Samsung Power Cord Replacement - Where? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I need a replacement power cord for our Samsung flat panel and would prefer not to go the mail order route due to expediency. Are there any box stores that carry this cord?

Thanks
Closet Geek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Without knowing the type of power cord or the model number of the TV, I'd suggest Home Depot, Lowes or your local hardware store. Take the old power cord with you to match.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I thought all Samsung tv's use the same cord. Am I wrong about this? The cord was lost/misplaced during a move over the weekend.
Closet Geek is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 12:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
A power cord is a power cord. They are not brand specific. They follow a type and standard on each end.

For expediency, can you provide the make/model number of your TV? A replacement power cord should be around $5......... if we knew the type of connector on each end (which is probably something I have in my junk cable box in my basement).

Does it look like this?
https://www.andovercg.com/store/Cables/Power-Cords/New-US-Computer-LCD-Monitor-IEC320-C-13-to-NEMA-5-15P-6-Power-Cord-p4367.html

Help us, help you. smile.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Odds are it's just a basic power cable like Ratman mentioned.

It could also be something like this (this is what my current Vizio is):
500x1000px-LL-6f6cfdd3_DSC_1504.jpeg.

Either way, you could walk into most stores and get what you need for a few bucks.
waylo88 is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I appreciate that but its a three slot plug. I know what the cord looks like, I just can't seem to find any retailers that carry it locally. It seems I can only order it, which seems odd to me considering Samsung is a pretty popular brand, especially in the early goings of flat panel displays. Just seems weird to me.
Closet Geek is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 01:53 PM
Member
 
GatorJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
For a three prong plug try any computer store.
GatorJZ is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 07-29-2013, 11:29 PM
Newbie
 
alanajqwv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought all Samsung tv's use the same cord.
alanajqwv is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 04:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Please provide the MODEL number of your TV. Also, why not post the link or a picture of the cord you can only find online.
Ratman is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 06:02 AM
Member
 
calearne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This type of behavior really pisses me off.

People have been trying to help you but your not providing any useful information.

What a waste of time.
calearne is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Closet Geek is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
cord.jpg 10k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cord.jpg (10.3 KB, 81 views)
Closet Geek is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Considering my son has a 19 inch Samsung in his room and the same cord works for both tv's (tried and proven) I was assuming that Samsung power cords were universal. I also assumed that someone out here would have had to replace one for one reason or another by now and would know the type of connector. I appreciate any help anyone has to offer, thanks.
Closet Geek is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3875423


You shouldn't have to worry about the right angle plug.
Ratman is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,814
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 90
It also makes things easier if you provide your location(or nearest large city) in your profile, then we know what stores to suggest.
In my city I'd send you to Microcenter, they have tons of cables with ends like that. You may or may not need the right angle end, depending on how close to the wall your TV is. I think what upset calearne was if you had noted the model number in your OP and maybe even location it could have saved 12 posts.....
As others have noted TVs can have several different ends, the one you have is one of the most common but there are others smile.gif
http://www.microcenter.com/search/search_results.aspx?Ntt=right+angle+computer+power+cord&N=
jjeff is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
waylo88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by calearne View Post

This type of behavior really pisses me off.

People have been trying to help you but your not providing any useful information.

What a waste of time.

Seriously. Not only that, he's looking for the cord we've been talking about THE ENTIRE TIME! It's a basic power cable dude, not some obscure cable that is exclusive to Samsung. Radioshack, Walmart, Best Buy, etc... You can find one at any of those places. How are you unable to find one locally?
waylo88 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Well I won't further any discussion about my apparent broach of etiquette on this particular thread so I'll leave it at your suggestions are appreciated and useful for me. Thank you.
Closet Geek is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by alanajqwv View Post

I thought all Samsung tv's use the same cord.

They changed it.

My circa 2006 Sammy DLP uses the older cord like his, while my just purchased (literally last night) Sammy LED uses the newer two pronged one.


OP, you can have my old power cord, but you need to buy my DLP that goes with it. biggrin.gif

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Closet Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

They changed it.

My circa 2006 Sammy DLP uses the older cord like his, while my just purchased (literally last night) Sammy LED uses the newer two pronged one.


OP, you can have my old power cord, but you need to buy my DLP that goes with it. biggrin.gif

No thanks. I just got hosed buying a soda with a free straw! biggrin.gif
Closet Geek is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 286
For the time you spent trying to get an answer here, you could have bought one online and had it delivered already. biggrin.gif
Ratman is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 07-30-2013, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Closet Geek View Post

Are there any box stores that carry this cord?
Radio Shack, Best Buy, Walmart...
Colm is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off