Considering TV upgrade, could use some advice - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-13-2013, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi everyone, hope you're having a good weekend. I'm in the 'research' period of potentially upgrading my current tv. I actually really enjoy the TV I have now, but wanted to check out some new sets and possibly move the current one into my bedroom. I currently have a Samsung HL67A750, which has been pretty rock solid with the exception of the fan errors that I've had to address here and there.

My main reason for upgrading is I want something that is:
- A bit brighter, more crisp and has more of a 'pop' to the image (if that makes sense)
- Something that really makes gaming/HTPC/HD feeds shine. I'm a game developer so I'll be getting all the next gen consoles and I love my blu rays.
- Same relative screen size (67") or a tad bit bigger (no more than 75"). Would prefer now to go down in size unless there's something amazing I'm missing out by losing a couple inches.
- Preferably below 3K

I feel like the DLP LED sometimes lacks some of the 'pop' I'm seeing with some of the newer sets out there.

I'm not interested in:
- 4K sets, since this is pretty pointless to me right now and way out of my price range.

Things that are nice, but on the fence about:
- Wifi/Smart tv features, nice but not neccessary.
- 3D would be a bonus, but only if it's easy to setup - again though, not neccessary. The Samsung I have now is 3d ready, but I've yet to use it, primarily because I haven't looked into it too much and it was one of the first gen 3d tv's (I think) so I assumed the quality wouldn't be too amazing. Still, I'm not opposed to 3D if it looks great.

So far, I'm going based off amazon reviews. These are the sets I've found that are more recent and seem to be pretty solid. Thoughts, issues, suggestions or models I'm missing out on would be greatly appreciated!