Official 2013 LG xxLA6900 Owner's Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 351 Old 10-29-2013, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Leonheart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Honduras
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post

I've had this version a few days now. Don't think there's any major improvements.
hi maddog, what are your settings for games? I'm playing GTA5 as well smile.gif
Leonheart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 351 Old 10-29-2013, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
bondo333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is using the local dimming really cause banding? I hope that's not true. And is that from using it over time or right when you turn it on because I didn't notice any banding? Does anyone else know anything about that? And any more info about trumotion deblur would be appreciated too. Thanks!!!
bondo333 is offline  
post #273 of 351 Old 10-30-2013, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Muad Dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bondo333 View Post

I just bought the 55la 6900 and in the trumotion settings there's no adjustment for deblur only dejudder. why is that? I have another lg tv that has this setting.the 5700 2012 model.am I missing something? I'm a huge fan of trumotion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

No you're not missing something. For some reason LG omitted this setting. I have yet to figure out why.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bondo333 View Post

That's weird. If anyone knows why or if they are going to change this with a update eventually please let me know.thanks!! Also with local dimming is this best to set at high? I see some people say to just keep it off but I thought this was a big plus on this tv.

It seems they removed it with a software update. So I doubt they will put it back in. Have no idea why.
Muad Dib is offline  
post #274 of 351 Old 11-01-2013, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
bondo333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if the more expensive passive 3D glasses actually work better then the ones that came with this tv. I read a lot of people saying different things so has anyone here actually compared 2 different glasses? Is it worth spending the extra money? I don't care about looks but only 3d picture quality. If they do actually work better I wouldn't want to spend more than $40 so any recommendations? Or should I just use the ones that came with the tv?
bondo333 is offline  
post #275 of 351 Old 11-09-2013, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
shawn74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked the 55la6970 for $700. It was their display, but couldn't pass it up for the price. So far I've been really happy. This is my first led tv, replaced my 50" panasonic plasma. The blacks sure have improved since lcd/led came out. Still trying to learn all the functions of everything, but I must say it is a pretty beautiful tv. Thanks to everyone for the great posts. They've really helped me fine tune things.
shawn74 is offline  
post #276 of 351 Old 12-05-2013, 11:23 AM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Looks like there's a software update. This probably includes the Netflix I keep reading about.
xoned is offline  
post #277 of 351 Old 12-06-2013, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
alinescoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is anyone able to have the media player recognize 3d subtitles ? I can't manage to see 3d subtitles when running mkvs from an external HDD. 

alinescoo is offline  
post #278 of 351 Old 12-06-2013, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
alinescoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, double post.
alinescoo is offline  
post #279 of 351 Old 12-06-2013, 02:48 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sorry alinescoo, I don't have any mkvs. As for the software update, I have no clue what it did. I thought maybe it was for the Netflix update but that appears to be the same. I wish they would publish change notes.
xoned is offline  
post #280 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 08:37 AM
Newbie
 
dcmiltown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I purchased the 47LA6900 last week from Sears.  I have some backlighting but not anything that I can't ignore.  The one thing that's bothering me now is that it seems some inputs, mostly from Cable  box have this weird flash when a different shot occurs.  Almost like a stutter where the whole picture changes to a new camera view, but flicks back for a millisecond to what was shown before.  Any ideas what this is called or what could be causing it?  I'm not an AV expert but looking for some settings to change if that's it or to understand if it could be some kind of sync issue or fault with the TV.  

 

I've noticed it when watching cable directly and through the Apple TV.  I currently notice it and have my cable box hooked up to the TV via XBOX One, but noticed it when hooked up directly from either source to TV.  

 

Thanks for any advice or help! 

dcmiltown is offline  
post #281 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 09:32 AM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm not sure what would be causing that. I have some light bleed on mine as well and like you nothing I can't ignore. First thing I would do is check the firmware, it should be 04.01.04. Some other things I would try is changing the aspect ratio, turning off smooth motion and trying a different HDMI input.
xoned is offline  
post #282 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 09:50 AM
Member
 
jh20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I couldn't buy one because I snagged the 80" Vizio and have spent enough. I do follow rss feeds for updates on reviews and sales and what not though not just for myself but my friends. My friend Kevin has been on a search for a good 4K but didn't want to spend $10k+ so he thought he was out of luck and stopped looking. Then I was reading reviews and updates via the "Weave" app on my phone and came across a notice that they dropped their prices and I told him. He usually never follows through with his goals (lol) but he would up buying the 55". VERY nice picture. I still like my TV but I'm ok with it. I do like the review on the 84 inch one....it's just too frackin expensive.
BrianTisky likes this.
jh20001 is offline  
post #283 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
dcmiltown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks @xoned!  I've tried all of those suggestions and updated the firmware last week but I'll double check.  Appreciate your time! 

dcmiltown is offline  
post #284 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
dcmiltown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://youtu.be/9Noh_4F-45Q

This is what's happening, slow motion so you can see it. Cable box direct, swapped inputs, latest firmware...
dcmiltown is offline  
post #285 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 01:12 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That is weird. In the video, it appears when the source changes to a different camera angle i.e. close up, it stutters. Does this occur every time? I'd be curious if this happens when watching a bluray disc. If it happens every time and when watching bluray then I would say its a defective set. Assuming you are using HDMI, I'm wondering if a different cable would resolve the issue.
xoned is offline  
post #286 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
dcmiltown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

That is weird. In the video, it appears when the source changes to a different camera angle i.e. close up, it stutters. Does this occur every time? I'd be curious if this happens when watching a bluray disc. If it happens every time and when watching bluray then I would say its a defective set. Assuming you are using HDMI, I'm wondering if a different cable would resolve the issue.

Yup - very weird. I tried a new cable and here's the weirder part... It seems to happen on reality shows on multiple channels, almost on every big scene change like that. However, watching movies on HBO or other more cinematic programming it doesn't do it (or perhaps not as apparent since it doesn't jump around as much as reality programming).
dcmiltown is offline  
post #287 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmiltown View Post

Yup - very weird. I tried a new cable and here's the weirder part... It seems to happen on reality shows on multiple channels, almost on every big scene change like that. However, watching movies on HBO or other more cinematic programming it doesn't do it (or perhaps not as apparent since it doesn't jump around as much as reality programming).

All things are pointing to a problem with the display. Sounds like a return is in order?
xoned is offline  
post #288 of 351 Old 12-11-2013, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Muad Dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcmiltown View Post

I purchased the 47LA6900 last week from Sears.  I have some backlighting but not anything that I can't ignore.  The one thing that's bothering me now is that it seems some inputs, mostly from Cable  box have this weird flash when a different shot occurs.  Almost like a stutter where the whole picture changes to a new camera view, but flicks back for a millisecond to what was shown before.  Any ideas what this is called or what could be causing it?  I'm not an AV expert but looking for some settings to change if that's it or to understand if it could be some kind of sync issue or fault with the TV.  

I've noticed it when watching cable directly and through the Apple TV.  I currently notice it and have my cable box hooked up to the TV via XBOX One, but noticed it when hooked up directly from either source to TV.  

Thanks for any advice or help! 

So you switched to cablebox>>>HDMI>TV direc tand it still does it? Any chance you could try Cable Box>>>Component>>>TV to test if it a faulty HDMI either from the Cablebox on in the TV? Did it do it with your previous TV?

Last question. Did it do tit from the very beginning with the LG or just start after a week? If it did fine and then just started out of the blue I might lean toward replacing the unit.

It is weird almost as if it lost its place in the signal buffering briefly.

I do like my 6900 and have been very happy with it thus far.... (except I wish I had a timer function on the Magic Mouse cursor control)
Muad Dib is offline  
post #289 of 351 Old 12-15-2013, 09:35 AM
Member
 
bjevers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My tv is receiving software update v5.00.30. Is there a place to find change logs on the firmware versions? I looked on LG support but couldn't find it. Maybe it just removes 3D UCC support they are discontinuing.
bjevers is offline  
post #290 of 351 Old 12-15-2013, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjevers View Post

My tv is receiving software update v5.00.30. Is there a place to find change logs on the firmware versions? I looked on LG support but couldn't find it. Maybe it just removes 3D UCC support they are discontinuing.
It has 2 be something big to go from 4 to 5.
maddog510 is offline  
post #291 of 351 Old 12-15-2013, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Muad Dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjevers View Post

My tv is receiving software update v5.00.30. Is there a place to find change logs on the firmware versions? I looked on LG support but couldn't find it. Maybe it just removes 3D UCC support they are discontinuing.

If you fond change logs from LG be sure to let us all know! Several have looked....
Muad Dib is offline  
post #292 of 351 Old 12-15-2013, 02:35 PM
Member
 
bjevers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maddog510 View Post

It has 2 be something big to go from 4 to 5.

That's what I thought, but I haven't noticed anything different.
bjevers is offline  
post #293 of 351 Old 12-15-2013, 10:49 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjevers View Post

That's what I thought, but I haven't noticed anything different.
Does anybody know how to enable the xvYCC feature on this set?
maddog510 is offline  
post #294 of 351 Old 12-16-2013, 05:39 AM
Member
 
bjevers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks Spotify is something new in the latest firmware.
bjevers is offline  
post #295 of 351 Old 12-22-2013, 04:30 PM
Member
 
MixManSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjevers View Post

It looks Spotify is something new in the latest firmware.

Where are you seeing Spotify? I also got the the new firmware. Looks like some advanced picture settings. Not sure what else is new. Aside from that love my 55". smile.gif

Ineptocracy - a system of government where the least capable to lead are elected by the least capable of producing, and where the members of society least likely to sustain themselves or succeed, are rewarded with goods and services paid for by the confiscated wealth of a diminishing number of...
MixManSC is offline  
post #296 of 351 Old 12-22-2013, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MixManSC View Post

Where are you seeing Spotify? I also got the the new firmware. Looks like some advanced picture settings. Not sure what else is new. Aside from that love my 55". smile.gif
What advance picture settings do you see? All of the picture options look the same to me.
maddog510 is offline  
post #297 of 351 Old 12-23-2013, 11:48 AM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MixManSC View Post

Where are you seeing Spotify? I also got the the new firmware. Looks like some advanced picture settings. Not sure what else is new. Aside from that love my 55". smile.gif

If I recall its on the premium content page.
xoned is offline  
post #298 of 351 Old 12-27-2013, 05:08 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just got another update. One thing that it did was update the Netflix app.
xoned is offline  
post #299 of 351 Old 01-02-2014, 02:19 AM
Member
 
HelloHelloHello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone notice soap opera effect? I'm not seeing it frown.giffrown.gif
HelloHelloHello is offline  
post #300 of 351 Old 01-02-2014, 12:09 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelloHelloHello View Post

Anyone notice soap opera effect? I'm not seeing it frown.giffrown.gif

Now that you mention it, it's not as noticeable since the update. I'll have to see it the trumotion settings have changed.
xoned is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Electronics 50la6900 50 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Lg Electronics 55la6900 55 Inch Cinema Screen Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg Electronics 47la6900 47 Inch Cinema Screen Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Smart Tv And Four Pairs Of
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off