Toshiba L1350U Series (2013) - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 311 Old 12-05-2014, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Renaming the input shouldn't do anything on this TV, that applies to other brands from what I can tell. Did you try the different picture modes, specifically "Game" and "PC"?


As for 60fps, nah, I don't think it's related to that because I can watch and play constant silky-smooth 60fps content perfectly fine without issue (though admittedly it's not as "silky" as my Trinitron CRT monitor ).

You may have been confusing it with what I said about using SVP to interpolate sub-60fps content up to 60fps where I reported weird juddering, but I found out a few months back that it was actually the fault of the PC's crappy Intel 965GMA graphics, not the TV - setting MPC-HC to use "D3D Fullscreen" fixed the weird judder (it was due to a lack of DirectDraw performance or something - I noticed that it wasn't as bad at 720p compared to 1080p).


The white glow actually could be a sharpness artifact of sorts - make sure dynamic contrast is off, the sharpness enhancement is off, both noise reduction options are off, and the sharpness is set to -25 like I stated.

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 12-05-2014 at 10:27 PM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 311 Old 12-22-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for replying, and sorry for the late response. I'll be trying this tonight and let you know.

Last edited by Rawe; 12-22-2014 at 10:10 AM.
Rawe is offline  
post #303 of 311 Old 01-13-2015, 11:57 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey sorry for not getting back sooner. I have tried all those options and unfortunately no luck. Wonder why it seems to have a larger amount of blur from other displays. Really appreciate the help you've given me, not just for this question but all of them so far
Rawe is offline  
post #304 of 311 Old 01-14-2015, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 80
You are running at a 60hz refresh rate, right? I noticed that even 64hz is more blurry than 60hz, probably because it no longer is an equal multiple to the 120hz stobing backlight.

Last edited by NintendoManiac64; 01-14-2015 at 03:40 PM.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #305 of 311 Old 01-15-2015, 10:03 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct. It is at 60HZ.
Rawe is offline  
post #306 of 311 Old Yesterday, 09:57 PM
Member
 
EJSLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was wondering, i use the L1350U 50" for my pc monitor and have a EVGA gtx780ti gpu
do i set the refresh rate to 60hz or 120hz for this TV?
I see that this TV is said to be 120hz some places and others it is 60hz??? very confusing!
EJSLP is offline  
post #307 of 311 Old Yesterday, 10:51 PM
Senior Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post
Correct. It is at 60HZ.
Ok...next thing, are you sure you're getting a full 4:4:4 chroma signal? Here's a test image (I recommend opening it in MSpaint to avoid DPI scaling issues):
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...99#post1640299

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJSLP View Post
do i set the refresh rate to 60hz or 120hz for this TV?
I see that this TV is said to be 120hz some places and others it is 60hz??? very confusing!
If it's anything like the 39", the 120hz applies only to the strobing backlight and not the actual LCD display. The 39" model for example maxes out at a 77hz input refresh rate.

In other words, if the TV cannot accept a 120hz signal then your GPU shouldn't even make the option available. If the option is available, then I would say try some 120fps videos (60fps running at 2x speed would work) and see if you can see a difference between 120hz and 60hz.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #308 of 311 Old Yesterday, 11:28 PM
Member
 
EJSLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post

In other words, if the TV cannot accept a 120hz signal then your GPU shouldn't even make the option available. If the option is available, then I would say try some 120fps videos (60fps running at 2x speed would work) and see if you can see a difference between 120hz and 60hz.
Thanks for the help

and BTW i tried the 4.4.4 test and on my toshiba the screen is all one color(magneta) and i can see both 422 and 444 writtin on the screen?
is my TV 4.4.4 chroma?

Last edited by EJSLP; Yesterday at 11:38 PM.
EJSLP is offline  
post #309 of 311 Old Today, 12:14 AM
Senior Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJSLP View Post
Thanks for the help

and BTW i tried the 4.4.4 test and on my toshiba the screen is all one color(magneta) and i can see both 422 and 444 writtin on the screen?
is my TV 4.4.4 chroma?
Err, are you outputting to the TV's native resolution and are using MSpaint? Because the numbers in the test image should look like the attached image in the following post:
Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread

(note that, while it's a smaller 720p-friendly image, the actual numbers are exactly the same)
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #310 of 311 Old Today, 12:45 AM
Member
 
EJSLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post
Err, are you outputting to the TV's native resolution and are using MSpaint? Because the numbers in the test image should look like the attached image in the following post:
Official 4:4:4 / Chroma Subsampling Thread

(note that, while it's a smaller 720p-friendly image, the actual numbers are exactly the same)
No i didnt use MSpaint? I just clicked on the image
There were several places i read that the L1350U 50" has 4.4.4 chroma support?,
I play a lot of AAA graphic intensive games like watch dogs,battlefield 4,COD advanced warfare, splinter cell blacklist, Metal Gear solid V
all of which have really good graphics and they look insanely good on this toshiba.
so even if i don't have the 4.4.4. i only paid $600 new for the TV so you wont hear me complaining any time soon
EJSLP is offline  
post #311 of 311 Old Today, 01:14 AM
Senior Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJSLP View Post
No i didnt use MSpaint?
Oh come on, it's super-duper easy. MSpaint is the "Paint" or "Paint Brush" program that comes with all versions of Windows - all you have to do is open the image in said program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EJSLP View Post
I just clicked on the image
The problem with this is that I cannot guarantee that the image won't be zoomed. Even if the program says 100% zoom, it's very possible that it isn't high-DPI aware and therefore the entire program could be zoomed. Using MSpaint is a fool-proof way to avoid the issue.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Toshiba 39l1350u 39 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 50l1350u 50 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 29l1350u 29 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 32l1350u 32 Inch Class Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off