Sony 65W850a reviews - Page 159 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4741 of 4751 Old 08-12-2015, 09:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 449
I don't have chromecast, but I have streamed Netflix movies using the app in the Sony set and the picture looks great. I usually use the picture mode Vivid when steaming any movies or you tube video's if the picture looks ok. If not I use the Standard video mode instead.

I remember in these same forms for this set where others have ask how to adjust the picture settings for the Netflix streaming. I think they steamed some movie on Sony/Crackle and it may allow you to open the picture settings. Then these picture settings will be the same when you stream Netflix.

Do remember if this don't work, i'm trying to remember this from reading about it years ago. I never have had to do any adjustments for the Netflix streaming on my set although I do use my own picture settings.
Viper Daimao likes this.
WhiteSands is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4742 of 4751 Old 08-13-2015, 04:30 PM
Member
 
krazyboy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone selling this TV? (KDL65W850A)

I want to buy one of these. I live near NYC. Anyone selling one, please PM me.

Luke
krazyboy13 is offline  
post #4743 of 4751 Old 08-13-2015, 08:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
velvet396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Still have choppy playback.
How can you see the video signal info on the screen?
So that you know whether you are getting 24 or 60 in. Turning cine motion to auto helps a little bit.

Any formal way to beg Sony to address he firmware update issue?
velvet396 is online now  
post #4744 of 4751 Old 08-17-2015, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
skriefal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 48
There was another firmware update today. Perhaps they fixed the motion interpolation issues that have been seen by jyqureshi and velvet396. No, I haven't tested it...
skriefal is offline  
post #4745 of 4751 Old 08-18-2015, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
WhiteSands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 449
I have had maybe 15 to 20 update on my maybe first ever sold, October 4th 2014 W850A set. Still no changes that I can see with the Motionflow setting so I simply keep mine set to Off which seems to work best for watching fast paced pro football games.

I also did the latest update which seemed rather long to complete last night. I never look to see if my settings have changed as the picture looks great as ever. My guess their adding or swapping out some Applications again.

Last edited by WhiteSands; 08-20-2015 at 12:06 AM.
WhiteSands is offline  
post #4746 of 4751 Old 08-24-2015, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
FiloD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSF Ca
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have this TV for 2 years now... is there a way I can connect to the internet? if so how do I set up. Thank you.
FiloD is offline  
post #4747 of 4751 Old 08-25-2015, 09:44 AM
Senior Member
 
FiloD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSF Ca
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiloD View Post
I have this TV for 2 years now... is there a way I can connect to the internet? if so how do I set up. Thank you.
Found the answer.. if your internet browser (in case you want to use it is not working, you need to reset the TV and be aware that it will lose all your settings so write them down..

I also found out that if you want to use a site that needs flash, then no luck will not work. Browsing is also slow, so I guess use will be minimal if I will use it at all ....
FiloD is offline  
post #4748 of 4751 Old 08-26-2015, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've been enjoying this TV for over a year, but it just developed a solid red line on pixels down the left side of the panel.

I'm assuming it will need to be replaced
KRiS1 is offline  
post #4749 of 4751 Old 08-26-2015, 10:52 AM
Senior Member
 
FiloD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SSF Ca
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by KRiS1 View Post
I've been enjoying this TV for over a year, but it just developed a solid red line on pixels down the left side of the panel.

I'm assuming it will need to be replaced

This is not good..call Sony and ask what can be done. I am not sure of the warranty for this TV, usually 1 year?


I have the Costco 3 year warranty I think.. I hope I will never use it. Let us know. Thanks.
FiloD is offline  
post #4750 of 4751 Old 08-26-2015, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
KRiS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiloD View Post
This is not good..call Sony and ask what can be done. I am not sure of the warranty for this TV, usually 1 year?


I have the Costco 3 year warranty I think.. I hope I will never use it. Let us know. Thanks.
I purchased an extended warranty directly from Sony so I should be covered
FiloD likes this.
KRiS1 is offline  
post #4751 of 4751 Old Today, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
velvet396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 596
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteSands View Post
I have had maybe 15 to 20 update on my maybe first ever sold, October 4th 2014 W850A set. Still no changes that I can see with the Motionflow setting so I simply keep mine set to Off which seems to work best for watching fast paced pro football games.

I also did the latest update which seemed rather long to complete last night. I never look to see if my settings have changed as the picture looks great as ever. My guess their adding or swapping out some Applications again.
I have motionflow off (this helps a lot). I have cinemotion set to auto. I have been watching the recent Bond movies and while the juddering effect has been minimized, it is still quite noticeable in fast action scenes or almost any left/right panning.

If this is true 24p film content, how can I check that the display is properly entering 24p mode? The status just shows 1080p 16:9. I can't find any more detailed signal or current mode info.
velvet396 is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread - Xbr65x850a by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off