Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 10758 Old 10-15-2013, 05:51 PM
Member
 
laakness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grubs92 View Post

Can you post pics of the gaming images? Gta and battlefeild would be awesome to see on this tv I bet!

Here are a couple pics. I blurred out some usernames on one of them.



laakness is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 10758 Old 10-15-2013, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Grubs92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by laakness View Post

Here are a couple pics. I blurred out some usernames on one of them.




Thanks for that. The battlefield pic is awesome

Playstation 4 will be great pair with this set.
Grubs92 is offline  
post #2703 of 10758 Old 10-15-2013, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40

Dammit guys..

been trying to figure out something.

 

Both the Oppo and the Sony tv can see my video library on my pc.

The oppo plays a video, then goes to the next one.

 

The sony Tv plays the video, then repeats it.

 

Any ideas on how to turn off repeat, and move to the next video? I tried shuffle.

 

By the way, I'm totally sure the Sony does a much better job of up scaling compared to the Oppo.

 

Another thing i discovered is that when the Sony accesses my video library it can play all videos in simulated 3d. 

 

If these same videos are accessed by the Oppo, then sent to the tv. The tv cannot play them all in simulated 3d. Only some of them.

 

Having said this. If you are going to access a video library on a computer, ensure the sony TV does it. It upscales better, and will play any content unconditionally in simulated 3d.

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2704 of 10758 Old 10-15-2013, 07:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post


By the way, I'm totally sure the Sony does a much better job of up scaling compared to the Oppo.

How did you come to this conclusion, simple observation? AFAIK, the only way to assess which up-scaler is better is to measure performance using a video test disk, like Spears&Munsil. I believe that one of the professional reviewers actually ran these tests and concluded that the Oppo was marginally better at some of the tests, but likely not a difference that one could see just by observing the up-scaled image.

I can't see any difference when I let my Denon 4520 up-scale the signal.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #2705 of 10758 Old 10-15-2013, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post


How did you come to this conclusion, simple observation? AFAIK, the only way to assess which up-scaler is better is to measure performance using a video test disk, like Spears&Munsil. I believe that one of the professional reviewers actually ran these tests and concluded that the Oppo was marginally better at some of the tests, but likely not a difference that one could see just by observing the up-scaled image.

I can't see any difference when I let my Denon 4520 up-scale the signal.

I can see it.

Same video clips 

The sony does a better job. If you were here you would also see it.

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2706 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 01:17 AM
Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
 


have you looked in the manual to see what resolutions are accepted? like I said the European sets may be totally different.

yes, but I didn't find anything about the maximum resolution available for the playback via the integrated YouTube TV app.. 

mitico303 is offline  
post #2707 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitico303 View Post
 

yes, but I didn't find anything about the maximum resolution available for the playback via the integrated YouTube TV app.. 

max resolution on any of these apps ...You Tube, Apple tv, Netflix etc....is 1080

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2708 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:18 AM
Member
 
laakness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post

max resolution on any of these apps ...You Tube, Apple tv, Netflix etc....is 1080

Didn't a user a number of posts back say that Sony support told him the integrated Youtube app plays the max resolution available? I'm just holding out hope that it could play 4K resolutions and there seems to be no real answer besides speculation.

Granted, level 1 support can't be trusted as a great source either. I just want to make sure actual facts are given vs. repeating what others have said.
laakness is offline  
post #2709 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by laakness View Post

Didn't a user a number of posts back say that Sony support told him the integrated Youtube app plays the max resolution available? I'm just holding out hope that it could play 4K resolutions and there seems to be no real answer besides speculation.

Granted, level 1 support can't be trusted as a great source either. I just want to make sure actual facts are given vs. repeating what others have said.

It's the truth. The same clips on the Sony media server look SO MUCH BETTER than the clips on You Tube from the TV. The You Tube app on the TV is definitely not 4k.
Gillietalls is offline  
post #2710 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:35 AM
Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 55

it was me. they actually told me what I said..

but you're right, that level of support is not very reliable, I guess..

mitico303 is offline  
post #2711 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gillietalls View Post


It's the truth. The same clips on the Sony media server look SO MUCH BETTER than the clips on You Tube from the TV. The You Tube app on the TV is definitely not 4k.

GUYS

 

the only way to PLAY 4k (WITHOUT A SONY MEDIA PLAYER)  is play back 4k content from a pc. Said pc has to have a high end graphics card capable of outputting 4k resolutions.

 

You also have to watch out downloading from you tube. Some of the videos they say are 4k are not...they are 1080.

 

How do I know what is 4k and what is 1080 ?

 

1. file size. The same video clip is much larger in 4k.

2. In windows 7, a 4k file cannot be entered in the library of windows media player. It has to be 1080 or lower.

3. In windows 7 a 4k file does not show a thumbnail image. Only 1080 or under show thumbnails.

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2712 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:54 AM
Member
 
codee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

On what should be a black screen, my X900 never achieves what I would call a "completely black" image.  As shown below, the screen continues to exhibit a dark gray.  Compared with my HX909 with FALD, which has 100% black screens, I have a little bit of concern.

I have experimented with the various controls, e.g. Picture, Brightness, Backlight, Gamma, etc. and I cannot achieve 100% black.  However, when there is an image on the screen, I don't perceive that the overall black level is lacking.  Anyone else have an opinion or observation on this?



I noticed the exact same thing on mine. I was coming from a Panasonic Plasma which naturally didn't have an issue like that but I have other LEDs in the house so I knew that wasn't normal still. I adjusted settings to the ones posted/suggested in this thread and it still looked bad. I honestly ended up exchanging it for the Samsung 4K and I couldn't be happier. The blacks on the samsung - pre-calibration - are darn near close to the plasma in my opinion. Very uniform as well, ESPECIALLY on a all black screen like you posted.

Blu-Ray - 1028
HD DVD - 57
SD DVD - 1159
I Do Blu.
Own It. Now. NEXTEL. Done.|

codee is offline  
post #2713 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 05:59 AM
Member
 
codee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post

GUYS

the only way to PLAY 4k (WITHOUT A SONY MEDIA PLAYER)  is play back 4k content from a pc. Said pc has to have a high end graphics card capable of outputting 4k resolutions.

You also have to watch out downloading from you tube. Some of the videos they say are 4k are not...they are 1080.

How do I know what is 4k and what is 1080 ?

1. file size. The same video clip is much larger in 4k.
2. In windows 7, a 4k file cannot be entered in the library of windows media player. It has to be 1080 or lower.
3. In windows 7 a 4k file does not show a thumbnail image. Only 1080 or under show thumbnails.

Aside from those good guidelines, another way to ensure a clip you have downloaded (atleast the properties, it can't confirm the source material) is to use a program like G-Spot. As funny of a name as it has, it is a very handy yet small program to use to check on the container/codec of your media files. Google "G-Spot Codec"...."G-Spot" itself maynot....or may i suppose give you what you are looking for. eek.gif
quovadis123 likes this.

Blu-Ray - 1028
HD DVD - 57
SD DVD - 1159
I Do Blu.
Own It. Now. NEXTEL. Done.|

codee is offline  
post #2714 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitico303 View Post
 

yes, but I didn't find anything about the maximum resolution available for the playback via the integrated YouTube TV app.. 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
 

max resolution on any of these apps ...You Tube, Apple tv, Netflix etc....is 1080


here are pages 206 to 209 of the US manual giving the supported video formats and resolutions

 

video formats.pdf 2,386k .pdf file

Attached Files
File Type: pdf video formats.pdf (2.33 MB, 50 views)
vega509 is offline  
post #2715 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post




here are pages 206 to 209 of the US manual giving the supported video formats and resolutions

video formats.pdf 2386k .pdf file

Thanks, 1080p It is then.
dreaux is offline  
post #2716 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40

Guys.

I had a problem and found out how to SOLVE it.

 

Problem:

 

The sony tv will only play one video at a time, or repeat that video from a long list of shared videos in windows media player on your pc.

 

We know that the sony can access the video library list of your windows media player. However it will only play one video at a time, or repeat that video.

Some people would prefer that the sony tv plays the first video, then continues to the next, and so on and so forth.

 

To accomplish this, go to HOME, then select your windows media player icon.

You will get to VIDEOS, do not open the videos folder. Hit options and PLAY.

The sony will play the whole library.

 

To play individual songs, then you have to enter the VIDEO folder, and then select the video you want to play..HOWEVER...this video will only play once OR repeat (IF REPEAT IS SELECTED).

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2717 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 09:26 AM
Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Podolski View Post







I like this tv sooooooo much!!!!

can you share your settings??

mitico303 is offline  
post #2718 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 09:42 AM
Member
 
codee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitico303 View Post

can you share your settings??

"Vivid"
mitico303 likes this.

Blu-Ray - 1028
HD DVD - 57
SD DVD - 1159
I Do Blu.
Own It. Now. NEXTEL. Done.|

codee is offline  
post #2719 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:15 PM
Member
 
laakness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by codee View Post

I noticed the exact same thing on mine. I was coming from a Panasonic Plasma which naturally didn't have an issue like that but I have other LEDs in the house so I knew that wasn't normal still. I adjusted settings to the ones posted/suggested in this thread and it still looked bad. I honestly ended up exchanging it for the Samsung 4K and I couldn't be happier. The blacks on the samsung - pre-calibration - are darn near close to the plasma in my opinion. Very uniform as well, ESPECIALLY on a all black screen like you posted.

My set does the same thing if the dynamic led is not turned on.

I think this would be somewhat normal if the screen is side lit. Just like a flashlight, the light will be brightest closer to the source.
laakness is offline  
post #2720 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
 
codee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by laakness View Post

My set does the same thing if the dynamic led is not turned on.

I think this would be somewhat normal if the screen is side lit. Just like a flashlight, the light will be brightest closer to the source.

I agree that it is a side-effect of a edge-lit LED, some TVS are much better getting a uniform picture still.The Samsung is a night and day difference (for the better) but I haven't gotten to look at a Panasonic or LG 4K TV yet as a further comparison.

Blu-Ray - 1028
HD DVD - 57
SD DVD - 1159
I Do Blu.
Own It. Now. NEXTEL. Done.|

codee is offline  
post #2721 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:24 PM
Member
 
iraqgsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
iraqgsm is offline  
post #2722 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by codee View Post


"Vivid"

Vivid here too for the most part.

I do turn down the color somewhat to 45...and sometimes use neutral instead of vivid.

 

Warm 2, puts an orange filter onto the screen EXACTLY like photo shop.

Neutral is a cyan filter.

Vivid is a deeper blue filter.

 

They ain't gonna teach us graphic artists about filters !!!

mitico303 likes this.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #2723 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqgsm View Post

Better my wife don't see this http://gizmodo.com/4k-porn-is-here-and-shows-you-every-single-detail-1446534021

OMFG!!!!

 

I need this NOW!!

quovadis123 is offline  
post #2724 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Thanks vegas509!
Your settings, especially the hue to G2 from my R2 really made the colors from Time Warner Cable's 1080i transmission of HBO/SHO/TMC look "just right"!
For plasma lovers, I'd say your settings made the XBR65X900A looks just like a Panasonic ZT series (sadly, now discontinued)

Kudos!



Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post

here are the settings I currently have after a quick run with CalMan and my i1Display Pro profiled to my 1iPro. anything blank is either off or not applicable.











































Picture Mode

Custom

Backlight

7

Picture

84

Brightness

48

Color

49

Hue

G2

Color Temperature

Warm2

Sharpness

46

Noise Reduction

 

MPEG Noise Reduction

 

Dot Noise Reduction

 

Reality Creation

 

Mastered in 4K

 

Video Area Detection

 

Resolution

 

Noise Filtering

 

Smooth Gradation

 

CineMotion

 

Advanced Settings

 

Black Corrector

 

Adv Contrast Enhancer

 

Gamma

-1

LED Dynamic Control

Standard

Auto Light Limiter

 

Clear White

 

Live Color

High

White Balance

 

R-Gain

-1

G-Gain

0

B-Gain

0

R-Bias

-2

G-Bias

0

B-Bias

0

Detail Enhancer

 

Edge Enhancer

 

Skin Naturalizer

 

Display Speed Preference

 

Scene Select Sync

 

Light Sensor

 
William Chiu is offline  
post #2725 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

I recently switched from standard to low for Dynamic LED Control because it resulted in slightly better gamma scores. The difference was small enough that I recommend using whatever setting yields the best results.

I have fine-tuned the settings posting several times over the last few weeks as I have become more proficient with running the CalMAN software. The current settings have resulted in a very good PQ for up-scaled 1080 content. Hardly a day goes by that I don't say to myself, that is a great looking picture! Another favorite show of mine is Once Upon a Time--the images are simply stunning.

I know what you mean regarding the settings. Once you get the calibration bug you're always looking to eke out just that little bit more.

I've also switched from Standard to Low for the LED setting. I read a review of the W9 series which mentioned that the backlighting is slower to react in Low mode, and so it proved on the X9.

Why is having it slower a good thing? Well, something that always niggled me with my 55HX823 and then the X9 is how reactive the backlight is, like with white credits on a black background. The black screens are totally black, but when a credit appears the entire screen brightens noticeably and then goes back to total black when the credit fades, which has always looked kinda hinkey to me.

The Low setting means that the backlight waits a little bit longer before it dims down completely, so during things like credit sequences or VERY dark scenes the lighting tends to stay constant rather than fluctuate up/down every second. I'd be lying if I said that it didn't thin the black levels out just a tad versus the Standard setting, but it's only noticeable in a completely dark room (and it still keeps most of the clouding at bay). A bit of bias lighting will make all the difference here.
mitico303 likes this.
Geoff D is online now  
post #2726 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 01:26 PM
Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by codee View Post


"Vivid"

 

thanks. even if sometimes it can appear a little bit "unnatural", it's the preset that i prefer.. amazing.

i've tried with the same scene, the same movie, on blu-ray.. WOAH!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
 

Vivid here too for the most part.

I do turn down the color somewhat to 45...and sometimes use neutral instead of vivid.

 

Warm 2, puts an orange filter onto the screen EXACTLY like photo shop.

Neutral is a cyan filter.

Vivid is a deeper blue filter.

 

They ain't gonna teach us graphic artists about filters !!!

i agree with you, perfect. i love "vivid" especially for sci-fi movies or those with a lot of computer special effects.. it looks "electric"!

mitico303 is offline  
post #2727 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post

I know what you mean regarding the settings. Once you get the calibration bug you're always looking to eke out just that little bit more.

I've also switched from Standard to Low for the LED setting. I read a review of the W9 series which mentioned that the backlighting is slower to react in Low mode, and so it proved on the X9.

Why is having it slower a good thing? Well, something that always niggled me with my 55HX823 and then the X9 is how reactive the backlight is, like with white credits on a black background. The black screens are totally black, but when a credit appears the entire screen brightens noticeably and then goes back to total black when the credit fades, which has always looked kinda hinkey to me.

The Low setting means that the backlight waits a little bit longer before it dims down completely, so during things like credit sequences or VERY dark scenes the lighting tends to stay constant rather than fluctuate up/down every second. I'd be lying if I said that it didn't thin the black levels out just a tad versus the Standard setting, but it's only noticeable in a completely dark room (and it still keeps most of the clouding at bay). A bit of bias lighting will make all the difference here.

Interesting, thanks for sharing that, Geoff. I have another mini-project that I am going to conduct this evening after it gets dark. Over on the Spears&Munsil thread, Stacy Spears commented that one should shoot for a gamma value of 2.4. I have been shooting for 2.2, with a current actual value of 2.16. I intend to save a new calibration in a second picture mode (Cinema2) with the 2.4 gamma value. This way I can toggle easily between Cinema1 and Cinema2 to compare the effect of the different settings. Stacy says I should expect a darker picture.

Yes, video calibration is a tweaker's dream (or nightmare). biggrin.gif
AustinJerry is online now  
post #2728 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 01:41 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
folks,

can you have more than one 'custom' setting for the source we are using?
custom2, custom3
standard2, etc
William Chiu is offline  
post #2729 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

folks,

can you have more than one 'custom' setting for the source we are using?
custom2, custom3
standard2, etc


no, when you go to scene select and choose cinema, then go to picture settings you will see 2 choices, cinema1 and cinema2

vega509 is offline  
post #2730 of 10758 Old 10-16-2013, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

folks,

can you have more than one 'custom' setting for the source we are using?
custom2, custom3
standard2, etc

 

Sure, there is a lot of flexibility.

 

There are "Scenes", e.g. General, Cinema, Game, Animation, etc.

Some Scenes have multiple "Picture Modes".  For example, Cinema has Cinema1 and Cinema2.  General has Standard, Custom, and Vivid.

 

For each input, you can select multiple scenes, each with its own settings.  And within a scene, you can select different picture modes, also with unique settings.

 

If you customize, for example, picture mode Cinema1 for HDMI1, then you can use Cinema1 with entirely different settings for HDMI2.

 

Finally, if you are like me and use an AVR to route all your video signals (in my case DirecTV, AppleTV, and Blu-ray), then you can have the same settings for all your inputs (since the AVR is normally connected to HDMI1).

 

Clear as a bell now?  ;)

AustinJerry is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off