Official Seiki SE50UY04 50-Inch 4K UHD Owners Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's collate information on this relatively new low cost 4k LCD TV/Monitor

Seiki Digital SE50UY04 50-Inch 4K UHD 120Hz LED HDTV

I just received mine from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Seiki-Digital-SE50UY04-50-Inch-120Hz/dp/B00BXF7I9M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369154891&sr=8-1&keywords=seiki+4k

Here is a thread I found related to using this TV with 4k quality video/editing etc.

http://www.reduser.net/forum/showthread.php?98027-1299-Seiki-UHDTV-50-quot-SE50UY04-Bought-it-today/page1

Let's update this post with more links to useful information from other AVS threads and forums etc on calibration, uses, problems, etc.

Here is another thread with some calibration sharing in the HTPC area of AVS: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1469063/seiki-se50uy04-50-4k-display/60
Sterling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10



Not exactly reference material, but it does show the TV displaying the OPPO 4k output and up-scaling of Blueray to 4k.

None of my family cares about resolution, but they definitely noticed when I shifted it down from 4k to 1080p. I didn't tell them, they just said it looks 'less good'.

Now I need to figure out some good color/image settings. I'm an amateur here, so any help would be appreciated.
Sterling is offline  
post #3 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The TV keeps blanking out and coming back on 4k resolution from my OPPO.

I emailed Seiki about it since I've seen a few threads saying this was a Seiki firmware issue.
They just responded and said it's a know issue with OPPO and OPPO is supposed to fix it.

Is that true?

I forwarded that to OPPO to see what they say, awaiting response...

Anyone else seen this particular problem and/or solved it already?
Sterling is offline  
post #4 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
hdantman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What is "OPPO?" I was under the impression that Seiki was working on a firmware fix. I have the same problem--blacks out every hour or so.
hdantman is offline  
post #5 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,839
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdantman 
What is "OPPO?" I was under the impression that Seiki was working on a firmware fix. I have the same problem--blacks out every hour or so.

http://www.oppodigital.com/ Google is your friend wink.gif
8mile13 is offline  
post #6 of 219 Old 05-21-2013, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have contacted both OPPO and Seiki now. Both have been very responsive as far as manufacturers go. OPPO is saying they are working on improvements now that they have the set in house.

But OPPO also says other boxes are causing similar/same issues so they can't be the only ones and Seiki will have to fix something in their firmware likely.

Seiki said it was a known issue with OPPO and that OPPO was fixing it.

Given what I've read online, it appears there was a firmware update on the Seiki site that is no longer there, that fixed the problem, but caused the audio to fail?

I think Seiki needs to fix something. I'm sure they will figure it out soon, but until then I will have to suffer with 1080p for consistent video.
Sterling is offline  
post #7 of 219 Old 05-22-2013, 06:27 AM
Newbie
 
hdantman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
While Google may be my friend, it's clearly not Seiki's friend, since I have no such device connected to my Seiki TV--just a standard ole run of the mill GTX Titan. And yes, I have that firmware update, and can re-up, if someone wants to try it.
hdantman is offline  
post #8 of 219 Old 05-22-2013, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT USA
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seiki just sent me a firmware to try so I'll see what that does tonight or tomorrow.

Update, I loaded the firmware and it did help a bit, but still has frame/video glitches. Just not as bad as before where it would go completely blank for several seconds.

So I think they still have to work on things.

BUT, I am using a 60' series RedMere HDMI cable, so that might be a problem.

I do have another really thick HDMI cable for this run that I can try on it to see if that helps any.
Sterling is offline  
post #9 of 219 Old 05-23-2013, 09:05 AM
Member
 
vilfrard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Link to new firmware, this should help with the video issues some people are having.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/utwpxioqd8eahj5/install.img
vilfrard is offline  
post #10 of 219 Old 06-01-2013, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
JeremyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has there been any update or details on the 39" or 65" yet? We're almost half way through 2013 and both were promised for later this year back at the start of the year. Unless they're not going to announce ahead of time then we might not see this year. Of course if they're just waiting for HDMI 2.0 before they release the 39" and 65" then I would rather wait. The last thing I'd like to see if have them release the new sets with 1.4a and then shortly after 2.0 comes out.


biggrin.gif
JeremyMc is offline  
post #11 of 219 Old 06-13-2013, 11:49 AM
Newbie
 
SpecTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
official firmware is out on Seiki's site. http://www.seikidigital.com/support/downloads.php#remote

Does anyone know the code to set the remote for Verizon FIOS?
SpecTP is offline  
post #12 of 219 Old 06-16-2013, 04:37 PM
Newbie
 
bballista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the new firmware fix the issue for anyone?

I am using their Blue Cable with a ATI 7950 video card. Still seems to blanking out for me.
bballista is offline  
post #13 of 219 Old 06-16-2013, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
TexDanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballista View Post

Did the new firmware fix the issue for anyone?

I am using their Blue Cable with a ATI 7950 video card. Still seems to blanking out for me.

Same problem here, every hour or so I get a blank screen for around 15-60 seconds. I've tried two different cables. I was starting to think my ati 7970 was the problem.

I couldn't install the firmware on the TV yet though. I disconnect power, instert usb with install.img file on it (fat32, empty, etc...), connect the power and it just stays on red led as normal. No red/blue flashing as it should.

What am I doing wrong?
TexDanny is offline  
post #14 of 219 Old 06-16-2013, 08:01 PM
Newbie
 
bballista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexDanny View Post

Same problem here, every hour or so I get a blank screen for around 15-60 seconds. I've tried two different cables. I was starting to think my ati 7970 was the problem.

I couldn't install the firmware on the TV yet though. I disconnect power, instert usb with install.img file on it (fat32, empty, etc...), connect the power and it just stays on red led as normal. No red/blue flashing as it should.

What am I doing wrong?

This TV doesn't seem to work that way. I think that was a "generic" how to upgrade firmware for their TVs but this one is different smile.gif. Not complaining, still an amazing price lol.

Here is what you need to do:

1) Insert the USB
2) Turn the TV on
3) hit menu
4) hit 0000 (4 zeros)
5) Navigate the menu and find firmware upgrade
6) Click on it, and it will upgrade it.

Careful not to hit any of the other options in there. I heard some people screwing their screen up.

I also turned on the power on so that my TV comes on if AC power is lost and returns. Default is you always need to turn the screen on.

By the way, my screen only blanks out for like 1 second. It's very quick. What is your CPU and what were you doing when it happened?

I'm trying the redmere cable now, see if that makes a difference.

Cheers
bballista is offline  
post #15 of 219 Old 06-16-2013, 11:11 PM
Newbie
 
bballista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems to be stable now:

Changed the HDMI input to "HDMI 1".
Changed the cable from Blue wire supplied to a redmere cable (6ft) which I got from monoprice
Updated the firmware to the version on the seiki site (June 16th, 2013).

So far it's been pretty stable at 30Hz 3840x2160.

i5, 8gb ram, 128 ssd, ATI 7950

About 2 hrs of youtube videos with a 4k application (flash) running in the background.

I am also running the TV in portrait mode.
bballista is offline  
post #16 of 219 Old 06-16-2013, 11:41 PM
Newbie
 
TexDanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot, I remember scanning through the menu without finding anything related to updating the software. I was starting to think the TV couldn't read my usb thumb drive, lol.. Hopefully it stops blanking out so much, or at least takes less time to come back.

Will report back if there's any improvement.

Btw, I don't know if this is possible to do, probably not and I'll look like a dumb but who cares. Is it possible to utilize (windows 8) part of the screen on 1920x1080@120hz while having the desktop at 3840x2160? Like having a movie or a game playing back at full hd 120hz in windowed mode?

Will google myself wtf a 'redmere' cable is :P

Thanks again.
TexDanny is offline  
post #17 of 219 Old 06-17-2013, 01:52 AM
Newbie
 
bballista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can buy the cables here:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?keyword=redmere

I bought a lot of stuff from them, and I am sure many on this forum has as well

Regarding your movie question, yes I don't see why not. I mean, you just open a window with some program like VLC, play your movie, and expand the window to take up 1/4 of the screen which will be 1080p resolution.

I maybe misunderstanding your question.

Also, did an overnight test. It's been solid for over 14 hours now. I fairly confident now that it won't have that problem anymore.
bballista is offline  
post #18 of 219 Old 06-17-2013, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
reallynotnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexDanny View Post

Btw, I don't know if this is possible to do, probably not and I'll look like a dumb but who cares. Is it possible to utilize (windows 8) part of the screen on 1920x1080@120hz while having the desktop at 3840x2160? Like having a movie or a game playing back at full hd 120hz in windowed mode?

No that's not possible, cool idea but an HDMI cable simply sends one picture to the TV so you either have to do 2160p30hz or 1080p120hz for the whole screen.
reallynotnick is offline  
post #19 of 219 Old 06-19-2013, 07:30 AM
Member
 
BillFree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Round Rock, Texas
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would like to find out if those of you that own this 4k 50" Seiki have you tried out the new released blu-ray's mastered in 4k offered on Amazon. More to be released on July 16th. Your input would be very helpful.
BillFree is offline  
post #20 of 219 Old 06-21-2013, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
MonnieRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyMc View Post

Has there been any update or details on the 39" or 65" yet? We're almost half way through 2013 and both were promised for later this year back at the start of the year. Unless they're not going to announce ahead of time then we might not see this year. Of course if they're just waiting for HDMI 2.0 before they release the 39" and 65" then I would rather wait. The last thing I'd like to see if have them release the new sets with 1.4a and then shortly after 2.0 comes out.

Hello Everyone,


I too am interested any information on the 65" model projected to be released. Has anyone heard anything?

Thank you,
Monnie
MonnieRock is offline  
post #21 of 219 Old 06-21-2013, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
3dArtist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seiki 4K tv as computer monitor?

I am looking for a large computer monitor to work with Photoshop, Zbrush, Maya, 3D Coat....
It would be great to work with large Maya port views....

My rig???
Processor: Overclocked 4th Generation Intel® Core™ i7-4930MX (8MB Cache, up to 4.3GHz w/ Turbo Boost)
Operating System: Windows 8, 64-bit, English
Display: 18.4" WLED FHD (1920 X 1080) TrueLife Display
Memory: 32GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz
Dual NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 780M with 4GB GDDR5 - NVIDIA SLI® Enabled
3dArtist is offline  
post #22 of 219 Old 06-25-2013, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
MonnieRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JeremyMc,

I found this posted on the web yesterday evening:

SEIKI Announces 39" 4K Ultra HDTV for $700. SEIKI also announced a 65" 4K display, which they hope to ship by Fall 2013


Wonder what the prices for the 65" will be rolleyes.gif

Thank you,
Monnie
MonnieRock is offline  
post #23 of 219 Old 06-25-2013, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
JeremyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonnieRock View Post

JeremyMc,

I found this posted on the web yesterday evening:

SEIKI Announces 39" 4K Ultra HDTV for $700. SEIKI also announced a 65" 4K display, which they hope to ship by Fall 2013


Wonder what the prices for the 65" will be rolleyes.gif

Thank you,
Monnie

Thanks, I saw it hours ago and forgot to post for everyone. I was actually kind of shocked. The original plan Seiki has posted was the 65" for summer and 39" for Christmas. I was hoping they would hold out on both of them long enough to add HDMI 2.0. As we see the 39" at least still only has 1.4 like the 50" sad to say.
JeremyMc is offline  
post #24 of 219 Old 06-25-2013, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
MonnieRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JeremyMC,

I agree that no HMDI 2.0 is a sad fact. I would of been happy if Display Port 1.2 was added.

Here is to hoping the 65" will have HDMI 2.0 and / or Display Port 1.2 wink.gif

Thank you,
Monnie
MonnieRock is offline  
post #25 of 219 Old 06-26-2013, 01:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jeanyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What source videos are you guys using to show off your new TV? I'm using 4K Video Downloader to grab the stuff up on youtube. Some of the videos are reasonably good but the biggest problem is the low bit rates. Any motion at all causes terrible artifacting. Does anyone have a source for good high quality 4K videos with high data rates? I'm guessing the in-store demos that Sony and Samsung are using are not available for download or purchase somewhere?
jeanyes is offline  
post #26 of 219 Old 07-18-2013, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 183
New 4K Streaming Device:

Nuvola4k.com
p5browne is offline  
post #27 of 219 Old 07-18-2013, 01:21 PM
Member
 
insoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Could it be possible that this display is just a good as any other big brand 4K display costing 10x more?
insoc is offline  
post #28 of 219 Old 07-26-2013, 02:01 PM
Member
 
mfs6278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the link to the newer version of the firmware.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kw6dxnnv58xzdnx/s70ubOTeSl
mfs6278 is offline  
post #29 of 219 Old 07-26-2013, 02:03 PM
Member
 
mfs6278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the link to the newer version of the firmware.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kw6dxnnv58xzdnx/s70ubOTeSl
mfs6278 is offline  
post #30 of 219 Old 07-26-2013, 02:08 PM
Member
 
mfs6278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the link to the newer version of the firmware.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kw6dxnnv58xzdnx/s70ubOTeSl
mfs6278 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Seiki Digital Se50uy04 50 Inch 4k 120hz Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off