Recessed outlets in standard 'blue' boxes? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-18-2013, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does one do a 'new work' recessed plug? Do you just buy a plug that is somehow recessed that just fits in the blue new work boxes??
brazosdog02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-18-2013, 08:58 PM
Member
 
scooter520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes, but make sure you get the deepest single gang new work box. I believe 22 cu inch is the deep box, and still fits in 2x4 framing, no problem with 2x6 framing. Like this:

http://www.smarthome.com/25401/Single-Gang-Deep-Wall-Box-22-Cubic-Inches/p.aspx
scooter520 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-19-2013, 03:43 AM
Senior Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28

Here is the recessed outlet I just installed behind my parents new 40" Sharp in exactly the fashion you describe. Easy fit, inside standard four inch deep retrofit box.
Leviton 689-W. Less than $8 from amazon.

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-19-2013, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
brazosdog02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, awesome. Now, do they make a GOOD recessed receptacle like you showed with surge protection? I have 'whole house' surge protection on outside panel, but I want something to protect it at point of use as well. If not, are there any good ones I can use with this setup? I currently have a single gang oulet at the floor that is powered by the single gang outlet behind the TV. Im thinking of adding another outlet at floor level and using the current boxes and wires in a 'power bridge' setup. It would save costs if I just got one Surgex protector for the AV equipment and hooked up the TV to it rather than get one for equipment and one that mounts behind the tv bracket. Thoughts?
brazosdog02 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-19-2013, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Your power bridge idea is probably the most cost effective if the install allows for it. Easier to service in the event of a sacrificial failure of the surge protection device too.
Funny, you're touching on another install in process, a cabin with a projection system. Projector power thru bridge back to AV system secure rack with Furman rack mount surge protector/power conditioner.
Panamax makes a recessed AC outlet with integrated power conditioning and high input shut off. MIW-Power-pro
http://www.panamax.com/Products/In-Wall/MIW-POWER-PRO-PFP.php

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off