hd tv vs blu-ray - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 07-01-2013, 10:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How come when I watch hd channels they look amazing on my tv
but when I watch a Blu-ray movie or a 1080p file it look awful .
billythekid2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 07-01-2013, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 219
I would say that something is set up wrong. The best you'll get from HD TV is 1080i or 720P while blu-ray is 1080P. However, all blu-rays are not created equal and all HD broadcasts fall into the same boat. Take any number of top quality blu-rays and they will all surpass HD broadcasts in PQ. Examples of such blu-rays include, pretty much ant animated blu-ray, Any of the Transformer movies, Chicago, The Dark Knight, The Dark Knight Rises, Hugo, Thor, Any of the Narnia movies, and if you really want to see something special check out "Baraka".
andy sullivan is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 07-01-2013, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a lot of Blu-ray movies and none of them look as good as a hd tv channel
like I have watched movies that I have on Blu-ray disk that or 1080p and the same movie on 1080i on tv and it looks so much better

I did try to calibrate my player and tv with the AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration
on this site and it made it worse so I got every thing at default setting now

I my try the Disney wow Calibration disk

and I have all them movies you listed
my be I just got a bad tv
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,161
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Blu-ray should look better because blu-ray is of higher quality. HD broadcast quality is not nearly as good as blu-ray quality. So, there is something wrong with your equipment, your settings or your eyes smile.gif
8mile13 is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 219
I doubt there is anything wrong with your TV or you would not be happy with HDTV either. You sound like a pretty experienced video guy and I would imagine that you are not coming to this conclusion without a degree of surprise. Over the years I have noticed that some HD material on regular TV is really quite remarkable. If you watch some of the late 1990 and early 2000 Law and Order episodes on CBS it is eye opening PQ as well as some of the early HDNET nature stuff.. I know that various studio's use better quality HD cameras and since it's advent HD PQ has slid because of over compression. From reading your post it sounds like you know that theoretically a well done 1080P blu-ray movie has to inherently deliver better PQ than the very best 1080i/720P HD broadcast. I, like you, am puzzled why you are perceiving better PQ with HD broadcasts than a 1080P blu-ray. Have you had a chance to experiment with different material on friends TV's or had them compare theirs to yours? That could provide very interesting results.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What is your setup? Perhaps your blu-ray player isn't outputting 1080p...
sitlet is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Shadowdane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

What is your setup? Perhaps your blu-ray player isn't outputting 1080p...

I'd guess this is the case... my parents got a Bluray player and for some reason it defaulted to 480p as the default video resolution. I had to go into the menus to change it to 1080p.
Shadowdane is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sounds like you don't have 1080p TV or your TV is 60" or more, Some of those 24p blu-rays don't look good on screens bigger than 60", some say because there is not enough frames a second some say the blu-ray compression algorithms, My self I like watching blu-rays on 100" screen and 1080p projector HD broadcasts look awfull and blurry on it so I have to watch HD broadcasts on a regular HD TV.
latreche34 is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is my set up guys

LG 47LM6200

http://www.lg.com/ca_en/tvs/lg-47LM6200-led-tv

LG 5.1

http://www.lg.com/ca_en/home-theater-systems/lg-TS913ES/reviews

SAMSUNG 3D BLU-RAY PLAYER

http://www.samsung.com/hk_en/consumer/tv-av/blu-ray/blu-ray-disc-players/BD-E5500/ZK


I do have the player set to 1080p and it all updated so is my tv

I have good hdmi cables

like I watched transformers on tv and on disk 2d and 3d and the tv one blow the disk away

well not blow away but a lot better

well if you guys need any thing else please ask
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 10:04 AM
Member
 
GatorJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Sorry if this is too obvious, but you do realize you have to adjust your picture settings for each input and each video mode?
GatorJZ is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Moody, AL 35004
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
is your bluray output going to the tv or the suround sound reciever?
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorJZ View Post

Sorry if this is too obvious, but you do realize you have to adjust your picture settings for each input and each video mode?

I did say

I did try to calibrate my player and tv with the AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration
on this site and it made it worse so I got every thing at default setting now
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTide2011 View Post

is your bluray output going to the tv or the suround sound reciever?

it going to the Lg surround sound receiver I have the receiver plugged in to the hdmi 1 port on the tv with is arc and the player plunged in to the frist hdmi port on the receiver with is for BD for Blu-ray player
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by billythekid2012 View Post

it going to the Lg surround sound receiver I have the receiver plugged in to the hdmi 1 port on the tv with is arc and the player plunged in to the frist hdmi port on the receiver with is for BD for Blu-ray player

Try connecting it directly to the TV and see what happens, Some receivers distort the original signal. If you get a better picture then try to change some setting in your receiver or upgrade to a better receiver.
latreche34 is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post

Try connecting it directly to the TV and see what happens, Some receivers distort the original signal. If you get a better picture then try to change some setting in your receiver or upgrade to a better receiver.

will I still get dts or 5.1 sound doing it that way
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,584
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by billythekid2012 View Post

I did say

I did try to calibrate my player and tv with the AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration
on this site and it made it worse so I got every thing at default setting now

All you can do with those disks is make some accurate picture adjustments to the basics (contrast, sharpness, brightness, aspect, and color). You can not calibrate without meters and software. Calibrating/adjusting each input is almost an exercise in futility because of source variability. I think most people adjust/calibrate the one input that comes from the blu-ray player. You also want to make sure that the blu-ray player is not doing any video processing at all because you want to adjust your panel, not the source. And use just one disk to make your adjustments. IOW, don't use the AVS HD709 to adjust and the WoW to fine tune. Find a well produced blu-ray movie and see how it looks after adjusting.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Moody, AL 35004
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by billythekid2012 View Post

will I still get dts or 5.1 sound doing it that way
Lets first find out if the surround sound receiver is causing the video issues then worry about sound.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollTide2011 View Post

Lets first find out if the surround sound receiver is causing the video issues then worry about sound.

No it is still the same I just don't get it and I have tried every mode on the tv and a few custom modes for video settings

my be I just need to call some one in to set it up
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i wish i had a hd camera so i could take a few pics of how hd tv looks to my blu-ray
i think it look more like dvd
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 219
A couple of easy things you can do. Check out a couple of your BR's at a friends house using his set up. You should instantly see the difference in BR quality if there is one. Do the same thing at a Best Buy or some other dealer. If you see a difference just see how they have theirs set up and duplicate it. That would also give you an idea if the problem is a faulty BR player. Is your receiver doing the switching? Could you have a faulty HDMI cable? Don't give up, there has to be an answer other than HD is better than BR.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don.t movies always look better in the store on the tv.s

I have like 12 hdmi cables and I have tried them all

and I have watch movie at my friends house and it look good not like mine

but I never took any of my Blu-ray disk over but have watch the same movies I have
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 07-02-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 3,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 311 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Well then I would say this. If I was coming to your house to check out the problem the first thing I would check is your Blu-ray player set up, assuming that it might be set on 480 instead of 1080. Actually I would check it twice because I would really think that was the problem. If not then I would hook up the blu-ray player I brought with me. Odds are the PQ would be great and we would deduce that you had a bad player. I know you're probably very sure that just about any blu-ray will look better than any HD broadcast so all you can do is eliminate the other possibilities. Bad setting, bad HDMI cable, or bad blu-ray player.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 07-03-2013, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's it thanks for all the help but I have try all most every thing been working on it for the past week
I even picked up some new hdmi cables yester day cost me 80 buck each I got the cables from the same place I got the tv and stuff and ask them what the best hdmi cable for my set up.

I have tried all kind of setting on the tv bd player
ether I have a bad bd player or tv

so just going to look for some one to do it for me
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 07-03-2013, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
fritzi93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I don't see anywhere that you tried a different HDMI input on the TV. Apologies if I missed it.

If you have another Blu-Ray standalone player you can try (or borrow one), I should think you'd be able to rule out one or the other (TV or player) as being the source of the problem. Then confirm by trying your player with another TV.
fritzi93 is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 07-03-2013, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
billythekid2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think there just to many setting now days on stuff
you got all kind of tv setting then seting for the bd player then the receiver


I am going to bring the player over to a friends house he has a new Samsung tv I did rad Samsung is one of the best tv you can buy
I would ask him to set me up but he had some one come in to set up this tv
billythekid2012 is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 07-04-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
I even picked up some new hdmi cables yester day cost me 80 buck each

You overpaid for those by about 75 bucks. Return them and buy from Monoprice, same quality.
Quote:
I think there just to many setting now days on stuff
you got all kind of tv setting then seting for the bd player then the receiver

Yes, there are a lot of settings, however, it sounds like the one setting you need to find is the resolution. Either the BD player isn't outputting 1080p, or your receiver is downconverting it.
sitlet is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 07-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Baja, California Mexico 965392
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Take some time to educate yourself about new technology and precisely digital video, No offense but paying $$$$ for any digital cable is just dumb, here is why:
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20056502-1/why-all-hdmi-cables-are-the-same/
latreche34 is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 07-07-2013, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Sorry to disagree - not all HDMI cables are the same. Some look way cooler than others biggrin.gif. Also some may last longer if you plug/unplug them a lot ...
AnotherDude is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 07-07-2013, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sacramento delta N. Cal. US Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 3,229
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 639 Post(s)
Liked: 384
I use a PS3 slim for BD I have to say the difference from Dish HD is very apparent. I'm using Amazon Basics branded HDMI cables they cost about $9.99 for 2 - 6.5 ft.cables
Trust me I'm playing into a large screen Plasma and if anything was wrong it would show.
http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-High-Speed-Supports-Ethernet-Standard/dp/B0052SCU8U/ref=sr_1_1_m?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1373244996&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+cables+6ft

Mono price cables are priced well and decent also. return those $75.00 cables those things are preposterous .

Hires Music formats ..............."Why does it sound like a CD ?" ............. can we make it louder "?
"The wireless music box has no commercial value. Who would pay for a message sent to nobody in particular?"
- David Sarnoff's associates at RCA the 1920's -
tubetwister is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 07-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Shadowdane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Check the Samsung Bluray player settings to make sure it's set to 1080p. If it's set to Auto I've seen some players default to lower resolutions (480i or 480p).
Also just try bypassing the LG Receiver. Make sure it's not the receiver causing the problem. Sometimes HDMI has handshake issues when you add another device into the mix.

My friend had a similar problem with his Samsung Bluray & Sony Receiver. The bluray player wouldn't output 1080p as it didn't detect a HDCP compliant display when he it connected through the Sony receiver. He ended up having to sell the Sony Receiver and bought an Onkyo model.
Shadowdane is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off