Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 448 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 898Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13411 of 13531 Old 03-06-2016, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It's worth mentioning again, the Nvidia Shield single handedly brought new life to my 65-900a. With the Shield & Kodi you can watch all the 4K content you could ever dream of in beautiful 3840x2160.

Just make sure you get the fastest internet speed possible to make your experience as flawless as can be.
Sandro Natale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13412 of 13531 Old 03-06-2016, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Grubs92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro Natale View Post
It's worth mentioning again, the Nvidia Shield single handedly brought new life to my 65-900a. With the Shield & Kodi you can watch all the 4K content you could ever dream of in beautiful 3840x2160.

Just make sure you get the fastest internet speed possible to make your experience as flawless as can be.
Which repository do you use for kodi for 4k content?
Grubs92 is offline  
post #13413 of 13531 Old 03-06-2016, 04:36 PM
Member
 
kbrod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I have the Nvidia Shield and unfortunately it has been a bit buggy. My internet speed is 50Mbs so ample. The first one I had to return because was defective. This one I've had for awhile but sometimes doesn't download games I have to erase memory to get it to work which makes no sense because I 500Gb unit and really do not have many games on it. I have to wait extended times for it to load and to be able to use the remote/player. I called Nvidia and spoke with a rep. after going through multiple resets and other things still did not work. He said he would speak with a colleague and call me back but never did. Personally I think my second unit is defective as well and working marginally. Just my luck. That being said, I do not use it that much so it hasn't been a huge hassle per se. I have the new Dish 4K player and it is considerably better than the previous device in user friendliness, recording ability, and function. Can watch Netflix in 4K on it. I liked the Nvidia when it was working well (short-lived) but like I said before a bit slow. There was a recent update on it a week ago and my unit has been very slow to boot since. Very frustrating. I used to play hungry shark on it which is a great game and was literally at the end of the game with every available shark and option but during one of my resets to make it able to download other games all my levels were erased and I lost all desire to start from scratch. Very frustrating! Who knows maybe I just got a lemon. I always had bad luck getting things because they always seem to have a defect. My previous Sony XBR would start showing a green 'blob' and Sony admitted to the defect and I got another set. I have some Oppo dvd players that were defective as well amazingly. My Lexus LS air shocks got defective and it cost $1300 a piece to replace. I wanted to get a Mercedes S class but with my luck it would be huge headache so I declined. So maybe its just that dark cloud following me.
kbrod1 is offline  
post #13414 of 13531 Old 03-14-2016, 09:18 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How do you set cc on the 900a?
Thanks!
luism2008 is offline  
post #13415 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 12:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
How do you set cc on the 900a?
Thanks!
Closed Caption? Are you using directv or a cable company? Usually you can set your CC through the box and not use it on the sony.
Huskers15 is offline  
post #13416 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
How do you set cc on the 900a?
Thanks!
Generally a device connected with an HDMI cable cannot trigger captioning from the television. The caption would need to come from the source that's playing the program.

If you're using the TV's tuner (for example,) you can select captioning on the television menu, and then customize the size, style and color of the font as well as the color of the background.
wase4711 likes this.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #13417 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 06:33 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huskers15 View Post
Closed Caption? Are you using directv or a cable company? Usually you can set your CC through the box and not use it on the sony.
air antenna ??
luism2008 is offline  
post #13418 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 06:47 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Generally a device connected with an HDMI cable cannot trigger captioning from the television. The caption would need to come from the source that's playing the program.

If you're using the TV's tuner (for example,) you can select captioning on the television menu, and then customize the size, style and color of the font as well as the color of the background.
I am actually using free over the air with the antenna i bought off from amazon.. I get the free channels available..

Where do I find the cc settings? what button sequence do I press?

Thanks
luism2008 is offline  
post #13419 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
air antenna ??
Have you tried the CC button next to the 0 on the x900A remote?
That should work with over the air channels.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #13420 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 06:56 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
Have you tried the CC button next to the 0 on the x900A remote?
That should work with over the air channels.
a duuh.. honestly i didn't see that!! will scrolling thru that show whatever is available on the channel that i click cc on while watching?

Thanks!
luism2008 is offline  
post #13421 of 13531 Old 03-15-2016, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
a duuh.. honestly i didn't see that!! will scrolling thru that show whatever is available on the channel that i click cc on while watching?

Thanks!
Glad to hear it worked. If you want to get fancy You can customize the text etc under
Home
Settings
Preferences
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #13422 of 13531 Old 03-19-2016, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Using the Samsung K8500 4K Blu-ray Player

Any one with this combination 4K TV (or similar Sony 4K TV) and the Samsung K8500, what setting are you using for the TV and the Samsung DVD player? I am looking for what the correct adjustment would be for this combination of 4K TV and K8500 4k DVD player.


I have found that the picture with 4K blu-rays is on the dark side causing me to increase the backlight, contrast and Gamma significantly from where I set it normally.


For the Samsung K8500 DVD player the settings I have been using are--resolution 16x9 original, resolution-Auto, Movie frame-24Fs- Auto, dvd 24Fs conversion -Auto, HDMI color format Auto, HDMI Deep Color -Auto.

For the Sony X900B the HDMI Settings under Pro Picture Setup are:

Video color space set on -AUTO (Choices are-auto ,normal x.v.Color)
Color Matrix- set on AUTO (choices are- Auto, ITU601, ITU709)
Dynamic range set on AUTO (choices are- auto, limited, full)

Sony X900B picture setting are: Scene select -General, Picture mode -Standard, backlight - 4, picture 95brightness 50, Note everything else at the its standard setting in this mode except of all the noise reduction setting are off, Motion flow on clear, CineMotion on Auto, Gamma +2, Live color -Low.

I would appreciate hearing from others on their setting.

Thanks
acermen1212 is offline  
post #13423 of 13531 Old 03-20-2016, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 67
My Samsung K8500 settings are:

Resolution auto
Movie frame (24Fs) auto
DVD 24Fs conversion auto
Fit screen size 4
BD wise off
HDMI color format auto
HDMI deep color off
Picture mode movie

Last edited by bslep; 03-20-2016 at 06:29 AM. Reason: Additional info
bslep is online now  
post #13424 of 13531 Old 03-20-2016, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grubs92 View Post
Which repository do you use for kodi for 4k content?
I got the instructions from Youtube. Whatever I did miraculously put all the addons I could ever dream into Kodi. It works flawlessly 95% of the time.

Here is the video I followed: https://youtu.be/vZfBmxI8nhU?list=LL...TqYKT8-ZbiGhjg
Sandro Natale is offline  
post #13425 of 13531 Old 03-20-2016, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbrod1 View Post
I have the Nvidia Shield and unfortunately it has been a bit buggy. My internet speed is 50Mbs so ample. The first one I had to return because was defective. This one I've had for awhile but sometimes doesn't download games I have to erase memory to get it to work which makes no sense because I 500Gb unit and really do not have many games on it. I have to wait extended times for it to load and to be able to use the remote/player. I called Nvidia and spoke with a rep. after going through multiple resets and other things still did not work. He said he would speak with a colleague and call me back but never did. Personally I think my second unit is defective as well and working marginally. Just my luck. That being said, I do not use it that much so it hasn't been a huge hassle per se. I have the new Dish 4K player and it is considerably better than the previous device in user friendliness, recording ability, and function. Can watch Netflix in 4K on it. I liked the Nvidia when it was working well (short-lived) but like I said before a bit slow. There was a recent update on it a week ago and my unit has been very slow to boot since. Very frustrating. I used to play hungry shark on it which is a great game and was literally at the end of the game with every available shark and option but during one of my resets to make it able to download other games all my levels were erased and I lost all desire to start from scratch. Very frustrating! Who knows maybe I just got a lemon. I always had bad luck getting things because they always seem to have a defect. My previous Sony XBR would start showing a green 'blob' and Sony admitted to the defect and I got another set. I have some Oppo dvd players that were defective as well amazingly. My Lexus LS air shocks got defective and it cost $1300 a piece to replace. I wanted to get a Mercedes S class but with my luck it would be huge headache so I declined. So maybe its just that dark cloud following me.
Geeze I don't know if that's just a streak of bad purchases or if you just buy a lot of stuff and the you're living with the law of averages.

My first Nvidia Shield had a defective game controller which caused me to exchange the whole unit. Since then it's been pretty solid.
Sandro Natale is offline  
post #13426 of 13531 Old 03-21-2016, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
rrivaso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
Any one with this combination 4K TV (or similar Sony 4K TV) and the Samsung K8500, what setting are you using for the TV and the Samsung DVD player? I am looking for what the correct adjustment would be for this combination of 4K TV and K8500 4k DVD player.


I have found that the picture with 4K blu-rays is on the dark side causing me to increase the backlight, contrast and Gamma significantly from where I set it normally.


For the Samsung K8500 DVD player the settings I have been using are--resolution 16x9 original, resolution-Auto, Movie frame-24Fs- Auto, dvd 24Fs conversion -Auto, HDMI color format Auto, HDMI Deep Color -Auto.

For the Sony X900B the HDMI Settings under Pro Picture Setup are:

Video color space set on -AUTO (Choices are-auto ,normal x.v.Color)
Color Matrix- set on AUTO (choices are- Auto, ITU601, ITU709)
Dynamic range set on AUTO (choices are- auto, limited, full)

Sony X900B picture setting are: Scene select -General, Picture mode -Standard, backlight - 4, picture 95brightness 50, Note everything else at the its standard setting in this mode except of all the noise reduction setting are off, Motion flow on clear, CineMotion on Auto, Gamma +2, Live color -Low.

I would appreciate hearing from others on their setting.

Thanks
Have you tried AustinJerry's settings? You can find them at

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/1473062-official-sony-x9-xbr-55x900a-xbr-65x900a-owner-s-thread-57.html?nocache=1458567580721

Scroll down to Austin's post and look for the link to the last updated PDF
wk1947 likes this.
rrivaso is offline  
post #13427 of 13531 Old 03-23-2016, 01:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi
My tv started doing this a couple months ago. But then it started working again. But then occasionally it would happen again and id turn the tv on n off again a few times and then Itwould start working again. But this time it hasn't and has been this way for weeks what do you think it could be?
Thanks!
Aaron
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160303_100452.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	122.3 KB
ID:	1333106   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160303_100515.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	1333114   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160303_100512.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	154.2 KB
ID:	1333122  
Fezteh is offline  
post #13428 of 13531 Old 03-30-2016, 06:31 AM
Member
 
eric_purdue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Anyone see Sony's new Ultra service to stream 4k to new sony tvs? My guess is we can only use it if we have the external player and there won't be an upgrade for the 900a

http://www.engadget.com/2016/03/29/s...es-on-april-4/
eric_purdue is offline  
post #13429 of 13531 Old 03-30-2016, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 137
at 30 bucks a movie, they can keep it

plus, they haven't done squat for any of us who were early adopters and bought this TV, so I doubt that will change
steve1971 likes this.
wase4711 is offline  
post #13430 of 13531 Old 03-30-2016, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fezteh View Post
Hi
My tv started doing this a couple months ago. But then it started working again. But then occasionally it would happen again and id turn the tv on n off again a few times and then Itwould start working again. But this time it hasn't and has been this way for weeks what do you think it could be?
Thanks!
Aaron
No one has any idea??
Fezteh is offline  
post #13431 of 13531 Old 03-30-2016, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric_purdue View Post
Anyone see Sony's new Ultra service to stream 4k to new sony tvs? My guess is we can only use it if we have the external player and there won't be an upgrade for the 900a

http://www.engadget.com/2016/03/29/s...es-on-april-4/
From what I read elsewhere the service, called Ultra, will debut only on Sony 4K Ultra HD TVs equipped with Android TV (Google's version of Apple TV).
This rules out the x10 media player as well as any 4K Sony TV that is not running on the Android operating system.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #13432 of 13531 Old 03-31-2016, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,674
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
at 30 bucks a movie, they can keep it

plus, they haven't done squat for any of us who were early adopters and bought this TV, so I doubt that will change

wase4711 this is why I feel bad for early adopters of 4K. You guys spent your hard earned money on a new 4K set and supported Sony and then you guys are left out in the cold and Sony dont seem to give a crap. Yea I know technology evolves but they should not leave early adopters of 4K in cold they way they have with X900A owners. I have seen ton's of youtube videos where X900A owners feel very bitter and I dont blame them. Thank god I didnt buy the X900A 2 years ago and went with the W900A instead because I would have been losing my mind right now and trust me Sony would have heard about it in more ways then one.
wase4711 likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #13433 of 13531 Old 03-31-2016, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 137
thanks for the empathy, and speaking for myself, I am not bitter at Sony for what they did, I just will NEVER buy another Sony product again, for the rest of my life.

fortunately, I bought mine at Best buy, and got 2- 500 dollar credits from them, after sony dropped the price twice in the first 75 days when this thing came out.
Plus, I got the media player for free when I bought this overpriced monstrosity, and, after I watched all the free stuff on it, I sold that for about 500 bucks as well, so for me, at least the 5500 I paid for this thing, came down to about 4k

still a rip off for a tv that was never engineered to play ANYTHING ELSE in 4k, aside from the Sony crappy offerings, but at least I have had a "4k tv" for the last 3 years or so

this is a perfect example of how NOT to treat your customers; I spend a TON of money on electronics, and sony will never see another dime from my pocket..
steve1971 likes this.
wase4711 is offline  
post #13434 of 13531 Old 03-31-2016, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 309
I'm not sure why you're mad at Sony. They at least offered 4K content from the start, unlike anybody else. And the media player still works, doesn't it? And unlike those other 2013 models, it still has an HDCP port to hook up a UHD BD player (which by the way, look pretty good even if it's not HDR). The only thing it won't do is HDR. But even the 2014 models won't do that either. So I really don't know what you were expecting. Do you really care about this $30 a movie streaming service just to get HDR on a non-HDR tv?
bruceames is online now  
post #13435 of 13531 Old 03-31-2016, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
I'm not sure why you're mad at Sony. They at least offered 4K content from the start, unlike anybody else. And the media player still works, doesn't it? And unlike those other 2013 models, it still has an HDCP port to hook up a UHD BD player (which by the way, look pretty good even if it's not HDR). The only thing it won't do is HDR. But even the 2014 models won't do that either. So I really don't know what you were expecting. Do you really care about this $30 a movie streaming service just to get HDR on a non-HDR tv?
dont know if you are addressing this to me or not..
sure they had 4k content; a few "free" lame movies, and the rest were outrageously priced, if I recall
and i for one couldn't care less about their 30 dollar per movie "streaming" service..
steve1971 likes this.
wase4711 is offline  
post #13436 of 13531 Old 04-01-2016, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,674
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
thanks for the empathy, and speaking for myself, I am not bitter at Sony for what they did, I just will NEVER buy another Sony product again, for the rest of my life.

fortunately, I bought mine at Best buy, and got 2- 500 dollar credits from them, after sony dropped the price twice in the first 75 days when this thing came out.
Plus, I got the media player for free when I bought this overpriced monstrosity, and, after I watched all the free stuff on it, I sold that for about 500 bucks as well, so for me, at least the 5500 I paid for this thing, came down to about 4k

still a rip off for a tv that was never engineered to play ANYTHING ELSE in 4k, aside from the Sony crappy offerings, but at least I have had a "4k tv" for the last 3 years or so

this is a perfect example of how NOT to treat your customers; I spend a TON of money on electronics, and sony will never see another dime from my pocket..

wase I understand why your upset at Sony but isnt this the chance we all take every single year when a manufacturer comes out with a new set? Every year new sets come out which automatically makes the previous set obsolete. It sucks but it is what it is and that's why I passed on the X900A the first time around. I knew Sony would upgrade the tech the very next year and add new bells and whistles and they just keep on doing it and people keep right on buying it. But I still think its unfair to the early adopters of 4K like yourself but again its the chance you take and the price you pay. At least you still have an excellent set in the X900A even if it dont play HDR. In fact I will say next to the XBR4, XBR8, XBR909, and the 1080p W900A its one of the nicest and best built tv's by Sony......but that's just my opinion not shared by others. But again your not the only one who feels the way you do because I see and hear it all the time.
steve1971 is offline  
post #13437 of 13531 Old 04-01-2016, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 137
the build quality has been great for me, as all my Sony tv's over the years have been..

I just dont like how they do business anymore; and then they wonder why their market share has shrunk to the point where they are almost not even a "leader" in the TV world at this point..
I'm sure that samsung, LG, Visio, and others sell more tv's now than sony does, and they were the leaders for so many years..
steve1971 likes this.

Last edited by wase4711; 04-01-2016 at 01:48 PM.
wase4711 is offline  
post #13438 of 13531 Old 04-03-2016, 07:25 AM
Member
 
kbrod1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Overall I was disappointed with how Sony dealt with this set. Realize that when it first came out it wouldn't even connect to the 4K streaming device and Sony had to send someone to my house to exchange port4. Really!!!!!??? You don't even check the set to see if it will connect to the very device you made it for before shipping??? That cost Sony a lot because there were quite a few homes they sent techs out to fix. Afterwards I bought insurance from Sony because my previous XBR got the green blob of death and they backdated the policy a year (that's when it was first ordered) so one year had already expired by the time I got the policy. What's up with that? I sadly don't think Sony's making the quality product it was known for years ago as I have had XBRs that lasted 20 years and still going strong. Even on this set when I go to the app. section many times it doesn't work and I have to update them. That shouldn't happen. I'm thinking of getting a new set but want it to be at least 75". I'll probably go OLED this time and am waiting for a legit review of the LG 77G6P.

Oops, just found out that the 77G6P is going to run for around $25K. that's crazy. Better to buy a projector if going to spend that kind of coin.
wase4711 and steve1971 like this.

Last edited by kbrod1; 04-06-2016 at 05:16 PM.
kbrod1 is offline  
post #13439 of 13531 Old 04-04-2016, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not defending Sony's approach at selling these TV's or their horrible customer service, but IMO none of the other LED/LCD TV's have a better picture quality. Even the newest ones on the market today.

I think the #1 hurdle for 900A owners is the fact that we have to hook up an external device just to see its true picture quality capabilities.
Sandro Natale is offline  
post #13440 of 13531 Old 04-05-2016, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,674
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandro Natale View Post
Not defending Sony's approach at selling these TV's or their horrible customer service, but IMO none of the other LED/LCD TV's have a better picture quality. Even the newest ones on the market today.

I think the #1 hurdle for 900A owners is the fact that we have to hook up an external device just to see its true picture quality capabilities.
As I said in a previous post I think the X900A and W900A were two of the best tv's ever made by Sony. And IMO they still are better then alot of the current tv's on the market today as well.
bruceames and wk1947 like this.
steve1971 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off