Sony 65W850a reviews - Page 148 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4411 of 4439 Old 09-17-2014, 08:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
WhiteSand settings.

These are my Standard. Vivid and Custom picture-mode settings I use to get the deep blacks and great colors on my set. I try to keep my set as close to the factory settings as I can. Make sure you do these first two settings in blue first.

Scene Selection, sets to General.....This prevents the TV from auto switching off of your Vivid or Standard settings.

Setting Memory, sets to Common....The settings will be used on all inputs like your blu-ray player and cable box.

PICTURE MODE - STANDARD

Do the Reset here, if you have changed these settings before. Then do these two settings below. All other Standard and Advanced settings are default.

Backlight, set to Max......This one step really brings up the picture quality and color.

Color Temperature - set to Neutral (that's it for standard)
_________________________________________________

PICTURE MODE - VIVID only 3-settings below

Do the Reset again here if needed. All other Vivid settings are default.

Backlight...set this to 7.

Color, sets to 57

Sharpness, sets to 50

whitesands
______________________________________

Picture Mode - CUSTOM...7 settings below

Do the Reset here to put your settings back to default.

Backlight - Max

Picture - Max

Color - 60

Color Temperature - Neutral

Reality Creation - Auto

Motionflow - Standard

Cine Motion - Auto
_______________________________________
AUDIO
Many don't know you can set your audio controls to get a much better sound.

Do this by opening the Audio controls by Options or Home, Settings and choose Sound.

The default is Standard, I leave that as is.

Open the Equalizer and move all the frequency's up to the top.
__________________________________________________ _

You can increase your 3D performance big time. 3D looks good on this set anyway.

Put in a 3D disk and start the movie. While it's playing go to Home, Settings, Preferences and open 3D.

On the 3D glassed brightness setting, set this to Full.

Now in 3D you will see normally bright and vivid colors unlike you have never seen before. This set beats out any 3D movie I have seen in the theaters by far.

If you think it's to bright wearing the glasses, then move this setting back to default.

whitesands
__________________________________________

Cnet's Noise Filters to Off settings.

These are said to improve your picture and any possible banding you may see during ice hockey games. You might want to wait a few weeks to do these just to see if any picture changes for the better.

The Cnet people sent out a news bulletin a few weeks ago. Consumer Reports also included a similar article in their magazine on how to improve your TV picture.

The article said that turning off these noise filters will give you a better picture.

You might want to wait a few weeks after putting in my other settings.

Carefully turn these to Off below on each of the 3 Picture Modes - Vivid, Standard and Custom.

Noise Reduction,

MPEG Noise Reduction,

DOT Noise Reduction,

Video Area Detect,

Smooth Gradation.

Leave Cine Motion set to Auto which is default.

It's important to leave Reality Creation set to Auto and 'Motionflow to Standard' which is default and works great, especially during pro football games.

I can't see much picture improvement as the set already looks fantastic. This noise to Off looks to have eliminated the little bit of banding I was seeing during some fast panning Ice Hockey games.

My set is now over 7 months old and looks a lot better then when it was new.

If you have questions please PM me and I will try my best to help you.

whitesands Jim
Jean-Philippe Gauthier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4412 of 4439 Old 09-17-2014, 07:55 PM
Member
 
AroundTheTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Alright, I have a problem that's been happening the last 3 days and it's really starting to piss me off. It only happens when I use the youtube app but I use that a lot hence my mounting frustration. Basically what happens is I'll be playing a video for a few minutes then all of a sudden youtube freezes and seconds later the TV reboots. This happens EVERYTIME I'm using the app, without fail. On the really special occasions I will get the infamous red blinking light (8 times) and the TV stays turned off instead of rebooting. I unplug it for a minute and turn it back on and everything is back to normal. That is until I go to youtube and the crashing starts all over again. Any help would greatly be appreciated.
AroundTheTV is offline  
post #4413 of 4439 Old 09-17-2014, 08:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by AroundTheTV View Post
It only happens when I use the youtube app but I use that a lot hence my mounting frustration. Basically what happens is I'll be playing a video for a few minutes then all of a sudden youtube freezes and seconds later the TV reboots. This happens EVERYTIME I'm using the app, without fail.
I don't seem to have that problem. My W850A is connected via a wired ethernet cable. Are you using wireless?
skriefal is offline  
post #4414 of 4439 Old 09-17-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
AroundTheTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skriefal View Post
I don't seem to have that problem. My W850A is connected via a wired ethernet cable. Are you using wireless?
Yes, I'm using wireless but I don't see how that would have any effect on my TV shutting off. It seems to me like the TV is trying to do too much and simply can't handle it or a much needed firmware patch for youtube needs to be up updated. Anyone else have this problem?

In the meantime I'll hard wire it and see if it happens again.

Last edited by AroundTheTV; 09-18-2014 at 04:09 AM. Reason: spelling
AroundTheTV is offline  
post #4415 of 4439 Old 09-18-2014, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Wireless versus wired may not matter. The only way to be certain is to try it both ways. The more variables you can eliminate, the closer you'll get to the cause (hopefully!).
skriefal is offline  
post #4416 of 4439 Old 09-18-2014, 08:35 PM
Member
 
AroundTheTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skriefal View Post
Wireless versus wired may not matter. The only way to be certain is to try it both ways. The more variables you can eliminate, the closer you'll get to the cause (hopefully!).
Ok, just tried the wired connection and was 20 minutes in (feeling good ) and then boom, crash, shut down. Obviously there is something wrong with the TV. Now the question is, do I let Sony try to sort it out or use my warranty through Best Buy?
AroundTheTV is offline  
post #4417 of 4439 Old 09-20-2014, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I started with Reality Creation at 45. The I moved to 6, The reason for such low reality creation numbers is because it adds noise reduction and extra sharpening to the image, so if I use RC I use it at very low numbers. I now have turned off Reality Creation, as it makes the image look too smeary for my liking.
FiloD likes this.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4418 of 4439 Old 09-20-2014, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jean-Philippe Gauthier View Post
WhiteSand settings.



Carefully turn these to Off below on each of the 3 Picture Modes - Vivid, Standard and Custom.

Noise Reduction,

MPEG Noise Reduction,

DOT Noise Reduction,

Video Area Detect,

Smooth Gradation.

Leave Cine Motion set to Auto which is default.

It's important to leave Reality Creation set to Auto and 'Motionflow to Standard' which is default and works great, especially during pro football games.

I can't see much picture improvement as the set already looks fantastic. This noise to Off looks to have eliminated the little bit of banding I was seeing during some fast panning Ice Hockey games.
I wonder if most users that use WS's settings turn all these off or not.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4419 of 4439 Old 09-22-2014, 05:10 PM
Member
 
mis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Is there any way to install apps in this TV?

I am in Canada and with my laptop, I have installed Hola to access Netflix US which has much better TV and movies selection than its counterpart in Canada. I do not like to connect a laptop to the TV.
mis3 is online now  
post #4420 of 4439 Old 09-29-2014, 08:18 AM
Member
 
KonaBound2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Love this TV. Best I have ever owned.

Getting ready to purchase a Squaretrade warranty...looking at the 5 year through Costco. I think the Sony comes with a 1 year parts and labor through Sony directly.

The squaretrade 5 yr warranty is $89 and says:

"Years 1 and 2 covered by manufacturer or costco, years 3, 4 & 5 covered by squaretrade."

Since the Sony covers only year 1, does this essentially mean that the squaretrade covers 2,3 and 4?


Just want to make sure I understand it...thanks in advance.
KonaBound2010 is offline  
post #4421 of 4439 Old 09-29-2014, 02:56 PM
Member
 
mis3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Surprised how cheap is the extended warranty in US.

When I bought my TV in my local Futureshop, I was quoted $499 for the 4-year extended warranty. I did buy it for $299 after a few days considering how complicated are these newer TVs.

I wonder if there are differences, or different service tiers, in various extended warranties offered by different companies . Is it onsite service? Will they replace it if they cannot fix it? How fast is the service?
mis3 is online now  
post #4422 of 4439 Old 10-01-2014, 02:36 PM
Member
 
RobKnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt2134 View Post
Hey guys, just got my set today. Trying out Whitesands settings and perhaps the ones linked above. Any gamers with this set have any recommendations specific to gaming?

Thanks,
I game on XBOX360 and PS3 & PS4 . On PS4 I only has one title Diablo III Reaper of Souls . I use Vivid as I find this style of game play the dodge move is still fast enough and looks better than game mode. Xbox 360 I have only played FPS so far. Fantasy titles Halo: Reach . and Halo 4 . The game mode default is pretty bland. I may be losing some( ms ) in lag time .But the default is crappy looking.
First you need to set up the resolution. Default is 20 out of 100 . Since these game are fantasy I also bump up the color a lot. Just my taste . You can adjust color according to the game you are playing. Some game mode settings .note I turn off the ECO light sensor for all viewing.
Picture mode game-standard
Backlight 7
Picture 90
Brightness 50
Color for halo and halo 4 : 83
Hue 0
Color temp Cool
Sharpness 50
all noise setting off default
Reality Creation . Need to set to (manual) so you can tweek (Advanced settings) and Resolution .
Video Area ff
Resolution : 75
Smooth gradation : low
Motionflow ff
cinaMotion ff
Advanced Setting
gamma : 0
All other Advanced settings off accept for the following. My lose a few (Ms) but make picture better.
Live Color : Set to High
Detail Enhancer : set to Low
Edge Enhancer : set to Medium
Display speed Preference default set to : ON
2D to 3D Simulation :
3D adjustment : High
3D Simulated Effect : High
Important to set 3D Glasses Brightness to : (High) for all 3D period .
Auto 3D Auto1
Picture settings
Picture mode : Game standard
Back light MAX default
Picture : Max
Brightness : 50
Color 86+ Note for video games only.
Hue : 0
Color temp : Cool
Sharpness 65
All Noise reduction ff
Reality Creation Set to ( Manual ) so you can adjust (resolution) & Advanced settings .
video area : off
Resolution : 75
Smooth gradation : low
Motiomflow : Off. For video game only .( Standard) for all other sources .
CinaMotion : Off
Advanced settings
All settings Off except
Gamma +1
Live Color : High
Detail Enhancer : Low
Edge Enhancer : Medium
Display speed preference Default : On


These setting are what I am currently using. But I modify them as needed .
Peace , Rob Knapp
RobKnapp is offline  
post #4423 of 4439 Old 10-01-2014, 06:17 PM
Member
 
disalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My W850A is being delivered tomorrow morning! Really excited!!
steve1971 likes this.
disalex is offline  
post #4424 of 4439 Old 10-02-2014, 07:13 PM
Member
 
RobKnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by disalex View Post
My W850A is being delivered tomorrow morning! Really excited!!
Good show ! Who is still selling the Sony W65850A ?
RobKnapp is offline  
post #4425 of 4439 Old 10-02-2014, 08:49 PM
Member
 
disalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobKnapp View Post
Good show ! Who is still selling the Sony W65850A ?
Best Buy, I walked in to my local BB in Plymouth MA and they had one on the floor in a factory sealed box on clearance. When I went to buy it (quickly!) they discovered they still had some in the warehouse for delivery so I took advantage of their free delivery and haul away.
I just used WhiteSands settings and it looks great!
disalex is offline  
post #4426 of 4439 Old 10-03-2014, 04:33 PM
Member
 
evoll88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Ok this is prob. a crazy question but how do you get the battery out of the 3d glasses to replace it??
evoll88 is offline  
post #4427 of 4439 Old 10-05-2014, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 25
How do I utilize Picture in Picture on this TV?
When I go option / Twin Pictures / P&P I get static on 2nd one. Running tv via HDMI through Xbox One / Dish Hopper.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4428 of 4439 Old 10-05-2014, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Derbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
How do I utilize Picture in Picture on this TV?
When I go option / Twin Pictures / P&P I get static on 2nd one. Running tv via HDMI through Xbox One / Dish Hopper.
I think it will only work with one HDMI source, and the other has to be an OTA signal.
steve1971 likes this.
Derbel is offline  
post #4429 of 4439 Old 10-05-2014, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
display problems

Hi this is my first post on this forum but i have used it for reviews for a long time but now i need help so here is a complete history of my issue

i purchased my 65W850A new in december last year this was my first LCD tv I've always enjoyed the depth i experience from my mitsubishi DLP so at first i wasn't sure if what i was experiencing was normal or not the problem was a few areas on the screen looked like they had a darker tint than the rest of the screen i experienced this on all inputs and on tv apps so i knew it was the tv not another piece of equipment i contacted sony and they did the right thing sent me a replacement tv unfortunately the replacement tv has the same problem with a few more affected areas than the original also it has a light 1" line running top to bottom of the screen i contacted sony again and they are sending me another replacement tv my question, is it possible something environmental is causing interference or did just get that unlucky ?

I have attached pictures of the problems
pics 1 and 2 are the dark areas
pic 3 if you look and the O on .com follow the line straight to the top this line is always there but its better at times worse at others



here is my connected equipment

Directv HD DVR
Sony blue ray BDP-S360
Sony receiver STR-DN1040
Xbox 360 slim
Klipsch center mounted 26" above tv
Klipsch R-5800-w(s1) in wall speakers mounted 32" above tv and in the ceiling 15' away
Definitive Technologies Prosub 1000 on floor 36" away
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140906_212722.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	207.6 KB
ID:	296346   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140906_212624.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	296354   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140906_212052.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	134.8 KB
ID:	296362  
bryanj325 is offline  
post #4430 of 4439 Old 10-07-2014, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Kdl65w850a vs. LG 65LA9650

Folks,

Need some help deciding bw these two models. I love the sony but can't believe the current price of the LG which is on sale for $2k and advertised as a 4k tv. The sony is right around $2300...

Thx!
TexanSunman is offline  
post #4431 of 4439 Old 10-08-2014, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Cyrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ATL
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
When I try to stream with apps (hulu, YouTube etc) it loads fine and the audio is fine but the video stops every few seconds... So fing annoying any clue what I can do to fix it?

Crap just tried a wired connection and it's doing the same thing... Wtf


-dave

Last edited by Cyrk; 10-08-2014 at 05:19 PM.
Cyrk is offline  
post #4432 of 4439 Old 10-10-2014, 01:36 PM
Member
 
RobKnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexanSunman View Post
Folks,

Need some help deciding bw these two models. I love the sony but can't believe the current price of the LG which is on sale for $2k and advertised as a 4k tv. The sony is right around $2300...

Thx!
UHD/4K sets use a up scaling to take all video sources and convert them to a 4k signal. Therefore slowing down the input lag on some sources like Video games. If you like to game the Sony will provide a low input lag in Game mode . 18 ms . the LG will most likely have a higher input lag . Also if you are sitting beyond (six) feet away from a 65" UHD/4K TV you lose all benefit of the extra resolution . With out knowing the details of the LG ie is it Full Array local dimming or is it Edge lit with local dimming vrs. Edge lit with micro dimming ec tect.ect. Is the 3D passive or Active ? Can you watch active 3D with out any side effects ? Are there review on the LG ? From the limited info you provided I would purchase the Sony 65W850A as it has many great reviews and excellent for gaming and way above average 3D viewing. The price point is a touch high a $2,300.00 . $1,799.00 is more what it should be . but even at $ 2300.00 I would recommend the 65W850A and let UHD/4K bake in the oven a few more years . One 65W850A review http://www.soundandvision.com/conten...5w850a-3d-hdtv Edit researched the LG659650 . Look nice but if you are gamer it has one of the slowest input lag rating of any 4K TV 94 ms = Bad link http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/

Last edited by RobKnapp; 10-10-2014 at 06:10 PM.
RobKnapp is offline  
post #4433 of 4439 Old 10-13-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
watsonusn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Beautiful Picture, alas short lived. Get the warranty!

This has been my favorite flat screen tv. I was an early adopter & had eleven months, one day of flawless picture. Last night the evil vertical blue line reared its ugly head on the right side of my screen. Thankfully I still have 29 days of warranty service left. Hopefully they replace the panel with the same, or replace it as a whole with the same model. I don't want the new one, it just doesn't compare.
I am so bummed!
Don't let this discourage you from picking up the set. At the clearance price it is at now, its the steal of the century. But most definitely purchase the extended warranty from Sony!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	blue line.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	309178  
watsonusn is offline  
post #4434 of 4439 Old 10-13-2014, 09:24 AM
Member
 
watsonusn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanj325 View Post
Hi this is my first post on this forum but i have used it for reviews for a long time but now i need help so here is a complete history of my issue

i purchased my 65W850A new in december last year this was my first LCD tv I've always enjoyed the depth i experience from my mitsubishi DLP so at first i wasn't sure if what i was experiencing was normal or not the problem was a few areas on the screen looked like they had a darker tint than the rest of the screen i experienced this on all inputs and on tv apps so i knew it was the tv not another piece of equipment i contacted sony and they did the right thing sent me a replacement tv unfortunately the replacement tv has the same problem with a few more affected areas than the original also it has a light 1" line running top to bottom of the screen i contacted sony again and they are sending me another replacement tv my question, is it possible something environmental is causing interference or did just get that unlucky ?

I have attached pictures of the problems
pics 1 and 2 are the dark areas
pic 3 if you look and the O on .com follow the line straight to the top this line is always there but its better at times worse at others



here is my connected equipment

Directv HD DVR
Sony blue ray BDP-S360
Sony receiver STR-DN1040
Xbox 360 slim
Klipsch center mounted 26" above tv
Klipsch R-5800-w(s1) in wall speakers mounted 32" above tv and in the ceiling 15' away
Definitive Technologies Prosub 1000 on floor 36" away
The line is bad juju, just happened to me. As I understand it, either a power capacitor failed or the screen itself.
Regarding the uniformity or "clouds", is it noticeable enough to affect everyday viewing, or is it only when the screen is all black or all white? I too have this, and while some people called it out in early reviews & considered it a detractor I do not. If it doesnt bother you while watching under normal circumstances, then dont let it bother you at all. I have three other tv's, all LG units & they do the same thing. Its due to the back light design. Pretty sure its discussed waaaay back at the beginning of this thread.
watsonusn is offline  
post #4435 of 4439 Old 10-14-2014, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Whitesands, can you please post your famous settings ? Thanks very much.
Snikt21 is offline  
post #4436 of 4439 Old 10-14-2014, 06:55 PM
Member
 
RobKnapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobKnapp View Post
WhiteSands , Quick Vivid W850a calibration over view :First push on the remote ( options button ) then select 'Scene Select' . Pick 'General' exit with return button. Press 'Home Button ' scroll down to settings. Select picture& display icon. Do a reset for your Dish Net work input . For test purposes you are only testing Dish input therefor select 1: 'Set Memory to 'Current Input 2: Mode Vivid 3: Backlight 7 4:Picture Max or back it down to (90) optional . 5 : Brightness 50 6: Color 57 7: Hue 0 8: Color temp Cool or Neutral not much change. 8: Sharpness 50. all other settings are on default. White Sands suggest to leave on Motion Flow for Sporting events set it to Standard . Good Luck . Rob Knapp
Vivid settings .
RobKnapp is offline  
post #4437 of 4439 Old 10-16-2014, 01:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
[quote=WhiteSands;25649161]Here is one of my better scenic screen shots that I have posted in these forums over the last 8 months. This set makes a fantastic picture due to it's many Triluminos colors.



WhiteSands Can you please PM your settings. I'm using them on a 65W950B but it sounds like they are similar as far as setup. New to Sony flat screens so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
duckboyben is offline  
post #4438 of 4439 Old 10-18-2014, 12:08 AM
Member
 
indy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here experiencing lip-sync issues?

On my Yamaha DSP-Z7 it is easy to check if the auto lip-sync feature of HDMI is working, because it has an HDMI info screen that actually lists the adjustment. If I connect the amp to my projector, it lists 24ms. If I hook it up to the TV, it shows "--" and the audio is noticeably out of sync. Manually adjusted to 126ms which fixed the problem. I always assumed it was an HDMI incompatibility between the Yamaha and the Sony.

Now I have tried it with a new Denon x4000 amp, and the auto lip-sync is still not working. The Denon user interface is all new to me, so I can't seem to find a way to check if auto lip-sync is (or isn't) working. Dialed in the 126ms delay and Im good to go again. Would be nice if the auto lip-sync would be working though. Feature has only been around for what - almost 10 years? ;-).

Was wondering if anyone else is experiencing issues as well? I know that I am quite sensitive to it, but 126ms latency in "cinema" mode is very, very noticeable.
indy911 is offline  
post #4439 of 4439 Old 10-20-2014, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 25
[quote=duckboyben;28279466]
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post
Here is one of my better scenic screen shots that I have posted in these forums over the last 8 months. This set makes a fantastic picture due to it's many Triluminos colors.



WhiteSands Can you please PM your settings. I'm using them on a 65W950B but it sounds like they are similar as far as setup. New to Sony flat screens so any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
May I suggest you try the settings at the bottom of this post, in the PDF? I've been using them with this set for about 4 months now, and love them. Great research and calibration done with these settings. Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread
duckboyben likes this.

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
post #4440 of 4439 Old 10-23-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
t0ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WV
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well, I was loving this TV, until I came home today to this when I turned it on:



Power cycling and factory resets did nothing, of course. A service tech is supposed to call me tomorrow to set up a time to come have a look. 3 1/2 months old .. I am disappoint, Sony.
t0ad is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread - Xbr65x850a by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off