Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 427 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #12781 of 13014 Old 01-28-2015, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
No no no, you're getting completely the wrong end of the stick. HDMI bandwidth relates to how high a quality of an image that the TV will be able to process. When it comes to the spatial resolution, the TV WILL display a 3840x2160 (and even 4096x2160) image, that's a fact. But there is a list of other variables related to the colour subsampling (method used to compress colour for home video), bit depth (amount of colour gradation available) and frame rate (up to 60p) of 4K video sources which will be constrained by the HDMI hardware inside this TV.

Now, a lot of people are mouthing off about this HDMI 2.0 'lite' implementation that exists in a lot of 4K gear (at this point) because it won't allow for the best 4:4:4 sampling at the highest bit depth (>12) at the highest frame rate, and that's fair enough - BUUUUUT......Ultra HD Blu-ray's spec has been announced by Panasonic (see here: http://av.watch.impress.co.jp/img/av.../dg11.jpg.html ) and it will be using 10-bit 4:2:0 colour encoding, which our A/B/C Sony sets will be perfectly capable of reproducing at up to 30fps, so that basically encompasses the vast majority of movies ever made.

60p content will be downgraded to 8-bit 4:2:0 admittedly, but as I said in that other thread the benefits of the additional temporal resolution will still be patently obvious (heck, even 1080p60 looks amazingly smooth to me) so there are exciting times ahead.
I get it , I think, very informative ...however you seem stuck on Blu Ray ...what happens when ESPN goes 4K will the 13-14 models be ok?

Will there be a TV in 2015 already setup with all the kit needed to not worry about exactly what many are worrying about and you're re-assuring will be ok?
RicFlair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12782 of 13014 Old 01-28-2015, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post
I get it , I think, very informative ...however you seem stuck on Blu Ray ...what happens when ESPN goes 4K will the 13-14 models be ok?

Will there be a TV in 2015 already setup with all the kit needed to not worry about exactly what many are worrying about and you're re-assuring will be ok?
I use UHD BD as the benchmark because I HIGHLY doubt that 4K TV broadcasts will be going higher than 10-bit 4:2:0 for the simple reason that it always seems to be a race to the bottom as far as TV PQ is concerned, due to the need to squirt x amount of channels thru x amount of bandwidth. Even if they did go higher, there's no way they'd be able to match the 100 Mb/s max video bit rate of UHD BD so the benefits would be lost due to the strangled bit rate (which is why some folks say that 4K streaming video at the moment is hardly better than a good Blu-ray).

As for what the future may bring, I'm sure there will be TVs in the years to come that will have all the HDMI goodness and wide colour gamut and high dynamic range and whatever, but that is another story...
Mdjones9137 and JrFlight like this.
Geoff D is offline  
post #12783 of 13014 Old 01-28-2015, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by thalazy View Post
Thanks, you are indeed correct on that. Possibly! I could have never noticed, but now that I do I cannot un-notice it. When I get whatever model they decide to give me I will check for this. I cannot accept this. I can accept some clouding or flashlighting (whatever it's called) but not this for the $7K I paid for it. I can say it's only not visible during dark scene's obviously. No matter if it's a Blu-ray or Cable. I wish I could just accept it as otherwise this is a great tv but I can't.

I went through the same thing with a total of 6 exchanges and I'm sad to say all of them had banding. Even the 950b. If you look for it on the right content you will find it on every Sony tv from the. 900a 900b and 950b. I ended up returning the 950b because I missed the passive 3d to much and it was an extra 3000. I ended up getting another 900a. This one has mild banding on the right side but once you get over it you will stop noticing it for the most part. They might send you a 900b that has it even worst banding then your a.
Adamd is offline  
post #12784 of 13014 Old 01-28-2015, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Is the 900A less of a picture / TV than the 950B?
RicFlair is offline  
post #12785 of 13014 Old 01-28-2015, 09:35 PM
Member
 
dukerivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey everyone, I own a 65x900a since June 2014, been debating whether or not to get the fmp x10 or a cheaper 4k media player, rather pay $700 than buying a new TV any suggestions?
dukerivas is offline  
post #12786 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 01:14 AM
Senior Member
 
thalazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Wait for Blu-ray 4K

If I were you I would wait. At the end of the year we will see the release of 4k Blu-ray. Those players will most likely include Netflix and Amazon in 4K. You can always wait till there is a cheaper 4K streaming option. Much better than the x1 or x10 as they are only going to carry Sony films and not all other movie studios.
wk1947 likes this.
thalazy is offline  
post #12787 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 03:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Absolutely! If you've done without 4K so far then don't piss your money away on Sony's system looking for a 4K fix. UHD BD should debut Q4 this year, and it will be higher quality than the streamed offerings anyway.
wk1947 likes this.
Geoff D is offline  
post #12788 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by RicFlair View Post
Is the 900A less of a picture / TV than the 950B?

For 2d viewing yes, the FALD on the 950 makes the black levels much deeper and the contrast in much higher. Now if the 900a was FALD!!!! I did find the FALD a little distracting sometimes though you could see some pulsing on some scenes. All in all with price considered I still like my 900a better but in a perfect world it would have a FALD like the 950. One other thing I liked about the 950 was the pixel response time was faster so in panning shots so it would not get that smeared fuzzy look the 900 can.
Adamd is offline  
post #12789 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have both the 65 inch 900a and 65ich 900b

The 900b has a lot of ghosting on 3d, while my 900a passive has no ghosting....is there anyway to get rid of ghosting on the 900b?
ultraflexed is offline  
post #12790 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultraflexed View Post
I have both the 65 inch 900a and 65ich 900b

The 900b has a lot of ghosting on 3d, while my 900a passive has no ghosting....is there anyway to get rid of ghosting on the 900b?
Not really, when the sets on for an hour and warmed up it will get a little less but that's about it. The 900a just has the best 3d so it's hard to compare the two.
Adamd is offline  
post #12791 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 12:10 PM
Member
 
dukerivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You guys are right, might as wait, also being that the x900a has quantum dot technology does it mean it will comply with the HDR specs ??
dukerivas is offline  
post #12792 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 12:51 PM
Member
 
dukerivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What do you guys think about the nuvola np1 with ultraflix??
dukerivas is offline  
post #12793 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukerivas View Post
What do you guys think about the nuvola np1 with ultraflix??
Proceed with caution.
I think Nuvola is getting out of the media player business and focusing on their streaming service.

This statement below which has been on their website for at least a year screams "Houston we have a problem" to me. H.264 is not capable of decoding 4K. That is why all 900a owners needed to buy Sony's media player with the H.265 codec included in order to stream Netflix 4K.

From the website:
Upgradeable
The Nuvola NP-1 supports current 4K Ultra HD video using the H.264 compression, and will be automatically updated with the latest H.265 (HEVC) codecs as they become available.

Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #12794 of 13014 Old 01-29-2015, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Reyfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukerivas View Post
What do you guys think about the nuvola np1 with ultraflix??
There are several cheaper Android based boxes that are good for XBMC and allow you to playback the YouTube downloaded 4K MP4 files. I have the Open Hour Chameleon and with the current firmware version I'd give it a 7 out of 10. I am able to use the UltraFlix app from the Google Play Store. None of these android boxes currently allow you to playback Netflix in 4K streaming.

I had the X1 as it came bundled with my purchase of the 900a. i sold it on eBay and purchased the X10. I am happy with the X10 but would not have been had I paid full retail price for it.

Might be best to wait for the 4K BluRay Players coming out at the end of the year.
Reyfam is offline  
post #12795 of 13014 Old 01-30-2015, 08:29 AM
Member
 
halon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I was watching Idiot Abroad on Netflix when I was suddenly scared my 65 went bad. Out of nowhere it looked like I had around 12 groupings of dead pixels! I jumped off the couch grabbing remotes and saying many words not needing repeated here. Turned the show off and noticed they were gone. I then realized it was a problem with show. Just to make sure I flipped around some other shows.
halon is offline  
post #12796 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
iNcontroL92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm concerned my 65x900a does not have HDMI 2.0 capabilities even with the firmware update. I bought it in 2014 but the set itself was made in Japan March 2013!

When researching this thread the date 09/2013 was thrown around a lot, does that mean that since my set was manufactured in 04/2013 that it doesn't have the HDMI 2.0 chip?

This would be very upsetting since I plan to get the first video card that has HDMI 2.0 that I can get my hands on.

I'd appreciate AVS's knowledge here!

Thank you
iNcontroL92 is offline  
post #12797 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 04:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVAV View Post
Anyone with the X900A watch the new Star Trek - Into Darkness Blu-ray...?

Did the X900A have any slight problems with "motion" - especially when it came to faces of Kirk (and others) and their uniforms...?
No problems at all and it's amazing in 3d too
ultraflexed is offline  
post #12798 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by iNcontroL92 View Post
I'm concerned my 65x900a does not have HDMI 2.0 capabilities even with the firmware update. I bought it in 2014 but the set itself was made in Japan March 2013!

When researching this thread the date 09/2013 was thrown around a lot, does that mean that since my set was manufactured in 04/2013 that it doesn't have the HDMI 2.0 chip?

This would be very upsetting since I plan to get the first video card that has HDMI 2.0 that I can get my hands on.

I'd appreciate AVS's knowledge here!

Thank you
What exactly does HDMI 2.0 allow? and why would a 4K TV not have everything needed to be 4K?
RicFlair is offline  
post #12799 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
iNcontroL92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't HDMI 2.0 required to view 4k content at 60p? More specifically, it would allow me to play computer games with 4k resolution and 60p.

And I thought that the earlier x900a sets required a board swap for hdmi 2 or is that something else entirely?
iNcontroL92 is offline  
post #12800 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Adamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by iNcontroL92 View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't HDMI 2.0 required to view 4k content at 60p? More specifically, it would allow me to play computer games with 4k resolution and 60p.

And I thought that the earlier x900a sets required a board swap for hdmi 2 or is that something else entirely?
The 2.0 HDMI was a firmware update to all HDMI ports. On some x900a made in 2013 needed the HDMI 4 board swapped for hdcp 2.2 to allow for copy protected 4k content from Netflix. If your HDMI port 4 is on its own off to the side you might need the swap. If it's not on its own it will have the update. You can call Sony and they will tell you if your set needs it for 4k Netflix and blu Ray support.
Adamd is offline  
post #12801 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by iNcontroL92 View Post
I'm concerned my 65x900a does not have HDMI 2.0 capabilities even with the firmware update. I bought it in 2014 but the set itself was made in Japan March 2013!

When researching this thread the date 09/2013 was thrown around a lot, does that mean that since my set was manufactured in 04/2013 that it doesn't have the HDMI 2.0 chip?

This would be very upsetting since I plan to get the first video card that has HDMI 2.0 that I can get my hands on.

I'd appreciate AVS's knowledge here!

Thank you
This is old info, but since you're new to the board, here is what you need to know.

The HDMI 2.0 was a firmware update that Sony started pushing out in Dec 2013. Any time a TV downloaded new software, it was added automatically. You have 2.0 if you've gone through any updates since owning the TV.

What you might be referring to is HDCP 2.2 which is the copyright protection that Sony FMP X1 and FMP X10 need to get the 4K player to show up on the A model televisions. If the circuit board was added during manufacture, you're in like flint. If it was not, there is an in-home board that needs to be installed.

You can go to www.4kactivation.com and put in your serial number to see if the TV needs the board installed in your home. Be sure to answer the Step 1 question YES.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #12802 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 109
I like the 65X900A vs. the 65X900B. The "b" is quite good, but the "A" model has really great color and the best 3d I've ever seen. I have an 850b in another room, which has the same LED based "Triluminos" as the 900B series. It isn't bad, but the quantum dot 900A has richer color. This is especially true of enhanced sources, like from the 4k player and the "mastered in 4k" blue-ray releases encoded in XvYCC color.

nuke
nuke is offline  
post #12803 of 13014 Old 01-31-2015, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,623
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 288
The enhanced dynamic range and better backlighting of the X900B vs the 850B helps with the perception of improved PQ though, and I wouldn't write off a certain TV if I'd only seen a proxy of it. I've owned a 55X9A and a 55X9B and I much prefer the latter for 2D PQ as the scaling is better, the colour is still sensational and it doesn't have the visible FPR lines which were a distraction on the A series. And the 3D is a wash, due to the on/off nature of the 55A's 3D panel which leaves shocking scan line gaps, whereas the 55B's active set is correctly filtered but has obvious crosstalk. This all applies to the 55 not the 65, but still.

The sooner UHD BD launches the better, then I can start to leave 3D behind because it just doesn't work at its best no matter how it's implemented @ 55". (No, I can't accommodate a bigger screen, nor could I afford to buy another TV anyway!)
Geoff D is offline  
post #12804 of 13014 Old 02-01-2015, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This may be slightly off topic, and previously discussed, but I'm hoping the vast user base here can help me with the FMP-X1.

Wanting to experience some 4k content at home, I purchased the FMP-X1 from Fry's at their closeout price. I was surprised they had one in stock (it was a couple of months ago), and I knew it wouldn't include the 10 free movies (although the verbage led me to believe Elysium would be included), but at least I could see the shorts and have the option to get upcoming 4k titles. The short clips that are included do look great!

Now that a new movie has been released on 4K SEN that I haven't seen in HD or 3D (Fury), I was considering purchasing or renting it. Until now, I've been using the TV speakers with the FMP-X1. For the movie I would most certainly like to use the 5.1 signal to my receiver, but I can't get the hdmi 2 audio out to work at all. Has anyone?

I did recently sub my receiver with a sherwood r-972, but the trusty Denon AVR-A100 that it replaced is sitting close by waiting to be sold (or not). If someone can confirm the receiver is the problem I might put the Denon back in, but AFAIK the hdmi audio signal should be accepted by any receiver?

It seems that it may be an exercise in futility anyway, as most reports I've read all indicate that audio dropouts are likely even if the signal is established. So, just really curious if anyone gets reliable 5.1 audio from their FMP-X1?
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #12805 of 13014 Old 02-01-2015, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Considering purchasing an X-RITe Pro 1 to calibrate the 65X900A. Any thoughts on the device in this application Will the bundled software be enough, or do I need to purchase Calman too?
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #12806 of 13014 Old 02-01-2015, 01:32 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 28
OK now that we have confirmation of UHD blur ray players and for those who have never had the option of getting that upgradeable HDMI board swap. Where does it leave us with this HDCP 2.2 issue?? I beleive for those left high and dry without the board swap have essentially got a 4k TV that is flawed? This HDCP 2.2 needs to be compliant in the receiver (if your going through one) as well as the TV. So can someone tell me buying a UHD blu ray player is useless for this TV? or not. My understanding is you will not be able to output 4k resolution to the TV and will revert back to 1080p. So essentially we over here in Australia and all the Asian models who were early adopters of the X900A have no reason to buy a UHD bluray player if we cant playback UHD blurays at there full potential. So essentially guys does this mean "No HDMI board swap" means the TV is essentially a 1080p set with the ability to playback 4k content that does not conform to the rules of HDCP 2.2?
CSPerera is online now  
post #12807 of 13014 Old 02-01-2015, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,572
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2465 Post(s)
Liked: 1240
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonmichaelh View Post
This may be slightly off topic, and previously discussed, but I'm hoping the vast user base here can help me with the FMP-X1.

Wanting to experience some 4k content at home, I purchased the FMP-X1 from Fry's at their closeout price. I was surprised they had one in stock (it was a couple of months ago), and I knew it wouldn't include the 10 free movies (although the verbage led me to believe Elysium would be included), but at least I could see the shorts and have the option to get upcoming 4k titles. The short clips that are included do look great!

Now that a new movie has been released on 4K SEN that I haven't seen in HD or 3D (Fury), I was considering purchasing or renting it. Until now, I've been using the TV speakers with the FMP-X1. For the movie I would most certainly like to use the 5.1 signal to my receiver, but I can't get the hdmi 2 audio out to work at all. Has anyone?

I did recently sub my receiver with a sherwood r-972, but the trusty Denon AVR-A100 that it replaced is sitting close by waiting to be sold (or not). If someone can confirm the receiver is the problem I might put the Denon back in, but AFAIK the hdmi audio signal should be accepted by any receiver?

It seems that it may be an exercise in futility anyway, as most reports I've read all indicate that audio dropouts are likely even if the signal is established. So, just really curious if anyone gets reliable 5.1 audio from their FMP-X1?
Many X1 owners have complained about intermittent audio dropouts when connecting the device to an AVR using hDMI2 out from the player. However, I have never heard of no audio at all. Let's run through the list of settings/connections:

- Connect the HDMI cable to the HDMI2 connection on the player.
- On the other end, connect the cable to an unused HDMI input on the AVR.
- Associate the HDMI port with the input you are going to use. For example, for me the player is connected to HDMI5, and I use AUX2 as the input.
- Check on your AVR's menu for Input Mode, and make sure the Decode Mode is set to Auto.
- Back on the player, make sure Audio Out is set to HDMI2.

If everything is set up as described above, the audio should be appearing on the AVR. If it still doesn't, recall you can still get audio back to the AVR by connecting it directly to the TV, usually with a Toslink cable. In this method, the audio from the player is set to HDMI1, and is routed to the TV, and then back to the AVR. Unfortunately, the audio is only 2.1, but using PLII Movie on the AVR, it sounds pretty good.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12808 of 13014 Old 02-03-2015, 03:10 PM
Member
 
dukerivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
what do you guys think about the vizio P series?
Picture quality vs the x900A

Last edited by dukerivas; 02-03-2015 at 03:11 PM.
dukerivas is offline  
post #12809 of 13014 Old 02-03-2015, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukerivas View Post
what do you guys think about the vizio P series?
Picture quality vs the x900A
Not even close. The 900 is better in my opinion, by a good margin.

nuke
nuke is offline  
post #12810 of 13014 Old 02-03-2015, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,235
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuke View Post
Not even close. The 900 is better in my opinion, by a good margin.

Agree 100% nuke.
steve1971 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off