Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 374 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11191 of 13093 Old 07-18-2014, 06:26 PM
Member
 
halon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSSues View Post
Would you guys get a 65" x900a or a 75" samsung 6350? I would be sitting at 15 feet away.
Everyone here wil say 900a. And you should.

15feet!? Damn.
halon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11192 of 13093 Old 07-18-2014, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by halon View Post
Everyone here wil say 900a. And you should.

15feet!? Damn.
I am 15 ft away from my 65 x900a
I just finished watching Gravity 3D from hbo on demand
It was better than I remember it being in the theater

Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11193 of 13093 Old 07-18-2014, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
sdMCM66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hawaii... I wish
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 119
RIO2 is great 3D and amusing as well. Kids movie but when you crave new 3D you have to take what you're given
sdMCM66 is offline  
post #11194 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 05:32 AM
Member
 
hugabone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if the built in Netflix app has 3D?
hugabone is offline  
post #11195 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugabone View Post
Does anyone know if the built in Netflix app has 3D?
I don't believe the app can handle it well yet. I played a few of the very few 3d videos and they were a bit blurry on the edges. When i hit the 3D button the TV says simulated 3D and all other options are greyed out. Hoping a future release can handle it properly.

Last edited by Mdjones9137; 07-19-2014 at 05:53 AM.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11196 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
hugabone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
I don't believe the app can handle it well yet. I played a few of the very few 3d videos and they were a bit blurry on the edges. When i hit the 3D button the TV says simulated 3D and all other options are greyed out. Hoping a future release can handle it properly.
Seems the only way to get Netflix 3D from my devices is the PS3. A Turtles Tale was in 3D but 720p and 2.0 audio. Looks great on my set. I seem to cant control the picture adjustments with the internal Netflix app, is there a way to do it?
hugabone is offline  
post #11197 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugabone View Post
Seems the only way to get Netflix 3D from my devices is the PS3. A Turtles Tale was in 3D but 720p and 2.0 audio. Looks great on my set. I seem to cant control the picture adjustments with the internal Netflix app, is there a way to do it?
I tried it on my Oppo 103 and am getting a picture that looks the same as the internal app. Not 2D or 3D but a blurred 2D - the TV is not recognizing it as a 3D image at all. I would expect to get a side by side image from Netflix like i do when watching 3D HBO on demand.
I think if you go to crackle and stream something you can set the adjustments and they will remain for Netflix.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11198 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 29
There is much conjecture wheather to add Darblet processing to our end picture after doing all the calibrations on our 4k Sony TV sets. Being a owner of a darblet 5000 and calibrating with the help of our fine individuals here on the forum I feel we are defeating the purpose of getting an industry standard picture and the overall intentions of what the director intended the end image to be by adding it. I was reading the review here http://www.avforums.com/review/darbe...ice-review.346 and there are the fors and against it like usual. Now I know AustinJerry you are using this in your chain. When you calibrate using Spears & Munsil are you taking the Darblet into account?. I would have thought the obvious that the darblet is off when your adjusting parameters as such. Although the reviewer states that it has little to no effect on calibration test patterns. Given that this review is from 2012 I was wondering if it still relevant since we are now into the era of 4k upscaling and technology has come a fare way when it comes to panel design and architecture. I was surprised to see the reviewers giving it a measly 5 out of 10.

I am in two minds to add this back in the chain and forgoing my issue with the Audio return Channel. Even tho tho I thought it couldn't get any better it did but not because of the darblet. Read on.

One thing I must add which I did notice is- for the past year on my Oppo 93 (Nuforce Edition) I have been using HDMI 2 as my primary output display. The reason is that I was using Multi Channel out as well as HDMI at the same time for music purposes. I recently re-arranged my setup and started using HDMI 1 which has the Qdeo processor as my primary display and notice a major increase in picture quality straight away. The Oppo has its own picture parameters, the receiver has its own picture parameters, the tv has its own picture parameters. So I am assuming when doing a accurate calibration regardless of what type of setup everyone has, we are only concerned about the TVs picture parameters and everything else along the chain is redundant and should be disregarded?
CSPerera is offline  
post #11199 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,953
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2762 Post(s)
Liked: 1403
I can only share my own experiences. I have on purpose set up two HDMI connections between my AVR (Denon 4520) and the X900. One signal path has the Darblet, and the other does not. This allows me to easily assess video performance with and without Darbee processing. During a recent calibration session, I took the same measurements using both signal paths, and my conclusion is that the Darblet has no effect on a calibration whatsoever. This includes grayscale, luminance, RGB color balance, picture and brightness.

What I have not done is compare the various Spears&Munsil video tests to assess the overall impact of Darbee processing. Perhaps someone like Geoff, who has more knowledge of these tests, will comment.

I use an Oppo BDP-93, and all picture adjustments in the player are unused. I use the Denon to up-scale all sources to 1080p, which then get up-scaled to 4K by the Sony. Using the Darblet remote control to toggle processing off and on, the PQ improvement using the Darblet is obvious, and very pleasing to my eye.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11200 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 03:25 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I just had a look on the back of your Receiver Austin- So am assuming your using both hdmi monitor outs on the receiver going to 2 inputs in the X900? and you have the darblet on one of them?

I know Geoff gathering from his previous posts that he does not like the darblet at all. But for all educational purposes I also would like to know if the Spears tests impact darbee processing and I am not sure he has access to a darblet.

Last edited by CSPerera; 07-19-2014 at 03:34 PM.
CSPerera is offline  
post #11201 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
...my conclusion is that the Darblet has no effect on a calibration whatsoever. This includes grayscale, luminance, RGB color balance, picture and brightness.
This.

(As long as you keep it at the lowest setting (HD) which doesn't add a sharpening effect. I keep mine at 55%. Most like 40-60%)
CSPerera and Mdjones9137 like this.

Last edited by flinchn; 07-19-2014 at 03:41 PM.
flinchn is offline  
post #11202 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 04:07 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Some of us here have a HTPC which does 4k output. I am at a wonder if the darblet doesn't pass 4k, then how will it effect a HTPC? Its a complicated set of parameters and unless the darblet is updated those who are using it will be only temporally doing so. When 4k becomes mainstream you could hardly use it in a setup where the darblet sits between the receiver and the TV's chain. Unless the darblet is only used in a individual components chain only.
CSPerera is offline  
post #11203 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Some of us here have a HTPC which does 4k output. I am at a wonder if the darblet doesn't pass 4k, then how will it effect a HTPC? Its a complicated set of parameters and unless the darblet is updated those who are using it will be only temporally doing so. When 4k becomes mainstream you could hardly use it in a setup where the darblet sits between the receiver and the TV's chain. Unless the darblet is only used in a individual components chain only.

The darblet does not pass 4k. I bought one knowing this, but my plan is to either move it to a non-4k source or my bedroom tv if 4k becomes prevalent. That'd be a high class problem though and I'd welcome it.

For your HTPC, you could run that separately to the TV and then run everything else through the darblet
Duke02 is offline  
post #11204 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,953
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2762 Post(s)
Liked: 1403
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Some of us here have a HTPC which does 4k output. I am at a wonder if the darblet doesn't pass 4k, then how will it effect a HTPC? Its a complicated set of parameters and unless the darblet is updated those who are using it will be only temporally doing so. When 4k becomes mainstream you could hardly use it in a setup where the darblet sits between the receiver and the TV's chain. Unless the darblet is only used in a individual components chain only.
True that the Darblet doesn't pass 4K. But regardless, if you let the display do the 4K up-scaling, it doesn't matter. Those of us who have AVR's and/or players which can up-scale to 4K have not been able to see any difference when allowing the display to do the up-scaling.

I do expect we will see a Darbee product at some time in the future that will have HDMI 2.0 and will pass a 4K signal. In the meantime, we can enjoy Darbee processing with the current unit by restricting the signal to 1080p.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11205 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The only problem with that is- you wouldn't be able to get HD Audio tho and be dependant on the TV speakers.
CSPerera is offline  
post #11206 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,953
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2762 Post(s)
Liked: 1403
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
I just had a look on the back of your Receiver Austin- So am assuming your using both hdmi monitor outs on the receiver going to 2 inputs in the X900? and you have the darblet on one of them?

I know Geoff gathering from his previous posts that he does not like the darblet at all. But for all educational purposes I also would like to know if the Spears tests impact darbee processing and I am not sure he has access to a darblet.
That is correct--Monitor 1 and Monitor 2.
CSPerera likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11207 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Traylorc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 394
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
My 65X900a arrived today...consider me impressed. I just spent the afternoon looking at various 3D movies...and my excitement for 3D material has been rekindled.

Love this TV....
Pixel Dude and RiED27880 like this.
Traylorc is offline  
post #11208 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traylorc View Post
My 65X900a arrived today...consider me impressed. I just spent the afternoon looking at various 3D movies...and my excitement for 3D material has been rekindled.

Love this TV....
Congrats - it really is an awesome TV
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11209 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
question... just bought the xbr65inch 900a .... notice those of you discussing cinema mode ... my picture mode selections only have : CUSTOM, VIVID, and STANDARD..... any advice?
mgb140 is offline  
post #11210 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Traylorc View Post
My 65X900a arrived today...consider me impressed. I just spent the afternoon looking at various 3D movies...and my excitement for 3D material has been rekindled.

Love this TV....
It's even better at night. Enjoy.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #11211 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 06:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgb140 View Post
question... just bought the xbr65inch 900a .... notice those of you discussing cinema mode ... my picture mode selections only have : CUSTOM, VIVID, and STANDARD..... any advice?
Hit options
Scene select
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11212 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Faceless Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'm visiting my parents for a week and I've been playing Destiny beta on the $600 Vizio that my parents got on Black Friday last year. After careful observation, I have determined that the motion blur on this $600 TV is better than the motion blur on the formerly-$7,000 65X900A. As flagship TVs go, the X900A is amazingly bad for gaming. Even at $2,300 from Beach Camera I'm honestly thinking of sending it back, the motion blur on the X900A is so bad in gaming. I guess Sony really does think that people who buy these 4K sets will never play games, because ugh. I don't know what the hell Sony was on when producing this set, I would have been furious if I had actually paid full price for this set and tried to game on it.
Faceless Rebel is offline  
post #11213 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 08:05 PM
Member
 
DiscoSmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Appalachia
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I'm visiting my parents for a week and I've been playing Destiny beta on the $600 Vizio that my parents got on Black Friday last year. After careful observation, I have determined that the motion blur on this $600 TV is better than the motion blur on the formerly-$7,000 65X900A. As flagship TVs go, the X900A is amazingly bad for gaming. Even at $2,300 from Beach Camera I'm honestly thinking of sending it back, the motion blur on the X900A is so bad in gaming. I guess Sony really does think that people who buy these 4K sets will never play games, because ugh. I don't know what the hell Sony was on when producing this set, I would have been furious if I had actually paid full price for this set and tried to game on it.
Try a Scene Select of General, Reality Creation of Manual, and Motionflow of Clear.
DiscoSmoke is offline  
post #11214 of 13093 Old 07-19-2014, 09:25 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
True that the Darblet doesn't pass 4K. But regardless, if you let the display do the 4K up-scaling, it doesn't matter. Those of us who have AVR's and/or players which can up-scale to 4K have not been able to see any difference when allowing the display to do the up-scaling.

I do expect we will see a Darbee product at some time in the future that will have HDMI 2.0 and will pass a 4K signal. In the meantime, we can enjoy Darbee processing with the current unit by restricting the signal to 1080p.

Ok I added it to the Oppo and receiver chain after much deliberating over the thing, instead of the final chain from the receiver to the TV. That way I am able to keep the the Audio Return Channel and the HTPC not effecting anything. This is effectively like a Oppo 103d instead we get to use the qdeo processor. Oddly the 103d has disposed off Qdeo for the Silicon Image VRS chipset instead. Will trial it for a period but at least spending 300 odd bucks its not sitting in a drawer somewhere.
CSPerera is offline  
post #11215 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
can you guys tell me where i can find the led dynamic control setting please... thx !
mgb140 is offline  
post #11216 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
led dynamic setting

Quote:
Originally Posted by everunman View Post
Yes you are right, mine was off too and turning it on and the clouding has gone, did you set to standard or low?
can you guys tell me how to find that dynamic led setting? ... thx
mgb140 is offline  
post #11217 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 06:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
Hit options
Scene select
thx !!
mgb140 is offline  
post #11218 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
halon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I'm visiting my parents for a week and I've been playing Destiny beta on the $600 Vizio that my parents got on Black Friday last year. After careful observation, I have determined that the motion blur on this $600 TV is better than the motion blur on the formerly-$7,000 65X900A. As flagship TVs go, the X900A is amazingly bad for gaming. Even at $2,300 from Beach Camera I'm honestly thinking of sending it back, the motion blur on the X900A is so bad in gaming. I guess Sony really does think that people who buy these 4K sets will never play games, because ugh. I don't know what the hell Sony was on when producing this set, I would have been furious if I had actually paid full price for this set and tried to game on it.
I've had no problems gaming on this TV.
Pixel Dude likes this.
halon is offline  
post #11219 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgb140 View Post
can you guys tell me how to find that dynamic led setting? ... thx
Options
Picture adjustments
Advanced settings
Led dynamic control
Settings are standard low or off

Last edited by Mdjones9137; 07-20-2014 at 06:54 AM.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #11220 of 13093 Old 07-20-2014, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
X10 Thoughts

I realize there's a dedicated X10 thread, but this is obviously a busier corner and the unit is proprietary, so the only people interested in a review would be 850/900/A/B owners. If someone wants to cut and paste this into the X10 discussion, I'll be glad to stick my head in and answer any questions.

I have the Sony 55x900A: aside from normal issues with tweaking settings (and bum HDMI cables), I've been very satisfied with the picture. My expectation with the X10 was to be able to have a hub that could facilitate rental of 4K movies and perhaps the odd demo clip. Because my ISP is capped at a glacial 15mbps download speed, I had no expectations about streaming 4K via Netflix. I was wrong, but more on that in a moment.

You can find information on what hardware is included with the unit elsewhere: I had little issue getting it up and running, save for Sony's insanely annoying Entertainment Network credit card entry. I had to try several cards before one was accepted. Something to do with having to have the address exactly as it appears on your CC statement, caps or nine-digit zip included. Whatever.

The X10 really just gives you four content options: running your own 4K material (I don't), selecting from your pre-arranged 4K Library (stuff you've downloaded/purchased/accessed), Netflix, or 4K Video Unlimited, the Sony storefront for movies and a little television.

I first went to 4k Video Unlimited and selected a few nature clips, 4-5 minutes in length. These were free and came pre-loaded on the X10, since they were available immediately without needing to be downloaded. (Despite being $0, I still needed a SEN account to "buy" them.) The only free clip I selected that needed downloading was the trailer for Spider-Man 2.

Next, I looked at their library of 4K titles. There is simply no way I'm paying $29.99 to own one, and not all are available to rent, so I settled on Monuments Men because A). it's a newer film (and thus should look cleaner in 4K) and B). I haven't seen it yet. Regarding my slow-motion ISP, I took note that the film was averaging about 1% for every 4-5 minutes. That means about 8-10 hours to download the two-hour feature. (It's also worth noting that the X10, owing either to its internal policies or my ISP, will not download two things at a time: it "paused" Monuments Men so I could d/l the Spider-Man 2 trailer.)

The Short Clips:
Underwater stuff, bee stuff, butterfly stuff--all the standard nature segments typically seen playing in a loop at retail. Everything looked fine. Clear, sharp, but nothing dramatically different from a torched HDTV playing 1080p in a showroom. I sit about 9 feet away. Squatting closer (4-5 feet), there was no degradation in quality. It was all very pretty, but nothing that made my jaw drop.

Spider-Man 2 Trailer: Again, pretty. Colors popped nicely. As a completely subjective observation, I'd say the vibrant blues and reds of Spidey's costume seemed 20% more "popped" than 1080p.

I then went to Netflix and decided to see if 4K would even appear as an option. (Note: this was after MM had finished downloading.) I had been told by a Netflix phone rep, in a very scoffing and dismissive tone, that I shouldn't even think about 4K content unless I had a 50mbps connection.

To my surprise, not only was House of Cards listed under a 4K content banner, so were several films I didn't realize had been added to the service: Smurfs 2, Ghostbusters, Philadelphia, Hitch, a nature program, and a couple of other options. I hit the nature selection expecting it to buffer like crazy or turn into a fuzzy mess in the same way 1080p content will get chopped in half on me due to a busy or bad connection.

But it booted in seconds, and it appeared to be perfectly clear. I hit "Display" on my X10 remote and it showed it was receiving a 2160p signal. Very interesting. The nature thing (something about flowers) was pretty and roughly on par with the 4K clips on the device.

Next, I hit "House of Cards" and went to the first episode of season two, where I knew there was a recap in 1080p before the actual episode switched to 2160p. Sure enough, my Display showed the clip was in 1080p (Super HD) before switching to 2160p. Now, this was impressive. House looks fantastic, vibrant, alive. It still didn't put me back on my heels, but I'd certainly prefer this to 1080p. The clip in Super HD was almost as good: just a pin-sharp picture. Checking out Hitch for a few moments didn't fare as well: there was noticeable grain.

I really have no idea why I can easily stream 4K content with such a pathetic download speed. There were two variables: I watched it around 11 am EST, when traffic is probably slow, and I have the X10 wired up via Ethernet, figuring wireless would only give me problems.

I still have yet to watch Monuments Men so can't comment on that yet. Overall, while I was pleasantly surprised to be able to stream 4K and find House of Cards to have a knockout picture, I might have to agree with people who say you need to either sit closer or have a larger set to truly appreciate the 4K difference. I realize that's been dismissed by some, but it's likely a subjective thing. For me, 4K looks like a truly excellent and well-calibrated plasma HD picture, House excepted. (That just looks like a more substantial jump, likely because it hasn't been scanned and was shot with 4K in mind--I think.)

If Netflix can continue to build a library of more modern films scanned in 4K and continues to offer original programming in that resolution, I think there's reason for excitement, particularly for owners with bigger sets. The Marvel shows coming in 2015-16 should look outstanding in 4K. For me, I got more of a "holy sh-t" moment from Netflix's Super HD streaming than anything. (Keep in mind I was coming from an 8-year-old Sharp 37".)

This really is an awesome, well-rounded set: great 3D, great sound, great upscaling, and great-looking. 4K is a fun novelty to play around with, but I wouldn't consider it a huge reason to buy unless you're really putting chips down on 4K being the future.
Renzo12 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off