Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread - Page 313 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9361 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitico303 View Post


No and no.
The FMP-X10 media player is the official solution from sony to bring hevc codecs to 2013 4K TVs..
No infos about the MHL, but I'm pretty sure that it'll remain 2.0..

 

Thank you very much for your response ... it's clear now that this is just waiting out the FMP-X10

 

I'm not happy about having to buy an additional peripheral and not having thought to include this codec on any model 2013

aoktulsa likes this.
Rodymx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9362 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post

True Cinema doesn't do anything to true 24p content. It's designed to restore the correct cadence to 24fps material encoded at 60Hz, e.g. TV broadcasts and DVDs.

Like others though, clear is best for me personally. I think it reoves any noise in the picture too. It may be my imagination.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9363 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post

True Cinema doesn't do anything to true 24p content. It's designed to restore the correct cadence to 24fps material encoded at 60Hz, e.g. TV broadcasts and DVDs.

Good to know, Geoff.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #9364 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Geoff D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Swanage, Engerland
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post

Like others though, clear is best for me personally. I think it reoves any noise in the picture too. It may be my imagination.

I use Clear with some 24p content, but not with all. It still creates too much of a 'soap opera effect' with the movement. Clear's good for TV content, but then so are Smooth and Standard.
Geoff D is offline  
post #9365 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Does anyone know if there is a way to add just a subwoofer with the built in speakers? Similar to the way the B series has the official sony wireless subwoofer.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9366 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post

Thank you very much for your response ... it's clear now that this is just waiting out the FMP-X10

I'm not happy about having to buy an additional peripheral and not having thought to include this codec on any model 2013

The codec was not available in time for the 2013 models - but we should not have to pay for that in my opinion.
I am hoping Sony gives some kind of deal to the 2013 owners in the FMP-X10 beyond the 200 off on the preorder.
I am also waiting to see if the unit will support VP9 too.
I don't want the player to turn into another betamax video recorder.
biggrin.gif
Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #9367 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post

The codec was not available in time for the 2013 models - but we should not have to pay for that in my opinion.
I am hoping Sony gives some kind of deal to the 2013 owners in the FMP-X10 beyond the 200 off on the preorder.
I am also waiting to see if the unit will support VP9 too.
I don't want the player to turn into another betamax video recorder.
biggrin.gif

I think they are pretty firm on not doing a discount outside of the current one. Not having the codec gets very blown out of proportion. The fmp is basically an Apple TV with local storage and access to a sony exclusive for 4k content. Even 2014 owners need something to access more than a few streamed things currently out there.

Also the x10 does have USB support so you can put your own or downloaded videos on it.

Isn't VP9 what YouTube uses? That must already have support since 4k YouTube videos work.
bruceames likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9368 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post

I think they are pretty firm on not doing a discount outside of the current one. Not having the codec gets very blown out of proportion. The fmp is basically an Apple TV with local storage and access to a sony exclusive for 4k content. Even 2014 owners need something to access more than a few streamed things currently out there.

Also the x10 does have USB support so you can put your own or downloaded videos on it.

Isn't VP9 what YouTube uses? That must already have support since 4k YouTube videos work.

How do you know that the content is being sent to the TV in 4K?
The display button doesn't work on The Youtube app
Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #9369 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post

I think they are pretty firm on not doing a discount outside of the current one. Not having the codec gets very blown out of proportion. The fmp is basically an Apple TV with local storage and access to a sony exclusive for 4k content. Even 2014 owners need something to access more than a few streamed things currently out there.

Also the x10 does have USB support so you can put your own or downloaded videos on it.

Isn't VP9 what YouTube uses? That must already have support since 4k YouTube videos work.

Agreed. Unless you're not interested in native 4k content that's any better or plentiful than the pittance that Netflix offers, you're gonna want to get the X10. It's only costs 10 percent of what the TV originally sold for so I'm certainly going to get it. I'm real anxious to seeing that native 4K content at home, the kind that blew me away at Best Buy. Not sure though what movies I will buy or rent, but I know I will be checking some out for sure (especially "It Happened One Night", which isn't even available on BD and I've been waiting for that one for a long time).
bruceames is online now  
post #9370 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
X10 is the option
Rodymx is offline  
post #9371 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 07:21 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post


I think they are pretty firm on not doing a discount outside of the current one. Not having the codec gets very blown out of proportion. The fmp is basically an Apple TV with local storage and access to a sony exclusive for 4k content. Even 2014 owners need something to access more than a few streamed things currently out there.

Also the x10 does have USB support so you can put your own or downloaded videos on it.

Isn't VP9 what YouTube uses? That must already have support since 4k YouTube videos work.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post


How do you know that the content is being sent to the TV in 4K?
The display button doesn't work on The Youtube app

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post


The codec was not available in time for the 2013 models - but we should not have to pay for that in my opinion.
I am hoping Sony gives some kind of deal to the 2013 owners in the FMP-X10 beyond the 200 off on the preorder.
I am also waiting to see if the unit will support VP9 too.
I don't want the player to turn into another betamax video recorder.
biggrin.gif

 

I think back to the format war again as the Beta vs. VHS, HD-DVD vs. Bluray and vs VP9 vs. HEVC now ...

And the problem is that I can not use my TV as a TV Monitor to signal 4K using Power DVD 14 ...

Now we just wait until it goes on sale the FMP-X10 browsing ebay.com and find some options of our Chinese friends and have the H.265 codec • HEVC up to 720P

Rodymx is offline  
post #9372 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 07:58 PM
Member
 
cminer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is the 900a screen gorilla glass and is it oleophobic? How resistant is it to scratches when cleaning? I see some light scratches that can only be seen with light on it at a certain angle with the tv off, not while it's on or looking at it directly, so I am thinking it has some kind of coating on it.
cminer72 is offline  
post #9373 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cminer72 View Post

Is the 900a screen gorilla glass and is it oleophobic? How resistant is it to scratches when cleaning? I see some light scratches that can only be seen with light on it at a certain angle with the tv off, not while it's on or looking at it directly, so I am thinking it has some kind of coating on it.

 

The tv does not have any protector for the display

Rodymx is offline  
post #9374 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 863

The recommended cleaning solution is a 50% mixture of vinegar and water, gently applied with a soft, non-abrasive cloth.  I think the risk of damaging the screen is low, as long as care is taken.

CSPerera likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #9375 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:26 PM
Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I ordered the Tronsmart Vega S89H Android box online, once I play with it a bit I'll let you guys know what I think.
CJ4life is offline  
post #9376 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:34 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post

I ordered the Tronsmart Vega S89H Android box online, once I play with it a bit I'll let you guys know what I think.

 

I hope your impressions very careful to see if this is worth buying media player

Rodymx is offline  
post #9377 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Any of you have any settings to improve the image in the movie? 

Look at CNET settings but did not find anything ... and not if configuration copy of W900A

Rodymx is offline  
post #9378 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post
 

Any of you have any settings to improve the image in the movie? 

Look at CNET settings but did not find anything ... and not if configuration copy of W900A

 

Have you looked at the settings in the link in my sig?  And BTW, I strongly believe that one group of settings should apply to all sources (2D sources--3D sources require some tweaks).

AustinJerry is online now  
post #9379 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 09:52 PM
Member
 
Reyfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ4life View Post

I ordered the Tronsmart Vega S89H Android box online, once I play with it a bit I'll let you guys know what I think.

Let us know what you think of this device CJ4life. I've been looking at the Tronsmart Vega S89 H and the Minix Neo X8-H. http://minixneox8.com
Reyfam is offline  
post #9380 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
 

 

Have you looked at the settings in the link in my sig?  And BTW, I strongly believe that one group of settings should apply to all sources (2D sources--3D sources require some tweaks).

 

Thank you very much I had not seen ... right now I'm adjusting my TV ... also note that the 3D is not as excellent as imagined in 3D funds are ghosts (ghosting) and this bothers me ... is normal or is it my fault ... previous TV had a 55W900A and is very visible in this model with active glasses

Rodymx is offline  
post #9381 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 10:49 PM
Member
 
smysore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by brenthenry View Post

I received some very interesting news from a Sony Canada tech resource just today. A memo that was just published today... said that although the FMP-X10 would not be made publicly available in Canada, Sony will sell them offline to owners of their 1st generation 4K TV's for a discounted price. Sometime in the late summer. They will also be providing an in-home hardware update for HDMI 2.0 on older sets.

I hope that this is true
After investing in a sony 4k tv and a sony 4k videocamera and basically unable to watch what I shoot because of the deliberate restrictions placed by sony - I am pissed off.
smysore is offline  
post #9382 of 12538 Old 06-02-2014, 11:07 PM
Member
 
rand0182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post

Thank you very much I had not seen ... right now I'm adjusting my TV ... also note that the 3D is not as excellent as imagined in 3D funds are ghosts (ghosting) and this bothers me ... is normal or is it my fault ... previous TV had a 55W900A and is very visible in this model with active glasses

The x900a is Passive 3D. You need to use passive glasses, not active.
rand0182 is offline  
post #9383 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 12:53 AM
Member
 
CJ4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post

I hope your impressions very careful to see if this is worth buying media player
I'll try to be as thorough as possible once I have it in my possession. Im probably going to go on a YouTube 4K downloading spree and see if I can stockpile some clips for when it arrives. I should have it by the latest on Monday of next week, but more than likely Thursday or Friday of this week. I'll keep you all posted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyfam View Post

Let us know what you think of this device CJ4life. I've been looking at the Tronsmart Vega S89 H and the Minix Neo X8-H. http://minixneox8.com
MINIX looks like the more polished product when I was doing my initial research, but I liked the price point of the Vega, and the design looked like a bit of a carbon copy of the original Sony 4K media player, the X1, with that puck-like design. I rather like it online picture wise at least.
CJ4life is offline  
post #9384 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 03:23 AM
Senior Member
 
everunman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 42
everunman is offline  
post #9385 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,777
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 932 Post(s)
Liked: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
 

 

What do you mean faster?  You mean like you hit the 2X fast forward button???

 

When you go into the custom apps area, open up YouTube.  While the initial YouTube app is on the screen, you can press the Options button on the remote, and the Picture Settings screen will be available.

 

 

Note that the top of the Picture Adjustments screen shows the label "Internet (Video)".  While I am not absolutely certain, I believe that whatever settings you enter here will apply to all internet video sources on the display.  Give it a try.

 

As pointed out to me, if you actually start up a YouTube video, some of the settings that are grayed out when no video is running suddenly become available. 

nishant786 likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #9386 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 06:33 AM
Member
 
nishant786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

As pointed out to me, if you actually start up a YouTube video, some of the settings that are grayed out when no video is running suddenly become available. 

Yup worked for me! AJ any idea what sort of motion settings should be tried?
nishant786 is offline  
post #9387 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 07:11 AM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rand0182 View Post


The x900a is Passive 3D. You need to use passive glasses, not active.

 

They are passive, but I mean a comparison of active vs 3D Passive 3D ... W900A my X900A looking ghosts with passive glasses, my question is if this is normal or is there a problem with my TV

Rodymx is offline  
post #9388 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 07:18 AM
Member
 
halon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 46
PS4 udate today. Sadly no 3D, still. Back to waiting.
halon is online now  
post #9389 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post

They are passive, but I mean a comparison of active vs 3D Passive 3D ... W900A my X900A looking ghosts with passive glasses, my question is if this is normal or is there a problem with my TV

That sounds like a problem to me. I have no ghosting on my 900a, and I think others are in the same boat. What video are you watching and what scene? If I have the movie, I can check when I get home to compare.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #9390 of 12538 Old 06-03-2014, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 4,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodymx View Post

They are passive, but I mean a comparison of active vs 3D Passive 3D ... W900A my X900A looking ghosts with passive glasses, my question is if this is normal or is there a problem with my TV

Where are you sitting when you view the TV? You should be at or below the horizontal center line of the TV. If you go above the center line, the R and L views can flip.

Josh - GamerTag: ShapeGSX PSN: ShapeGSX
'97 Eclipse GSX - 11.825@117.55mph in the 1/4
Shape is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr 65x900a 65 Inch 1080p 120hz 3d Led 4k Ultra Hdtv , Sony Xbr 55x900a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off