Official 2013 LG xxLA6900 Owner's Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 351 Old 06-09-2013, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Welcome to the Official 2013 LG xxLA6900 Owner's Thread.

This TV is available in 47'' 50'' and 55'' screen sizes.



Please DO NOT quote this post thank you.

Thread ownership transferred to calearne.

CalebLevArn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 351 Old 06-12-2013, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Fenrir7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ah yes, finally. definitely a winner tv. it suffers from backlight bleeding but the PQ is awesome compared to the Series 6 line from Samsung.biggrin.gif
Fenrir7 is offline  
post #3 of 351 Old 06-14-2013, 08:06 AM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for starting this thread.

I am interested in this set but not sure i have the space for the 55", as the TV will be placed in a corner shelf.

I posted this question in another thread but no answer so i'll put in here. Could someone with the 55LA6900 tell me the distance between the front edge of the stand to the screen? This will tell how far back the stand places the screen and whether or not I'll have enough width on my corner shelf.

Thanks in advance!
laverdure is offline  
post #4 of 351 Old 06-15-2013, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Fenrir7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would love to help you. Unfortunately i only have the 47inch version. It seems that therw aren't a lot of LA6900 users as of the moment.
Fenrir7 is offline  
post #5 of 351 Old 06-15-2013, 03:05 PM
Member
 
kyzer the medic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Can anyone comment on the gaming performance of this set ?

We have nothing to fear but fear itself... and spiders

 

My current gear : (Mancave) Vizio M701, Sony Str-DA5800 receiver,  Speakers : Front.. Klipsh RF-7 reference flagship, Center.. RC-64 reference, Surrounds.. 4x RC-62 reference, DirecTv Genie, PS3, Oppo BDP-105 Universal Audiophile blu-ray. 

kyzer the medic is offline  
post #6 of 351 Old 06-15-2013, 11:30 PM
Newbie
 
JJB747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyzer the medic View Post

Can anyone comment on the gaming performance of this set ?

poor acdg to this review:
http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lg-lcd-tv/lg-47la6900.html
JJB747 is offline  
post #7 of 351 Old 06-16-2013, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Fenrir7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyzer the medic View Post

Can anyone comment on the gaming performance of this set ?

surprisingly, it's better than what the above posted link says! I was actually expecting it to have terrible input lag. In game mode, it's perfect! Heck, I even tried it with ISF Expert mode with Trumotion set to Smooth and with Edge Sharpening, super resolution and LED Local Dimming on and I played Lost Planet 2 (3rd person shooter) and did not have any noticeable lag. I tried firing 1 shot at a time and it was very accurate with my button press.

I also tried NBA 2K13 with ISF Expert mode and tried doing crossovers and they were accurate. As a point of reference, I have the LG LS5700 (2012 LG model) and I tried using ISF Expert mode with it with 2K13 and it was suffered from input lag! My crossovers were delayed with my button press.

So overall, this is actually a decent gaming LED Tv based on my personal experience...of course, I can't speak for input lag about FPS or Fighting games coz I haven't tried yet.
Fenrir7 is offline  
post #8 of 351 Old 06-27-2013, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Definitely in the market for the 50 inch version of this TV.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #9 of 351 Old 06-30-2013, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Fenrir7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Definitely in the market for the 50 inch version of this TV.

Im sure you'll like it.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2
Fenrir7 is offline  
post #10 of 351 Old 07-02-2013, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ncsu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pinehurst, NC
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm far from a pro with TVs in respect to the rest of this forum, but I frickin' love this TV. Looks fantastic and plays nice with my laptop and phone on top of that.

At least that's an initial reaction anyway. Noticing a little bit of stuttering with the TruMotion? I guess that can be turned off right?
ncsu1 is offline  
post #11 of 351 Old 07-06-2013, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What picture settings are you using?
maddog510 is online now  
post #12 of 351 Old 07-07-2013, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ncsu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pinehurst, NC
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It was some kind of ISF type settings I found on here that I can't seem to find again. It naturally wasn't specific to this TV so it's probably not that great (although I think it looks pretty solid).
ncsu1 is offline  
post #13 of 351 Old 07-07-2013, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsu1 View Post

It was some kind of ISF type settings I found on here that I can't seem to find again. It naturally wasn't specific to this TV so it's probably not that great (although I think it looks pretty solid).
So you're using Expert mode 1 or 2?
maddog510 is online now  
post #14 of 351 Old 07-09-2013, 07:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ncsu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pinehurst, NC
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
1.
ncsu1 is offline  
post #15 of 351 Old 07-09-2013, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsu1 View Post

1.
Did you ever try standard mode or you went straight to expert?
maddog510 is online now  
post #16 of 351 Old 07-14-2013, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ncsu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pinehurst, NC
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've tried both, it doesn't seem as bad as it did.
ncsu1 is offline  
post #17 of 351 Old 07-15-2013, 10:18 AM
Member
 
calearne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Notice: I am the original creator of this thread (I'm using a new account now and this will be my permanent username''.

But anyways I got the 47'' 6900 from sears for $954.64 and there is NO bleeding, NO flashlighting and NO dead pixels!!!

I did multiple tests with an all black background with a white object in the center in completely dark room, and nothing bad appeared even with local dimming set to OFF and the backlight turned up. YAY!!!

This TV is my first LG TV and it's definitely a winner.

Below is my awful story before I bought the LG la6900.

#1 Bought sony HX750, returned it because of clouding and thick border.

#2 Bought sony R450, returned it because of four flashlights in the corners and misleading XR120 label when it was a 60HZ tv.

#3 Bought panasonic E60, returned it because of multiple dead pixels.

#4 Bought another panasonic E60 from a different location, returned it because of 2 dead pixels and a dark spot on the screen.

#5 Bought sony W802, returned it because of very poor washed out color and 1 dead pixel, now best buy has banned me for 3 months.mad.gif

#6 Went to sears and bought the LG la6900 and it's perfect!!!biggrin.gif

The magic remote is nice but I would also like a normal LG remote, what model number remote should I look for on google?
calearne is offline  
post #18 of 351 Old 07-16-2013, 09:26 AM
Member
 
zendez33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the backlight bleed with this set? W802A is going back, blacklight bleed is horrible not happy at all. Thanks!
zendez33 is offline  
post #19 of 351 Old 07-17-2013, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
98allstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody have a good calibration setting?
98allstar is offline  
post #20 of 351 Old 07-17-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
 
calearne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98allstar View Post

anybody have a good calibration setting?

I'm waiting for a cnet review for a general idea of the complicated settings, but for now I'm using cinema.

I have also encountered my first problem, when I push on the voice button on the magic remote it keeps saying ''smart setup is required to enjoy this feature would you like to set up now?''.

After I keep setting it up the message keeps repeating itself, the voice control DOES work in the built in browser though.
calearne is offline  
post #21 of 351 Old 07-17-2013, 03:14 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by calearne View Post

I'm waiting for a cnet review for a general idea of the complicated settings, but for now I'm using cinema.

I have also encountered my first problem, when I push on the voice button on the magic remote it keeps saying ''smart setup is required to enjoy this feature would you like to set up now?''.

After I keep setting it up the message keeps repeating itself, the voice control DOES work in the built in browser though.

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lg-lcd-tv/lg-la6900-picture-settings.html

I used Disneys WOW and then used some of their settings, mainly the 20pt white balance figures, to calibrate ISF1 on my 55" and wasn't pleased. Although the flesh tones were nice the blacks appeared to have some purple in them. So, I just did a reset. I'm going to re-calibrate with WOW and see how it looks.
xoned is offline  
post #22 of 351 Old 07-17-2013, 05:31 PM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by laverdure View Post

Thanks for starting this thread.

I am interested in this set but not sure i have the space for the 55", as the TV will be placed in a corner shelf.

I posted this question in another thread but no answer so i'll put in here. Could someone with the 55LA6900 tell me the distance between the front edge of the stand to the screen? This will tell how far back the stand places the screen and whether or not I'll have enough width on my corner shelf.

Thanks in advance!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lg-lcd-tv/lg-la6900-picture-settings.html

I used Disneys WOW and then used some of their settings, mainly the 20pt white balance figures, to calibrate ISF1 on my 55" and wasn't pleased. Although the flesh tones were nice the blacks appeared to have some purple in them. So, I just did a reset. I'm going to re-calibrate with WOW and see how it looks.

Xoned,
You seem to be the first one with a 55' in this thread so I quoted my question from post #3. Would really appreciate if you could help out, I can not find the 55' in any store locally to measure myself. Thanks in advance!
laverdure is offline  
post #23 of 351 Old 07-17-2013, 06:23 PM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by laverdure View Post


Xoned,
You seem to be the first one with a 55' in this thread so I quoted my question from post #3. Would really appreciate if you could help out, I can not find the 55' in any store locally to measure myself. Thanks in advance!


5.25" past the front of the display and 4.5" behind the display. Check out page 15 of the manual for a visual reference.

http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-55LA6900#

Hope this helps.
laverdure likes this.
xoned is offline  
post #24 of 351 Old 07-18-2013, 07:18 AM
Newbie
 
98allstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/lg-lcd-tv/lg-la6900-picture-settings.html

I used Disneys WOW and then used some of their settings, mainly the 20pt white balance figures, to calibrate ISF1 on my 55" and wasn't pleased. Although the flesh tones were nice the blacks appeared to have some purple in them. So, I just did a reset. I'm going to re-calibrate with WOW and see how it looks.

Can you post your WOW settings
98allstar is offline  
post #25 of 351 Old 07-18-2013, 09:24 AM
Member
 
xoned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98allstar View Post

Can you post your WOW settings

I will after I re-calibrate with the disc. I did a picture reset after my initial calibration.
xoned is offline  
post #26 of 351 Old 07-18-2013, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
maddog510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

I will after I re-calibrate with the disc. I did a picture reset after my initial calibration.
I'd like to see your settings too. Deciding if I should purchase the WOW blu ray or get a pro calibration done.
maddog510 is online now  
post #27 of 351 Old 07-19-2013, 10:56 AM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoned View Post

5.25" past the front of the display and 4.5" behind the display. Check out page 15 of the manual for a visual reference.

http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-55LA6900#

Hope this helps.

Thank you so much!!! Exactly what I needed and if I got my trigonometry right, the 55" will just fit in my corner shelf. Should be ~1 inch of clearance on each sides with the stand at the edge of the shelf. Not ideal, but i will use the back bracket to secure it to wall behind. And shelf is high enough that the kids will know better by the age they are able to reach it....

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to measure these for me.

Now the price-watch begins....
laverdure is offline  
post #28 of 351 Old 07-19-2013, 11:10 AM
Newbie
 
yasskad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
really i like it so much but i think i have no money for now may be later
yasskad is offline  
post #29 of 351 Old 07-19-2013, 05:22 PM
Member
 
calearne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My voice control app still isn't popping up on the screen when I press the voice control button on the magic remote.

The firmware is up to date and I even reset the entire TV to default but when I press the voice button on the remote it still keeps repeating ''smart setup is required for this feature'' message. (even though I tried setting it up multiple times already).

Anyone else have the same problem?
calearne is offline  
post #30 of 351 Old 07-19-2013, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased the 55la7400. Same tv but a slight step up. Read my initial impressions in that thread. Long story short the remote is awful and the os is subpar. I've had the same error multiple times in 3 days. I still haven't made a final decision but I'm pretty sure I'm sending this back to Amazon.
Andrew P is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Electronics 50la6900 50 Inch 3d Smart Led Hdtv , Lg Electronics 55la6900 55 Inch Cinema Screen Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv , Lg Electronics 47la6900 47 Inch Cinema Screen Cinema 3d Led Lcd Hdtv With Smart Tv And Four Pairs Of
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off