All HDMI Ports not working. No Signal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 01:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisnelson7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All my HDMI ports on my LG 55 inch TV have gone out. They sometimes work for a few minutes and then it'll cut out and the no signal screen pops up. Its only 2 years old. I had it fixed through warranty last year, they replaced the "main PCB on unit". I can't fix it through through warranty again since it expired ( didn't feel the need to pay for it again since it was working perfectly.) My question is what is causing the HDMI ports to go out and How can I stop it from continuing to happen?
chrisnelson7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
RollTide2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 27
First i would see if they warranty their repair this may extend you coverage. If not you can order the boards from a online source a google search will generally produce some sources and youtube will have some how to videos. and person with basic mechanical electronic skills should be able to swap the board.
after the repair i would make sure i use a quality surge protector for my TV and all the devices that are connected to it. And then i personaly would replace the cable/sat box and bluray player and also any other devices connected. you might want to go ahead and get all new HDMI cables also. monoprice.com would be a good source.
RollTide2011 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisnelson7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll try LG again and see if they will. I called them a few days ago and they said theres nothing they can do since its out of warranty also said I can pay for a technician, but would cost $89.00 just for him to come out and between $150- $225 + tax for a repair. Would it be cheaper to do it myself? I've never repair a tv before is it hard? What kind of boards would I need to get?
Thanks!
-Chris
chrisnelson7 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 239
I would first look at your HDMI cables. Kind of cable, length, etc. You could always take one of your cables over to a friend's house and see if it works there. If it does, you could probably rule out the cable. Cheapest and easiest way to check before you start spending money and time on replacement boards.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisnelson7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

I would first look at your HDMI cables. Kind of cable, length, etc. You could always take one of your cables over to a friend's house and see if it works there. If it does, you could probably rule out the cable. Cheapest and easiest way to check before you start spending money and time on replacement boards.

I've tried it with a new HDMI cable and I have my direct tv box and ps3 with two different cables in different ports and it still does the same thing.
chrisnelson7 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-29-2013, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Then if you've ruled out the HDMI cables I guess you're left with repairing it yourself. Good luck. Per chance a hard reset of the tv might work.
Otto Pylot is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-02-2013, 08:32 AM
Member
 
dave00gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
whos your service provider? I can help you repair it too
dave00gt is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-04-2013, 12:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisnelson7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave00gt View Post

whos your service provider? I can help you repair it too
Thank you. Any help would be appreciated. I have direct tv.
chrisnelson7 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-04-2013, 12:12 AM
Member
 
dave00gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok first start of by looking for a mainboard for your tv, so put down model # then mainboard in search engine... If you have an eBay accnt I would buy one there but make sure they have a return policy, that way u can return it if u have too. , I'm really sure u have a mainboard issue, then u will walk u thru on how to repair it over the phone
dave00gt is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-10-2013, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
chrisnelson7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave00gt View Post

Ok first start of by looking for a mainboard for your tv, so put down model # then mainboard in search engine... If you have an eBay accnt I would buy one there but make sure they have a return policy, that way u can return it if u have too. , I'm really sure u have a mainboard issue, then u will walk u thru on how to repair it over the phone

Sorry for that late no reply. I have been out of town the past few days with no wifi or cell service. I called LG to see if they would repair their faulty repair, but I am waiting to be contacted back by them, but I have no hopes that they will. I do have a eBay, so I will look on there real soon. Before I try to fix it. I am going to wait to see if LG will repair it.
chrisnelson7 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg 55 Inch Led 3d Tv W Soundbar 55lm4700 , Playstation 3 80gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off