Sony 65W850a reviews - Page 109 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 385Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3241 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 01:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I saw the 65W850A at Fry's today for $1499.

http://www.frys.com/product/7887519?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

(in-store only)

LG 65LA9650 (upgraded)
Onkyo TX-SR876
ADS L520 fronts
BIC Acoustech PL-26 center
Mirage Omnisat V2 surrounds
Minix NEO X8-H Plus Android media box
Bill Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3242 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 06:29 AM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
For those who notice the brighter sides on this TV , what Eco setting are you using? I notice that if I set mine to low it does make it better. I need to pull up the brightness test from my Disney wow disc to see if it has a negative effect from that standpoint. I'm hoping it minimizes it without crushing the blacks.

All in all this is great TV that can serve many purposes well. General TV watching, movies, and gaming.

I'd also like to give a shout out to WS for is great pics and helpful posts.
guvadc is offline  
post #3243 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
MikeCandler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Still do not have my TV unfortunately, I ordered it on May 14 and "Air Group " logistics has been I think trying to deliver it via donkey to Michigan lol. It has been a frustrating wait but am being told it will be "delivered tomorrow"
MikeCandler is offline  
post #3244 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Bamafan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
So I have been having a few issues besides the blotchy, blocky looking mess during black scenes. The set has gone in and out of 3D mode by itself and sometimes Netflix doesn't work. You have to power off the set and go into applications because it says the feature is not available after pushing the Netflix button on the remote. Sony has decided to send out a service tech so Im a little bummed. Have any of you guys had these problems? What about the backlight flashing during dark scenes?
Bamafan22 is offline  
post #3245 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
^^^^

what settings are you using?

I sometimes notice a very subtle back light adjustment during dark scenes. I think its the LD, not that big of deal to me.
guvadc is offline  
post #3246 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Bamafan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'm using WS Vivid settings with the backlight turned down to 4. I have tried Standard, Custom, and Cinema settings. Vivid is the only setting where the dark scene issues aren't so bad. Have you experienced any of the other issues?
Bamafan22 is offline  
post #3247 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 395
We watched the entire season of Revolution over the long weekend and the blotchhyness and smearing during the many dark scenes was very annoying. Especially bad during a dark night scene with a face close up. It showed greenish halo shaped distortion. I pretty much am blaming this on the feed from NBC or the compression with Dish Network. Lowering the brightness levels helped as did turning on Scene Selection. I am using WS's setting with VIVID. Switching to CUSTOM or STANDARD made the problem worse. All bright daytime scenes were beautifuly perfect.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #3248 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Bamafan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Same problem Andy. I thought it was just my cable source however I watched a movie on Netflix and the problem was there as well. The fact the TV has switched over to 3D mode a few times as well has me worried a little. Not to mention having to power off the set in order to play Netflix.
Bamafan22 is offline  
post #3249 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
w850a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Called sony
They price matched the 1799! So I paid 1999 and now I got it reduced!
w850a is offline  
post #3250 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
GarethKeenan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by w850a View Post

Called sony
They price matched the 1799! So I paid 1999 and now I got it reduced!

When did you buy at 1999 from Sony?

Where is the 1799 price from? Sony itself (I assume so)?

Do they price match within a certain window (30 days?)

Thanks for any info!
GarethKeenan01 is offline  
post #3251 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
w850a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes
Yes
Yes
w850a is offline  
post #3252 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan22 View Post

Same problem Andy. I thought it was just my cable source however I watched a movie on Netflix and the problem was there as well. The fact the TV has switched over to 3D mode a few times as well has me worried a little. Not to mention having to power off the set in order to play Netflix.

I had some problem with Netflix many months ago. Sony had a update that I did and that fixed the problem. I still at times press the red Netflix button on the remote and it don't respond. I then open the Apps though the Home button and use Netflix that way.

I have never had my TV switch to the 3D mode. I'm assuming you have your set connected to your router to get the near monthly updates. You might need to do a full set reset which I will send you by PM to see if that helps..
,
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3253 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 11:01 AM
Member
 
ibanezjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan22 View Post

Same problem Andy. I thought it was just my cable source however I watched a movie on Netflix and the problem was there as well. The fact the TV has switched over to 3D mode a few times as well has me worried a little. Not to mention having to power off the set in order to play Netflix.

Wouldn't trust netflix either cause that's about same compression as cable. I get the blocky blacks all the time when watching channels like NBC or ABC. Just bad feed. I've never had it happen with 1080p source like blu-ray.
ibanezjp is offline  
post #3254 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
Bamafan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Maybe it is my feed. However the Sony tech still wanted to send out a service call on it. Going to try a hard reset on the TV that WS was kind enough to message me about. If that helps I will cancel the service call.
Bamafan22 is offline  
post #3255 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 11:29 AM
 
MJMcMahon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Bought my W850A May 1st and my retailer just dropped the price by $200. Price matching for the win!
WhiteSands likes this.
MJMcMahon is offline  
post #3256 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan22 View Post

I'm using WS Vivid settings with the backlight turned down to 4. I have tried Standard, Custom, and Cinema settings. Vivid is the only setting where the dark scene issues aren't so bad. Have you experienced any of the other issues?

I posted something earlier regarding the Eco power saving setting and not sure what yours is set to, but if it isn't set to low set it there and see if that helps.

Also,try cinema mode with the contrast no higher than 90 and brightness no higher than 50 if it isn't already. Backlight at 4 to 5 is about right. I go no higher than 5 (sometimes 3) for mine. Im in a darker environment.
WhiteSands likes this.
guvadc is offline  
post #3257 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Bamafan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by guvadc View Post

I posted something earlier regarding the Eco power saving setting and not sure what yours is set to, but if it isn't set to low set it there and see if that helps.
I will try this as well. My Eco setting is set to off.
WhiteSands likes this.
Bamafan22 is offline  
post #3258 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 01:59 PM
Member
 
DSquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I want to thank WS for his settings, can't wait to try them out.

I see Fry's has this for $1499, anyone have experience with Sony price matching Fry's?


Thanks!
WhiteSands likes this.
DSquare is offline  
post #3259 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 02:04 PM
Member
 
redcrow100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Coconut Creek, Florida
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Indeed, I have noticed that the ECO setting/ambient light sensor has a significant effect on the set. What do you guys have these settings on? It might be the reason why some of us think we're staring at the sun when using some of the settings mentioned here lol.

I currently have ECO power saving to OFF, but have the ambient light sensor set to ON. There is also a "scene select sync" setting that might have an effect as well.

Im debating whether I should turn off the ambient setting, and instead put the power saving to "low". Any thoughts?
WhiteSands likes this.
redcrow100 is offline  
post #3260 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
dizney23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Hi, I keep hearing about these amazing Whitesands settings. Would I please be able to have them?

 

Also I am wondering if anyone has tried the 3D on the 55 850a? I tried it on the newest Hobbit and the background and foreground in so many different scenes is kind of blurry. Its way to distracting. It seems as if the picture looses sharpness and clarity overall whenever I do 3D. I am using a 4K Sony Blu-Ray Player and I am wondering if maybe thats the issue? Does it handle 3D well? My previous non 4K Samsung had awesome 3D. It seems like this is a downgrade in terms of quality for 3D. Any thoughts??

WhiteSands likes this.
dizney23 is offline  
post #3261 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcrow100 View Post

Indeed, I have noticed that the ECO setting/ambient light sensor has a significant effect on the set. What do you guys have these settings on? It might be the reason why some of us think we're staring at the sun when using some of the settings mentioned here lol.

I currently have ECO power saving to OFF, but have the ambient light sensor set to ON. There is also a "scene select sync" setting that might have an effect as well.

Im debating whether I should turn off the ambient setting, and instead put the power saving to "low". Any thoughts?

I'd definitely turn off the ambient light sensor and turn power saving to low. Max disables backlight adjustment BTW.

I had an XBR9 and remembered that the power saving setting of low was ideal. On that set ,clouding was terrible and the low setting was needed to help with that. Sony had even said to set it to that if you noticed the clouding.
WhiteSands likes this.
guvadc is offline  
post #3262 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizney23 View Post

Hi, I keep hearing about these amazing Whitesands settings. Would I please be able to have them?

Also I am wondering if anyone has tried the 3D on the 55 850a? I tried it on the newest Hobbit and the background and foreground in so many different scenes is kind of blurry. Its way to distracting. It seems as if the picture looses sharpness and clarity overall whenever I do 3D. I am using a 4K Sony Blu-Ray Player and I am wondering if maybe thats the issue? Does it handle 3D well? My previous non 4K Samsung had awesome 3D. It seems like this is a downgrade in terms of quality for 3D. Any thoughts??

3D is good. But the passive displays will be better as the will have less if any crosstalk. This set does have crosstalk, but I still find the 3D decent and bright.
WhiteSands likes this.
guvadc is offline  
post #3263 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 462
One more sunset screen shot.

guvadc and steve1971 like this.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #3264 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,071
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 722 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Jimmie, that ain't NM. Ha
andy sullivan is offline  
post #3265 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 08:30 PM
Newbie
 
Evose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

WhiteSands was nice enough to send me his calibration settings, so I'm very eager to see the difference between this and the recent Samsung I purchased - but judging from those screen-captures, there is nothing to worry about.


Thanks again WS, amazing job!

Evose is offline  
post #3266 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 09:28 PM
Newbie
 
ChampRandall's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19

I was just lucky enough to stumble across this TV in the Frys showroom in Tempe, AZ. I have never made a snap decision on an expensive product like this, so I normally research everything to death before I am ready to buy. I have been waiting for the 65" Vizio FALD E Series, but it has not materialized yet, so I was tired of waiting. The price was like someone else said, $1499 and originally I didn't want to spend more than $1200 that the Vizio was going to be. On my way home, I stopped at my local Best Buy and asked if they had it in stock? They did for $1799. I told them I saw it at Fry's for $1499 and asked if they would match? If it was in stock, they would. Sure enough, Fry's had it in stock and I was able to get my TV for $1499, $300 less than they have it advertised and was able to use my Rewards card.

 

I am impressed with the TV so far, but would love to have the settings from WhiteSands that everyone is raving about. What is the best way to use those settings to give this TV justice it deserves? Do I need to PM him, or are they inside this 109 page forum somewhere?

 

I am loving this TV and am very thankful for Vizio's delay of releasing the 65" E Series. Seems like a great TV and even better for the $1499 price.

ChampRandall is offline  
post #3267 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 10:51 PM
Newbie
 
nu2LA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've been lurking in this thread for a while and finally pulled the trigger on the $1499 deal at Fry's. WS was also nice enough to PM his settings - much appreciated! Not super impressed with the HD feed through cable, but I tried out Netflix HD and it looks amazing. I'm gonna assume that the problem with the cable feed is a Time Warner Cable issue and not a TV issue. Picture just doesn't look as good as through other much older TVs I had using different cable feeds. Or perhaps it's because those TVs were less than 40 inches.. :)

nu2LA is offline  
post #3268 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
 
guvadc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamafan22 View Post

So I have been having a few issues besides the blotchy, blocky looking mess during black scenes. The set has gone in and out of 3D mode by itself and sometimes Netflix doesn't work. You have to power off the set and go into applications because it says the feature is not available after pushing the Netflix button on the remote. Sony has decided to send out a service tech so Im a little bummed. Have any of you guys had these problems? What about the backlight flashing during dark scenes?

I have been playing around with some stuff while watching in my completely dark room. The blotchiness can show up on the sides of my set during dark scenes depending on what I have the brightness set to. There's been a lot of discussion regarding the brightness setting of this TV and it seems that you can't quite get it dialed in perfectly. I used the both the Pluge pattern ( beginner calibration area) and the Advanced Brightness Pattern ( advanced calibration area ) from the Disney WOW bluray to set my brightness. On the Pluge pattern, I can turn the brightness down to 46 and it will still pass. On the Advanced pattern, the brightness needs to be a 51 to completely pass. when viewing content, 51 can be pretty detrimental in regards to making the sides brighter and bringing out the blotchiness. It's funny how much of a difference between 51 and 50 there is.

I'm starting to come to the conclusion that a setting of around 48 is probably ideal. you may loose a bit of shadow detail, but it really does take care of a lot of the blotchiness I saw on the sides of my set during dark scenes.

Below is a link to the settings page for this set from the Sound and Vision review, pretty good review BTW. These are pretty much the settings I'm using only I ticked the backlight up a notch and have been dropping the brightness.


http://www.soundandvision.com/content/sony-kdl-65w850a-3d-hdtv-settings
WhiteSands likes this.
guvadc is offline  
post #3269 of 4868 Old 05-27-2014, 11:48 PM
Member
 
DrunkenTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 16
WhiteSands could I get a PM with your fabled settings please smile.gif
Convinced a colleague to get the W850a, she needs those settings.
WhiteSands likes this.
DrunkenTiger is offline  
post #3270 of 4868 Old 05-28-2014, 12:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 346
I bought one of these today at frys because at $1499 it was hard to pass up. Two hours later, it was returned. It had a built date of April 2014. Contrast and colors were amazing, in fact it had noticeable better black levels than my w900a. Colors were slightly better on the w900a, but without seeing them side by side it'd be hard to tell. What made me return it was the horrid vertical banding. It had no crescents, but the vertical banding was unbearable. It also seemed to have a much slower response time than my w900a. Motion blur was much worse on the w850a than my w900a. If the vertical banding was not so bad I would have kept it though.
WhiteSands likes this.
*UFO* is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off