Sony 65W850a reviews - Page 101 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3001 of 4312 Old 05-09-2014, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Looks like Amazon has 4 of the W850a sets to sell new for $1998 though a 3rd party Sony authorized dealer, Video & Audio Center. So if you recently bought this set for a higher price you should easily be able to get a price match from your seller.

Sony's homepage recently shows this set for $1999.99
WhiteSands is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3002 of 4312 Old 05-09-2014, 11:13 PM
 
MJMcMahon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
well, it seems my "luck" (or more to the point, lack thereof) continues in TV Land! I had my TV mounted today. Despite taking some pretty exact measurements, I apparently didn't buffer them enough and now my B&W HTM61 is sitting just high enough to block the IR receiver on the set. I thought "no problem - I'll just grab the IR blaster for my Logitech remote and put it behind the speaker" but, of course, I can't FIND the other IR blaster! From what I can tell, there's a "remote input" on the back of the set, but I don't know whether I can just run a 1/8" cable from the back of the Harmony RF/IR translator to that input, or...???

any help would be appreciated!

Mike (the Unlucky) frown.gif
MJMcMahon is offline  
post #3003 of 4312 Old 05-09-2014, 11:46 PM
 
MJMcMahon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Disregard - I managed to switch over the IR blaster to control the TV and the new TV position (along with a little extra distance) seems to have addressed the issues I'd had with control on the DirecTV receiver.

Mike (the not ENTIRELY unlucky) wink.gif
WhiteSands likes this.
MJMcMahon is offline  
post #3004 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 04:41 AM
Member
 
mlamanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally got to spend some quality time with my new w850a. I'm in love!!! Picture is fantastic! 3d blows me away!!
Thank you to everyone here for your posts on settings, especially Whitesands. One question, is there a way to quickly move from vivid to standard to custom with one touch of a button, ie: no menu? I had this on my universal remote with my old Sony tv and it still worked with the w850a, but when i updated the remote to the new tv I lost it
WhiteSands likes this.
mlamanna is offline  
post #3005 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 02:16 PM
Member
 
mis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlamanna View Post

Finally got to spend some quality time with my new w850a. I'm in love!!! Picture is fantastic! 3d blows me away!!
Thank you to everyone here for your posts on settings, especially Whitesands. One question, is there a way to quickly move from vivid to standard to custom with one touch of a button, ie: no menu? I had this on my universal remote with my old Sony tv and it still worked with the w850a, but when i updated the remote to the new tv I lost it

I like to know how to do this as well with my Logitech remote.

I watch mostly cable TV and depending on the data source (program, channel), I switch between Standard and Custom (Whitesands) a lot.
mis3 is offline  
post #3006 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 02:38 PM
Member
 
mlamanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mis3 View Post

I like to know how to do this as well with my Logitech remote.

I watch mostly cable TV and depending on the data source (program, channel), I switch between Standard and Custom (Whitesands) a lot.

I have an 880 and it worked on the w850a with my old sony settings. But when I updated all was lost.. I got pop up window on the lower left that just said "standard" etc. Changed with a tap of a button each time.. I want to get this back!
mlamanna is offline  
post #3007 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 03:28 PM
Member
 
GT1Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA, USA
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlamanna View Post

I have an 880 and it worked on the w850a with my old sony settings. But when I updated all was lost.. I got pop up window on the lower left that just said "standard" etc. Changed with a tap of a button each time.. I want to get this back!

If you add the old model Sony TV as a device and then add it as an additional device to the activities you need, you can then add the old TV's buttons to that activity in the Harmony Remote Software. I just tested it with my Harmony 900 by adding a KDL-32S2010 that had a Picture Mode button on its remote as a new device and was able to customize my Watch TV activity to include a soft button for Picture Mode that toggles between Standard, Custom, and Vivid on my 65w850a when pressed.
GT1Boy is offline  
post #3008 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Member
 
mlamanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Excellent!! Don't know why I didn't think of that.....ah yes I do..lol will give it a shot tomorrow thanks
WhiteSands likes this.
mlamanna is offline  
post #3009 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 4,211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT1Boy View Post

If you add the old model Sony TV as a device and then add it as an additional device to the activities you need, you can then add the old TV's buttons to that activity in the Harmony Remote Software. I just tested it with my Harmony 900 by adding a KDL-32S2010 that had a Picture Mode button on its remote as a new device and was able to customize my Watch TV activity to include a soft button for Picture Mode that toggles between Standard, Custom, and Vivid on my 65w850a when pressed.

Just tried it! It works with my XBR-65-X900A, too! The sleep button works, too.

My Sony KDS-32EX308 also has a "Theater" button that changes the Scene Select to Cinema, and a "Scene" button that brings up the Scene Select menu. Works on the current TVs, too.

I used to have remote codes for adjusting sharpness, contrast, and a few more settings directly. But when Harmony changed their software, I lost all of them. frown.gif

If anything, I'd love something that could select Game Mode directly;. I was hoping that the PS3 3D Display would have it, but it doesn't. frown.gif

Josh - GamerTag: ShapeGSX PSN: ShapeGSX
'97 Eclipse GSX - 11.825@117.55mph in the 1/4
Shape is offline  
post #3010 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 05:59 PM
Member
 
supaflyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok after tweaking some settings (Thank you Jim-WhiteSands) the picture look much better and very crisp. I really like this tv. The 65 inch is very nice.
WhiteSands likes this.
supaflyz is offline  
post #3011 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlamanna View Post

Is there a way to quickly move from vivid to standard to custom with one touch of a button, ie: no menu?

From a phone call to Sony over a month ago they emailed me with a form asking what would I like to see to improve their sets. Something to that effect, so I ask for a button on the remote making it easy to select from the 3 main picture-modes, vivid, standard and custom. I don't know if it will ever happen as it would sure save time messing with the Options screen.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3012 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Screen shot.

MikeCandler and steve1971 like this.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3013 of 4312 Old 05-10-2014, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Hawkmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cayloe View Post

My tweaked settings using the Xbox One calibration tool:

Backlight 6
Picture Max
Brightness 58
Color 54
Hue 0
Color Temp Warm 1
Sharpness 80

When using Sharpness at 80, does that not make things look really jagged? I leave mine at 50. I use the dashboard and the white text on the tiles and adjust sharpness until the text looks clean, but not jagged. A setting of 80 would make things really overblown and fine details would not look as clean. I did increase the Picture setting, did not use max but took it up 2-3 points higher and it does look a little better to me now. I also dabbled in changing to Warm 2 and for gaming instead of my normal Warm 1 and found that Warm 1 was introducing a little too much blue that is commonly seen in normal or cool settings. Still messing with settings, but loving the picture more and more with my games.

Hey Whitesands, can you post your settings that you use for every day TV watching? I want to try some other settings with the set.
WhiteSands likes this.

-Hawkmoon
Hawkmoon is offline  
post #3014 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 01:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
New screen shot from my TV.

steve1971 likes this.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3015 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 44
nice screen shot WS, but would you mind posting some movie screen shots? Don't get me wrong, you can't go wrong with nature, but I'd like to see how your settings look with movie based content, if you don't mind, thanks!
WhiteSands likes this.
teckademic is offline  
post #3016 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 08:33 AM
Member
 
Cayloe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkmoon View Post

When using Sharpness at 80, does that not make things look really jagged? I leave mine at 50. I use the dashboard and the white text on the tiles and adjust sharpness until the text looks clean, but not jagged. A setting of 80 would make things really overblown and fine details would not look as clean. I did increase the Picture setting, did not use max but took it up 2-3 points higher and it does look a little better to me now. I also dabbled in changing to Warm 2 and for gaming instead of my normal Warm 1 and found that Warm 1 was introducing a little too much blue that is commonly seen in normal or cool settings. Still messing with settings, but loving the picture more and more with my games.

No jaggies with my sharpness at 80. Dashboard text is crisp and nothing is overblown. Works well for me, games look great!
WhiteSands likes this.
Cayloe is offline  
post #3017 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 09:27 AM
Member
 
ibanezjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by teckademic View Post

How high do you have the backlight? Mine does the same, but not as bad and I have mine set to 3 since I watch in a dark room
Sorry been busy moving last 2 days and haven't had a chance to reply. Thanks for taking the pic, it gives me something to compare. I have my backlight on max. When I turned it to 3 it's better but not quite as good as yours. I tried taking a pic last night but for some reason the cell phone camera made it look worse and grainy than it looks to the naked eye. I might have to try wth my real camera. If I can get a pic with that I'll post it. WhiteSands to your point yes I agree with a good signal I don't notice many problems with the backlight. When things are pillar boxed on a standard def channel the sides are very black even when the middle is bright. I'm noticing the banding more on baseball games but sometimes I wonder how much of it comes from the source signal (directv) having compression noise. I need to find a blu ray with some good scenes to test banding. Any suggestions?
ibanezjp is offline  
post #3018 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Fairfax-Franko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by teckademic View Post

nice screen shot WS, but would you mind posting some movie screen shots? Don't get me wrong, you can't go wrong with nature, but I'd like to see how your settings look with movie based content, if you don't mind, thanks!

I'm using WhiteSands' settings and they look great. My son and I watched Pacific Rim and the color was fantastic. All I have is a camera phone, so I can't get the great photos that WhiteSands gets.
WhiteSands likes this.
Fairfax-Franko is offline  
post #3019 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Quote:
Originally Posted by teckademic View Post

nice screen shot WS, but would you mind posting some movie screen shots? Don't get me wrong, you can't go wrong with nature, but I'd like to see how your settings look with movie based content, if you don't mind, thanks!

I will send you a few by PM.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3020 of 4312 Old 05-11-2014, 11:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
The excessive blues in this older screen shot may be due to me having the color temperature set to cool when my set was rather new.

steve1971 likes this.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3021 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 10:49 AM
Member
 
hwan_td's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just ordered this TV and I can't wait to receive it. I'm upgrading from a 5 years old 52W4100.

WhiteSands, can you please PM me your settings? Thank you so much in advance and also for all the info and great screenshots biggrin.gif
WhiteSands likes this.
hwan_td is online now  
post #3022 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Finally got to input WhiteSands settings (thanks!) and do some casual watching (cable & Netflix) over the weekend. I'm super impressed so far. Blows away the 55" SXRD it replaced except for the anemic flat panel sound, which was cured by running it through my older Denon 3806. Previously we had been watching TV through the TV's internal speakers and Netflix, and other sources through the Denon/Monitor Audio/SVS system. Overall we are extremely pleased, especially for the price (with EPP)
WhiteSands likes this.
KRiS1 is offline  
post #3023 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If anyone is on the fence, use code SLICKDEALSW850A at checkout to knock the proce down to 1799. With EPP 1599. I tried calling to get an adjustment to my order from 2 weeks ago and Sony was unwilling to do so. I'll try to do so again later after work.
WhiteSands likes this.
KRiS1 is offline  
post #3024 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
domingos38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Whats EPP?
WhiteSands likes this.
domingos38 is offline  
post #3025 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by domingos38 View Post

Whats EPP?

Employee Purchase Plan

I think
WhiteSands likes this.
KRiS1 is offline  
post #3026 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 03:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
domingos38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Do you need some code?
WhiteSands likes this.
domingos38 is offline  
post #3027 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by domingos38 View Post

Do you need some code?

AAA membership, or work for a company that has a relationship with Sony and offers the program. I had signed up after seeing it on our employee intranet.
WhiteSands likes this.
KRiS1 is offline  
post #3028 of 4312 Old 05-12-2014, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
slimdim185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post

Done..
Hi Whitesands,
I too would like to request if you could send me a copy of your settings. Just ordered the tv today. Can't wait!!!!
WhiteSands likes this.
slimdim185 is offline  
post #3029 of 4312 Old 05-13-2014, 12:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Just when I thought this set's sales was going downhill. Today I got seven more request for my settings. Most say their set recently arrived or will in a few days. The request today are from, hwan_td and slimdim185 from yesterday's forums. Others by PM were, sladams221, Stoneguy, TheGr1z, kincade and JonSmith.

Evidently this set is selling very well but for how long who knows for sure.
steve1971 and MrJH like this.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3030 of 4312 Old 05-13-2014, 04:51 AM
Member
 
mis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post

Just when I thought this set's sales was going downhill. Today I got seven more request for my settings. Most say their set recently arrived or will in a few days. The request today are from, hwan_td and slimdim185 from yesterday's forums. Others by PM were, sladams221, Stoneguy, TheGr1z, kincade and JonSmith.

Can you please send me your settings again? I noticed your modified (or simplified) your settings a few weeks ago.
Standatdnut likes this.
mis3 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread - Xbr65x850a by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off