Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 380 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Display Devices > LCD Flat Panel Displays > Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread

LCD Flat Panel Displays

CPTuell's Avatar CPTuell
10:22 PM Liked: 18
post #11371 of 12767
07-25-2014 | Posts: 197
Joined: Nov 2005
Screen mirroring works with my Galaxy S4. It should work with any android or win 8.1 tablet or PC.
luism2008's Avatar luism2008
11:08 PM Liked: 10
post #11372 of 12767
07-25-2014 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jun 2014
Anyone here playing Destiny on PS4 to a 65x900a..?? OMG beautiful!!


Faceless Rebel's Avatar Faceless Rebel
01:04 AM Liked: 25
post #11373 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 1,445
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzftw View Post
Do you guys have any motionblur issues with PS3 in game mode?
I've tested my 65X900A with 360, PS3, PS4, and PC. There is some pretty noticeable motion blur on this set, worse than on all of the 1080p sets I've seen in Game Mode. Some people say the panel used on the 65" seems to be prone to blur, others claim that the 4K upscaler seems to introduce excessive ghosting. All I know is that a $600 Vizio and a $800 Sharp I've seen have better native motion handling (all enhancement features disabled) than this formerly-$7,000 4K set.

I've been playing around with the other settings available when in Game Mode and maybe there's something I can enable or disable which reduces the ghosting effect on this TV. It's especially obvious when small objects move quickly, such as when your jumpship suddenly speeds up when re-entering the atmosphere in Destiny.
Topless Stang's Avatar Topless Stang
02:18 AM Liked: 13
post #11374 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 92
Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I've tested my 65X900A with 360, PS3, PS4, and PC. There is some pretty noticeable motion blur on this set, worse than on all of the 1080p sets I've seen in Game Mode. Some people say the panel used on the 65" seems to be prone to blur, others claim that the 4K upscaler seems to introduce excessive ghosting. All I know is that a $600 Vizio and a $800 Sharp I've seen have better native motion handling (all enhancement features disabled) than this formerly-$7,000 4K set.

I've been playing around with the other settings available when in Game Mode and maybe there's something I can enable or disable which reduces the ghosting effect on this TV. It's especially obvious when small objects move quickly, such as when your jumpship suddenly speeds up when re-entering the atmosphere in Destiny.

Maybe I'm just too old and don't notice, or I have bad eyes...but I don't notice any blurring or issues when playin Destiny, Watch Dogs or any other game. On a side note...I purchased my TV at the end of June. Best Buy has it onsale for $200 cheaper now. I just contacted them and got them to issue a refund of the difference. I would advise anyone on here that recently purchased the TV to contact them for a price match as well.
Mdjones9137's Avatar Mdjones9137
04:40 AM Liked: 124
post #11375 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 481
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottman View Post
I put it in side by side mode to check and that's not what I'm seeing. It's more like the image is spread over 2 panels stuck side by side but they are both aligned off by a few pixels making a noticeable seam in the middle. Really weird but I haven't seen it again yet.
Yes very strange.
It is possible that the issue is with the actual source and has nothing to do with the TV. I hope you don't see it again.
Mattopotamus's Avatar Mattopotamus
04:51 AM Liked: 280
post #11376 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I've tested my 65X900A with 360, PS3, PS4, and PC. There is some pretty noticeable motion blur on this set, worse than on all of the 1080p sets I've seen in Game Mode. Some people say the panel used on the 65" seems to be prone to blur, others claim that the 4K upscaler seems to introduce excessive ghosting. All I know is that a $600 Vizio and a $800 Sharp I've seen have better native motion handling (all enhancement features disabled) than this formerly-$7,000 4K set.

I've been playing around with the other settings available when in Game Mode and maybe there's something I can enable or disable which reduces the ghosting effect on this TV. It's especially obvious when small objects move quickly, such as when your jumpship suddenly speeds up when re-entering the atmosphere in Destiny.
Could be DSE and it is making it look like motion blur.
halon's Avatar halon
07:15 AM Liked: 49
post #11377 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 160
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
Anyone here playing Destiny on PS4 to a 65x900a..?? OMG beautiful!!

I have been. And i agree.
Traylorc's Avatar Traylorc
03:43 PM Liked: 22
post #11378 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 394
Joined: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I've tested my 65X900A with 360, PS3, PS4, and PC. There is some pretty noticeable motion blur on this set, worse than on all of the 1080p sets I've seen in Game Mode. Some people say the panel used on the 65" seems to be prone to blur, others claim that the 4K upscaler seems to introduce excessive ghosting. All I know is that a $600 Vizio and a $800 Sharp I've seen have better native motion handling (all enhancement features disabled) than this formerly-$7,000 4K set.

I've been playing around with the other settings available when in Game Mode and maybe there's something I can enable or disable which reduces the ghosting effect on this TV. It's especially obvious when small objects move quickly, such as when your jumpship suddenly speeds up when re-entering the atmosphere in Destiny.
Sorry you are having issues....I have not had any issues with blurring and I have had both my PS4 and Xbox One connected to my 65X900A.
Dawgdaes's Avatar Dawgdaes
07:25 PM Liked: 17
post #11379 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 661
Joined: Apr 2003
Is the screen mirroring wireless or via HDMI?
Mdjones9137's Avatar Mdjones9137
07:40 PM Liked: 124
post #11380 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 481
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawgdaes View Post
Is the screen mirroring wireless or via HDMI?
Wireless on 2.4 GHZ frequency
Dawgdaes's Avatar Dawgdaes
07:50 PM Liked: 17
post #11381 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 661
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
Wireless on 2.4 GHZ frequency

I have a 3 year old thinkpad. What does is PC requirement?
rviele's Avatar rviele
07:51 PM Liked: 17
post #11382 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 824
Joined: May 2006
[quote=sdMCM66;25817289]
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
Love the sound quality as well, but no way would I consider dumping my Paradigms for an immersive movie night. Not knocking the minimalistic approach you've decided to take, just love being enveloped by a good soundtrack.

Part of the decision is that I'm in a smaller space... and I'm also packing up for a move in a few months. Completely satisfied with what the TV can deliver though until I've settled in a better place.
I dumped my paradigms for a goldenear soundbar best decision I ever made.
Rodymx's Avatar Rodymx
08:13 PM Liked: 16
post #11383 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 45
Joined: Jun 2014
Any recommendations for AUTO mode image config as if seen in a store with activated Motionflow?
hatlesschimp's Avatar hatlesschimp
09:44 PM Liked: 68
post #11384 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 368
Joined: Nov 2012
Anyone running gtx titans on the either the 55 or 65? Just wondering how it looks.
nishant786's Avatar nishant786
10:56 PM Liked: 99
post #11385 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 191
Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post
I was able to pick this up on preorder from yesasia.com - region-free

http://www.yesasia.com/us/noah-2014-...0-en/info.html
Sorry for the late reply bro. Thanks for the link. I ordered the german version that you had perviously told me about. Cant wait to see it in 3D.
Ps. Have you seen 47 Ronin in 3d on this set? The 3d is pretty cool. The movie however induced about 14 yawns in me. But not toooo bad.
flinchn's Avatar flinchn
11:01 PM Liked: 202
post #11386 of 12767
07-26-2014 | Posts: 846
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by nishant786 View Post
Sorry for the late reply bro. Thanks for the link. I ordered the german version that you had perviously told me about. Cant wait to see it in 3D.
Ps. Have you seen 47 Ronin in 3d on this set? The 3d is pretty cool. The movie however induced about 14 yawns in me. But not toooo bad.
I have it but haven't seen it yet...
hatlesschimp's Avatar hatlesschimp
12:03 AM Liked: 68
post #11387 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 368
Joined: Nov 2012
Can anyone confirm that 2 GTX Titan cards will work @ 60hz on a 4K Sony x900 TV and not just the one card only?
hatlesschimp's Avatar hatlesschimp
01:34 AM Liked: 68
post #11388 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 368
Joined: Nov 2012
Another question what is the Chroma for 4k at 30hz via hdmi on the x900 65" and same with 1080p.

Just trying to fully understand what I am seeing with my TV. When I had 4K games running at 30hz it looked stunning. Was this 4:2:0 chroma or 4:4:4?
Soycrema's Avatar Soycrema
06:22 AM Liked: 39
post #11389 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 566
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
I've tested my 65X900A with 360, PS3, PS4, and PC. There is some pretty noticeable motion blur on this set, worse than on all of the 1080p sets I've seen in Game Mode. Some people say the panel used on the 65" seems to be prone to blur, others claim that the 4K upscaler seems to introduce excessive ghosting. All I know is that a $600 Vizio and a $800 Sharp I've seen have better native motion handling (all enhancement features disabled) than this formerly-$7,000 4K set.

I've been playing around with the other settings available when in Game Mode and maybe there's something I can enable or disable which reduces the ghosting effect on this TV. It's especially obvious when small objects move quickly, such as when your jumpship suddenly speeds up when re-entering the atmosphere in Destiny.
I have been playing PS4 and Xbox One games on this set and I have not seen any ghosting or blur yet either.....
Podolski's Avatar Podolski
11:10 AM Liked: 13
post #11390 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 43
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Can anyone confirm that 2 GTX Titan cards will work @ 60hz on a 4K Sony x900 TV and not just the one card only?
I only have 1 nvidia gtx 780 and it works at 60hz, I assume 2 titan will make u fly as an eagle..
whatleydude's Avatar whatleydude
12:37 PM Liked: 13
post #11391 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
Anyone here playing Destiny on PS4 to a 65x900a..?? OMG beautiful!!


Nearly, I'm only rocking the 55. It's still AMAZING though
whatleydude's Avatar whatleydude
12:49 PM Liked: 13
post #11392 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Thanks for your reply. Don't see any mention of screen mirroring on the Mac laptop nor any app named that. I was hoping the Sony would see it as a device since I have sharing "on' in the Mac settings but it doesn't see it like it does with my iPhone.
Perhaps it's not possible.

Edit--On further investigation it appears it will only work with an Apple TV. That is so typical of Apple.
You should be able to just plug it in via HDMI?

(not wireless, I know, but still)
xxtypeoxx's Avatar xxtypeoxx
12:55 PM Liked: 10
post #11393 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 95
Joined: Feb 2005
Hey Fellow AVSer,

I just picked up a Brand new XBR-55X900A for $1350.00 and just got it hooked up yesterday and hung on the wall. So far so good but the picture seems a little over saturated. I havent tried to dial it in yet and came here to see if anyone had any user setting they had up and were sharing. Had no idea this thread would be up to 380 pages long. So without starting at page one maybe someone can point me to a certain area where one might find some setting I might try. I did a few searches here and also on google but nothing related to what im looking for. A few pages back I read something about an board that needs to be swapped out and now im thinking I should have just saved up a bit more cash and go with the newer series of this same TV. Im gonna start at the beginning of the tread and start skimming through the pages and see what I can find. Hopefully this picture can be corrected with some personal or professional calibration down the road when I get some more fundage.
Mattopotamus's Avatar Mattopotamus
01:17 PM Liked: 280
post #11394 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 1,293
Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxtypeoxx View Post
Hey Fellow AVSer,

I just picked up a Brand new XBR-55X900A for $1350.00 and just got it hooked up yesterday and hung on the wall. So far so good but the picture seems a little over saturated. I havent tried to dial it in yet and came here to see if anyone had any user setting they had up and were sharing. Had no idea this thread would be up to 380 pages long. So without starting at page one maybe someone can point me to a certain area where one might find some setting I might try. I did a few searches here and also on google but nothing related to what im looking for. A few pages back I read something about an board that needs to be swapped out and now im thinking I should have just saved up a bit more cash and go with the newer series of this same TV. Im gonna start at the beginning of the tread and start skimming through the pages and see what I can find. Hopefully this picture can be corrected with some personal or professional calibration down the road when I get some more fundage.
The user Austin jerry posted in the last two pages. His settings are in his signature and are the best in many people's opinion.
LeeSoFl's Avatar LeeSoFl
01:29 PM Liked: 217
post #11395 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 955
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxtypeoxx View Post
I just picked up a Brand new XBR-55X900A ...A few pages back I read something about an board that needs to be swapped out
If it's a recently built set, you won't need to have the HDCP 2.2 added, it's probably already in there. You can check here:

https://4kactivation.com/

They'd only come to install the circuit board if you've bought the 4K media player.
BrianTisky's Avatar BrianTisky
01:33 PM Liked: 0
post #11396 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxtypeoxx View Post
Hey Fellow AVSer,

I just picked up a Brand new XBR-55X900A for $1350.00 and just got it hooked up yesterday and hung on the wall. So far so good but the picture seems a little over saturated. I havent tried to dial it in yet and came here to see if anyone had any user setting they had up and were sharing. Had no idea this thread would be up to 380 pages long. So without starting at page one maybe someone can point me to a certain area where one might find some setting I might try. I did a few searches here and also on google but nothing related to what im looking for. A few pages back I read something about an board that needs to be swapped out and now im thinking I should have just saved up a bit more cash and go with the newer series of this same TV. Im gonna start at the beginning of the tread and start skimming through the pages and see what I can find. Hopefully this picture can be corrected with some personal or professional calibration down the road when I get some more fundage.
That's a very good price! I would have waited out the B model to fall down in price, but at that price, that works great if all you need is a nice looking TV and no heavy demand for true 4k. The price is right
whatleydude's Avatar whatleydude
01:35 PM Liked: 13
post #11397 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 22
Joined: Jan 2014
I've got the chance to purchase an FMP-X5 for a little over £200. What do you think, worth it?
xxtypeoxx's Avatar xxtypeoxx
02:15 PM Liked: 10
post #11398 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 95
Joined: Feb 2005
OK thanks for the info guys. So I plan on getting the 4K media player from Sony. When I went to the webpage link to check to see if I need the upgrade and put in my serial number it said it wasnt sure if I need the upgrade and I need the 4 K player in order to check for it. I wont be able to get the New 4K player for a few weeks since we are leaving for a 2 week vacation and they are not in stock as of yet from my Sony contact. Is there a certain time frame I have before I wont be eligible for this upgrade if I need one? Also whats involved in the upgrade? Do they need to service the back of the tv? I can pull it off the wall if need be but being the monster that it is im not really looking forward to it BUT what has to be done must be done. I will check out the user setting you mentioned. Tanks again for all your help. OH one more quick question. I have a Roku 3 player which I use for my plex server. I also see I can use the Sony TV for Plex as well as Netflix and Amazon. Is there any picture quality differences between using the Sony TV Netflix and Plex compared to when you are using the same ones via the Roku 3? The Plex media on the Sony is horrible compared to the Roku since you cant receive any cover art as well as other menus Plex offers. BUT if the picture quality is much better by using the internal apps of the Sony then I will go that route. I know the TV is supposed to up-convert everything to 4K anyways so not sure if it actually makes a difference
either way I go. Im sure the Sony 4K player is the way to go when it comes out but not sure if you can add Plex to the Sony 4K media player like you can the $99.00 Roku 3.
ggw2000's Avatar ggw2000
02:38 PM Liked: 36
post #11399 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 516
Joined: Jan 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxtypeoxx View Post
OK thanks for the info guys. So I plan on getting the 4K media player from Sony. When I went to the webpage link to check to see if I need the upgrade and put in my serial number it said it wasnt sure if I need the upgrade and I need the 4 K player in order to check for it. I wont be able to get the New 4K player for a few weeks since we are leaving for a 2 week vacation and they are not in stock as of yet from my Sony contact. Is there a certain time frame I have before I wont be eligible for this upgrade if I need one? Also whats involved in the upgrade? Do they need to service the back of the tv? I can pull it off the wall if need be but being the monster that it is im not really looking forward to it BUT what has to be done must be done. I will check out the user setting you mentioned. Tanks again for all your help. OH one more quick question. I have a Roku 3 player which I use for my plex server. I also see I can use the Sony TV for Plex as well as Netflix and Amazon. Is there any picture quality differences between using the Sony TV Netflix and Plex compared to when you are using the same ones via the Roku 3? The Plex media on the Sony is horrible compared to the Roku since you cant receive any cover art as well as other menus Plex offers. BUT if the picture quality is much better by using the internal apps of the Sony then I will go that route. I know the TV is supposed to up-convert everything to 4K anyways so not sure if it actually makes a difference
either way I go. Im sure the Sony 4K player is the way to go when it comes out but not sure if you can add Plex to the Sony 4K media player like you can the $99.00 Roku 3.
Click that you have a media player. It's the only way it will tell you if you need the upgrade. Also as a double check see if there is a sticker on the box with a pic of the X1 on it. As a third check look at the back of your TV for the build date. Only some sets built way back in March timeframe of 2013 needed it.

Also, I have a roku 3 that I used on my last TV before getting my 65X a week ago. I now use the TV for Netflix/Amazon as they look great. Only use roku for hbogo, epic now (do not use plex).

As far as the X10- if you didn't preorder it at $500 then personally I don't think it's worth $700 at this point. You would only gain some 4K clips, Netflix limited 4k & some expensive movies at sony video unlimited. I would wait until there is another sale on it before purchase.
Gerry
LeeSoFl's Avatar LeeSoFl
03:15 PM Liked: 217
post #11400 of 12767
07-27-2014 | Posts: 955
Joined: Jun 2005
The existing rule of thumb for A model sets, is, if the HDMI(4) connector is all by itself on the left side (on the rear of the TV) you're going to need the board. If it's clustered with the other HDMI inputs, you're good to go.

It's hard to access pics from the forum history, but here is one of the back of the TV. If yours looks like it, then the board is already there. Pic two is when my set was taken apart a year ago for the board install.
Attached: new version.jpeg (54.6 KB)  board change.jpg (219.8 KB) 
Tags: Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv

Gear in this thread
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3