ray. the motion on the 4k tv was improved but not as good as the samsung. the rose gold killed this tv the sony is slightly sharper but the bigger screen on the rosegold and the superior motion handling just blows the 4k tv away. the best buy reps were overall dissapointed in the 4k and people walking buy were amazed with the samsung and not very impressed with the 4k. so i ended up going home with the rose gold. I dont regret the descision i spent 2 hours with both tvs and people 20130523_141830-1.jpg 1662k .jpg file observing that did not work for best buy liked the rose gold better. here is a pic of the 4k specs from the store proving that it is in fact 120hz. I really wanted this set but with this 4k resolution and poor refresh rate the tech is not there.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130523_141830-1.jpg (1.62 MB, 190 views)
malfador2002 is offline  
post #73 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lethean View Post

One thing I will say is what the hell was Sony thinking with those speakers? Clearly anyone buying a 7K 65 inch T.V with nary any content available for it as of yet already has a dedicated audio setup.

I thought the same thing when I saw it on display at the Magnolia Design Center in Atlanta.eek.gif

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is online now  
post #74 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
electrofascist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by vphoner View Post

I contacted Sony and they told me it is 240Hz. Crutchfield had 240Hz listed, and now has changed it to 120Hz. . Also there are no Sony TVs with motionflow 960 that are not also 240Hz. So this is very confusing. It may actually be 120Hz and the Sony person I spoke with was wrong.

Retailers are just as confused so they will advertise the lowest spec by default.
electrofascist is offline  
post #75 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 08:04 PM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerwi View Post

I thought the same thing when I saw it on display at the Magnolia Design Center in Atlanta.eek.gif

So did I, but they actually sound really good.
saxguy is offline  
post #76 of 12610 Old 05-23-2013, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speakerphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrofascist View Post

Retailers are just as confused so they will advertise the lowest spec by default.

I was surprised by the spec and verified it at multiple levels within Sony Corp. It is 120Hz.

Though I am an employee of Magnolia Home Theater, the views and opinions I express on this forum are those of my own and not my employer.
Speakerphile is offline  
post #77 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
electrofascist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakerphile View Post

I was surprised by the spec and verified it at multiple levels within Sony Corp. It is 120Hz.

This sort of confusion often happens with Sony, so it just doesn't mean anything until a major review publishes the spec. Personally, it doesn't matter because Sony utilizes proprietary motion technology and the X900's performance is stellar.
electrofascist is offline  
post #78 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speakerphile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,010
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrofascist View Post

This sort of confusion often happens with Sony, so it just doesn't mean anything until a major review publishes the spec. Personally, it doesn't matter because Sony utilizes proprietary motion technology and the X900's performance is stellar.

Who doesn't use a proprietary motion technology, and where do you think the major review sites get their specs?

Though I am an employee of Magnolia Home Theater, the views and opinions I express on this forum are those of my own and not my employer.
Speakerphile is offline  
post #79 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bakerwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 2,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakerphile View Post

Who doesn't use a proprietary motion technology, and where do you think the major review sites get their specs?

I see you work at Best Buy Magnolia. I was at the Magnolia Design Center in Atlanta and saw the Samsung UN85S9AF and the Sony XBR-84X900. The Sony PQ was very good, but the Samsung was excellent. However, I would never spend that much money on a display for either.eek.gif

Pioneer Elite PRO-151FD

Zektor MAS7.1

Classé CA-2200/CA-5200

Oppo BDP-105, Denon DVD-5910CI, Cambridge 752BD, Cambridge 640C V2

Paradigm Signature S8, Paradigm Signature ADP1

Paradigm Signature ADP3, Paradigm Signature C5

REL R-505 Sub (2)

Oppo BDP-93, BDP-103D, Pioneer BDP-320

Sony BDP-S790

bakerwi is online now  
post #80 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
kdog750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post

Wow - that is strange!! For a set this expensive, 240Hz Min. should have been a no-brainer, whether you chose to activate it or not. BB And Future Shop both spec it at 240 and I believe the S&V review I read for the 84" mentions it as well.
I could find no definitive number from Sony. How and where did you get it??????? If it was from some Sony salesman I would not consider that conclusive. I've caught them spewing misinformation many times over the years.

I THINK WHAT WE REALLY NEED TO FIND OUT IS IF THESE NEW SONY 4K SETS WILL AT SOME POINT ACCEPT A 4K SIGNAL AT 60FPS.
OTHERWISE, MOTION BLUR WOULD BE ALMOST INTOLERABLE IF YOU ARE SEATED AT THE OPTIMUM DISTANCE FOR 4K - ABOUT 4-1/2 Ft. FOR THE 65"

That will probably be the selling point of the next version of their 4K set. A full 240hz with 60FPS input. You are going to have to upgrade to keep the economy pumping smile.gif
CATYPH202 likes this.
kdog750 is offline  
post #81 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 09:07 AM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can someone tell me how much space is under the TV when the stand is attached? I want to leave my apple TV under the set and leave an HDMI and Network cable near the set if the 2.1" high Sony 4K player will be able to sit under the edge of the TV.
saxguy is offline  
post #82 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 09:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 12,447
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speakerphile View Post

Sorry, you are correct there.

On a side note, I hope they wouldn't pull such a petty move if they had an unhappy customer!
Your right about that, for a few dollar item and small print, no returns. That would be lame.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #83 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 11:03 AM
y2j
Member
 
y2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got my 65" 4K delivered.

How do you get the tv to upconvert the signal to 4k? I thought it did this automatically?

When I press the display button, my Mac Mini shows 1080p HD.

When I press the button to show my DirecTV genie, it shows 480p SD.
I have the box set to output 1080p only.

Are there special HDMI cables needed to display 4K?
I have the 1.4 version with High Speed and 3D capability.

Any help would be much appreciated!

y2j is offline  
post #84 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 11:30 AM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It might be upsampling it and displaying the input signal resolution.

The DirecTV thing makes no sense, though.
saxguy is offline  
post #85 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 11:55 AM
Member
 
gadgeTTmini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Firstly, I LOVE my Sony XBR-65X900A so far! I watch a ton of 3D movies at home, and previously scoffed at Passive 3D because of the decreased resolution, but I always had issues with the flicker , decreased brightness and cross-talk of Active 3D. Plus, supporting more viewers meant expensive glasses that I had to keep charged. This 4k TV is the best of both worlds with respect to 3D - full HD rez to each eye like Active, but the light, inexpensive battery-free glasses of Passive.

Anyway, a question for the group - while I already have a pretty good center channel speaker for my 5.1 system (5800ES), it'd be really neat to use the TV's built-in speakers AS the center channel of my home theater system. Anyone know if that's possible?
gadgeTTmini is offline  
post #86 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It depends. I don't know what type of audio inputs are on the back. If there is a left and right audio input you would split the signal out of your processor for the center channel and plug it into the left and right inputs of the TV so they are both playing the center channel material.

So that's how to do it, but why? The speakers in the TV won't be timbre matched to the rest of your system - it will most likely be pretty noticeable. Also, even with boosting the db to compensate for the smaller speakers, the volume curve might not be in proportion to that of the rest of your system.
saxguy is offline  
post #87 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 01:06 PM
Member
 
jefe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi,

I just took delivery of the 55" 4K yesterday. Watched two 3D movies, Prometheus and The Hobbit on it. No question 3D looks fabulous.
My question is I could not get an internet connection to work. I use a wired LAN as wireless does not work well in my house. The TV does not recognize a cable connection. I tested my cable with my playstation3 and downloaded an update while the delivery guys were there. I am trying to get the store to bring me a new TV to swap and I think they will do it.
Is there anything about this set that makes using a LAN connection unusual?

PS I wish the speakers were removable. The Tv is so wide now it is a problem in the room I have it in. I have the size problems of a 65" without the screen space to compensate for it.....
jefe1 is offline  
post #88 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 01:10 PM
Member
 
gadgeTTmini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my 65" connected to our wired LAN and everything works fine. I even use the built-in YouTube to watch 4k clips at full rez (they look stunning!). No such luck on removing the speakers. I agree - who would buy a $5000 TV and not have it connected to a home theater receiver? I don't buy the notion of watching the new on the TV using the built-in speakers without having to power up a HT receiver since the Sony remote will control a Sony HT receiver or you can get a cheap universal remote to do both.

My main complaint about the speakers (aside from them not being removable and artificially making the TV wider than necessary) is that their design breaks the flat mirror finish of the screen. Every time I walk by the TV, reflections on the sunken-in speakers catch my eye. Guess that just means that I need to be watching content on it more often :-)
gadgeTTmini is offline  
post #89 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 01:18 PM
Member
 
saxguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgeTTmini View Post

I have my 65" connected to our wired LAN and everything works fine. I even use the built-in YouTube to watch 4k clips at full rez (they look stunning!). No such luck on removing the speakers. I agree - who would buy a $5000 TV and not have it connected to a home theater receiver? I don't buy the notion of watching the new on the TV using the built-in speakers without having to power up a HT receiver since the Sony remote will control a Sony HT receiver or you can get a cheap universal remote to do both.

My main complaint about the speakers (aside from them not being removable and artificially making the TV wider than necessary) is that their design breaks the flat mirror finish of the screen. Every time I walk by the TV, reflections on the sunken-in speakers catch my eye. Guess that just means that I need to be watching content on it more often :-)

I thought 4k YouTube clips were downsampled to 1080p. If not, I'm extra happy to get the set up and running tonight! BTW, how can you be sure they were playing at full 4k?
saxguy is offline  
post #90 of 12610 Old 05-24-2013, 01:57 PM
y2j
Member
 
y2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had their set professionally calibrated yet? If so, could you please share the settings as a starting point for myself and others?
Has anyone calibrated their display using one of the blu-ray discs? If so, could you please share your settings?

I would also like you know which settings are worth using and which ones should be shut off.

Has anyone figured out how to change the resolution of their PC when hooked up to this display?
The highest quality setting remains 1080p under my options on my Mac Mini.

Thanks in advance!

y2j is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread - 65x900a by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off