Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 446 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 856Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13351 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I wonder if something is wrong with my tv them, since I dont get CEC woking now that I am using hdmi 4 for all output...
wase4711 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13352 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shape View Post
That is incorrect. HDMI CEC is supported on every input. Only HDMI1 supports HDMI ARC.

That's the audio return channel to provide audio to your receiver from TV apps.

HDCP 2.2 is only supported on HDMI4.
can you point out where in the manual or else where that it says CEC is supported on EVERY input?
its not working for me, when using HDMI 4, and it was working fine on HDMI 1
wase4711 is online now  
post #13353 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
can you point out where in the manual or else where that it says CEC is supported on EVERY input?
its not working for me, when using HDMI 4, and it was working fine on HDMI 1
I'm almost certain that I have HDMI-CEC working on HDMI4 currently. That's the input I switched to recently when I bought my Denon AVR-X4200W. I also tested it with HDMI1.

But I will check again tonight.

Looking at the online "i-Manual," it doesn't mention any particular HDMI input working for "Bravia Sync" which is Sony's name for HDMI-CEC. That says to me that it works on any input. Frankly, it doesn't really make sense for it to only work on one input because it is supposed to auto switch inputs based on the device that you turn on.

Josh - GamerTag: ShapeGSX PSN: ShapeGSX
'97 Eclipse GSX - 11.825@117.55mph in the 1/4
Shape is online now  
post #13354 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
well, it used to work fine when I had everything going through HDMI 1, but now that I am using HDMI 4, it does absolutely nothing..really starting to dislike this TV..
wase4711 is online now  
post #13355 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
teeitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread

CEC works on all HDMI inputs. You may need to resync devices. Instructions to do this are in the manual.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
teeitup is offline  
post #13356 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
well, it used to work fine when I had everything going through HDMI 1, but now that I am using HDMI 4, it does absolutely nothing..really starting to dislike this TV..
You have to enable this based on HDMI input under Settings - Channels and Inputs. It is not automatic.
wase4711 likes this.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #13357 of 13370 Old 01-13-2016, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
thanks, I'll check it out!
wase4711 is online now  
post #13358 of 13370 Old 01-14-2016, 10:21 PM
Member
 
halon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I've absolutely loved my 65 since I bought it. But. I think it might be time to sell it and update to a new one this year? Has anyone sold or tried to sell it yet? I was thinking 1200$.
halon is offline  
post #13359 of 13370 Old 01-15-2016, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
RiED27880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Since HDMI 4 is the only hdcp2.2 compatible port, will I need to hook up a digital audio out cable in order to get surround sound to devices not going through my reciever? I've been using arc in HDMI 1, but i will be Hooking up the new und bluray player so I need my reciever to go to HDMI 4. Will that work?
RiED27880 is offline  
post #13360 of 13370 Old 01-15-2016, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
yep, thats what I am doing to get digital sound out of the tv now that I am running my AVR out to hdmi 4 on this tv
I still run everything through the AVR first, then the avr out to HDMI 4 on the tv, the a toslink cable from the tv to the avr for the "other stuff" to have digital sound
RiED27880 likes this.
wase4711 is online now  
post #13361 of 13370 Old 02-01-2016, 04:29 PM
Member
 
cptmurphi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
120hz 1080p support

For anyone interested in 120hz pc support for 1080p, I contacted sony support to request 120hz implementation for pc gaming. The panel natively supports 120hz and other tvs can do this with hdmi 1.4 and 2.0b. They just need to work it into the edid or software through firmware upgrade. I received a response saying they would forward to the support dept who handles firmware upgrades. Fingers crossed
cptmurphi is offline  
post #13362 of 13370 Old 02-01-2016, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Ok Mate tell me have you bought the required CX2 mount upgrade board yet? if you havent you need to purchase it from here:
Once you have done that you need to tell me if your in Melbourne, or if you are capable of performing the upgrade yourself. If your in Melbourne you can get European Electronics to install it other than that I can give you are guide to installing it yourself. Furthermore what are you using in order to view netflix? The reason I am asking is the netflix app on the TV is not 4k compatible as the TV doesnt have the required codecs built in. You need sometype of 4k media player which includes the 4k Australian netflix app to plug into the upgraded port. Then you can view protected content. To be honest I wouldnt even bother with netflix 4k. Having said that you will need that port upgraded if you want to one of these days purchase a 4k bluray player. I am assuiming you are in Australia as yours is an x9004a.
Hello CSPerera,

Apologies for the delayed reply. I lost the thread to this forum and being unwell for a while did not help either.

I have not done any purchase yet.
What is the advantage of doing this upgrade? Will I also have to buy another media player? Currently I have a Sony Blu ray player(no 4K) and my TV is connected to Apple TV and Denon AVR
Do you reckon I should go for the upgrade OR is there any new product in the market which will solve this?

Regards,
Sri
Sriraj is offline  
post #13363 of 13370 Old 02-03-2016, 02:53 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sriraj View Post
Hello CSPerera,

Apologies for the delayed reply. I lost the thread to this forum and being unwell for a while did not help either.

I have not done any purchase yet.
What is the advantage of doing this upgrade? Will I also have to buy another media player? Currently I have a Sony Blu ray player(no 4K) and my TV is connected to Apple TV and Denon AVR
Do you reckon I should go for the upgrade OR is there any new product in the market which will solve this?

Regards,
Sri
No problems mate. OK if your intention is to buy a proper Ultra High definition bluray player that will play Ultra High definition bluray Discs which is due out in a few months, unfortunately your going to have to get that port upgraded. Also if you also want to stream 4k Netflix the port will need to be upgraded. The current bluray players that are on the market are 4k upscaling and not in fact native. These players will not playback 4k content period. The potential of the TV if you ask me is lost if you don't. I think you should upgrade that part. However bare in mind if you upgrade the part and you are using ARC this may or may not function as it is intended to. Also the Mastered in 4k option will be blanked out in HDMI 1 but will work on all other ports.
CSPerera is offline  
post #13364 of 13370 Old 02-04-2016, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
SwedishChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Uh Oh - completely black...

Turned the set on tonight and it is completely black. TV "responds to remote" in that it makes sounds, but no picture what soever. It's as if the backlight has completely died. Any advice or experience?
SwedishChef is offline  
post #13365 of 13370 Old 02-04-2016, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
SwedishChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwedishChef View Post
Turned the set on tonight and it is completely black. TV "responds to remote" in that it makes sounds, but no picture what soever. It's as if the backlight has completely died. Any advice or experience?
OK, so after playing with everything I could think of with exactly zero light coming out of the TV, in desperation I searched for this sort of problem and found this: http://www.tomsguide.com/forum/56867...a-black-screen I presumed it couldn't possibly work - different TVs, older TVs, etc.


But it did.


That is some nasty software bug that persists across so many sets and results in a crazy fix like this.
SwedishChef is offline  
post #13366 of 13370 Old 02-06-2016, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Hi All
would purchasing the samsung UBD-K8500 4k bluray player and 4k discs work ok with this "old" tv haha, still loving mine
i presume we use Hdmi 4
everunman is offline  
post #13367 of 13370 Old 02-06-2016, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,098
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 115
well, if you had the hdmi4 board upgrade, and you plug it in to hdmi 4, with the proper cable it should work...
if you didnt have the hdmi 4 board upgrade, no, it wont be anything but a waste of money...
everunman likes this.
wase4711 is online now  
post #13368 of 13370 Old Today, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
cembros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Anyone actually get their hands on the new Samsung UHD player and test it out on the tv yet?
cembros is online now  
post #13369 of 13370 Old Today, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 4,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by cembros View Post
Anyone actually get their hands on the new Samsung UHD player and test it out on the tv yet?
Yes! It works great with my X900A through my Denon AVR-X4200W that is plugged into HDMI4.

But I don't have any UHD discs yet!

Still, YouTube and Netflix on the Samsung UHD player can stream in 4k, and it looks great!

Josh - GamerTag: ShapeGSX PSN: ShapeGSX
'97 Eclipse GSX - 11.825@117.55mph in the 1/4
Shape is online now  
post #13370 of 13370 Old Today, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,520
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Rudy1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off