Toshiba L1350U Series (2013) - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 288 Old 03-14-2014, 02:10 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Thanks for the responses guys. Do you game on your TV jbanks? Like PS3, 360, PC...

He already stated that he does not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbanks View Post

I'm 53. Missed out on the console mania.

I however have much experience with games, but console-wise of the more arcade style. I do not care much for PS360 stuff and even more-so PS4/Xbone stuff because I already have a PC for that, which even then I don't use that much for typical PC games because I'm more into arcade-style games.

(I'm also into visual novels, but I do not categorize those with games - I put them more with ebooks and manga)
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 288 Old 03-17-2014, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to both of you for all the help. Also Im a manga fan as well
Rawe is offline  
post #183 of 288 Old 03-19-2014, 04:18 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
jbanks, I tried your new settings and right away my father thought the picture was too dark and went to crank up the brightness to even above +3 before I intervened and reverted the TV to the previous settings. He does have glaucoma however, and thanks to DST and the approaching summer there's now considerably more ambient light around.



In other news, I just found out that this TV can display some nice detailed information regarding the HDMI signal, including the following:
  • Resolution
  • Interlaced vs Progressive
  • Frame rate
  • Color depth
  • Color space
  • Chroma

You can enable this information display via the following:
Menu -> Options -> HDMI Information Display -> On

This allowed me to confirm that yes, this TV supports 24 fps input and apparently even supports 36 bit color depth (but who knows if it actually supports displaying said color depth rather than just downsampling it).
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #184 of 288 Old 03-21-2014, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
Sue502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello.  Thank you for the detailed TV picture setting info in GAME mode Toshiba L1350U....  

It was easy to follow, and I use those settings on my roku3 (via HDMI setting)

 

However, for regular TV via antenna/DVD player, game mode is not available.  

If you have any other good settings, and you want to share, it would be appreciated.

 

 

Toshiba 39" HDTV L1350U, I use under cable/antenna (Reg DVD) modeMOVIE with the followng settings:

 

-- Picture settings menu:

Picture mode: MOVIE
Backlight: 52
Contrast: 89
Brightness: +4
Color: +7
Tint: +13
Sharpness: +15

Advanced Picture Settings submenu
ColorMaster: On
Base Color Adjustment: [Off   see below]
Color Temperature: Medium [see below]
Static Gamma: +3
Auto Brightness Sensor Settings: Off
Dynalight: Low
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Cinema Mode: ON (when using DVD)
Noise Reduction: [both settings Off]
Edge Enhancer: Off

Base Color Adjustment [Hue, Saturation, Brightness respectively]
Red:
Green:
Blue: 0, 0, 0
Yellow:
Magenta:
Cyan:    

Color Temperature submenu:
Red: +2
Green: +1
Blue: +2

PIC SIZE remote button: Native (Antenna TV)

For DVD Player (Channel 3), I've been using Native or TheaterWide3 or 4:3

(DVD player is regular... not blue ray)

 

NOTE:  I cut cable tv due to high cost, and am very satisfied with tv via indoor antenna and internet tv on Roku3... 

My indoor antenna is from costco (cost $40) that is easy to use, and picks up some local channels with remarkable clarity,

The Roku 3 is wonderful (cost is about $100, and $10 for an HDMI cable)

 

Thank you.  

Sue502 is offline  
post #185 of 288 Old 03-21-2014, 08:55 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue502 View Post

Picture mode: MOVIE

I strongly recommend not using the Movie preset as it considerably reduces the contrast on L1350U TVs.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #186 of 288 Old 03-23-2014, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Sue502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You are correct…  Movie mode is not recommended due to contrast…

 

I know you discuss issues/settings for game play throughout this forum.  However, your website has been of tremendous value for use in TV viewing settings, and I appreciate your help.  

 

We updated our settings for STANDARD ON ANTENNA/CABLE on Toshiba 39" HDTV L1350U

 

-- Picture settings menu:

Picture mode: STANDARD

*Backlight: 64

*Contrast: 79

Brightness: -6

Color: +10

Tint: +2

Sharpness: +5

 

Advanced Picture Settings submenu

ColorMaster: OFF

Color Temperature: Medium [see below]

Color Temperature submenu:  Red: 0,   Green: 0,   Blue: 0

Static Gamma: +1

Auto Brightness Sensor Settings: Off

Dynalight: Low

*Dynamic Contrast: Off

Cinema Mode: off

Noise Reduction: [both settings Off]

Edge Enhancer: Off

 

*If you change your dynamic contrast setting, the backlight and contrast settings re-set to original settings, and will need to be re-set….

 

PIC SIZE remote button: Native (Antenna TV)

For DVD Player (Channel 3), I've been using Native or TheaterWide3 or 4:3

(DVD player is regular... not blue ray)

 

 

NOTE:  Our household no longer has cable TV ($ Cost was too high).

We have an indoor antenna Winegard Flatwave Amplified HDTV from Costco http://www.winegard.com/get-free-tv/

And have a Roku 3 http://www.roku.com/products/roku-3

We subscribe to Netflix ($8/month), and Amazon Prime ($79/yr, but will increase next year to $99/yr)

 

We bought this Toshiba HDTV last summer.  (Our first HDTV)

When using the Roku, we view in “Game” mode settings (From your post #70).

 

IT is the antenna/cable, and old DVD player, settings that are a problem.  If you have better settings, please share.

 

I found the following web-sites helpful:

For Contrast/Brightness settings:

http://www.digitallanding.com/using-your-hdtv-contrast/

Set a TV by eye

http://howto.cnet.com/8301-11310_39-20058770-285/how-to-set-a-tv-up-by-eye/

 

 

Thank you, and again, we appreciate your forum where information is readily shared.  This site is the only one I found for picture settins on the Toshiba 39" HDTV L1350U.  :)   :)  :)  

 

  

Sue502 is offline  
post #187 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 07:00 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NintendoManiac do you personally find it too dark at -13?
Rawe is offline  
post #188 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 07:02 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Considering that I use a Trinitron CRT as my primary computer monitor? No.

Also, Sue502 I've added a link to your settings in my settings post back on page 2.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #189 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are a great help. Sorry if I sound so noobish.
Rawe is offline  
post #190 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Sorry if I sound so noobish.
Don't sweat it, I'm just being snarky.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue502 View Post

Thank you, and again, we appreciate your forum where information is readily shared. This site is the only one I found for picture settins on the Toshiba 39" HDTV L1350U. smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif
This is mainly the whole reason I did my whole "info dump" on the first two pages in the first place, there was very little info on this TV outside of the input lag results on Display-Lag.org and the crappy black-levels calibration that Cnet did.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #191 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have another quick question. I don't have any speakers or receivers or anything hooked up to this TV. Which settings in my PS3 sound settings do I want? Do I just want Linear PCM?
Rawe is offline  
post #192 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 08:02 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This TV only accepts Dolby Digital (not TrueHD) and PCM. For stereo signals PCM is always better (audio quality-wise) than Dolby Digital.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #193 of 288 Old 03-24-2014, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.
Rawe is offline  
post #194 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im a bit nervous about this. I just posted in the forums today.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1524672/should-i-be-worried-about-burn-in-with-my-tv#post_24540506

I trust the guy who responded but was wondering if anyone else can provide some input?
Rawe is offline  
post #195 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 12:50 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
As someone that's used a Trinitron CRT TV up until 9 months ago and still uses a Trinitron CRT PC monitor, I typically treat all my displays the same. Basically I don't worry about burn-in at all other than I turn off the display if I walk away.

Even if you're not concerned with burn-in, turning off the display can have a few benefits. It can conserve power, reduce the heat output into the room its in, and you won't have a big glowing light just randomly on and possibly alone if it's night.
Woobieizer likes this.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #196 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok. I will try not to fall asleep heh. But how long does a display need to be left on with no movement for burn in to happen? The fear has always been there for me and I too turn off the display when I leave anuwhere.
Rawe is offline  
post #197 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I've no idea, but here's an idea to mitigate it. If you have a PC hooked up, enable said PC to turn off the video output after like 30 minutes. I've no idea about Sony or Microsoft consoles, but a Wii has a "burn in reduction" function that greatly dims the image after 5 minutes of inactivity (which can double as a "hey your wiimotes turned off!" notification)
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #198 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does the screen being dimmed eliminate the chance of burn in? Or does it just reduce the chance?
Rawe is offline  
post #199 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:24 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
It's supposed to greatly reduce. Considering that I left it like that for several hours on a CRT before, I would imagine that LCD's with their greatly reduced risk of burn-in would have almost zero chance of burn-in in such a situation.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #200 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Im a bit nervous about this. I just posted in the forums today.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1524672/should-i-be-worried-about-burn-in-with-my-tv#post_24540506

I trust the guy who responded but was wondering if anyone else can provide some input?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post

It's supposed to greatly reduce. Considering that I left it like that for several hours on a CRT before, I would imagine that LCD's with their greatly reduced risk of burn-in would have almost zero chance of burn-in in such a situation.

Rawe, I have this Westinghouse I surf the net on and play my PS3 on. While I stay on Firefox for 10+ hours at time I get the title screen burn in bar on the horizontal. When I played DCOU non stop for a couple months I had the HUD burn in.. My Westinghouse is a 2007 make.

I sweated this until I realized that if I ever use my Westinghouse for several hours doing something unique to either.. It goes away.
Woobieizer is online now  
post #201 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
...that means your LCD has worse burn in than my Trinitron CRT monitor.

wat.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #202 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Sorry woobie, but your last part of your post, are you saying that if you do sonething else on the screen, the burn in goes away? Im just ocd about this, I love this tv and do not want anything bad to happen. 7 hours on a pause screen has me concerned. I cant wait to get home and check it. Any tips on how to really notice it? The guy in the other thread said it would be more noticeable on a white screen.
Rawe is offline  
post #203 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by NintendoManiac64 View Post

...that means your LCD has worse burn in than my Trinitron CRT monitor.



wat.

Perhaps that is what you take form this.. However or whichever...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Thanks. Sorry woobie, but your last part of your post, are you saying that if you do sonething else on the screen, the burn in goes away? Im just ocd about this, I love this tv and do not want anything bad to happen. 7 hours on a pause screen has me concerned. I cant wait to get home and check it. Any tips on how to really notice it? The guy in the other thread said it would be more noticeable on a white screen.

Rawe, Yes, that is what I'm saying. You're lucky, I fell asleep in the pause menu playing Eternal Sonata and my PS3 Phat YLOD'th. Your HDTV is substantially newer than my Westinghouse, and all LCD are susceptible to burnin.

You can install This Adamusoft PixelRepairer to see fullscreen any lines or pixels by cycling the fullscreen color. But I would not sweat it.. just do something different than play that game to remove any image retention, or just know whenever you do use your new baby for an extended period of fullscreeen action it will wash the retention away. wink.gif


Edit: I'd be interested in know what either of you two see on the photo i took back in December of said Westinghouse.
Woobieizer is online now  
post #204 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got up real close to the TV and looked while on a bright blue screen, black screen, and in game screen. Doesn't seem to be any burn in (not that I can see). But I have a couple other questions. Is there any settings in the TV for a screensaver or something similar that would help against the chance of burn in? Also, random question, but do I want Daylight savings time on?
Rawe is offline  
post #205 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Also, random question, but do I want Daylight savings time on?
Uhh, are you saying you don't know what that setting is for? Because if you knew what it was for then you'd very well know whether you want it enabled or not.

Here's my random question back to you: are you by chance not located in the US or Canada? I ask this because many other countries don't use Daylight Savings. No offense to Europeans, but from my own personal experience I find that there are fewer people in Europe that know how timezones work; I'm guessing this is due to a combination of not using Daylight Savings and because all of Europe (outside of the British Isles) are all on the same timezone.

tl;dr: If you don't know what Daylight Savings is for, then you probably want it set to "Off".
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #206 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im just wondering how it is going to affect my TV. I am from Canada.
Rawe is offline  
post #207 of 288 Old 03-28-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawe View Post

Im just wondering how it is going to affect my TV. I am from Canada.
Wait a minute, you're not in the Saskatchewan province, are you? If so that would explain it, since most there do not change their clocks.

The setting does not effect the TV in any way except for adjusting by an hour what time the TV's clock uses. The clock itself really only effects the "Guide" button/function on the remote by showing the correct time at which TV shows will be on; otherwise the clock is purely aesthetic.

EDIT: This article may be relevant to you:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time_in_Canada
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
post #208 of 288 Old 03-29-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Rawe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Ok, so I left my TV on and walked away, but the screen had movement. We have what's called a a PS3 "Theme" on the home screen and it had the camera panning across images, before fadingh to another. Now, I left it on all night (again) but this time I should be fine, because there was movement right?
Rawe is offline  
post #209 of 288 Old 03-29-2014, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Woobieizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Good Ole' Copper Fan
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
You have background movement yet the Horizontal and Vertical Icons stay fixed. Not really anything to worry about, cause it would take a long time set the retention. People who only view one cable or over the air broadcasts can suffer from image retention just from the stations overlayed icon being present 24/7.
Woobieizer is online now  
post #210 of 288 Old 03-30-2014, 08:14 PM
Member
 
NintendoManiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Here's a question, how the crap does the "Auto Brightness Sensor" work? No matter what the ambient lighting is, enabling "Auto Brightness Sensor" always just dims the image a bit.

Is the light sensor buried on the back of the TV or something, causing most light to be blocked by the TV itself?


And for reference, yes I understand that enabling such a function will screw up the color accuracy. However, my father can (and will!) screw up the color accuracy even worse if or when he finds the image too dark and goes to crank up the brightness value.
NintendoManiac64 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Toshiba 39l1350u 39 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 50l1350u 50 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 29l1350u 29 Inch Led Hdtv , Toshiba 32l1350u 32 Inch Class Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off