How do I get my Vizio M32 to do 120 refresh rate?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ronzer34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All it will do is 60hz, I am using it as a monitor for my computer and cant get it to go to 120hz,
any Help
Thanks
ronzer34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 86
HDTVs cannot accept a 120Hz input signal, rather, they interpolate or repeat frames at 120Hz. You need a monitor.

ht Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, Radius 90HD; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D
2ch Marantz PM8004, Sony BDP-S1000ES, JVC T-X3 tuner, Monitor Audio Silver RX1, REL T3, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT
lr Panasonic 50ST60, Sony BDP-S5100
fatuglyguy is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronzer34 View Post

All it will do is 60hz, I am using it as a monitor for my computer and cant get it to go to 120hz,
any Help
Thanks
The M32 is a 60hz panel that uses backlight scanning to achieve fauz 120hz. In order to get the 120hz you need to step up M50 with 120hz panel with backlight scanning achieving faux 240hz..
Dr.Shankenstein is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ronzer34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would I see a difference if I got the M50?
ronzer34 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-03-2013, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
As stated above, the tv cannot accept a 120hz signal, even though it is a 120hz panel. If you are watching 60hz content, you likely will not notice a difference. You will notice a difference if you are watching 24hz content, and if it's being output at 24hz.

If you are looking for a display for gaming, you should look into a dedicated monitor, not a tv.
sitlet is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off