How do I get my Vizio M32 to do 120 refresh rate?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ronzer34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All it will do is 60hz, I am using it as a monitor for my computer and cant get it to go to 120hz,
any Help
Thanks
ronzer34 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 1,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 131
HDTVs cannot accept a 120Hz input signal, rather, they interpolate or repeat frames at 120Hz. You need a monitor.

ht Panasonic 60" ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, RX1; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D, Panamax M-5100PM
2ch Sony 32" W650A, Sonus faber Toy Monitor, REL T3, Marantz PM8004, Sony BDP-S1000ES, JVC T-X3 tuner, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT, Panamax MR4300
pc Monitor Audio Radius 90HD, Audioengine D1, FiiO A1
+ Sony 65" XBRX850B, Sony BDP-S5100
fatuglyguy is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronzer34 View Post

All it will do is 60hz, I am using it as a monitor for my computer and cant get it to go to 120hz,
any Help
Thanks
The M32 is a 60hz panel that uses backlight scanning to achieve fauz 120hz. In order to get the 120hz you need to step up M50 with 120hz panel with backlight scanning achieving faux 240hz..
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-02-2013, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ronzer34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would I see a difference if I got the M50?
ronzer34 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-03-2013, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
As stated above, the tv cannot accept a 120hz signal, even though it is a 120hz panel. If you are watching 60hz content, you likely will not notice a difference. You will notice a difference if you are watching 24hz content, and if it's being output at 24hz.

If you are looking for a display for gaming, you should look into a dedicated monitor, not a tv.
sitlet is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off