Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Budget

$1500 - $3000

2. Seating distance

7 to 10 ft

3. Size/placement limitations

It will go above my firepace, i have room for up to 70 inches. On each side of the tv are my windows. My back will be against the wall watching the tv.

The wife probably wont appreciate anything greater than 65in, but 60in is acceptable.

1080p or greater (if it exist) is a must.

4. Uses and sources

I have a Receiver (Denon 2113 or 2313, dont remember right now). So everything connects to that. but whats left is my HTPC and my cable box.

5. Lighting

Just the energy efficient bulbs in the ceiling light. Sometimes we turn it off and use the light in the next room (as ambient light).

6. Other

A point of interest, my current TV is the Samsung LN-S4696D. Old by today's standard, so all the TVs i have seen in the stores have been impressive. I think i have a bias with Samsung TVs.

i am a noob, and realize that i am reaching out to a very savy group. Your patience and knowledge is very much appreciated.

PTMD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hi ,

I won`t tell you what tv to get , but I will tell you , stay away from Samsung F8000 series , they are a mess with bugs.
I have a 46" , and can tell you unless you get a really good return policy , do not buy.

I know this is out of your budget , but if you can swing an extra 2K , buy the Sony XBR , or wait until they go on sale , if you have the room.

Sony did not make a 46/47" XBR this year frown.gif , if they did I would have bought it !

Best of luck ! smile.gif

Gary 
post #3 of 5 Old 05-28-2013, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter

Hi Jedi

I have been reading that the F series has a ton of bugs! especially the F8000, which was what i was thinking of buying. But my initial research and reliance on this website has made be defer.