LG 32LD350 32" HDTV. Questions about firmware. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-20-2013, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jett ZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I apply another firmware if my TV was bought and used in the U.S.?
Jett ZZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-20-2013, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jett ZZ View Post

Can I apply another firmware if my TV was bought and used in the U.S.?

Please elaborate a little more in what you exactly mean?

Here's a generic answer for now: Do NOT ever, EVER, install a firmware not specifically created for your exact brand and model number of whatever device you think needs flashing.

Loading a firmware other than that is device suicide, pure and simple.
Primestar31 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-21-2013, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jett ZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Primestar31 View Post

Please elaborate a little more in what you exactly mean?

Here's a generic answer for now: Do NOT ever, EVER, install a firmware not specifically created for your exact brand and model number of whatever device you think needs flashing.

Loading a firmware other than that is device suicide, pure and simple.

I've been looking at the firmware hacks to be able to play DivX, mkv files through the USB and I saw that there were firmware hacks.


I saw some on this forum and another saying that it was possible but whenever I tried searching for firmware, I failed. I did, however find it on the UK site of LG.

My guess is that it will not work.


Here's the link to my TV on the UK site http://www.lg.com/uk/support-product/lg-32LD350#
Jett ZZ is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-21-2013, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Primestar31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Under the bridge
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If you can afford to possibly permanently brick your tv set and a firmware hack exists that you'd like, you could try it. However if you've never modified firmware before and recovered bricked devices, I wouldn't advise it. Even reflashing with the proper firmware can cause devices to become a brick. So, it all boils down to what your tolerance is and if you are willing to do that to play the odds.

It might be cheaper to buy a device such as a WDTVLIVE unit to play other formats.
Primestar31 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-21-2013, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Jett ZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right man. You sure right. I'm not risking it.
Jett ZZ is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 32ld350 32 Inch 720p 60 Hz Lcd Hdtv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off