Vizio 80" M801D-A3 owners thread - Page 69 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 231Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2015, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 45
After I buy a expensive product I try to refrain from looking at new stuff for at least a couple years so I don't know much about what's out there now but I'm still real happy with this display. And it reaffirms my purchase when I have new friends or relatives view it and go wow. Then they ask me what I paid for it and I don't hesitate to tell them.
NODES likes this.
rotohead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-20-2015, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohead View Post
After I buy a expensive product I try to refrain from looking at new stuff for at least a couple years so I don't know much about what's out there now but I'm still real happy with this display. And it reaffirms my purchase when I have new friends or relatives view it and go wow. Then they ask me what I paid for it and I don't hesitate to tell them.

Good advice I am passing this onto the wife, she likes to buy new shiny things rather quickly.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.

Last edited by NODES; 11-20-2015 at 08:32 PM.
NODES is offline  
Old 11-25-2015, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
My local Costco now has the 80" 4k tv. I couldn't tell much of a difference. But those sitting 13 feet away won't notice either.

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
Old 11-28-2015, 11:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
My local Costco now has the 80" 4k tv. I couldn't tell much of a difference. But those sitting 13 feet away won't notice either.

what is the cost on that bad boy?

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 11:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by nodes View Post
what is the cost on that bad boy?
$3,800
Jasonn B is offline  
Old 11-29-2015, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasonn B View Post
$3,800
$3,499 at Costco until tomorrow.
laserjock II is online now  
Old 12-29-2015, 06:08 AM
Member
 
jjmpeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Turned on my M801d-A3 today after being gone for a week. Saw a popup about a firmware update but it was gone before I could read it. Checked my settings and saw the active firmware was 1.60.10-028.0090. Didn't have a chance to see what, if anything, changed.
phildaant likes this.
jjmpeters is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I also got this firmware today: V1.60.10-028.0090

Wondering what the changes are.
phildaant likes this.

BenQ W1070/Silver Ticket 120"/Denon X4200W/Infinity Primus | Vizio 80" 3D LED M801D-A3 w/ Denon X3200W/Infinity Primus | Sony Bravia XBR-60LX900 w/ Sony HTCT550W 3D Sound Bar | Sony SXRD KDS-R70XBR2 w/ Onkyo HT-S770 | Sony PS3 (Slim) | DIRECTV Genie HR44-500, C41s | Harmony 700
bigcat is offline  
Old 01-07-2016, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bigcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I also got this firmware today: V1.60.10-028.0090

Wondering what the changes are.
phildaant likes this.

BenQ W1070/Silver Ticket 120"/Denon X4200W/Infinity Primus | Vizio 80" 3D LED M801D-A3 w/ Denon X3200W/Infinity Primus | Sony Bravia XBR-60LX900 w/ Sony HTCT550W 3D Sound Bar | Sony SXRD KDS-R70XBR2 w/ Onkyo HT-S770 | Sony PS3 (Slim) | DIRECTV Genie HR44-500, C41s | Harmony 700
bigcat is offline  
Old 01-11-2016, 07:19 AM
Member
 
josephpearson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat View Post
I also got this firmware today: V1.60.10-028.0090

Wondering what the changes are.
I got it today. Also wondering.
josephpearson is offline  
Old 01-28-2016, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Anyone have any info on the new FW?
phildaant likes this.
laserjock II is online now  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 710 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Question TWC's DCX3200M P3 cable box's RC with a Vizio M801D-A3 HDTV?

Has anyone gotten it to work fully? Not all buttons work correctly or even work. Just some work like power, volume, etc. Mute is input button, etc. BTW, it is a 1056B03 RC. I tried 1758 code from http://www.urcsupport.com/html.php?page_id=618 which was better, but not all buttons work like channels.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by phildaant; 02-01-2016 at 10:16 PM.
phildaant is offline  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Has anyone gotten it to work fully? Not all buttons work correctly or even work. Just some work like power, volume, etc. Mute is input button, etc.

Thank you in advance.
What to work?
laserjock II is online now  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 710 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
What to work?
The HDTV.
phildaant is offline  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Mine works great.

Only thing I have modified is adding a 90° prism to the bottom of the remote IR sensor/receiver.
laserjock II is online now  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 710 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Mine works great.

Only thing I have modified is adding a 90° prism to the bottom of the remote IR sensor/receiver.
Hmm, so you were able to use your cable box's remote control to control the TV fully.
phildaant is offline  
Old 02-01-2016, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Hmm, so you were able to use your cable box's remote control to control the TV fully.
Yes, I have the TV set up on IR and the DirecTV DVR set up as RF.

Surround setup for BluRay, movies, etc.
laserjock II is online now  
Old 02-01-2016, 09:11 PM
Member
 
The Pup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Mine works great.

Only thing I have modified is adding a 90° prism to the bottom of the remote IR sensor/receiver.

Would you be willing to share any information on the prism setup? I assume this helps direct the IR signal to the Visio IR receiver (located in a non-optimal orientation with respect to the intended viewer).


Part link?
How did you install it?
Got pics?


Thanks in advance.
phildaant likes this.
The Pup is offline  
Old 02-12-2016, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pup View Post
Would you be willing to share any information on the prism setup? I assume this helps direct the IR signal to the Visio IR receiver (located in a non-optimal orientation with respect to the intended viewer).


Part link?
How did you install it?
Got pics?


Thanks in advance.
It's a Right-Angle Optical Glass Prism from Amazon sold by xUmp Science.

Shipping is almost as much as the prism but still under $10 total.

I used two thin strips of Velcro on each side of the prism and attached the other sides of the Velcro in the same orientation on the underside of the TV where the IR window is.

I tried double sided tape but it didn't seem to hold well enough.
laserjock II is online now  
Old 02-12-2016, 09:55 AM
Member
 
The Pup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
It's a Right-Angle Optical Glass Prism from Amazon sold by xUmp Science.

Shipping is almost as much as the prism but still under $10 total.

I used two thin strips of Velcro on each side of the prism and attached the other sides of the Velcro in the same orientation on the underside of the TV where the IR window is.

I tried double sided tape but it didn't seem to hold well enough.
Thanks.
The Pup is offline  
Old 02-25-2016, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
TXSTYLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Question

For those of you who use USB to playback movie files: (.avi .mp4) on this TV, I have realized this TV does NOT support .mkv files. Yet my Blu Ray player does (Toshiba and Panasonic). I have simply changed the name of the movie files to end with ".mp4" and in most cases this works. But what has happened is, those movie files that are DTS encoded, will NOT play audio??? This is strange because the TV clearly states on the box and manual that it does support DTS.
Any suggestions and input on this will be very helpful!
Also... What is the "most recent Firmware #"?

My Home Theater = Investment In My Entertainment!
TXSTYLE is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
TXSTYLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Lightbulb

ANYONE???

Here's a question.... My laptop sees my Vizio. I am trying to connect it so I can see or at least play audio or video from my laptop to my TV. But my laptop is asking for: "WPS PIN#".
Any ideas?
What is the latest Firware version you guys have?

My Home Theater = Investment In My Entertainment!
TXSTYLE is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXSTYLE View Post
ANYONE???

Here's a question.... My laptop sees my Vizio. I am trying to connect it so I can see or at least play audio or video from my laptop to my TV. But my laptop is asking for: "WPS PIN#".
Any ideas?
What is the latest Firware version you guys have?
I think what you are seeing is the wifi for the remote.
Version V1.60.10-028.0090
phildaant likes this.
rotohead is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
TXSTYLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohead View Post
I think what you are seeing is the wifi for the remote.
Version V1.60.10-028.0090
Thx for the reply. Glad to see you still hanging in there with your set. I have been tempted to change but for the $$$ there really isn't anything to make me want or need to change. I believe my next move will be 2017 and a TV that is High Dynamic Range capable.

My Home Theater = Investment In My Entertainment!
TXSTYLE is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 04:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern NV
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 45
My next purchase will probably be a couple years away hinging on 4K. I'm a Directv devotee so the word on the street is that's about two years away from being fully vetted and that would work ok for my budget. There is one thing that will be hard to do and that is downsize from this unit to something less the 80" in 4K. This is one of the purchases in my life that I will never regret.
TXSTYLE likes this.
rotohead is offline  
Old 02-28-2016, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXSTYLE View Post
ANYONE???

Here's a question.... My laptop sees my Vizio. I am trying to connect it so I can see or at least play audio or video from my laptop to my TV. But my laptop is asking for: "WPS PIN#".
Any ideas?
What is the latest Firware version you guys have?

Are you connecting laptop to tv via hdmi?

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 03-03-2016, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,195
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 436 Post(s)
Liked: 181
Has anyone upgraded to the 4K set from this one?
laserjock II is online now  
Old 03-07-2016, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Was great to watch UFC on this set.


Sorry, the forum reduced the size of this pic to 60kb. and it's not clear like it was!

80" Vizio LED - (60" Vizio plasma - retired)
Harmony 890 Remote
X10 Commander Iphone App = full control of lights, fireplace, pool, shades, from Iphone
X10 IR543 controller
Hunter Douglas motorized shades

 

Jasonn B is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NODES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohead View Post
My next purchase will probably be a couple years away hinging on 4K. I'm a Directv devotee so the word on the street is that's about two years away from being fully vetted and that would work ok for my budget. There is one thing that will be hard to do and that is downsize from this unit to something less the 80" in 4K. This is one of the purchases in my life that I will never regret.

I am sure in 2 years time there will be a 80+ 4K TV around the price we paid for ours.

Who needs 4K?... just go see your optometrist.
NODES is offline  
Old 03-13-2016, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jasonn B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I just got a new firmware update this week. Anyone know what they changed?
Jasonn B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Vizio M801d A3 80 Inch 3d Led Hdtv
taboola here
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off