Sony 65W850a reviews - Page 144 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Jay9928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I came across this:
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-19410_102-5558876.html

Can someone try it and let me know ? Still convincing wife into this set, but she is adamant against it. Still prefers our 6 yr old Mits DLP
Jay9928 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 11:07 AM
Member
 
KonaBound2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raitzi View Post
Netflix 3D does not work with this TV.
Will it work via a 3D BR player?
KonaBound2010 is offline  
post #4293 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,662
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by KonaBound2010 View Post
Will it work via a 3D BR player?

Dependent on the player just as the app is dependent on the TV. If you google netflix 3x compatible devices you should get at least a partial list.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Ph8te is online now  
post #4294 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 11:15 AM
Member
 
KonaBound2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Dependent on the player just as the app is dependent on the TV. If you google netflix 3x compatible devices you should get at least a partial list.


Sent from my Flip Phone using DOS
Thanks Ph8te....will do. Looking initially at the Sony BDP-S6200...
KonaBound2010 is offline  
post #4295 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sepen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have had the Sony for a bit over a month now. I came from a Panasonic Plasma-a 54S1. I also have a 80" Sharp set in my main viewing room, a 632U. (sigh)I just wish the Sharp looked as nice as the Sony, the Sony for a bedroom tv is waaaaay overkill. It is a fantastic set that blows away the Sharp. I find myself saving the good shows for the Sony. Thanks to Whitesands for his settings, they are so good that I can't envision trying to tinker, as it can't get any better than this. I wish he could advise me on the Sharp, it looked just great until that dastardly Sony entered my home.
Sepen is offline  
post #4296 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay9928 View Post
I came across this:
http://forums.cnet.com/7726-19410_102-5558876.html

Can someone try it and let me know ? Still convincing wife into this set, but she is adamant against it. Still prefers our 6 yr old Mits DLP
What do you want us to try? These settings? There are numerous posts with settings for this tv in this thread. I would, personally, not go on anything posted on CNET. Their standard settings seem "OK" but not sure what you are asking.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4297 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepen View Post
I have had the Sony for a bit over a month now. I came from a Panasonic Plasma-a 54S1. I also have a 80" Sharp set in my main viewing room, a 632U. (sigh)I just wish the Sharp looked as nice as the Sony, the Sony for a bedroom tv is waaaaay overkill. It is a fantastic set that blows away the Sharp. I find myself saving the good shows for the Sony. Thanks to Whitesands for his settings, they are so good that I can't envision trying to tinker, as it can't get any better than this. I wish he could advise me on the Sharp, it looked just great until that dastardly Sony entered my home.
His settings are nice, but I don't like having backlight and picture at max. I leave my backlight at 5, and picture at 90.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4298 of 4311 Old 08-17-2014, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone try out Motionflow Clear setting? How does it compare/differ from standard?

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4299 of 4311 Old 08-18-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
 
KonaBound2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
New TV is unboxed and tested. Received settings from Whitesands and they look Great! Hooked to interned via ethernet and tested 3D BR through the PS3 with Croods 3D and it was very nice. I have not yet tested to see if we can get the Netflix 3D content though the PS3 - I will do that soon.

Much appreciated WS!!

I do have a mounting question for those that have mounted their Sony 850a on the wall. I have my mount and understand the basic premise behind finding the studs, affixing the arms to the TV and simply hanging on the wall mount. My question is, the mount says that the "spacers" are only needed if the TV is recessed in the back, which the 850A is not. But with such a low profile fixed mount, the TV would sit very close to the wall and make any changes or adjustments to the cables or connections very difficult.

Here is the normal bolt which is a hair long anyway without the spacer:



Here it is screwed all the way in, which you can see is not flush or tight..bolt is just a hair long:



So I was thinking I might go up to the longer bolt and then use the spacer and it would be fine.

Here is a pic of the two bolts and the spacer. Again, the smaller is a hair long but I think the longer bolt and spacer might work:




Here is the longer bolt with the spacer:




Anyone see an issue with doing it this way? Also, is two studs suffice for a TV this size or does it need to be on 3?
KonaBound2010 is offline  
post #4300 of 4311 Old 08-18-2014, 10:34 AM
Member
 
KonaBound2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
When I use the longer bolt and spacer and does go in and tighten all the way.

KonaBound2010 is offline  
post #4301 of 4311 Old 08-18-2014, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
casualkirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the settings, WhiteSands! The picture came alive as each adjustment was made, quite an improvement!
casualkirk is offline  
post #4302 of 4311 Old 08-18-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepen View Post
I have had the Sony for a bit over a month now. I came from a Panasonic Plasma-a 54S1. I also have a 80" Sharp set in my main viewing room, a 632U. (sigh)I just wish the Sharp looked as nice as the Sony, the Sony for a bedroom tv is waaaaay overkill. It is a fantastic set that blows away the Sharp. I find myself saving the good shows for the Sony. Thanks to Whitesands for his settings, they are so good that I can't envision trying to tinker, as it can't get any better than this. I wish he could advise me on the Sharp, it looked just great until that dastardly Sony entered my home.


Exactly why i moved mine downstairs!!
dreadnok89 is online now  
post #4303 of 4311 Old 08-18-2014, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello Whitesands, bought this tv a couple weeks ago and would appreciate your settings.


Thank you
makejp is offline  
post #4304 of 4311 Old 08-19-2014, 06:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I used Whitesands standard settings and the picture quality got a lot better, thanks Whitesands. Btw Whitesands you wouldnt have any settings for game mode (ps4). In some games i have noticed a lot of banding. In normal tv viewing i hardly notice it but in gaming it can be terrible.
makejp is offline  
post #4305 of 4311 Old 08-19-2014, 07:50 AM
Member
 
orangedawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post
I had to pull up the first menu then turn the set off and do it again to get the right menu.

Point you remote to the chrome ring area of your set.
Press in sequence for the service menu to open.

Display
5
volume + (plus)
power

My set was delivered the first week of October 2013. I took this screen shot on 05/20/14 which the center numbers show 31508 and the right numbers show 5934. Today 08/14/14 these numbers now show......... 34152 and.................................. 6647.

Somehow they do show a increase in numbers but those are some high readings if they are correct. It's possible they could be coded, I have no way to know. We only watch TV at night and during all of the pro football season.

I tried the menu when my set was new, but I had forgot to use the volume + where I was using the minus which is why the menu would not open.





I found this info about another Sony tv, but maybe it helps figure this issue out. Can someone please try it and see if it works with our tv? According to this info I found (below is the quote from the site I found this on) Whitesands set has (according to his screen shot in original post):
hours: 354
boot count: 31408 (that seems really high, not too sure about what that means)
lcd panel hours: 5934


Hope this helps!


How to Check your Sony Bravia Panel Usage Hours

From Remote
Press Display (I+)
5

Volume -
Power


Gets you into the diagnostics screen which shows the hours.

The bottom left 5 numbers are the hours

Next 5 are boot count

and last 5 are the lcd panel hours.
orangedawg is offline  
post #4306 of 4311 Old 08-19-2014, 12:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 421
One problem I had when I connected up my external Yamaha surround sound setup was I had no-sound when playing the youtube app.

I ended up connecting up some analog computer speakers that included a small subwoofer which sounded Ok. I still wanted to find a way to connect the digital stereo output though a fiber cable to the optical input on the back of the Yamaha unit.

Once I had the cable connected I played a group of songs from the youtube app. Once I pressed # 4 on the Yamaha remote the digital stereo sound came right though. Now I can selected the 7-speaker sound which is mostly the front 3 main speakers and the others operate at a lower level and now the digital audio sounds so much better.

My guess is that all price ranges of these Yamaha A/V receivers including other brands would connect up similar. I press blu ray on the Yamaha remote and the blu ray audio comes though. Same for TV and now I can press # 4 when playing any of the youtube apps.

WS

Last edited by WhiteSands; 08-19-2014 at 05:46 PM.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #4307 of 4311 Old 08-19-2014, 10:22 PM
Member
 
clutchm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post
One problem I had when I connected up my external Yamaha surround sound setup was I had no-sound when playing the youtube app.

I ended up connecting up some analog computer speakers that included a small subwoofer which sounded Ok. I still wanted to find a way to connect the digital stereo output though a fiber cable to the optical input on the back of the Yamaha unit.

Once I had the cable connected I played a group of songs from the youtube app. Once I pressed # 4 on the Yamaha remote the digital stereo sound came right though. Now I can selected the 7-speaker sound which is mostly the front 3 main speakers and the others operate at a lower level and now the digital audio sounds so much better.

My guess is that all price ranges of these Yamaha A/V receivers including other brands would connect up similar. I press blu ray on the Yamaha remote and the blu ray audio comes though. Same for TV and now I can press # 4 when playing any of the youtube apps.

WS
Whitesands can you please PM your settings. Thank you

Also any clue what the Vesa settings are on this?
clutchm3 is offline  
post #4308 of 4311 Old 08-19-2014, 11:13 PM
Member
 
clutchm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by esdeezy View Post

My first time ever mounting a TV! After extensive research on mounts. I found one suitable for my needs and price range!  2" from the wall fully compressed and extends to 22". Full motion. It's perfectly leveled, I'll give it a few weeks to see if there is any sagging from the mount.
 
The 65w850a looks a little small in my living room. I really can't wait for the day Sony makes an affordable 80 inch set.
Any idea what mount this person used?
clutchm3 is offline  
post #4309 of 4311 Old Yesterday, 02:02 AM
Newbie
 
jdoucette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
If you want more space behind for a low profile that's just too low for your liking why not add a board or 2 of wood. Cut out plywood or MDF size of the mounting area, paint to taste and just use longer bolts to the studs. Will give you 1-2 inches of extra depth and when painted you wont even notice it., heck even a cheap can of spray that closely matches your walls would work.
jdoucette is offline  
post #4310 of 4311 Old Yesterday, 11:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post
Here is another screen shot from my set. I found this one on the internet and the colors looked rather bright and caught my attention.

WhiteSands, would you be kind enough to send me your settings? All of your screen shots look amazing! I'd appreciate it.
Xenith25 is offline  
post #4311 of 4311 Old Today, 01:38 AM
Newbie
 
aoiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Late to the Party but glad I was able to secure a invitation.
My family is loving this TV so far.
aoiguy is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off