Official Panasonic TC-LxxE60,TC-5xLE64 & TC-LxxEM60 Owners' Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 271 Old 12-19-2013, 11:19 PM
Member
 
sneteric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

The flicker could be as simple as a handshake issue between the new LCD and the HD STB. The Panasonic Plasma set may be more tolerant to signal gradations from the HD STB. I ended up getting a new cable box when I switched from Panasonic Plasma to Panasonic LCD because of the handshake issue, my new set would go black after a few minutes if the cable box and AVR were not turned on along with the new TV in a specific order.

sneteric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 271 Old 12-23-2013, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Jason Walstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey guys, this thread has been really helpful setting up my in-laws 58E60. I am having a silly problem though, this set is hooked up via hdmi to directv but I've also used the Netflix app on the set. Where the problem happens is when I exit out of netflix, the set shows no signal from the directv genie. I have to basically turn the set off and back on to see the signal. Is there a different way to exit out of netflix besides the 'exit' button? I'm not sure what I am doing wrong or if this is just a goofy side effect of two devices not communicating well. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

Entertainment Landfill The Weekly Podcast Commentary of Film, Television and Pop Culture iTunes

XBL GT: The Jastrom

Jason Walstrom is offline  
post #213 of 271 Old 12-23-2013, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Couchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Walstrom View Post

Hey guys, this thread has been really helpful setting up my in-laws 58E60. I am having a silly problem though, this set is hooked up via hdmi to directv but I've also used the Netflix app on the set. Where the problem happens is when I exit out of netflix, the set shows no signal from the directv genie. I have to basically turn the set off and back on to see the signal. Is there a different way to exit out of netflix besides the 'exit' button? I'm not sure what I am doing wrong or if this is just a goofy side effect of two devices not communicating well. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
That's really odd.

Do you have the same experience using the YouTube app or any other app?
Couchy is offline  
post #214 of 271 Old 12-23-2013, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Jason Walstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I haven't tried any other apps, I will though and report back.

Entertainment Landfill The Weekly Podcast Commentary of Film, Television and Pop Culture iTunes

XBL GT: The Jastrom

Jason Walstrom is offline  
post #215 of 271 Old 12-25-2013, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 619
So, is everyone pretty much using the first posted calibration and just making some minor adjustments, or are there some different numbers to share?

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #216 of 271 Old 12-27-2013, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Union0015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post

So, is everyone pretty much using the first posted calibration and just making some minor adjustments, or are there some different numbers to share?

They are basically spot-on. I only had to make minor adjustments to my Brightness/Contrast based on the light levels in my room.
Union0015 is offline  
post #217 of 271 Old 12-27-2013, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Trentaferd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr266 View Post

So, is everyone pretty much using the first posted calibration and just making some minor adjustments, or are there some different numbers to share?

I've been using CNET's calibration for my cinema setting, and the lcdtvbuyingguide one for custom, and I use them in dark and brighter rooms respectively. I also set motion picture at, forgive me, mid, in order to improve the motion resolution, because I found it very noticeably poor without. Surprisingly, I haven't had much issue with soap opera effect except on a very few brief scenes in Game of Thrones. I've tried a couple of other blu-rays and haven't noticed it at all, and the motion resolution improvement is significant, even if it is still imperfect.

Edit: SOE is super noticeable on cable programming though, but I'm not having any trouble with it on blu-rays. I have no idea why this might be.
Trentaferd is offline  
post #218 of 271 Old 12-27-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Thanks guys. I set up my sister's 58in Panny with those settings and they were pretty much spot on with very minor tweaking. All motion enhancement is off and not only is the motion very good, I saw no SOE. Actually, everything about the set was very good. I sat and watched some soccer and tennis to check out the motion and they both looked great. She says it's a keeper and I'd have to agree.

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #219 of 271 Old 12-28-2013, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
jrp1311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a firmware update for the EM60 line? I don't see it on the support page.
jrp1311 is offline  
post #220 of 271 Old 01-01-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So is this sold out everywhere? Best buy not available for pick up or to be shipped. Not on Costco.com but will check in store tomorrow. Amazon only has a warehouse model.
Redrum509 is offline  
post #221 of 271 Old 01-01-2014, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
palosanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I cannot figure out how to enter a backspace with the remote numeric pad when I need to correct a mistake in my TC-L50E60 

Does anybody know how to do that?

Thanks

palosanto is offline  
post #222 of 271 Old 01-02-2014, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
mlm39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrison Twp. MI
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by garath View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by yanathin View Post

That's exactly what has me worried. It's almost TOO good. Why on earth is a reputable brand such as Panasonic selling a nicely styled 58" LED TV for less than $1000 at most places? What's wrong with this set that makes it so inexpensive?

Seems like nothing!

Well it isn't an IPS panel so the side viewing is probably pretty poor. But my consolation is there is a Sharp model very similar in size and features that is roughly the same price. I like the Panasonic a lot more though, if nothing else because of the improvement in input lag.


Don't believe it. The side viewing, for a LED/LCD panel is great!
mlm39 is offline  
post #223 of 271 Old 01-02-2014, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So anyone see this set in the wild still?
Redrum509 is offline  
post #224 of 271 Old 01-03-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
dan.crouthamel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orange County
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Walstrom View Post

I haven't tried any other apps, I will though and report back.

I'm using the settings found on the following link, with tweaks for my own personal preference.

http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/panasonic-lcd-tv/panasonic-e60-picture-settings.html
dan.crouthamel is offline  
post #225 of 271 Old 01-04-2014, 08:55 PM
Newbie
 
Drumitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone recommend the proper m6 length screws for the TC-L58E60 for wall mounting ?
Drumitar is offline  
post #226 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does anyone know where I can find a TC-L58E60?
Redrum509 is offline  
post #227 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 12:25 AM
Member
 
drowningape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrum509 View Post

So does anyone know where I can find a TC-L58E60?

This model is already out of stock in retail channels, and the price is jacked up high anywhere that still has any. Panasonic has shifted production to the 2014 models, so I'd hold off.

Forged in the fires of Mount Doom
drowningape is offline  
post #228 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drowningape View Post

This model is already out of stock in retail channels, and the price is jacked up high anywhere that still has any. Panasonic has shifted production to the 2014 models, so I'd hold off.

Forged in the fires of Mount Doom

When the new models are released won't they be more than $899-999.99??
Redrum509 is offline  
post #229 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a Panasonic 58LE64 at Costco yesterday for $899. From what I read online this TV has the same specs as the TC-L58E60. I believe the 58LE64 maybe a little bit newer?

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/TC-58LE64


Thank you
SLUDGE is offline  
post #230 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
SteveXs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Telkwa, BC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Annoying problem

Hey guys, just picked up a TC-L58E60 and right away I'm noticing a very annoying problem.

With my STB set to 720p I get very jittery text and occasionally jittery picture on the screen. I unplugged the HDMI cable from the TV and plugged it into my old TV and the jittery text went away. I reset the TV to factory default but nothing changed. However, if I set the STB to 1080i the problem is gone. Any ideas what could cause this?

The other thing I have noticed is the 720p picture looks very oversharpened compared to 1080i. I have my sharpness set to 0, but in 720p it looks too sharp and the high contrast pixelated areas are the areas that are jittery on the screen.

My best guess is the TV is having a hard time trying to display the 720p signal. I'm going to find some component cables to see if there is a difference. Changing the input on TV did not make a difference, nor did changing the HDMI cable.

My settings are pretty close to factory default with the contrast, backlight, and brightness lowered, sharpness set to 0, and every 'feature' set to OFF.
SteveXs2 is offline  
post #231 of 271 Old 01-08-2014, 11:46 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLUDGE View Post

I picked up a Panasonic 58LE64 at Costco yesterday for $899. From what I read online this TV has the same specs as the TC-L58E60. I believe the 58LE64 maybe a little bit newer?

http://shop.panasonic.com/shop/model/TC-58LE64


Thank you


Congrats. I went to one of my costcos and they didn't have any. I will check another 1 this weekend. Was the tv reduced to clear or something? How many where left at your store? Thanks
Redrum509 is offline  
post #232 of 271 Old 01-09-2014, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrum509 View Post

Congrats. I went to one of my costcos and they didn't have any. I will check another 1 this weekend. Was the tv reduced to clear or something? How many where left at your store? Thanks

Once the price dropped, it seems like most of the Costco's have sold out of this tv. If you see one, and want it, you should definitely jump on it.

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #233 of 271 Old 01-09-2014, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea. Hopefully the 2nd costco in my city has 1 but I doubt it.
Redrum509 is offline  
post #234 of 271 Old 01-10-2014, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
roadieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. I bought a Panny TC-50LE64 last month and picture wise it's been great.

At the moment I am not connected to any cable or TV provider and basically just watch netflix through the TV. When watching Netflix through the TV's app everything is great but when I watch through my Roku 3 via HDMI I have lipsync issues. It seems that the voice is very slightly ahead of the image. It's very slight but enough to be noticeable and annoying. I tried some of the other apps on the Roku and the lipsync is still there so it's definitely not just Netflix. Watching youtube or any of the other apps directly from the TV I have no lipsync issue so the problem is through the HDMI. Unfortunately I don't have any other device I can try through the HDMI to see if it's a problem with the Roku.

I've calibrated my TV to the settings mentioned earlier in this thread and all image processing is off. Does anyone else have lipsync issues? Is there any way I can fix this? I'm very happy with the TV otherwise.

The setup is very simple Roku > HDMI > TV. No receivers or anything else in the signal path.
roadieman is offline  
post #235 of 271 Old 01-10-2014, 10:27 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me how to turn off the TVs speakers? I have a sound bar and I can't figure it out. Driving me nuts. Thanks
Redrum509 is offline  
post #236 of 271 Old 01-11-2014, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
roadieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are peoples experiences with the built in Youtube app? I'm finding that the videos will play fine for the first ten or so minutes then they start jerking and stop starting as if it's buffering. It'll play for 2 seconds then pause for 2-3 seconds then play for 2s then pause etc...

I'm using wi-fi on the TV on the 5Ghz frequency to my router. When playing the same youtube videos on my laptop also over wifi they don't skip stop start at all. So does the youtube app on the TV have a really small buffer or is the wifi card pants? Saying that netflix will stream at 1080 all day long without dropping to a lower resolution so I don't think the wifi card is the issue.

What's everyone else's experience like?
roadieman is offline  
post #237 of 271 Old 01-11-2014, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadieman View Post

What are peoples experiences with the built in Youtube app? I'm finding that the videos will play fine for the first ten or so minutes then they start jerking and stop starting as if it's buffering. It'll play for 2 seconds then pause for 2-3 seconds then play for 2s then pause etc...

I'm using wi-fi on the TV on the 5Ghz frequency to my router. When playing the same youtube videos on my laptop also over wifi they don't skip stop start at all. So does the youtube app on the TV have a really small buffer or is the wifi card pants? Saying that netflix will stream at 1080 all day long without dropping to a lower resolution so I don't think the wifi card is the issue.

What's everyone else's experience like?

I just bought my set yesterday, I used youtube for awhile today and had no problems at all. Played smoothly and in HD.
Redrum509 is offline  
post #238 of 271 Old 01-12-2014, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Redrum509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know the size of screws I need to fit the back of the 58 inch model? My walmount screws don't fit.
Redrum509 is offline  
post #239 of 271 Old 01-12-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mr266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redrum509 View Post

Anyone know the size of screws I need to fit the back of the 58 inch model? My walmount screws don't fit.

According to the manual: Screws for attaching the TV to the wall-hanging bracket - Depth of screw:
(for 50")
Minimum: 0.71 ” (18.0 mm)
Maximum: 0.78 ” (20.0 mm)
(for 58")
Minimum: 0.60 ” (15.0 mm)
Maximum: 0.66 ” (17.0 mm)

WDTV Live SMP with 5TB HDD & KDLINKS 3.0 5Gbps 7 Ports Hub
Polk RTI8 Front, Polk CSI5 Center, Polk RTI4 Surround
MTX SW2 12” SUB
Sharp AQUOS LC-70C6400U
URC-WR7 Universal Remote
Motorola QIP7232 (P2) FIOS DVR
Sony BDP-S590 Blu Ray Player
Panasonic SA-HE100 AVR
Technics SL-B20 Turntable
mr266 is online now  
post #240 of 271 Old 01-12-2014, 07:25 PM
Member
 
Couchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadieman View Post

What are peoples experiences with the built in Youtube app? I'm finding that the videos will play fine for the first ten or so minutes then they start jerking and stop starting as if it's buffering. It'll play for 2 seconds then pause for 2-3 seconds then play for 2s then pause etc...

I'm using wi-fi on the TV on the 5Ghz frequency to my router. When playing the same youtube videos on my laptop also over wifi they don't skip stop start at all. So does the youtube app on the TV have a really small buffer or is the wifi card pants? Saying that netflix will stream at 1080 all day long without dropping to a lower resolution so I don't think the wifi card is the issue.

What's everyone else's experience like?
No issues for me.
Couchy is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Panasonic Tc L58e60 58 Inch Smart Led Hdtv , Panasonic Tc L50e60 50 Inch Smart Led Hdtv
Gear in this thread - L50e60 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off