Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 452 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 898Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13531 of 13557 Old 08-21-2016, 05:52 AM
Member
 
veggav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd107 View Post
Xbox One S with XBR-65X900A


Last night I replaced my Xbox One with a XBox One S. While it works, I have run into a few challenges.


My XBR-65X900A came from the factory with HDCP 2.2 on HDMI 4 (I have been using a Roku 4 successfully with Amazon 4K on this input so I know for sure that it works).


Right now I am using an older receiver (STR-DN1040) which annoyingly I purchased specifically as it supports 4K switching, but of course it came out before HDCP 2.2 so it is basically useless for switching actual 4K sources. Because of this, I have connected the Xbox One S directly to HDMI 4 on the TV. I am using a Sony flat HDMI "High Speed" cable that supports ARC and Ethernet.


- The Xbox One S does work in 4K on the HDMI4 connection. When I put the Xbox One S into 4K output mode, everything from the XBOS is upscaled to 4K. Everything. Interestingly, on the XBOS main menu the upscaler is doing a better job with the menu text than the built-in scalar in the TV. For example, a large capital "V" showed more staircasing if I set the XBOS to 1080p output (i.e. the TV upscales to 4K) than if I set the XBOS to 4K output. Now, back to "everything" - even when watching a 1080p Blu-ray disc, the XBOS upscales to 4K - it does not switch back to 1080p for disc playback. I don't actually know if the XBOS upscaler will be better for 1080p movies than the 65X900A upscaler, so I am not sure if that is a good thing or not. But what is does do is stop any annoying TV resolution switches from happening, so no more black screens for a few seconds like happens on my Roku 4 when it goes back and forth between it's native 1080p app menus and a 4K video stream.


- My AVR is connected to HDMI1, and the ARC is limiting the Xbox One S on HDMI 4 to stereo playback for some reason - I cannot force the Xbox One S into any surround modes for this reason, and I cannot activate bitstreaming. This is strange as when I had the Roku 4 on HDMI4 it could bitstream the older DD5.1 format back to the receiver through ARC. Apparently I will only be able to fix this problem by buying a new AVR (likely a STR-DN1070) which can pass through HDCP 2.2 and plugging my Xbox One S into that. The AVR would then be plugged into HDMI 4. But if my AVR is connected to HDMI 4, will it be able to receive ARC, as ARC is supported only on HDMI 1 on the 65X900A?


- The really bad news is that this TV will never support 4K gaming, probably on this or any future console. On the Xbox One S under "4K TV Details", the XBOS reports that while the TV does support "4K UHD (60Hz)", it also lists that it:
"
TV does NOT support (movies & TV):
4K 10-bit at 24Hz
4K 10-bit at 50Hz
4K 10-bit at 60Hz
HDR10 video


TV does NOT support (playing games):
Your TV setup does not support 4K 10-bit at 60Hz. You won't be able to play games at 4K.
Your TV setup doesn't support HDR10 for gaming. Games won't be shown in HDR
"


I went to the Sony support site and pulled up the specs from the latest firmware for the 65X900a. It states the following:
"Provides HDMI® 2.0 compatibility (Applies to 4K models only)
Supports 4K 60p (3840X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit, 4096X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit)"


Microsoft's support site lists on a page entitled "4K on Xbox One S technical requirements":
"
TV resolution
Your TV must support the following requirements in order to upscale the system and non-native content to 4K:

Feature
Requirements
4K @ 60 Hz
Resolution: 3840 x 2160p
Refresh rate: 60 Hz

Watching movies & TV
Your TV must support the following requirements to switch to specific 4K or HDR modes on demand for movie and TV content:

Feature
Requirements
4K @ 24 Hz
Resolution: 3840 x 2160p
Refresh rate: 24 Hz
Color depth: 30 bits per pixel (10-bit)
Pixel encoding: 4:4:4
4K @ 50 Hz
Resolution: 3840 x 2160p
Refresh rate: 50 Hz
Color depth: 30 bits per pixel (10-bit)
Pixel encoding: 4:2:0
4K @ 60 Hz
Resolution: 3840 x 2160p
Refresh rate: 60 Hz
Color depth: 30 bits per pixel (10-bit)
Pixel encoding: 4:2:0
HDR
Your TV must support the HDR10 media profile:
  • BT2020 color space or gamut
  • High Dynamic Range (ST2084)
Some TV manufacturers may call this something else. For example, "HDR Premium" or "Ultra HD Premium."

Playing games

Your TV must support the following requirements to switch to 4K or HDR on demand for games:

Feature
Requirements
4K @ 60 Hz
Resolution: 3840 x 2160p
Refresh rate: 60 Hz
Color depth: 30 bits per pixel (10-bit)
Pixel encoding: 4:2:0
HDR
Your TV must support the HDR10 media profile:
  • BT2020 color space or gamut
  • High Dynamic Range (ST2084)
Some TV manufacturers may call this something else. For example, "HDR Premium" or "Ultra HD Premium."



"


NOTICE how all of the modes in the technical requirements state that 10-bit color depth is required, while the Sony support site states that (at least at 60P) only 8-bit is supported.


I now realize that while I did successfully get upscaling of the Xbox One S menus and games and 1080p Blu-Ray video to work fine in 4K. I have played one Netflix 4K video from the app on the XBox One S and it played fine. I have not yet tested a true 4K Blu-Ray disc yet. My assumption is that as long as the source material is in 8-bit I will be fine. I don't know how common 10-bit sources are, yet.


BUT, the terrible news is that appears this TV will apparently never be compatible with 4K gaming (this console, and more importantly future actual 4K gaming consoles) as it does not support the proper modes. That sucks....
Don't know if this makes any difference but when using 4k resolutions with this TV, like using a computer, it won't display 2160p (like it does with 1080p) when pressing display but it will display 3840x2160p.
In 1080p mode if you change the bit depth in Nvidia Control panel it will show 10bit, 12bit when pressing display.
The same won't work with 4k resolutions.

Still, I'm able to switch from 8 bit to 12 bpc @ 60hz.
Of course limited to 4:2:0 because of chroma subsampling needed for this frequency.
veggav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13532 of 13557 Old 08-26-2016, 04:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
bsd107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
In 1080p mode if you change the bit depth in Nvidia Control panel it will show 10bit, 12bit when pressing display.
The same won't work with 4k resolutions.

Still, I'm able to switch from 8 bit to 12 bpc @ 60hz.
Of course limited to 4:2:0 because of chroma subsampling needed for this frequency.
This is interesting to know - to be clear are you saying that the TV will accept a 4K/60p signal with 12-bit color info?

That is actually a specific question that I had, as I noticed last night that since the recent XBox One S operating system update (in the last two weeks - newer than the OS it updated to when receiving at launch) provides better information about what signals the TV will accept. I will update my prior post with this info. (Basically, the XBox One S used to only report under what conditions the TV will not accept a 10-bit color signal under certain conditions. Now it adds additional info by clarifying that it will actually accept an 8-bit color signal.)

What first got me to check this is that, although I had the XBox One S set to 4K resolution since I received it, last night I started watching a 1080p blu-ray disc (HBO's Deadwood), and noticed the TV switching from "3840x2160p" mode to "1080p/24" mode. When I stopped the blu-ray playback, the TV switched back to "3840x2160". So, while the original OS was up-scaling the blu-ray 1080p/24 playback to 4K, this newer OS is now switching the output to 1080/24 when playing a disc with that format.

I verified the XBox One S system settings (I had set 4K output, 12-bit, 24Hz support enabled), and then read the Help info available there, which as also been updated with the new OS. According to this, you have the option of setting the XBox One S to 1080p or 720p output in the case that you prefer to have games upscaled to 4K by the TV instead. Even if you do this, again according to the help system, when you use any 4K source from an app (like Netflix in 4K or Amazon in 4K) or UHD blu-ray playback, the TV will automatically switch from your chosen 720p or 1080p default up to 4K to play the media.

This is actually a pretty nice feature. When I first got the XBox One S and started using it in 4K mode, it occurred to me that for playback of good quality Blu-Ray 1080p sources, the upscaler in the TV might be of better quality than that in the XBox One S. I am not sure about this, especially as our sets are now a few years old, but Sony of course tuned the upscaler specifically for our XBR sets, so I am guessing that it is better. Anyway, I was happy to see that we have the options of outputting in 1080p all the time for sources where that makes sense and letting the TV upscale, and the XBox One S will automatically use 4K output when a true 4K source is selected. Nice!

Anyway, I have some questions about the color depth support of our XBR-65X900A sets:

1) The TV will accept, and reports on the screen, 1080p 12-bit. What is the true color depth capability of the LCD panel?

2) What is the actual color depth that the TV will accept for 4K/30 and 4K/60? This is not clear as the color depth is not reported on screen when in 4K mode. My XBox One S, with the latest OS, reports "Your TV setup doesn't support 4K 10-bit at 24Hz/60Hz. However, apps can use 4K 8-bit, if they support it". (I have the XBox One S set to 12-bit output and it does not complain....)

Given answers to the above what is the best output to use for games? I know that XBone games max out at 1080p (and typically internally rendered at 900p before upscaling to 1080p). I have noticed that, at least when in the XBox TV setting menu, the text looks better (better anti-aliasing) when I have the XBox One S set to 4K as compared to 1080p output - i.e. the upscaler in the XBone is doing a better job than the one built into the TV.
But, if I have the XBox One S upscaling games to 4K, am I also limiting the color depth? I.e. if I game with the XBone set to 1080p am I getting 12-bit color output, whereas having the XBone upscale games to 4K will I be limiting color output to 8-bit and affecting color depth?

Just trying to figure out the best approach for 1080p sources - use the XBox One S to upscale or rely on the TV....
bsd107 is offline  
post #13533 of 13557 Old 08-30-2016, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Check your inbox YoshiMX
Hi there CSPerera, I have recently been given a sony bravia kd-55x9005a and I am planning on fitting the Cx2 Mount Service A19529471 hardware update. On searching threads for info, I found your post to member YoshieMX, where it looks like you PM'd him the service setting instructions. Would you be kind enough to send me this info please? I would really appreciate the help....
Many thanks,
Steve
Steve Larcombe is offline  
post #13534 of 13557 Old 09-06-2016, 06:18 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Had my board replaced today. First time seeing native 4k content on this TV in over 3 years. Not super impressed but happy none the less. Happy all my cables and hdcp actually works for future uses.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13535 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 137
what are you using as a 4k source to watch?
wase4711 is online now  
post #13536 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 01:42 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
what are you using as a 4k source to watch?


Tried the x1, a 4k Blu-ray and YouTube.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13537 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedabomb View Post
Had my board replaced today. First time seeing native 4k content on this TV in over 3 years. Not super impressed but happy none the less. Happy all my cables and hdcp actually works for future uses.
Atleast you can get the swap over nothing like that happening here in Australia.

Im just about to wall mount mine in the new house i got a few extra studs put in. Has anyone wall mounted their 65" TV?

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is online now  
post #13538 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedabomb View Post
Tried the x1, a 4k Blu-ray and YouTube.
do you have a 4k blue ray?

wow, there are still X1's out there...Plus, I dont believe that viewing "4k" you tube, using the built in You Tube app, actually transmits in 4K...I assume you have anything 4k connected to HDMI 4?
wase4711 is online now  
post #13539 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:32 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by wase4711 View Post
do you have a 4k blue ray?

wow, there are still X1's out there...Plus, I dont believe that viewing "4k" you tube, using the built in You Tube app, actually transmits in 4K...I assume you have anything 4k connected to HDMI 4?


I have an xbox one side and used the YouTube on my macbook pro. Also the x1 has been sitting around for years. Never bothered to hook it up. This was it's first time lol.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13540 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:32 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
Atleast you can get the swap over nothing like that happening here in Australia.

Im just about to wall mount mine in the new house i got a few extra studs put in. Has anyone wall mounted their 65" TV?

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk


My 55 is wall mounted. The swap was super easy. I would have done it myself if I had the part. Sony is also sending me a 200 dollar gift card for coming out so that works too.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13541 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedabomb View Post
My 55 is wall mounted. The swap was super easy. I would have done it myself if I had the part. Sony is also sending me a 200 dollar gift card for coming out so that works too.
What did you say to them to make all this happen?
hatlesschimp is online now  
post #13542 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:38 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
What did you say to them to make all this happen?


Went to the 4k activation site. Filled out the info and it said my TV didn't have the update. That's it. For the inconvenience of the whole thing they are sending a 200 dollar gift card. You had to have the x1 in order for them to do it for free.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13543 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I can get 4k from my computer at 60hz. Just not sure about that funny hdcp 2.2 thing

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is online now  
post #13544 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:42 PM
Member
 
stevedabomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatlesschimp View Post
I can get 4k from my computer at 60hz. Just not sure about that funny hdcp 2.2 thing

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk


Yeah non content protected stuff worked great. When input in a 4k Blu-ray ray I got an immediate error about hdcp and it dropped the resolution down to 1080p instantly.
stevedabomb is online now  
post #13545 of 13557 Old 09-07-2016, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 282 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I dont think I will worry about it. I never play 4k Blu Ray on the tv. I have theater room with a 120" to play the 4k content.

Sent from my SM-N930F using Tapatalk
hatlesschimp is online now  
post #13546 of 13557 Old 09-09-2016, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Guys,
I have been out of the loop for a while. Back in 2013 when i bought this tv I was on this thread the whole time. Back then my Tv was hard wired to the internet.
I recently tried to watch netflix 4k through the tv netflix app, and noticed that the WiFi keeps dropping. I am no longer hard wired.
No other tv's or apple tv loses connectivity in this house.
I then went online and saw thousands of people with sony bravias have the same problem.
Is there a fix for this? We know it's a Sony problem.
I have about 85 mbps with comcast with an Asus router. The sony tv shows a full signal but the internet drops randomly whilst watching netflix.

thanks
quovadis123 is offline  
post #13547 of 13557 Old 09-09-2016, 06:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,611
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5442 Post(s)
Liked: 3092
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Guys,
I have been out of the loop for a while. Back in 2013 when i bought this tv I was on this thread the whole time. Back then my Tv was hard wired to the internet.
I recently tried to watch netflix 4k through the tv netflix app, and noticed that the WiFi keeps dropping. I am no longer hard wired.
No other tv's or apple tv loses connectivity in this house.
I then went online and saw thousands of people with sony bravias have the same problem.
Is there a fix for this? We know it's a Sony problem.
I have about 85 mbps with comcast with an Asus router. The sony tv shows a full signal but the internet drops randomly whilst watching netflix.

thanks
Assuming for a moment that the wireless interface in the Sony is at fault, one option you might consider is a wireless bridge. For example, I use a Linksys WET610N. It connects wirelessly to my WiFi network on the 5Ghz network, and provides wired Ethernet connections to each of the network-ready devices in my equipment rack, including my display. The WET610 is reasonably priced, and would result in a stable Netflix connection, which makes the solution priceless.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13548 of 13557 Old 09-09-2016, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
whmacs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chisholm, Australia
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Assuming for a moment that the wireless interface in the Sony is at fault, one option you might consider is a wireless bridge. For example, I use a Linksys WET610N. It connects wirelessly to my WiFi network on the 5Ghz network, and provides wired Ethernet connections to each of the network-ready devices in my equipment rack, including my display. The WET610 is reasonably priced, and would result in a stable Netflix connection, which makes the solution priceless.
I also use a wireless bridge with the X900 due to drop outs from the Sony's internal wireless. In my case I use a current model apple airport express in bridge mode. Works very well without issue. I don't have 4K Netflix but can stream 1080p 60hz with no drop outs.

Regards,
Stephen
whmacs is offline  
post #13549 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Guys, hi,
I still have the Tv after all these years, but hardly use it now. It keeps crashing with netflix. So i called netflix and they told me the wireless module on the Tv was too old.
They told me to buy a new Apple tv or Roku which supports 4k.
For the apple tv or roku to work I need HDCP 2.2.
Does this XBR900a with elephant ears have HDCP 2.2?

By the way, since 2013, I still have not watched any 4k on the tv. Netflix is not real 4k.

thanks
Quo
quovadis123 is offline  
post #13550 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 06:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Assuming for a moment that the wireless interface in the Sony is at fault, one option you might consider is a wireless bridge. For example, I use a Linksys WET610N. It connects wirelessly to my WiFi network on the 5Ghz network, and provides wired Ethernet connections to each of the network-ready devices in my equipment rack, including my display. The WET610 is reasonably priced, and would result in a stable Netflix connection, which makes the solution priceless.
Jerry old friend...
Thanks for your answer.
Umm wireless bridge? I will have to look into that. I have an Asus router here but never heard of a wireless bridge.

This is what happens with netflix. As soon as a movie is played, the TV boots me out of netflix and back to the TV cable channel.
This does not happen every time.
It has something to do with cache, and netflix told me to unplug the TV and re-power it. This worked for a while, then the same problems occurred.
If you go online and type Sony and netflix crashing, you will find thousands of people with the same problem no matter what model sony they have
quovadis123 is offline  
post #13551 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 06:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,611
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5442 Post(s)
Liked: 3092
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Guys, hi,
I still have the Tv after all these years, but hardly use it now. It keeps crashing with netflix. So i called netflix and they told me the wireless module on the Tv was too old.
They told me to buy a new Apple tv or Roku which supports 4k.
For the apple tv or roku to work I need HDCP 2.2.
Does this XBR900a with elephant ears have HDCP 2.2?

By the way, since 2013, I still have not watched any 4k on the tv. Netflix is not real 4k.

thanks
Quo
HDMI4 is HDCP 2.2

Netflix is definitely 4K--don't know what you are thinking. Perhaps the wireless interface is not getting enough throughput to support a 4K stream.

If the wireless interface is really faulty, consider getting a wireless bridge like the Linksys WET610N. It provides a wired connection to the TV, and would bypass the faulty wireless interface.

There is nothing wrong with the X900A. It was, and still is, a very good display.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13552 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks Jerry,
Just bought this one, should work fine.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Exten...E8JZV54M817WR9

I have one last question.
Are we able to see you tube 4k videos in 4k on the tv? If i remember this was impossible back then.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #13553 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 06:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,611
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5442 Post(s)
Liked: 3092
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Thanks Jerry,
Just bought this one, should work fine.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Exten...E8JZV54M817WR9

I have one last question.
Are we able to see you tube 4k videos in 4k on the tv? If i remember this was impossible back then.
Don't know--not a big YouTube watcher.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13554 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
bsd107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Guys, hi,
I still have the Tv after all these years, but hardly use it now. It keeps crashing with netflix. So i called netflix and they told me the wireless module on the Tv was too old.
They told me to buy a new Apple tv or Roku which supports 4k.
For the apple tv or roku to work I need HDCP 2.2.
Does this XBR900a with elephant ears have HDCP 2.2?

By the way, since 2013, I still have not watched any 4k on the tv. Netflix is not real 4k.

thanks
Quo
Netflix is BSing you about the wireless module on the TV - that is fine. Likely just a bad Netflix client that they don't want to bug-fix.

None of the built-in video streaming apps on the XBR900A can do 4K. So, it IS true that you need an external device.

HDMI4 on your TV should support HDCP2.2.

Apple TV, even the latest model, does NOT do 4K, so you should not need HDCP2.2 for that.

I have used a Roku 4 on my XBR900A on HDMI4, and it works fine and supports HDCP2.2. Actually, it is the only external device that I know of that has 4K apps for Netflix, Amazon, and YouTube. Every other one that I can think of is missing a 4K version of at least one of those apps....

If you want to watch "real 4K", the Xbox One S plays 4K Blu-Ray discs and also works on that HDMI4 port. (It has 4K Amazon and 4K Netflix, but NOT 4K YouTube....)
bsd107 is offline  
post #13555 of 13557 Old 09-21-2016, 08:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,611
Mentioned: 136 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5442 Post(s)
Liked: 3092
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
Thanks Jerry,
Just bought this one, should work fine.
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Exten...E8JZV54M817WR9

I have one last question.
Are we able to see you tube 4k videos in 4k on the tv? If i remember this was impossible back then.
Sorry, I gave you bad information. I have so many devices with Netflix clients, I forgot that the X900A app doesn't support 4K. My apology.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13556 of 13557 Old 09-22-2016, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd107 View Post
Netflix is BSing you about the wireless module on the TV - that is fine. Likely just a bad Netflix client that they don't want to bug-fix.

None of the built-in video streaming apps on the XBR900A can do 4K. So, it IS true that you need an external device.

HDMI4 on your TV should support HDCP2.2.

Apple TV, even the latest model, does NOT do 4K, so you should not need HDCP2.2 for that.

I have used a Roku 4 on my XBR900A on HDMI4, and it works fine and supports HDCP2.2. Actually, it is the only external device that I know of that has 4K apps for Netflix, Amazon, and YouTube. Every other one that I can think of is missing a 4K version of at least one of those apps....

If you want to watch "real 4K", the Xbox One S plays 4K Blu-Ray discs and also works on that HDMI4 port. (It has 4K Amazon and 4K Netflix, but NOT 4K YouTube....)
darn
so I should have bought a roku instead of the wireless bridge.
Thanks for the advice
quovadis123 is offline  
post #13557 of 13557 Old Today, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wase4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: outside Chicago
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 137
I dumped my roku 4 and got a nvidia shield, and its awesum; no 4k Amazon, but you can sideload a 1080p one..does so much more than a roku 4..
wase4711 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off