PIP INFORMATION - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-29-2013, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jstbcaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
New to the forum

does anyone know how to get PIP to work on a samsung lcd tv-(7100 series) we have comcast cable ( bought an extra box also)
jstbcaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-30-2013, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jjeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 9,898
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I don't know the specifics of your TV but most TVs with PIP only allow one of the line inputs to be used for one picture and the other has to come from the TVs built in tuner. If you have cable and are using STBs this may not work for you. I guess you could use the modulated RF output from your cable box and tune to channel 3 on your TV but the quality would be analog and quite poor.
If one of the things you want to watch are clear QAM and tunable on your TVs tuner you could go that route but usually only locals and shopping type of channels are clear QAM and only locals will probably be in HD.
jjeff is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-30-2013, 02:59 PM
dfp
AVS Special Member
 
dfp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstbcaz View Post

Hi,
New to the forum

does anyone know how to get PIP to work on a samsung lcd tv-(7100 series) we have comcast cable ( bought an extra box also)
The Samsung PIP window will only display a signal from the internal tuner. Therefore, split your Comcast cable before the cablebox, feed one coax into the box and feed the second coax cable into the RF input on the TV. Set the Source to "TV", find Autoprogram in the Setup menu, and scan for cable channels. Comcast is still broadcasting all local channels in HD, and several other channels in SD, all off the coax cable (called in the clear). With the source set to TV, the TV's internal QAM tuner can access those HD channels on the entire screen using the Samsung remote: if NBC in your area is channel 4, press channel 4-1 on the remote to watch NBCHD.

To watch PIP, go back to using your Comcast box by selecting, with Source, the HDMI input it's connected to for the main window. Press Tools on the Samsung remote and turn on PIP. A small PIP window will appear. With the menu you can relocate it and resize it. Use the menu item to select the channel to watch, I believe you have to scroll through the ones you autoprogrammed.

If Comcast ever stops broadcasting local channels in HD, or, if you want the full complement of cable channels (CNN, ESPN, etc.) you could use a cheap second Comcast DTA box connected to the second coax cable and plugged into the RF input. The TV's internal NTSC analog tuner will allow you to view all cable channels in in the PIP window. Since the DTA outputs an analog signal, you'd select channel 3 with the PIP menu then use the DTA remote to change channels.

The PIP window also works off an antenna. With only an amplified indoor antenna, the TV's internal ATSC tuner can pick up local digital and HD broadcast stations within about 25 miles. Connect it to the RF input, scan for "Air" or "Antenna" channels, and display them in the PIP window.
dfp is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off