Vizio 80" M801D-A3 owners thread - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 12:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by innuss View Post
I wanted to buy it from BB back in late May but at that time they only had 3 in their entire west coast inventory & I think two of them were displays.. I then went over to Costco & bought it there. Like Jasson says, the warranty is a great deal. I'm surprised there are any left so I would move fast.

The best buy warranty is expensive...do they clean my house and cook me dinner during the warranty repair/exchange process?
NODES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
One thing I like is how Pacific Rim fills the entire screen. Most movies only fill the middle and are wide screen format. It's look funny to me having an 80" screen and having huge black bars above and below the picture. What other good movies are full screen like Pacific Rim and look good?

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #1443 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Citivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
One thing I like is how Pacific Rim fills the entire screen. Most movies only fill the middle and are wide screen format. It's look funny to me having an 80" screen and having huge black bars above and below the picture. What other good movies are full screen like Pacific Rim and look good?
Just look for movies that list their aspect ratio as 1.85 (also known as 16:9). Some are 1.78 but close enough…

Here's a blu-ray list that's about a year old.

http://www.thecoli.com/threads/list-...ck-bar.119446/
Citivas is offline  
post #1444 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Very cool. Are you a member there? Maybe you can bump it to get more movies added to that list?

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #1445 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi... I really want to buy this tv, but I have one question.. Does this model (801d-a3) have 16 active LED zones like the new model(801i-a3) has? I read on one review that it did not, but in most reviews/forums, they say the two tv's are the same except that one has 3d and one does not...... If anyone can answer this question it will be greatly appreciated.. I've asked vizio support, but they never got back to me.. Thanks..
viziowannab is offline  
post #1446 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by viziowannab View Post
Hi... I really want to buy this tv, but I have one question.. Does this model (801d-a3) have 16 active LED zones like the new model(801i-a3) has? I read on one review that it did not, but in most reviews/forums, they say the two tv's are the same except that one has 3d and one does not...... If anyone can answer this question it will be greatly appreciated.. I've asked vizio support, but they never got back to me.. Thanks..
It does they are the same minus the 3D in the "i"
PlayNice is offline  
post #1447 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 04:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Correct, Led zones below for M series


80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #1448 of 1581 Old 09-25-2014, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
One thing I like is how Pacific Rim fills the entire screen. Most movies only fill the middle and are wide screen format. It's look funny to me having an 80" screen and having huge black bars above and below the picture. What other good movies are full screen like Pacific Rim and look good?

I use XBMC and slightly stretch the image to avoid the big black bars...
NODES is offline  
post #1449 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 01:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
I use XBMC and slightly stretch the image to avoid the big black bars...
Oh nooo lol Oompa Loompas
PlayNice is offline  
post #1450 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 10:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
What's XBMC?

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #1451 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Dr.Savage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
What's XBMC?
Xbox Media Center: Original for modded Xboxes (original) and it started spawning on other devices, so it dropped the "Xbox" focus after that. But the name remained. That is a novice explanation. Never got into it too much.

xbmc.org
Dr.Savage is offline  
post #1452 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
What's XBMC?
Also look into "Plex" it's a good media server and viewer program built off of the XBMC framework.
PlayNice is offline  
post #1453 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 12:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Ah, ok, I know what you are talking about now. I forgot. BUT, I got my Vizio streaming any kind of file without needing xbox anymore! TVMobili will stream any file right through the stock vizio multimedia app

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
post #1454 of 1581 Old 09-26-2014, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
Ah, ok, I know what you are talking about now. I forgot. BUT, I got my Vizio streaming any kind of file without needing xbox anymore! TVMobili will stream any file right through the stock vizio multimedia app

No xbox required these days, I use the asus chromebox converted into openelec which has xbmc. Loving it!
NODES is offline  
post #1455 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
anyone using a Darbee with this tv set? any issues?
NODES is offline  
post #1456 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 05:27 PM
Member
 
ballers34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello everyone I was in my local Costco and they had this TV for 2999.99 but it was just a display model left the manger said make him an offer.... so my question is what would be a good offer I saw a used/refurbished one for 1500-1700 on amazon
ballers34 is offline  
post #1457 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballers34 View Post
Hello everyone I was in my local Costco and they had this TV for 2999.99 but it was just a display model left the manger said make him an offer.... so my question is what would be a good offer I saw a used/refurbished one for 1500-1700 on amazon

good luck getting it for anything under $2000.

The display models I have seen at a couple Costco's was in the $2599-2699 range.
NODES is offline  
post #1458 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Citivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
anyone using a Darbee with this tv set? any issues?
I used Darbee through the Oppo 103D on this set when I had it and it was fine.
Citivas is offline  
post #1459 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
anyone using a Darbee with this tv set? any issues?
I use the Oppo 103D as well it works very well.
PlayNice is offline  
post #1460 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES View Post
anyone using a Darbee with this tv set? any issues?
I use the Oppo 103D as well and it's impressive.
PlayNice is offline  
post #1461 of 1581 Old 09-27-2014, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Citivas View Post
I used Darbee through the Oppo 103D on this set when I had it and it was fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayNice View Post
I use the Oppo 103D as well and it's impressive.

Great looking at one on Craigslist for $200 locally.
NODES is offline  
post #1462 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 05:50 AM
Member
 
brisc0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off, I got the 801i-A3 from Sams Club but feel this is the best thread to discuss this set... (disclaimer). Now, my thoughts on it. I really wanted this to work out because the size is incredible but I am constantly second guessing myself on the PQ. It has moments when watching a blu-ray where it can be suddenly stunning but overall watching Comcast is a 6/10 experience and that is how my family primarily consumes content. I am also just north of 9 feet from the set on my couch and feel like that floats slightly between ideal and too close for the PPI of the 80".

I tried calibrating with WOW and settings on this site (Thanks @PlayNice I appreciate it) and could never get red where I was happy with it and again, Comcast for the most part look terrible (TiVo Roamio Pro, 1080P/1080P24fps settings) All in all for three grand I needed to feel like I got it all and this set just didn't do it.

Anyhow I decided to put down another $500 and go for the UN75H7150AFXZA. I hope between bumping to a little bit more premium set plus giving up the 5" for increase PPI and a little more flexibility on my 9 feet of viewing distance it will be satisfying.

Good luck 801M folks, I have enjoyed this thread immensely but now I have to box this big SOB up and haul it back to Sams.

Thanks again
brisc0 is offline  
post #1463 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 638
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by brisc0 View Post
First off, I got the 801i-A3 from Sams Club but feel this is the best thread to discuss this set... (disclaimer). Now, my thoughts on it. I really wanted this to work out because the size is incredible but I am constantly second guessing myself on the PQ. It has moments when watching a blu-ray where it can be suddenly stunning but overall watching Comcast is a 6/10 experience and that is how my family primarily consumes content. I am also just north of 9 feet from the set on my couch and feel like that floats slightly between ideal and too close for the PPI of the 80".

I tried calibrating with WOW and settings on this site (Thanks @PlayNice I appreciate it) and could never get red where I was happy with it and again, Comcast for the most part look terrible (TiVo Roamio Pro, 1080P/1080P24fps settings) All in all for three grand I needed to feel like I got it all and this set just didn't do it.

Anyhow I decided to put down another $500 and go for the UN75H7150AFXZA. I hope between bumping to a little bit more premium set plus giving up the 5" for increase PPI and a little more flexibility on my 9 feet of viewing distance it will be satisfying.

Good luck 801M folks, I have enjoyed this thread immensely but now I have to box this big SOB up and haul it back to Sams.

Thanks again

Try this with color at 40 and tint at -1 using the Calibrated preset as a starting point
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	136.5 KB
ID:	283626  

Vizio 80" 3D LED M801D-A3 SpectraCal-CalMAN 5
Onkyo TX-NR818 w/ Polk Monitor 50 (Fronts), Onkyo SK-520 (Surronds), SKW-770 (Sub)
Win 8.1 PC i7 3930k, 2 Crossfire 280X's, 32GB RAM | Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.3Ghz, 16 GB RAM w/ PLEX
Roku 3
Oppo BDP-103D
Xbox One, PS4, Xbox 360 S, PS3 Slim
Harmony 700
PlayNice is offline  
post #1464 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
mordbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
9ft is pretty close for an 1080p 80in and Comcast transmits in 1080i which doesn't help. I sit about 10ft from a 65' panny VT50 and it still looks grainy. This is why I couldn't buy into 4k yet. 1080p isn't a fully adopted yet. I sit about 16' from my M801d so its cool.
mordbane is online now  
post #1465 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
njfoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mordbane View Post
9ft is pretty close for an 1080p 80in and Comcast transmits in 1080i which doesn't help. I sit about 10ft from a 65' panny VT50 and it still looks grainy. This is why I couldn't buy into 4k yet. 1080p isn't a fully adopted yet. I sit about 16' from my M801d so its cool.
Actually 9' is about the max distance where you can see the benefits of 1080p on an 80" set. At your 16' distance you might as well have a 480p set. http://s3.carltonbale.com/resolution_chart.html
njfoses is offline  
post #1466 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 01:44 PM
Member
 
mordbane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by njfoses View Post
Actually 9' is about the max distance where you can see the benefits of 1080p on an 80" set. At your 16' distance you might as well have a 480p set.
Are you looking at the same chart you posted? 480p is equivalent to 1080p on an 80" at more like 25 ft. At 16ft 720p and 1080p are more equivalent. Two resolutions at most people can't tell (or don't care) the difference.
mordbane is online now  
post #1467 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Torn

I've been reading three threads allll day including this one..
I have two questions, and I thank you all in advance.

Knowing what you know now.. would you buy this set again or buy the newer 70 inch with no 3D but with 32 zones instead of 16 zones for better picture quality?

Also, Does anyone own this 80 in set in an apt/condo?
My current sofa is about 7-8ft away from my tv and I dont want this behemoth to be overkill or be too close to it?
This 80 in model or the newer 2014 70 in M series set?
truerogue76 is offline  
post #1468 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 10:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerogue76 View Post
I've been reading three threads allll day including this one..
I have two questions, and I thank you all in advance.

Knowing what you know now.. would you buy this set again or buy the newer 70 inch with no 3D but with 32 zones instead of 16 zones for better picture quality?

Also, Does anyone own this 80 in set in an apt/condo?
My current sofa is about 7-8ft away from my tv and I dont want this behemoth to be overkill or be too close to it?
This 80 in model or the newer 2014 70 in M series set?


Without testing driving one, I would still pick the 80 for the shear size.
NODES is offline  
post #1469 of 1581 Old 09-28-2014, 10:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by brisc0 View Post
First off, I got the 801i-A3 from Sams Club but feel this is the best thread to discuss this set... (disclaimer). Now, my thoughts on it. I really wanted this to work out because the size is incredible but I am constantly second guessing myself on the PQ. It has moments when watching a blu-ray where it can be suddenly stunning but overall watching Comcast is a 6/10 experience and that is how my family primarily consumes content. I am also just north of 9 feet from the set on my couch and feel like that floats slightly between ideal and too close for the PPI of the 80".

I tried calibrating with WOW and settings on this site (Thanks @PlayNice I appreciate it) and could never get red where I was happy with it and again, Comcast for the most part look terrible (TiVo Roamio Pro, 1080P/1080P24fps settings) All in all for three grand I needed to feel like I got it all and this set just didn't do it.

Anyhow I decided to put down another $500 and go for the UN75H7150AFXZA. I hope between bumping to a little bit more premium set plus giving up the 5" for increase PPI and a little more flexibility on my 9 feet of viewing distance it will be satisfying.

Good luck 801M folks, I have enjoyed this thread immensely but now I have to box this big SOB up and haul it back to Sams.

Thanks again

I would go with a 70 instead.
NODES is offline  
post #1470 of 1581 Old 09-29-2014, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 50
80"

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - M801d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off