Official Seiki SE50UY04 50-Inch 4K UHD Owners Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 329 Old 08-21-2014, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
Try different HDMI cables preferably 6 feet or longer and clearly marked as high speed or 4k rated. Your photo shows what could be sparkles which used to occur if very early hdmi cables (rated 1080i) were used for 1080p60. Also, make sure the adapter is 4k rated. Good luck.
Having heard about troubles with the included cable, I tried first with a brand new, high-speed rated 12'-long HDMI cable. It was no better than the cable that came with the unit. It's been just over 12 hours since I got my TV & I'm really starting to dislike Seiki, seeing as I tried to reach customer support starting at 5AM without ever reaching anyone.
BugBear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 329 Old 08-21-2014, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by xwoodrow View Post
I've tried separate HDMI cables but the same results occur. Do you think it could be the cheap mini displayPort adapter I purchased from China?
I use a cheap cablematters bought from amazon. Only 1080p60 out however but no problems. Buy one that people rate highly or at least claims 4k support.
dsinger is offline  
post #213 of 329 Old 08-21-2014, 05:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsinger View Post
I use a cheap cablematters bought from amazon. Only 1080p60 out however but no problems. Buy one that people rate highly or at least claims 4k support.
Turns out, my mini displayport adapter was the problem. I went to Best Buy and tried my setup on one of their 4k TVs and the same "sparkling" effect occurred. I then tried one of their adapters from the store, and the artifacts went away. Brought it back home to confirm that it works with my Seiki, and to my delight, it does. However, I will say it only seems to work with the 4k Seiki upscaling cable I purchased from here: http://www.hhgregg.com/seiki-u-visio...e/item/SU4KC11.

Thanks for the help!
xwoodrow is offline  
post #214 of 329 Old 08-22-2014, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugBear View Post
Having heard about troubles with the included cable, I tried first with a brand new, high-speed rated 12'-long HDMI cable. It was no better than the cable that came with the unit. It's been just over 12 hours since I got my TV & I'm really starting to dislike Seiki, seeing as I tried to reach customer support starting at 5AM without ever reaching anyone.
I would suggest that you update the NVIDIA driver on your laptop. The Intel HD 4600 chip should drive the panel without any problems.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #215 of 329 Old 08-22-2014, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I would suggest that you update the NVIDIA driver on your laptop. The Intel HD 4600 chip should drive the panel without any problems.
Currently, I'm running Nvidia 340.52 drivers, the latest I believe. I doubt my system is the problem.

Since switching to HDMI2 (instead of HDMI3 on the side) the picture is staying more stably, though it still flakes out from time to time. Also getting sparkles here & there.

Also, the image is scaled up, which is not what I want. How do I display my desktop at 4K resolution?

Is there a worksheet posted somewhere for tuning up this tv for optimal computer monitor performance?
BugBear is offline  
post #216 of 329 Old 08-23-2014, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by BugBear View Post
Currently, I'm running Nvidia 340.52 drivers, the latest I believe. I doubt my system is the problem.

Since switching to HDMI2 (instead of HDMI3 on the side) the picture is staying more stably, though it still flakes out from time to time. Also getting sparkles here & there.

Also, the image is scaled up, which is not what I want. How do I display my desktop at 4K resolution?

Is there a worksheet posted somewhere for tuning up this tv for optimal computer monitor performance?
I'm baffled by what you're describing. At home, I'm running Mac OS X Mountain Lion on a Mac Mini (late 2012 version w/Intel HD 4000 Graphics) connected to the 50" Seiki. I also have a Windows 8.1 tower with a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 connected to the 55" version, and at work I have the 39" version connected (via a DisplayPort to HDMI cable) to a Dell Optiplex 9020 running Windows 7 w/Intel HD 4600 Graphics. I have been unable to replicate the issues you're experiencing on any of the HDMI inputs on the 3 displays. Each TV displays a 3840 x 2160 image without any scaling or artifacts, or the need for the U-Vision Upconversion cable...and even though the Mac Mini has a Core i7 processor, it is driving the 50" Seiki with just 768 MB of video RAM.

Check the connectors on your devices and your HDMI cables closely with a flashlight to see if any pins are misaligned or bent. If everything seems okay, perhaps you need to exchange the Seiki. I hope you get the problem resolved...the Seikis are considered by many to be little more than glorified computer monitors with "extra pixels", but I think they are pretty good at what they do. I use them not only as monitors, but to view my collection of Blu-Ray movies streamed from my NAS. Each of my media streamers is connected to the display via the U-Vision cable, and the upconverted images are excellent, though not as sharp and detailed as the true 4K content I've downloaded from various websites.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #217 of 329 Old 08-23-2014, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I'm baffled by what you're describing. At home, I'm running Mac OS X Mountain Lion on a Mac Mini (late 2012 version w/Intel HD 4000 Graphics) connected to the 50" Seiki. I also have a Windows 8.1 tower with a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 connected to the 55" version, and at work I have the 39" version connected (via a DisplayPort to HDMI cable) to a Dell Optiplex 9020 running Windows 7 w/Intel HD 4600 Graphics. I have been unable to replicate the issues you're experiencing on any of the HDMI inputs on the 3 displays. Each TV displays a 3840 x 2160 image without any scaling or artifacts, or the need for the U-Vision Upconversion cable...and even though the Mac Mini has a Core i7 processor, it is driving the 50" Seiki with just 768 MB of video RAM.

Check the connectors on your devices and your HDMI cables closely with a flashlight to see if any pins are misaligned or bent. If everything seems okay, perhaps you need to exchange the Seiki. I hope you get the problem resolved...the Seikis are considered by many to be little more than glorified computer monitors with "extra pixels", but I think they are pretty good at what they do. I use them not only as monitors, but to view my collection of Blu-Ray movies streamed from my NAS. Each of my media streamers is connected to the display via the U-Vision cable, and the upconverted images are excellent, though not as sharp and detailed as the true 4K content I've downloaded from various websites.
Experimentally, I hooked it up to my old tower case: 680i nForce mobo with Q6600 CPU & Quadro FX1500 video card (via DVI to HDMI) & it's not working; getting the ever-so-articulate "NOT SUPPORT" message. Have been thinking of building a mini-ITX system with a GTX-750Ti, so I may go ahead & do that as I've read that newer video cards make a difference. Still, as I said earlier, my HP laptop has a GT-740M, so I'm not sure what to think at this point.

I *might* consider an exchange.. that is if I could *EVER* get ahold of these people by telephone. What's the deal? They just blow people off indefinitely?

BB
BugBear is offline  
post #218 of 329 Old 08-23-2014, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by BugBear View Post
Experimentally, I hooked it up to my old tower case...
Update: I'm now getting a stable signal from my old tower system. The problem was I boot into Ubuntu by default. So, now I can get a 1920x1080@60Hz picture, but when I set it to 3840x2160@30Hz, the image is upscaled 1080. (I blame this on my venerable Quadro card, not the Seiki.)

So, for the moment, I'm happy using it at 1080, but I'm on the hunt for a beefier videocard, (looking at the Palit fanless 750Ti...)

Anybody running a 750Ti? Anybody get this guy playing nice with Linux?

BB
BugBear is offline  
post #219 of 329 Old 08-24-2014, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
alright quick question how is the 50 inch sets picture quality on lets say directv HD and xbox one games and bluray? I will get the cable in the next couple days but I am thinking of running to HHGREGG and getting this tv on a price match at 449....I am replacing a 2007 toshiba 42hl167 that is doing some really weird things with color and getting lines through the picture...if someone can answer asap I really would appericate it!
stuart628 is offline  
post #220 of 329 Old 08-29-2014, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I have the latest firmware but TV still says 1080i/60hz. I thought I could get to 1080p/120hz automatically. Is there an adjustment or something I am missing? I am not using a laptop, just have comcast xfinity box, apple tv.

Last edited by Dylan Anderson; 08-29-2014 at 03:03 PM.
Dylan Anderson is offline  
post #221 of 329 Old 08-29-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Anderson View Post
Hi, I have the latest firmware but TV still says 1080i/60hz. I thought I could get to 1080p/120hz automatically. Is there an adjustment or something I am missing? I am not using a laptop, just have comcast xfinity box, apple tv.
The TV will accept a 1080p/120Hz signal from a computer...but it will not upscale a 1080i/60Hz signal to that resolution. Also, please note that neither the cable box or the Apple TV are capable of outputting the 1080p/24Hz signal required for the TV to upscale (via the U-Vision cable) to 2160p/30Hz. The U-Vision cable (which enhances all progressive scan signals, regardless of source) can be purchased here:

http://www.hhgregg.com/seiki-u-visio...le/item/SU4KC1
Rudy1 is offline  
post #222 of 329 Old 09-01-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
BusinessFace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just got the 50" for $449 before tax on Amazon. Best value for the dollar ever. Beats the crap out of my Insignia 42" 1080p set.


Had some oddities when setting up, so I'll go into it here in case it may help someone.


1080p has overscan below 120hz. I'm now using the Custom Resolution Utility, and am switching between 1080p 120hz and 4k 30hz through the Nvidia control panel (also made custom resolution here).


I had flickering problems, sometimes frequent, sometimes stable. I had to power cycle the TV and restart the computer to get it relatively stable, but switching to a generic HMDI cable fixed the flickering for good. Before switching the cable, the flickering seemed to start when I changed resolutions or displayed fullscreen video. Firmware update did nothing for the flickering.


Runs butter-smooth in 1080p 120hz. 4K's motion is a bit weird, but I haven't tried 24hz for my movies yet (ripped BD, not an external player). Games look fantastic in 4K, but that motion is too much for normal use, at least until I get another GTX 760 to run in SLI.


Final thoughts: After some calibration using test patterns, and switching to a different HDMI cable, this thing is a BEAST and gives me no issues. Looks wonderful and smooth and big. Super happy customer right here (especially since it fell over after I received it).


i7-4770k, GTX 760
BusinessFace is offline  
post #223 of 329 Old 09-13-2014, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post
If anyone is interested I hacked up the seiki firmware for the 39/50 inch model:
firmware link

It has a modified EDID so it now has 1080p@120Hz and 720p@240Hz built into it (as well as 24/25/30 Hz 4k modes). This is usefull for driver upgrades not needing to do inf updates and for using the display with devices that can output @ 120Hz 1080p but you can't set custom modes on (ps4, xbox? I dont know... do they exist)?

EDIT:
Oh, I almost forgot.. I also took out the YCbCR support in the EDID as this has been ****ing with the colors for people and it seems some people have had issues disabling it so I removed it from the EDID on my firmware hack:

(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): --- EDID for SEK SeikiMod (DFP-1) ---
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID Version : 1.3
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Manufacturer : SEK
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Monitor Name : SEK SeikiMod
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Product ID : 0x0000
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): 32-bit Serial Number : 0x00000001
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Serial Number String :
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Manufacture Date : 2013, week 9
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): DPMS Capabilities : Standby
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Input Type : Digital
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Prefer first detailed timing : Yes
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports GTF : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size : 1100 mm x 620 mm
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range : 24.0 kHz - 60.0 kHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range : 50.0 Hz - 75.0 Hz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 297.0 MHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): CEA-861 extension block # : 0
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): CEA-861 revision : 3
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): IEEE Vendor Registration ID: 00-0c-03
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports YCbCr 4:4:4 : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports YCbCr 4:2:2 : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports Basic Audio : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Audio Descriptor : 0
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Audio Format : PCM
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Maximum Channels : 2
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Sample Rates : 32KHz, 44KHz, 48KHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Sample Sizes : 16-bits, 20-bits, 24-bits
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Speaker Allocation Data :
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Front Left + Front Right
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID bits per component : 0


Is there any trick to getting this to install? I loaded up the file on freshly formatted usb drive like when I updated to the firmware on seiki website but for some reason I cant get the tv to detect this update. I tried different usb ports and the menu 0000 trick as well.
tripog is offline  
post #224 of 329 Old 09-13-2014, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just received my SE50UY04 TV today along with a U-vision cable. Seems like there is an issue with the cable and the TV loses the input? Is anyone having that problem? id there a fix?
Thank you
atollmedic is offline  
post #225 of 329 Old 09-13-2014, 04:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The TV says "No input"
atollmedic is offline  
post #226 of 329 Old 09-13-2014, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone have any issues with screen tearing at 4k? I've turned on V-sync and triple buffering but it doesn't seem to do anything...
xwoodrow is offline  
post #227 of 329 Old 09-14-2014, 07:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
is there different version numbers of this model that might not allow the custom firmware to be loaded? or is it because the file is .tar instead of .img?
tripog is offline  
post #228 of 329 Old 09-17-2014, 09:57 PM
Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 42
so off topic but what in the heck happened to Seiki and their new model release. Q2 is long gone and we are fast approaching Q4. I would have to imagine they are losing sales steam with last gen hardware.
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #229 of 329 Old 09-19-2014, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripog View Post
is there different version numbers of this model that might not allow the custom firmware to be loaded? or is it because the file is .tar instead of .img?
anyone have any ideas about this firmware??
tripog is offline  
post #230 of 329 Old 09-19-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 3,257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripog View Post
anyone have any ideas about this firmware??
Contact member "Houkouonchi" on this forum:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?...=seiki&page=85
Rudy1 is offline  
post #231 of 329 Old 09-19-2014, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Xevious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripog View Post
Is there any trick to getting this to install? I loaded up the file on freshly formatted usb drive like when I updated to the firmware on seiki website but for some reason I cant get the tv to detect this update. I tried different usb ports and the menu 0000 trick as well.
Aparantly seiki came out with a new model (SE50UY04-1) and the power LED is in the bottom left (instead of the middle).

This new display is using a completely different firmware and is not compatible. Instead of native 120 Hz it only has MEMC. If you have this version and want 120Hz then I would suggest returning it and try to get a SE50UY04 without the -1.
Xevious is offline  
post #232 of 329 Old 09-20-2014, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post
Aparantly seiki came out with a new model (SE50UY04-1) and the power LED is in the bottom left (instead of the middle).

This new display is using a completely different firmware and is not compatible. Instead of native 120 Hz it only has MEMC. If you have this version and want 120Hz then I would suggest returning it and try to get a SE50UY04 without the -1.


my power led is on the bottom middle so I think I still have the original model.


can anyone confirm all they had to do was drag the install.tar file to a usb drive and then update on the tv?

Last edited by tripog; 09-20-2014 at 01:11 PM.
tripog is offline  
post #233 of 329 Old 09-20-2014, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripog View Post
my power led is on the bottom middle so I think I still have the original model.


can anyone confirm all they had to do was drag the install.tar file to a usb drive and then update on the tv?


I was able to install it. it turns out the windows 8 app 8zip was screwing the .tar format. I uninstalled 8zip and was able to change the file name from install.tar to install.img and everything worked after that.


unfortunately still not seeing 120Hz at 1080p

Last edited by tripog; 09-20-2014 at 07:48 PM.
tripog is offline  
post #234 of 329 Old 10-04-2014, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I 'm still waiting for a solution to my problems with her tv 50 4k . These are indicated as screen flickering , screen with these flickering, trembling image , inability to put down about 100hz tv in black . In this model it is impossible to apply firmware updates model used. So please give me a solution to these problems that I have seen is solved by a firmware update . This email I send to seiki. I bought this tv 50 4k this model with initials -EC. Some solutions please?
Stifler2788 is offline  
post #235 of 329 Old 10-04-2014, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
As I discuss in another post I have these problems with this tv hdmi with both ps4 and xbox one I suffer flickering screen as my pc by 4k with a nvidia 780 oc making feints to get the black screen as if it turned off while flashing areas 4k and 1080p does not reach 120hz , 60hz fails . I saw that in the model used by firmware repair this but I can not update it because I do not like aesthetically deja.Mi model has the power in the center and comes with the pack uVision . Im from spain, sorry for my english. SE50UY04-EC its my model.
Stifler2788 is offline  
post #236 of 329 Old 10-05-2014, 06:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Post

@Xevious Hey I am interested in Modding the TV, i would like to know how were you able to decrypt and encrypt the *.img file to allow modifications. I know that the unit is linux-based (Andriod formatted) but I would be really grateful if you can teach me your ways o great one. I mostly want to attempt to add a Hz downgrade method for units that automatically switch to 60Hz. I read some of the information in the file using HxD and Notepad ++ and it is possible but I just need to learn how to package it up when i am done edting...any help please?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post
If anyone is interested I hacked up the seiki firmware for the 39/50 inch model:

It has a modified EDID so it now has 1080p@120Hz and 720p@240Hz built into it (as well as 24/25/30 Hz 4k modes). This is usefull for driver upgrades not needing to do inf updates and for using the display with devices that can output @ 120Hz 1080p but you can't set custom modes on (ps4, xbox? I dont know... do they exist)?

EDIT:
Oh, I almost forgot.. I also took out the YCbCR support in the EDID as this has been ****ing with the colors for people and it seems some people have had issues disabling it so I removed it from the EDID on my firmware hack:

(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): --- EDID for SEK SeikiMod (DFP-1) ---
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID Version : 1.3
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Manufacturer : SEK
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Monitor Name : SEK SeikiMod
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Product ID : 0x0000
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): 32-bit Serial Number : 0x00000001
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Serial Number String :
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Manufacture Date : 2013, week 9
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): DPMS Capabilities : Standby
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Input Type : Digital
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Prefer first detailed timing : Yes
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports GTF : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size : 1100 mm x 620 mm
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range : 24.0 kHz - 60.0 kHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range : 50.0 Hz - 75.0 Hz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 297.0 MHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): CEA-861 extension block # : 0
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): CEA-861 revision : 3
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): IEEE Vendor Registration ID: 00-0c-03
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports YCbCr 4:4:4 : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports YCbCr 4:2:2 : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Supports Basic Audio : No
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Audio Descriptor : 0
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Audio Format : PCM
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Maximum Channels : 2
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Sample Rates : 32KHz, 44KHz, 48KHz
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Sample Sizes : 16-bits, 20-bits, 24-bits
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Speaker Allocation Data :
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): Front Left + Front Right
(--) Feb 21 03:26:45 NVIDIA(0): EDID bits per component : 0
YungMoni is offline  
post #237 of 329 Old 10-07-2014, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
zeroepoch.com/blog/se39uy04
killahbeatz is offline  
post #238 of 329 Old 10-07-2014, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by killahbeatz View Post
zeroepoch.com/blog/se39uy04
Thanks, it showed a little bit of extra features that I will also look into. However, I am still only interested, right now, is enabling a switch between 24hz/30hz for 4K upscale via Seiki Cable and a 60hz to 120hz for devices that are not PC's like PS3, XBOX, Phones, etc. I see that it is possible due to the hdmi.xml file located in local/usr/var/etc. Only problem is that I need to find the grid table for 1080p (mostly).
YungMoni is offline  
post #239 of 329 Old 10-07-2014, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all, I've been trying to get this guy to run at 120Hz from a GTX 750 Ti, but to no avail. It fails the blurbusters frameskipping test, even though everything seems to be configured as 120Hz. The TV info displays 120Hz and the blurbusters tests all detect 120Hz. I'm also using what is supposedly a high speed mini HDMI cable. Did I do something incorrectly? I configured it from the Nvidia control panel if that makes any difference. Maybe the video card just isn't up to the task? Any help would be appreciated. We're interested in using a 120Hz display for animal vision research.
saintfu is offline  
post #240 of 329 Old 10-08-2014, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
thevoiceover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought this TV for a pretty good price and wanted to make sure it supported ARC for my audio.. I saw a review and Seiki replied to the guy it did and I called customer support (waiting almost 1/2 hour) and they gentleman told me it did. I do not see this listed anywhere, but the HDMI 1.4 specs list it (not the TV) and they are supposed to be cutting edge, so where is my ARC? Does this TV support it?

Outside of that, my sound-bar also has a coaxial digital input, so I want it from the TV and it isn't outputting (I tried playing a MP3 via USB and my PS3 on an HDMI, no aufio coming out these ports.. Does this TV not output digital from this port?

Why have it if it doesn't work and if it doesn't support ARC or output this, how the donkies am I supposed to get digital audio from it to my soundbar (I have a Seiki soundbar also and can try it too.) Cutting edge? More like cutting cheese to me at this moment.
thevoiceover is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off