Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 440 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13171 of 13186 Old 08-27-2015, 05:37 AM
Member
 
eric_purdue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by cembros View Post
looks like directv launched a 4k box. Will this work with the tv?

http://www.highdefdigest.com/news/sh...ttop-box/25369
YES it works, but its only the genie mini and I have my genie hooked to my 4k tv. It's only for renting movies as of now.
eric_purdue is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13172 of 13186 Old 08-28-2015, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Check your inbox mate
Hi CSPerera,


I am from Mexico and have follow this thread for a long time, I am facing the same issue here in Mexico I spoke with Sony about this but they will make the board upgrade only if I purchase the FMP-x5 player. As you I want to be ready to play UHD BD when they come out as I find this TV really awesome and just bought it a couple of weeks ago for a really decent price. I have order the sparepart: Sony Cx2 Mount Service, A1952947A and looking for guidance from you on how to get this installed and running.

Your help will be really appreciated!
YoshiMX is offline  
post #13173 of 13186 Old 08-28-2015, 01:55 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshiMX View Post
Hi CSPerera,


I am from Mexico and have follow this thread for a long time, I am facing the same issue here in Mexico I spoke with Sony about this but they will make the board upgrade only if I purchase the FMP-x5 player. As you I want to be ready to play UHD BD when they come out as I find this TV really awesome and just bought it a couple of weeks ago for a really decent price. I have order the sparepart: Sony Cx2 Mount Service, A1952947A and looking for guidance from you on how to get this installed and running.

Your help will be really appreciated!
Check your inbox YoshiMX
CSPerera is offline  
post #13174 of 13186 Old 08-28-2015, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Awesome thanks m8, just waiting to get the CX2 to proceed. As it only ships to the US I think it will take some time before I can try this but will keep you guys informed. Rumors are that UHD BD players will be available in holidays season, so we will just have to wait to truly check 4K resolution on our TV's as I dont want to purchase the media player (really expensive here in Mexico). Thanks a lot again for your effort and support!
CSPerera likes this.
YoshiMX is offline  
post #13175 of 13186 Old 08-28-2015, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshiMX View Post
Hi CSPerera,


I am from Mexico and have follow this thread for a long time, I am facing the same issue here in Mexico I spoke with Sony about this but they will make the board upgrade only if I purchase the FMP-x5 player. As you I want to be ready to play UHD BD when they come out as I find this TV really awesome and just bought it a couple of weeks ago for a really decent price. I have order the sparepart: Sony Cx2 Mount Service, A1952947A and looking for guidance from you on how to get this installed and running.

Your help will be really appreciated!
This might be a dumb question but I do not have the i+ key on my controller, attached is an image of the controller. Did you use any other key or do I need to have a different controller?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shopjimmy-1-491-987-11-top.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	912690  
YoshiMX is offline  
post #13176 of 13186 Old 08-28-2015, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
luished's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red face Some questions!

Hi All,
New user here in México. As most new recently owners of this wonderfull tv, I've been reading paciently each post almost since de beginning of this thread. Thanks to all who have post their experiencies!

I bought this tv in April of this year. Atttached are the manufacture date (October 2013, México) and the HDMI-4 location (located at the right side of the tv).

YoshiMX, I have also contacted SONY and they told me I have to buy that the FMP-x5 player, so they will know if my set would need the update or not. I'm not really sure if my set is HCDP 2.2 ready.

That player is really expensive here in México and I don't think is a good idea to buy it just to make sure is the set is HDCP 2.2 ready or not.

vuongjas, I've been following your case and I'm tempted to buy the Nvida shield. I was reading the product user guide in the nvidia web site and they stated the following: "Watching 4K content from SHIELD requires a 4K display with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 support. Make sure SHIELD is connected to an HDMI input that supports HDCP 2.2. Consult your 4K display's user guide to find the correct HDMI port to plug SHIELD into for watching 4K content". So does this mean that requieres the HDMI 2.0 AND the HDCP 2.2 compliance? I was reading that you were able to connect and watch both youtube and netflix, maybe this mean your set is HDCP 2.2 ready? if not, does this means that only HDM 2.0 is enough to plug in the Nvida shield?

Thanks in advance for your support



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	539.3 KB
ID:	912866   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	675.2 KB
ID:	912874   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	806.8 KB
ID:	912882  
luished is offline  
post #13177 of 13186 Old 08-29-2015, 06:55 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The i+ button is your netflix button on your remote. It seems like we have different remotes in different parts of the world.
CSPerera is offline  
post #13178 of 13186 Old 08-29-2015, 07:08 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by luished View Post
Hi All,
New user here in México. As most new recently owners of this wonderfull tv, I've been reading paciently each post almost since de beginning of this thread. Thanks to all who have post their experiencies!

I bought this tv in April of this year. Atttached are the manufacture date (October 2013, México) and the HDMI-4 location (located at the right side of the tv).

YoshiMX, I have also contacted SONY and they told me I have to buy that the FMP-x5 player, so they will know if my set would need the update or not. I'm not really sure if my set is HCDP 2.2 ready.

That player is really expensive here in México and I don't think is a good idea to buy it just to make sure is the set is HDCP 2.2 ready or not.

vuongjas, I've been following your case and I'm tempted to buy the Nvida shield. I was reading the product user guide in the nvidia web site and they stated the following: "Watching 4K content from SHIELD requires a 4K display with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 support. Make sure SHIELD is connected to an HDMI input that supports HDCP 2.2. Consult your 4K display's user guide to find the correct HDMI port to plug SHIELD into for watching 4K content". So does this mean that requieres the HDMI 2.0 AND the HDCP 2.2 compliance? I was reading that you were able to connect and watch both youtube and netflix, maybe this mean your set is HDCP 2.2 ready? if not, does this means that only HDM 2.0 is enough to plug in the Nvida shield?

Thanks in advance for your support


This means in order for you to watch Protected 4k content you must connect the device to HDCP 2.2 /HDMI 2.0 Hdmi Port. Netflix 4k material is protected thus the reason HDCP 2.2 and Youtube 4k is not. Future movies on Ultra HD discs will most definitely be protected. Other than that the shield can be played on any 4k TV but does not necessarily need the mentioned specs if you have no intention of playing back protected 4k material as vuongjas has discovered.
CSPerera is offline  
post #13179 of 13186 Old 08-30-2015, 11:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoshiMX View Post
This might be a dumb question but I do not have the i+ key on my controller, attached is an image of the controller. Did you use any other key or do I need to have a different controller?
You have the same model TV and remote i have in the US. I hit the red Netflix button or hit SEN and then select the app once it appears on the TV. I agree that waiting for UHD Bluray in a few months makes sense rather than the media player.
Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #13180 of 13186 Old 08-31-2015, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello , happy to help where I can! As mentioned above, for you to enjoy Netflix 4K you NEED to have HDMI2.0 (which your TV supports), and HDCP2.2

In Canada, I found the process through the fasttrac site I posted above. Countless hours to find the solution, but once I got there - it's been SUPER EASY SINCE.

I told the service man on the phone that I would BUY THE XMP X5 in order for the warranty to trigger and for them to come and do the repair. He escalated to level 2 and found me the correct place to go to file for a repair. I punched in a random "purchase date" to bypass the request screen.

Well guess what? They just shipped me one and told me it's free for those that own this TV.
Thus, I got a x5 media player delivered last week, and the technician came today to swap the HDMI 4 board (located on it's own - not with the others bunched together as mentioned in other posts).

Looked like a legit 20 second job... super easy.

I plugged in my shield, fired up netflix and BAM, there it was - 4K option. Beautiful (although marginally better than HD lol)


Now I have a sealed x5 sitting here. Looked up online what it actually does trying to find a use for it, but still don't understand what it brings to the table that the Shield doesn't.


Anyways, I'm a happy camper now and think after countless hours, I fully understand this TV now lol
any one have any questions, feel free to shoot them my way!
vuongjas is offline  
post #13181 of 13186 Old 09-01-2015, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Podolski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Guys! Good news, today nvidia released the driver 355.82. So now you can Sli and get 4k (60hz) without the green flickering with windows 10 on this tv!! So enjoy gamming at 4K res!
Podolski is offline  
post #13182 of 13186 Old 09-01-2015, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,647
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faceless Rebel View Post
Hopefully when UHD Blu-ray players come around, Sony will have something nice for us in terms of utilizing the wide gamut on our TVs with UHD Blu-ray.
Preach it, brother! If Sony don't put a Triluminous conversion on their UHD BD players (say, P3 to xvYCC) then it'd be such a waste of this tech.
jasonmichaelh and Mdjones9137 like this.
Geoff D is offline  
post #13183 of 13186 Old Yesterday, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
jeffersonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
5.1 Audio with Shield --> TV --> Receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by vuongjas View Post
Hello , happy to help where I can! As mentioned above, for you to enjoy Netflix 4K you NEED to have HDMI2.0 (which your TV supports), and HDCP2.2

In Canada, I found the process through the fasttrac site I posted above. Countless hours to find the solution, but once I got there - it's been SUPER EASY SINCE.

I told the service man on the phone that I would BUY THE XMP X5 in order for the warranty to trigger and for them to come and do the repair. He escalated to level 2 and found me the correct place to go to file for a repair. I punched in a random "purchase date" to bypass the request screen.

Well guess what? They just shipped me one and told me it's free for those that own this TV.
Thus, I got a x5 media player delivered last week, and the technician came today to swap the HDMI 4 board (located on it's own - not with the others bunched together as mentioned in other posts).

Looked like a legit 20 second job... super easy.

I plugged in my shield, fired up netflix and BAM, there it was - 4K option. Beautiful (although marginally better than HD lol)


Now I have a sealed x5 sitting here. Looked up online what it actually does trying to find a use for it, but still don't understand what it brings to the table that the Shield doesn't.


Anyways, I'm a happy camper now and think after countless hours, I fully understand this TV now lol
any one have any questions, feel free to shoot them my way!



That is great you got it working, I have also managed to get the port upgraded (not an easy task in Switzerland). My new problem is that I don't get 5.1 audio with Netflix through the Shield. When I connect the Shield directly to the upgraded HDCP2.2 port, UHD works fine, but Netflix only detects 2 audio channels.


I am unable to pass-through 4k with my receiver (YamahaRX-V675), so my only option is to plug the Shield into the upgraded TV port and send the audio back to the receiver via ARC. The system works fine through the Shield when I use Kodi and set the audio to pass-through, but not with Netflix… anyone have anyideas?


Thanks!
jeffersonz is offline  
post #13184 of 13186 Old Yesterday, 12:27 PM
Senior Member
 
jasonmichaelh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Podolski View Post
Guys! Good news, today nvidia released the driver 355.82. So now you can Sli and get 4k (60hz) without the green flickering with windows 10 on this tv!! So enjoy gamming at 4K res!
Also on Windows 7! Output is forced to ycbr420 when uhd resolution is set. Not sure but I think it allowed other modes before.

Unfortunately that didn't solve the tearing issue I see sometimes, even with vsync turned on. My wqhd monitor only shows tearing when running games in borderless window mode, so I was hopeful that was the same problem on the Sony. Probably just need more resource muscle on my PC for the UHD.
jasonmichaelh is offline  
post #13185 of 13186 Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric_purdue View Post
YES it works, but its only the genie mini and I have my genie hooked to my 4k tv. It's only for renting movies as of now.
Were you able to hook up the reciever or even a sound bar to the 4k set top box? I have the Sony HTCT780 330W 2.1 Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer and it does have hdcp 2.2 with 4k and I was unable to hook up the 4k box to the sound bar to tv. Right now its hooked directly to the tv. Not sure what to do here since I got the ps4 and 4k media player hooked up to the sound bar and will need to get optical from 4k directv box to soundbar but will sound bar play both the hdmi and optical ???
Huskers15 is offline  
post #13186 of 13186 Old Today, 06:22 AM
Member
 
eric_purdue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskers15 View Post
Were you able to hook up the reciever or even a sound bar to the 4k set top box? I have the Sony HTCT780 330W 2.1 Sound Bar with Wireless Subwoofer and it does have hdcp 2.2 with 4k and I was unable to hook up the 4k box to the sound bar to tv. Right now its hooked directly to the tv. Not sure what to do here since I got the ps4 and 4k media player hooked up to the sound bar and will need to get optical from 4k directv box to soundbar but will sound bar play both the hdmi and optical ???
I have a cheap Vizio sound bar with wireless sub and rears. I just use the optical out of the tv to the optical in of the sound bar. This way all my devices can play sound to the soundbar. Otherwise, only the direct tv would play sound though it and I would have to only use tv speakers for bluray, ps3, boxee, chromecast, etc...
eric_purdue is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off