Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 393 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11761 of 12374 Old 08-14-2014, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Any release notes on the latest firmware download PKG4.451AAA from Sony for the XBR65X900A?

The US site still only shows PKG4.430AAA.

nuke
nuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11762 of 12374 Old 08-14-2014, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuke View Post
Any release notes on the latest firmware download PKG4.451AAA from Sony for the XBR65X900A?

The US site still only shows PKG4.430AAA.
It takes them a few weeks to post the newest release notes
flinchn is offline  
post #11763 of 12374 Old 08-14-2014, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I don't generally use 2d->3d simulation but I have to say it looks nice with football.
flinchn is offline  
post #11764 of 12374 Old 08-14-2014, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
The deed is done. My 55 A has been swapped for a B. So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu...
Dont be a stranger, would be interested in your observations in differences you have noticed as you get along
Geoff D likes this.
everunman is offline  
post #11765 of 12374 Old 08-14-2014, 10:35 PM
Member
 
zephyrzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
That is too bad. You deserve a quality broadcast. Just curious, have you considered satellite? I have had DirecTV since 1994, and have always been extremely pleased, both with the signal quality and the reliability and features of their equipment.
I've had multiple content providers and DirecTV had, unquestionably, the best quality broadcast. It makes comcast and fios look like a complete joke. DTV also had great customer service and great boxes. It's been a while so not sure if that's still the case. I cut the cord this year, just too much garbage and not enough time. And with comcast even the garbage looks like garbage because of the PQ. Awful company in every way, except internet pricing. $42/month for consistent 50+ down and 10+ up. Hard to beat that. They threw HBO in for free for a year. I don't have the box hooked up but I've been using HBO Go. The quality is atrocious, I think it's streaming in SD.

Does anyone know how the HBO Go service works? I assumed if you had any version of cable HBO the streaming would be HD. Is that not the case? Do they know if you only have a standard def cable package and stream to you in SD? That would be a shame. I'm hoping it's just the time of day trying to watch (prime time).

I have yet to see any 4k content on my 4k tv. Blu Ray looks incredible, but man do I want to see a 4k source. Still wish the TV was 74". I just moved the couch a foot closer. Looks kind of stupid in the middle of the room where it is. Girlfriend isn't thrilled. I've been thinking about a projector but that seems like a good deal of work for a non light controlled living room...

Last edited by zephyrzone; 08-14-2014 at 10:37 PM. Reason: grammar
zephyrzone is offline  
post #11766 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 03:28 AM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I don't think I'll have good news on the 3D front! But I've made my peace with it.

One thing that's immediately obvious is the sound: the TV has loud, obnoxious bass, it's got nothing like the finesse of the A series. Still, I'd better give it a year to bed in, just to make sure...
Oh Damn Man LOL - So I guess I must be the only one with a 55inch A series then. Thanks man for your settings. Still using them and they really made the difference.
Geoff D likes this.
CSPerera is offline  
post #11767 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 04:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I don't think I'll have good news on the 3D front! But I've made my peace with it.

One thing that's immediately obvious is the sound: the TV has loud, obnoxious bass, it's got nothing like the finesse of the A series. Still, I'd better give it a year to bed in, just to make sure...
Going to active huh? I hope you pop back in and describe you impressions.
Geoff D likes this.
flinchn is offline  
post #11768 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Thanks for the comments fellas. Where do you want me to put my observations though? In here? I'll be calibrating it later today so I'll be sure to put my thoughts somewhere.
Geoff D is offline  
post #11769 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Thanks for the comments fellas. Where do you want me to put my observations though? In here? I'll be calibrating it later today so I'll be sure to put my thoughts somewhere.
I'd appreciate at least a brief rundown here before you move on to greener pastures.
flinchn is offline  
post #11770 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 05:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
No problemo. But knowing me, it won't be brief. I love the sound of my own keyboard.

It will at least be relevant to this thread because I'll be comparing it directly with the results I got from my A calibrations.
zephyrzone and everunman like this.
Geoff D is offline  
post #11771 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
No problemo. But knowing me, it won't be brief. I love the sound of my own keyboard.
we don't mind
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #11772 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 05:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,534
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Thanks for the comments fellas. Where do you want me to put my observations though? In here? I'll be calibrating it later today so I'll be sure to put my thoughts somewhere.
If you post them in the B thread, a head-up link here would be appreciated.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11773 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 08:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
i went from a 900A to B, swapped by Sony and on my second B replacement coming in next week, my set has small issues compared to what i had with the A but i'll compare both B's now. Active isn't as bad as i was expecting, light flicker but the set's colors pop and really bright! Love Netflix 4K. Never really used the speakers since i have a 5.1 setup so can't compare there. Uniformity on my set is great, only have some clouding on dark scenes.
Cuadros86 is offline  
post #11774 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
RiED27880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Thanks for the comments fellas. Where do you want me to put my observations though? In here? I'll be calibrating it later today so I'll be sure to put my thoughts somewhere.
You're thoughts on here will be appreciated, specially since most of us know you will give the most honest review having owned and loved our A set for over a year and now moving to your new B. Most folks trash talk about a model they only had for a few days in their possession then move on to the next for the extra bells and whistles. I'm very interested to hear your calibration results and over all comparison of both sets. again, congrats man, and enjoy!
Geoff D, zephyrzone and everunman like this.
RiED27880 is offline  
post #11775 of 12374 Old 08-15-2014, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
No problemo. But knowing me, it won't be brief. I love the sound of my own keyboard.

It will at least be relevant to this thread because I'll be comparing it directly with the results I got from my A calibrations.
Congrats Geoff.
We look forward to your comparison between the A and B.

Geoff D likes this.
Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #11776 of 12374 Old 08-16-2014, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
chenderson2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Unhappy 4K content on the XBR65x900 problems. Seeking solutions.

I have owned the set since December 2013. First let me say that nothing that I've seen playing from the X1 server has impressed me. I have not ordered any extra movies - just viewed a few of the 10 free that came with it. My personal impression is that 1080 upscaled on the TV looks as good or better. So, throwing out the movies for consideration, let's deal with other 4K content. The ports (USB and SD) on the X1 never were activated as promised. Instead Sony has just released a newer version, the X10, which they allow no credit for trade in of the X1. I am searching for a method to play my 4K video from a thumb drive. The USB port on the TV will read an exFAT drive, but will not play the 4K video stored on it. (Says "not supported.") I'm assuming that indicates the player app in the TV is unable to play 4K. So far the only way I've been able to play my edited 4k video is by hooking my computer via HDMI to the Sony set. I am using the FDR ax100 4k camcorder from Sony. Really high praise for this device, unlike for the TV itself. The 4k from it is as good or better than the 4K video Sony had playing as a demo when the TV was being sold in the store. By the way, the source of that 4K material is completely hidden from the customer and is not coming from the Sony servers being sold to the public.
So far, I've found no way to play 4K from a thumb drive on the TV. I even bought a device from Nanotech that is supposed to do it, and it turns out that the Android/Google system they use will neither recognize exfat drives nor play 4K video with the Android player on the device. Worse, the crazy interface on their remote just makes the cursor jump all over the screen and is a real pain to work with. They have said they will be sending and update to address the exfat 4K issue. I don't know about the interface problem.
So, does anyone have a solution for a device to play 4K video from a thumb drive (exfat) into the Sony TVs? It just doesn't seem it would be such an insurmountable problem, since my laptop will read exfat drives, play the 4K video from them, as well as play 4K video from YouTube.
chenderson2 is offline  
post #11777 of 12374 Old 08-16-2014, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I feel bad for the early adopters who got stuck with the X1. I knew what I was getting into buying the 65X900A on closeout. For what I paid, I'm happy. And I sprung for the FMPX10 at the pre-order price of $500.

So far, the X10 is working pretty well. I watched SpiderMan II (free) on it last night and there is definitely a very nice quality to 4K movies.

I have a feeling that the X10 is going to be a boat anchor sooner rather than later. But it works. The X1 seems to be nothing but trouble. I figure in a year or two, we'll have $99 4k streamers from Amazon and Google. Apple will have one that costs $249 and only does iTunes, but will work perfectly.

I don't know what Sony promised, but if they promised upgrades and didn't deliver them, then you have a cause of action against them and it will eventually be a class action most likely. If it goes that way, the best you'll get is a $25 gift certificate and the lawyers will get $10M and expenses.
chenderson2 likes this.

nuke
nuke is offline  
post #11778 of 12374 Old 08-16-2014, 09:55 PM
Newbie
 
justned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How did you get the spiderman 2 for free with preorder? I had to buy it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuke View Post
I feel bad for the early adopters who got stuck with the X1. I knew what I was getting into buying the 65X900A on closeout. For what I paid, I'm happy. And I sprung for the FMPX10 at the pre-order price of $500.

So far, the X10 is working pretty well. I watched SpiderMan II (free) on it last night and there is definitely a very nice quality to 4K movies.

I have a feeling that the X10 is going to be a boat anchor sooner rather than later. But it works. The X1 seems to be nothing but trouble. I figure in a year or two, we'll have $99 4k streamers from Amazon and Google. Apple will have one that costs $249 and only does iTunes, but will work perfectly.

I don't know what Sony promised, but if they promised upgrades and didn't deliver them, then you have a cause of action against them and it will eventually be a class action most likely. If it goes that way, the best you'll get is a $25 gift certificate and the lawyers will get $10M and expenses.
justned is offline  
post #11779 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 12:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I didn't do anything. Spiderman II just come up as a free offer on the X10.

nuke
nuke is offline  
post #11780 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
flinchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 201
Count me as someone who will buy the 3d bluray of Spiderman 2 rather than the 4k version. Call me crazy...
kfc2, zephyrzone, wk1947 and 1 others like this.
flinchn is offline  
post #11781 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchn View Post
Count me as someone who will buy the 3d bluray of Spiderman 2 rather than the 4k version. Call me crazy...
Not at all. 3D on a great TV is a true experience.
kfc2 likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #11782 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
wk1947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Display button

Since the update last week whenever I press the display button nothing shows up on the screen. Anyone else have this problem?
wk1947 is offline  
post #11783 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,534
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by wk1947 View Post
Since the update last week whenever I press the display button nothing shows up on the screen. Anyone else have this problem?
I occasionally have the Display button become unresponsive. If that happens, force a HDMI handshake (turn the TV of and back on). This will normally restore the Display button functionality. I don't think this has anything to do with the recent firmware update.

Please report back if this suggestion fixes your issue.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11784 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
aoktulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
flinchn, you sir, are correct... Football will be seen at a whole new level this season with a GREAT simulated 3D. This is what makes the X9 soooo FUN! Truly like looking thru a window with a prime seat for all the action.
Enjoy...
aoktulsa is offline  
post #11785 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
woodenarch2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbr 55x900a Here and Gone.... my 15 days with my Xbr4 Replacement.


I received my 900a about 15 days ago after buying one of the last new in the box units Magnolia had in stock. It was to replace my 46" XBR4 from 2009 that was having double image problems that seemed to be getting worse everyday.

When I first received the unit I was slightly disappointed thinking there would be a big difference from my XBR4.. I didn't see any real big difference until I started adjusting the settings.Then it seemed that it was definitely worth the upgrade.

The Biggest Difference I saw was how Sony has upgraded the way it handles blacks. My old XBR4 was fairly good but now where it was a washed out black, on the 900a it was inky black with very slight back light illumination towards the edges. The XBR4 would go dim when only a logo or small amount of text was present, the 900a would be inky black with the logo perfectly lit.

What caused me to return the TV was the appearance of Black Light bleed Center Left of the screen, about directly where the input connections are located in the back. I was able to eliminate most of the slight edge bleed with the Back light/ contrast corrector options under advanced set to high, but it didn't completely eliminate the center light bleed, which like most of you it would drive you crazy after you notice it. I always ended up looking for it with dark scenes.

Another thing I noticed, probably because comcast only allows up to 1080i resolution on most channels, there was a slight screen door effect with some channels. Not for sure if the 4k tv didn't scale up this low resolution well or another issue with the TV.

Tried out the speakers, good but they are no substitute for true surround sound. It would work if you didn't have any other option.

So before my 15 days were up, I ended up returning the TV. Since it is the end of production of this model, I didn't have the option to get another and will have to wait until priced reductions on the B series.
Anyone else have similar experience with the left center light bleed? Wondering if it was just quality control issues towards the end of the model "A" production run?

Hoping to get a B series early next year with better results.

Last edited by woodenarch2005; 08-17-2014 at 08:11 PM.
woodenarch2005 is offline  
post #11786 of 12374 Old 08-17-2014, 09:49 PM
Member
 
zephyrzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Not at all. 3D on a great TV is a true experience.
+1

I'm excited to see 4k on this tv one day, but I think it's going to be a while. I don't have a pc that can output it and even if I could decode netflix 4k, I'm not watching house of cards or breaking bad all over again.

I was primarily interested in this set for its 1080p handling and 3D. Neither have disappointed. I watched legend of the guardians (300 with owls) and the experience was memorizing. Surprising good movie and a knockout in 3D.
Geoff D likes this.
zephyrzone is offline  
post #11787 of 12374 Old 08-18-2014, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hey guys I need major help with little time.
2 weeks ago I bought xbr65x900a for 2500 no tax also bought the fmp-x10 for 500.

Both remain in the box unopened because I was waiting until I move into my new house.

I am a huge 3d fan, I also own a 55inch vizo 3d smart tv (passive 3d)

My question is have until Thursday to swap the 900a for the 65inch 900b and pay the difference. Witch would be the 1, 000 after returning the tv and the fmp-x10

My only reservation was active 3d, when sample at the store I dont see any flickering but I can tell somethings going on, and is there any damage that can be done to the eye from extended use of activd 3d glasses.
And how good is the active 3d, at the store I only saw the 2d to 3d conversion which was fairly descent.

Also if I return the 900a im also returning the fmp-x10 to make the price difference cheaper do I really need the x10 to watch 4k content.

Can you watch 2 3d movies in a row with active glasses without hurting your eyes

Also when 4k 3d comes out, will I be suck with half res 2k on the 900a xbr?

Last question, how do you like 900a 65inch, how is the 3d compared to theaters? Hows the 4k movies

I like the x900a 65inch with fmp-x10 with passive 3d but want to be left behind with some of limitations like hevc or hdmi 2. But was told 900a is hdmi 2 capable and hevc is corrected with the fmp-x10

You what do you think
Xbr-65x900a w/fmp-10 or just the xbr-65x900b?
I

Last edited by ultraflexed; 08-18-2014 at 08:40 AM.
ultraflexed is offline  
post #11788 of 12374 Old 08-18-2014, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,534
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 789
Well, the choice would be easier if you had opened and set up the X900a just to make sure there were not any panel uniformity issues. As far as streaming 4K, both solutions are the same. Keeping the X10 allows you to demo some true 4K content (clips, etc.), whereas if you go with the X900B and ditch the X10, you won't be able to do that. And passive 3D beats active 3D, so if 3D is that important, I say keep the X900a/X10.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #11789 of 12374 Old 08-18-2014, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultraflexed View Post
Hey guys I need major help with little time.
2 weeks ago I bought xbr65x900a for 2500 no tax also bought the fmp-x10 for 500.

Both remain in the box unopened because I was waiting until I move into my new house.

I am a huge 3d fan, I also own a 55inch vizo 3d smart tv (passive 3d)

My question is have until Thursday to swap the 900a for the 65inch 900b and pay the difference. Witch would be the 1, 000 after returning the tv and the fmp-x10

My only reservation was active 3d, when sample at the store I dont see any flickering but I can tell somethings going on, and is there any damage that can be done to the eye from extended use of activd 3d glasses.
And how good is the active 3d, at the store I only saw the 2d to 3d conversion which was fairly descent.

Also if I return the 900a im also returning the fmp-x10 to make the price difference cheaper do I really need the x10 to watch 4k content.

Can you watch 2 3d movies in a row with active glasses without hurting your eyes

Also when 4k 3d comes out, will I be suck with half res 2k on the 900a xbr?

Last question, how do you like 900a 65inch, how is the 3d compared to theaters? Hows the 4k movies

I like the x900a 65inch with fmp-x10 with passive 3d but want to be left behind with some of limitations like hevc or hdmi 2. But was told 900a is hdmi 2 capable and hevc is corrected with the fmp-x10

You what do you think
Xbr-65x900a w/fmp-10 or just the xbr-65x900b?
I
Hard to say.. Is there a $1500 improvement between the two? Probably not from what I've heard from both sides. I've heard the out of the box picture is brighter on the B, but after calibration that's a moot point. It has the built-in Netflix app and ability to hook up a sub, which is another moot point if you run a external 5.1+ setup .... Hard to say, I'd just go with whatever makes you happy. ...Sounds like you watch a lot of 3D, so you know which is better there. Good luck either way!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #11790 of 12374 Old 08-18-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Thanks guys, keep the opinions comming.

Anyone see the 3d on both 900a and 900b?
ultraflexed is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off