Official LG LA9700 Owner's Thread ( 55LA9700, 65LA9700 ) - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it was boxed and seemed new.
ReSultZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Had that been me I would have been right down to the store and they would sort one out for tomorrow. Pickup and dropoff. Glad I bought locally.

Anyway. Has anyone got the XYvcc option selectable? If so how. Would like to use it for the new setup with the master in 4k Blurays

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #993 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
rkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
Had that been me I would have been right down to the store and they would sort one out for tomorrow. Pickup and dropoff. Glad I bought locally.

Anyway. Has anyone got the XYvcc option selectable? If so how. Would like to use it for the new setup with the master in 4k Blurays

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
It is selectable when I am using my mede8er streamer but unselectable with other devices. I am getting a mastered in 4k blu ray and will be using my ps3 to play it which supports xvycc.
rkabir is offline  
post #994 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkabir View Post
It is selectable when I am using my mede8er streamer but unselectable with other devices. I am getting a mastered in 4k blu ray and will be using my ps3 to play it which supports xvycc.
Well the oppo and new amp supports it. I'll have a play with spider man mastered in 4k and see what happens.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #995 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can anyone running arc check if they're receiving 5.1. I'm only getting stereo, not sure if this is normal

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #996 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
Had that been me I would have been right down to the store and they would sort one out for tomorrow. Pickup and dropoff. Glad I bought locally.

Anyway. Has anyone got the XYvcc option selectable? If so how. Would like to use it for the new setup with the master in 4k Blurays

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
I ordered it online from Paul's TV....
ReSultZ is offline  
post #997 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 07:47 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkabir View Post
It is selectable when I am using my mede8er streamer but unselectable with other devices. I am getting a mastered in 4k blu ray and will be using my ps3 to play it which supports xvycc.
So we can play the 4k mastered BR's with regular bluray players?
Would I lose its "4kness" when going through a 1080p/3d denon avr?
ReSultZ is offline  
post #998 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 09:40 PM
Member
 
rkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReSultZ View Post
So we can play the 4k mastered BR's with regular bluray players?
Would I lose its "4kness" when going through a 1080p/3d denon avr?
The "Mastered in 4K" are movies that are 4K downconverted to 1080p which is then unconverted to 4K again by 4K TVs. They can be played by regular bluray players/though 1080p receivers. They are not really 4K but apparently they do look better then regular blurays.
rkabir is offline  
post #999 of 1142 Old 06-25-2014, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay TY
ReSultZ is offline  
post #1000 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
TallCoolOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 38
So there's a new update now, installed it, I don't see a difference. Netflix still doesn't say Ultra HD in the tags for HOC. Not sure what this updated added. New version is 05.06.15.
TallCoolOne is offline  
post #1001 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 12:35 AM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Got the update here too. 04.24.35. Which suggests it's just a minor stability patch. Hrm. I'll phone LG again in a bit.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #1002 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 12:46 AM
Member
 
Bees1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just got the Update. Yesterday, LG told me that the update was for Netflix. But, they also informed me that the satellite tuner ONLY works in Scandinavia and is not designed for 4K transmissions! So, not sure what to believe. I also asked them to raise the possibility of adding the current song titles to music radio on vTuner. On all my other devices with vTuner the current titles show up but it does not seem to be part of the LG contract at the moment.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bees1 is online now  
post #1003 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 03:50 AM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bees1 View Post
Just got the Update. Yesterday, LG told me that the update was for Netflix. But, they also informed me that the satellite tuner ONLY works in Scandinavia and is not designed for 4K transmissions! So, not sure what to believe. I also asked them to raise the possibility of adding the current song titles to music radio on vTuner. On all my other devices with vTuner the current titles show up but it does not seem to be part of the LG contract at the moment.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Well technically it doesn't work with 4k transmission. Just checked that again. Still audio only.

Just phoned LG after speaking to some miserable bod who was I now only just got netflix at all and was watching 4k and if I didn't like what I saw I should contact netflix.

Anyway spoke to another more cheery person who did get a email stating the update went live yesterday afternoon for 4k netflix. I told him it changed nothing. He's going to get back to me.

It's strange that we got this update at all if it changed nothing and it's even stranger it happen to be at the time that the 4k netflix update was to happen.

Maybe someone pushed the wrong update and we're one behind or something.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #1004 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 05:48 AM
Member
 
rkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TallCoolOne View Post
So there's a new update now, installed it, I don't see a difference. Netflix still doesn't say Ultra HD in the tags for HOC. Not sure what this updated added. New version is 05.06.15.
I got so excited! Maybe LG did the update on the TV and now netflix needs to update something on their side?
rkabir is offline  
post #1005 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
icykle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tv turns on randomly

Hey guys, im back again! See that this thread is still going (good to know!)

Wondering if anyone else has this issue, I've been having since I bought it. It randomly turns on all the time and its usually after a quick sudden movement in the living room, it feels like the sensor is defective because everything is turned off in the settings.

Anyone else having this issue? OR have a fix?

Thanks!!!
icykle is offline  
post #1006 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
TallCoolOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by icykle View Post
Hey guys, im back again! See that this thread is still going (good to know!)

Wondering if anyone else has this issue, I've been having since I bought it. It randomly turns on all the time and its usually after a quick sudden movement in the living room, it feels like the sensor is defective because everything is turned off in the settings.

Anyone else having this issue? OR have a fix?

Thanks!!!
I was having it when I first got mine...I think I turned off voice power-on and gesture control, that took care of it.
TallCoolOne is offline  
post #1007 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Bees1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LG has just confirmed that it was a general update and did not enable 4K streaming on Netflix.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Bees1 is online now  
post #1008 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 12:14 PM
Member
 
rkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bees1 View Post
LG has just confirmed that it was a general update and did not enable 4K streaming on Netflix.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Did they say when the Netflix 4K update might be coming?
rkabir is offline  
post #1009 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Bees1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No
Bees1 is online now  
post #1010 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Alamo, CA
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 75
My 9650 is getting the same update now. Not posted on LG's US website and regardless, they don't provide changelogs anyway.
Bill Ball is offline  
post #1011 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 03:49 PM
Member
 
wildonrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by icykle View Post
Hey guys, im back again! See that this thread is still going (good to know!)

Wondering if anyone else has this issue, I've been having since I bought it. It randomly turns on all the time and its usually after a quick sudden movement in the living room, it feels like the sensor is defective because everything is turned off in the settings.

Anyone else having this issue? OR have a fix?

Thanks!!!
Probably turning on due to voice control. Turn that feature off.
wildonrio is offline  
post #1012 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I can't find anything on voice control and the gesture stuff hardly works. They really don't know what's going on with these tvs. I feel like I'm going to single handedly be responsible for getting netflix to talk to LG about getting it on this TV cause as TCO and I discovered it's more then capable of running 60hz HEVC

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #1013 of 1142 Old 06-26-2014, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
TallCoolOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
I can't find anything on voice control and the gesture stuff hardly works. They really don't know what's going on with these tvs. I feel like I'm going to single handedly be responsible for getting netflix to talk to LG about getting it on this TV cause as TCO and I discovered it's more then capable of running 60hz HEVC
"Voice control to power on" is in Settings, Options.

I'm convinced the LG support people don't know a single thing about this TV.
TallCoolOne is offline  
post #1014 of 1142 Old 06-27-2014, 12:40 AM
Newbie
 
icykle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TallCoolOne View Post
"Voice control to power on" is in Settings, Options.

I'm convinced the LG support people don't know a single thing about this TV.
-----------

I have both turned off and it still happens... this sucks!
icykle is offline  
post #1015 of 1142 Old 06-27-2014, 08:48 AM
Member
 
ldeveraux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by icykle View Post
-----------

I have both turned off and it still happens... this sucks!
Do you have a multi remote that may be switching it on somehow? Do you have another LG device that may be interfering?
ldeveraux is offline  
post #1016 of 1142 Old 06-27-2014, 09:20 AM
Newbie
 
icykle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldeveraux View Post
Do you have a multi remote that may be switching it on somehow? Do you have another LG device that may be interfering?
I have a HarmonyRemote but it has been doing it way before that. But the only thing that could interfere is my LG 3D Soundbar which I "synced sound settings" with the TV ... you think that's causing it ?
icykle is offline  
post #1017 of 1142 Old 06-27-2014, 10:38 AM
Member
 
rkabir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by icykle View Post
I have a HarmonyRemote but it has been doing it way before that. But the only thing that could interfere is my LG 3D Soundbar which I "synced sound settings" with the TV ... you think that's causing it ?
Also check your simplink settings, if you have it turned on, the TV will turn on when other hdmi-cec device turn on, such as receivers, ps4 etc.
rkabir is offline  
post #1018 of 1142 Old 06-27-2014, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting on my replacement.... Does the NA 65LA9700 come with 2 remotes?
Also I can't seem to find LG's specs on the Dynamic Contrast Ratio and the resonse time.
ReSultZ is offline  
post #1019 of 1142 Old 06-28-2014, 06:47 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: France
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

Mine 55 LA970V-ZA comes with only the magic remote

just upgrade to the latest firmware 04.24.35 here in France, notice an upgrade of the sdk
and that more sound format are accepted in mkv or mp4
i noticed too that little sound delay i've heard in some 4k Samples are gone

sorry for my poor english as you must see English isn't my mother tongue

i dare to have a release log from LG one day

:-)

Last edited by wheely; 06-28-2014 at 03:34 PM.
wheely is online now  
post #1020 of 1142 Old 06-28-2014, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ReSultZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV Came in
How do I get ahold of the 4K/60fps LG USB Memory stick that some here have talked about?
ReSultZ is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Lg Electronics 65la9700 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 240hz 3d Smart Led Tv , Lg Electronics 55la9700 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 240hz 3d Smart Led Tv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off