Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 413 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12361 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
if i connect my pc with 7950 videocard to tv via hdmi, i be able to play 4k vids on tv?
Znomed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12362 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Znomed View Post
if i connect my pc with 7950 videocard to tv via hdmi, i be able to play 4k vids on tv?
I know folks have successfully played 4K files via USB and PC. The trouble you're having probably has something to do with the format your files are in (if I remember correctly). I have not tried, so I can't tell you myself, but the answers are located somewhere in the last couple months of posts.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #12363 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
can someone explain why i cant run full hd 3d on my 55" x9005a? seems like its not issue for 65", whats the difference? can be fixed?
Znomed is offline  
post #12364 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,540
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 745 Post(s)
Liked: 789
AustinJerry is offline  
post #12365 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i mean full 1080p for each "eye"
Znomed is offline  
post #12366 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Znomed View Post
can someone explain why i cant run full hd 3d on my 55" x9005a? seems like its not issue for 65", whats the difference? can be fixed?
This is a limitation of the 55 panel and can not be changed. Sony marketed it as full HD for each eye but then removed that statement from the 55 marketing months after it was discovered by owners.

The 55 does not display full HD (1920x1080p) to each eye when in 3D mode like the 65 does. The 55 displays 1920x540p to each eye.
You should find posts on this in this thread.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #12367 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Znomed View Post
if i connect my pc with 7950 videocard to tv via hdmi, i be able to play 4k vids on tv?
If the video cards resolution can be changed to 3840 x 2160, then yes, vlc player is the best option IMO
everunman is online now  
post #12368 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Znomed View Post
was so excited to buying 9005a with a big discount today, and then very disappointed that i actually cant play any 4k videos from usb
look like now i need some kind of media player?
You need a PC that can support 3840 x 2160, I beleive the latest mac mini does, there are lots of cheap 4k players around on ebay, choose one and look for youtube reviews, i cant recommend any
everunman is online now  
post #12369 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 03:53 PM
Newbie
 
eastside718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same issue. There is an automatic iris that adjusts to room light conditions. Turn it off and use the "vivid" setting. Adjust as necessary. I can provide you my settings if necessary. I hope this helps.
eastside718 is offline  
post #12370 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 06:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
I know folks have successfully played 4K files via USB and PC. The trouble you're having probably has something to do with the format your files are in (if I remember correctly). I have not tried, so I can't tell you myself, but the answers are located somewhere in the last couple months of posts.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
No no no, the TV cannot play 4K vids directly from USB.
Geoff D is offline  
post #12371 of 12377 Old 10-19-2014, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Any chance of getting the skinny on the service menu trickery? I know how to get in to the menu and have poked around here and there but I've never found any built-in test cards. If you don't want to post it here (in case peoples **** up their TVs) then I understand, but a PM would be appreciated.
There are actually several sets of test patterns built into the set if you explore the service menu. Some are effected by Sony's color settings. There is a set of patterns you can reach by using the options key on the remote, that directly invoke test patterns built into the raw AUO LCD panel itself. They match exactly the patterns that can be brought up by I2C commands to the AUO TCON board. (I found the full AUO data sheet for the raw LCD panel used in the 65X900A).

Using this set of menus, you can actually measure the full native gamut and the native white point of the panel. It is a set of WRGBCMY color bars, but are generated directly by the raw LCD itself. There are other patterns, including greyscale ramps in various directions and some patterns use to setup VCON and some other internal setups. Measuring the color bars in this pattern reveals the entire native gamut of the display.

I used this test pattern set to find a reference white point, which measured quite close to D65. I set that as a custom white point in HCFR and used the white balance user settings to align to that white point. It looks quite right.

The I1D3 says it is wrong, but it appears to be unable to accurately measure the quantum dot spectrum. Without a spectral correction file specific to this technology, a colorimeter is unlikely to give proper results.

Curiously, the Sony W900A, a 1080P which also uses quantum dot backlight, has a different Lcd vendor and exhibits a different white point and gamut.

nuke
nuke is offline  
post #12372 of 12377 Old Yesterday, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I pressed the options key when in the service menu but it takes me to two new menus, neither of which say anything about test patterns. One has WYVERN and S2_NOISE_TH listed, the other one says DATA_COPY and BU_TRANS. Halp?

EDIT: Don't worry, I found a PDF on the internets. Funny how these things never show up when searching for them with general terms, but put S2_NOISE_TH into a search engine and BINGO! Up it comes.

I'm doing this so I can get a similar idea of what the gamut is on the B series set that I have, checked from the colour bars with HCFR and a ColorMunki display (same hardware as an i1D3). See attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	native gamut.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	77.0 KB
ID:	321633  

Last edited by Geoff D; Yesterday at 11:15 AM.
Geoff D is offline  
post #12373 of 12377 Old Yesterday, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
RiED27880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEROpcs View Post
I definitely agree dim is subjective; however, for example, in the sewer scene in Dark Knight Rises when Bane breaks Batmans back it is almost impossible to make out what is going on when they move away from the light, and even in the light its difficult.

I will mess with vivid, thanks for your suggestion.


UPDATE: Vivid doesn't really give many in-depth options for editing... I dont think that is the answer.
try"custom" it looks fantastic and natural as well, it disables every picture enhancer and allows you to set your picture the way you want.
RiED27880 is offline  
post #12374 of 12377 Old Yesterday, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
ZEROpcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will try that... Thanks...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiED27880 View Post
try"custom" it looks fantastic and natural as well, it disables every picture enhancer and allows you to set your picture the way you want.
ZEROpcs is offline  
post #12375 of 12377 Old Today, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,

I have recently bought a 55X900A and noticed some sort of screen fault/bleeding? It is mostly visible when the right side of the screen is dark but other sides of the screen are not dark.


I am completely clueless when it comes to TV faults, so I thought I'd ask you guys whether my screen is actually faulty or need some setting adjustments etc.

The attached are two blu-ray shots.

Thank you in anticipation.

Cheers,

Shaun
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	761.1 KB
ID:	323641   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	738.7 KB
ID:	323649  
Shaun- is offline  
post #12376 of 12377 Old Today, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaun- View Post
Hi all,

I have recently bought a 55X900A and noticed some sort of screen fault/bleeding? It is mostly visible when the right side of the screen is dark but other sides of the screen are not dark.


I am completely clueless when it comes to TV faults, so I thought I'd ask you guys whether my screen is actually faulty or need some setting adjustments etc.

The attached are two blu-ray shots.

Thank you in anticipation.

Cheers,

Shaun
The stand on the TV in the second pic looks like a 900B to me - the 900A would have a stand that is in the center and is a circle.
Are you sure the TV is a 900A? There is a different forum for the 900B
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #12377 of 12377 Old Today, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,000
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
I'm doing this so I can get a similar idea of what the gamut is on the B series set that I have, checked from the colour bars with HCFR and a ColorMunki display (same hardware as an i1D3). See attached.
Interesting data. The 900A version has a bigger gamut but your 900B actually covers the 709 gamut more closely.

I'd love to see the spectral characteristics taken by a spectroradiometer.
nuke is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off