Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1017 Old 06-29-2014, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinachpie View Post
I am loving the picture quality of this TV for 1080p - and especially since using the picture settings found on this forum.

The 1080p pictures look stunning and even 1080i and 720p look incredible. I am so happy with this set and am glad that it is capable of 4k too.

Re: 4k video - Once the 4k media players are released, this TV shouldn't have a problem with playing the content right? There is one HDMI port which is capable of running the content - is that correct?
you have a link to the settings you used?
scpanel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1017 Old 06-29-2014, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Hi all,

A new forum member here with a week old 65x850a. For those of you still deciding between the 2013 and 2014 models and concerned about the single HDCP 2.2 HDMI port, guess what.... I looked up the users manual for the x850b and it too only has one port that supports HDCP 2.2. For whatever reason, HDCP 2.2 must be very expensive to implement or something. I think I also read that 2.2 is not backward compatible with previous versions, so that could be the rationale for it also.

Loving the TV - I played some 4k videos from youtube and they looked great but it's my understanding that the TV can't play 4k youtube videos so I'm guessing it was just 1080p?

Also, is there a consensus as to the best calibrated settings? I tried Spears and Munsil last night on my PS3 and the contrast calibration had me in fits. At first, I couldn't see any of the white bars except the lowest two. Then I turned on Super White on the PS3 and had to turn the contrast down to the 50s to get the pattern to display properly. But most here seem to have their contrast in the 80's-90's. Any thoughts?
Duke02 is online now  
post #813 of 1017 Old 06-29-2014, 11:01 PM
Newbie
 
dknigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm personally using game mode with full dynamic range and brightness dropped by 10 from memory, very happy.
dknigs is offline  
post #814 of 1017 Old 06-30-2014, 09:22 PM
Member
 
ayase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
you have a link to the settings you used?
i like daystar5's setting personally. it fits my preferences. it's post 165 on this thread.
ayase is offline  
post #815 of 1017 Old 06-30-2014, 11:56 PM
Member
 
spinachpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpanel View Post
you have a link to the settings you used?
Yeah it's AustinJerry's for the 900a and they seem to work perfectly for this set too. It's not as bright as the settings mentioned by daystar5, but for me they give a more realistic picture and you can see more detail (or it appears like you can).

Loving watching the World Cup with these settings. Add both settings and flick between them to see which you prefer. I have both set on Cinema 1/2

Go here for his settings: Official Sony [X9] XBR-55X900A / XBR-65X900A Owner's Thread
spinachpie is offline  
post #816 of 1017 Old 07-02-2014, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Sony 65x850a or 65x850b

I am wondering which is the better tv now the x850a or the x850b? The price difference for me is only $400. I know the x850b does not have triluminos filter, no local dimming but has frame dimming and is only 240 motion flow . Is there any new technology that would make the x850b any better. Thanks.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #817 of 1017 Old 07-02-2014, 01:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can get X850a to audio sync with samsung ht-f5500w home theater system

Hey guys,

I just bought and hooked up a samsung ht-f5500w home theater system to the x850a and connected it with optical cable to tv. But the audio does not sync when watching tv or any other source. I tired to adjust the audio sync on the home theater but it doesn't sync up still. No idea what to do. I took out the optical and put hdmi in the ARC port that goes to the blu ray system but that didn't work. I don't think I need the optical because when hooked up I think it just uses the HDMI and not optical. I would really appreciate any advise on this.

Thanks!

Last edited by phrurx; 07-02-2014 at 01:54 PM. Reason: CAN'T GET X850a to audio sync with samsung ht-f5500w home theater system
phrurx is offline  
post #818 of 1017 Old 07-02-2014, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I am wondering which is the better tv now the x850a or the x850b? The price difference for me is only $400. I know the x850b does not have triluminos filter, no local dimming but has frame dimming and is only 240 motion flow . Is there any new technology that would make the x850b any better. Thanks.
From a relatively ignorant standpoint, I don't think so. here's my thinking. switching to the b series gets you hevc streaming, but you lose local dimming (albeit edge lit). IMO, good black level is more important than smart TV feature. If 4k streaming really starts to take off, you can get a external box then. If you really want to have 4k content, you can get the FMP-X10 box when it comes out.

Fundamentally, I think the 850b is made to a price point more than the 850a was. I haven't seen any features in the 850b from a display standpoint that makes it seem like it would be a better display. They switched from quantum dot triluminous to a different technology, not sure if it's better, worse or the same.

Are you looking at a 55 or 65? I got the 65x850a for 2,599 from BB and the 65x850b is 3299
Duke02 is online now  
post #819 of 1017 Old 07-02-2014, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrurx View Post
Hey guys,

I just bought and hooked up a samsung ht-f5500w home theater system to the x850a and connected it with optical cable to tv. But the audio does not sync when watching tv or any other source. I tired to adjust the audio sync on the home theater but it doesn't sync up still. No idea what to do. I took out the optical and put hdmi in the ARC port that goes to the blu ray system but that didn't work. I don't think I need the optical because when hooked up I think it just uses the HDMI and not optical. I would really appreciate any advise on this.

Thanks!
If the video isn't going through the receiver, it won't be able to do any syncing. It doesn't know what's going on with the video. If ARC isn't working, your receiver may not support ARC - it's not built into every receiver. What about running your HDMI sources through the receiver and then out to the TV? Then you can use the sync feature
Duke02 is online now  
post #820 of 1017 Old 07-02-2014, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
If the video isn't going through the receiver, it won't be able to do any syncing. It doesn't know what's going on with the video. If ARC isn't working, your receiver may not support ARC - it's not built into every receiver. What about running your HDMI sources through the receiver and then out to the TV? Then you can use the sync feature

Its not a true receiver, its just the blu ray player home theater system which only has hdmi out and optical, hdmi out from blu ray player (receiver) which is connected to arc hdmi on tv. both are firmware updated.

thanks
phrurx is offline  
post #821 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrurx View Post
Its not a true receiver, its just the blu ray player home theater system which only has hdmi out and optical, hdmi out from blu ray player (receiver) which is connected to arc hdmi on tv. both are firmware updated.

thanks
Not definitively sure what all of your options are, but I think you're going to have to pick up some sort of intermediate component that will output HDMI and Toslink at the same time. I don't think the TV has any sync options over toslink, but I may be wrong

I think the DVDO Edge will do that and controls the A/V Sync in it. it runs around $300 but and is a good processor for managing multiple components but it doesn't upconvert to 4k, so you're TV will still do that. I'm sure there are probably other processors that can do this as well, that's just the only one I knotwabout
Duke02 is online now  
post #822 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 10:01 AM
Member
 
rand0182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I am wondering which is the better tv now the x850a or the x850b? The price difference for me is only $400. I know the x850b does not have triluminos filter, no local dimming but has frame dimming and is only 240 motion flow . Is there any new technology that would make the x850b any better. Thanks.
The x850b DOES have the Triluminos display...
rand0182 is offline  
post #823 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rand0182 View Post
The x850b DOES have the Triluminos display...
Yes, but not using Quantum Dots. Again, not saying it's necessarily better OR worse, but it is different. Sony has used Triluminos as a marketing term for a while....
Duke02 is online now  
post #824 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by rand0182 View Post
The x850b DOES have the Triluminos display...
The x850b still does not have local dimming and the motion flow 960 which should improve the picture for $400 less.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #825 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I am wondering which is the better tv now the x850a or the x850b? The price difference for me is only $400. I know the x850b does not have triluminos filter, no local dimming but has frame dimming and is only 240 motion flow . Is there any new technology that would make the x850b any better. Thanks.
I just found something out that severely limits the usefulness of in-tv 4k streaming. I had my set calibrated last night by D-Nice (great guy). I switched over to the in-TV apps today to watch something on youtube and noticed the picture settings are different. No biggie, I figured, the TV isn't applying the main input's settings to this one. So I unlocked picture settings (I had locked them after the TV was calibrated) and went to adjust it. At least on the 850a, for internet apps, you CANNOT Change the following, frankly essential adjustments:

Brightness
Color
Hue
Sharpness
Gamma

Also, no dice on changing:
Smooth Gradation
Black Corrector
Adv Contrast Enhancer
Auto Light Limiter
Clear White
Detail Enhancer
Edge Enhancer
Skin Naturalizer
Speed Display Preference


Now, thankfully, many of these settings are locked-in as Off, but the point being, you can't fully calibrate your set and then use those settings for IPTV.

Assuming the B series is the same, people will not be able to watch all that 4k content with a calibrated display. How stupid is that???

So, to get back to your original question, I'd save the $ and get the 850a.
Duke02 is online now  
post #826 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
amughal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually you can change the picture settings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
I just found something out that severely limits the usefulness of in-tv 4k streaming. I had my set calibrated last night by D-Nice (great guy). I switched over to the in-TV apps today to watch something on youtube and noticed the picture settings are different. No biggie, I figured, the TV isn't applying the main input's settings to this one. So I unlocked picture settings (I had locked them after the TV was calibrated) and went to adjust it. At least on the 850a, for internet apps, you CANNOT Change the following, frankly essential adjustments:

Brightness
Color
Hue
Sharpness
Gamma

Also, no dice on changing:
Smooth Gradation
Black Corrector
Adv Contrast Enhancer
Auto Light Limiter
Clear White
Detail Enhancer
Edge Enhancer
Skin Naturalizer
Speed Display Preference


Now, thankfully, many of these settings are locked-in as Off, but the point being, you can't fully calibrate your set and then use those settings for IPTV.

Assuming the B series is the same, people will not be able to watch all that 4k content with a calibrated display. How stupid is that???

So, to get back to your original question, I'd save the $ and get the 850a.
Actually you can change the picture settings. Just go into youtube and play a video. While its playing you can change all the picture settings. I found this out by trial and error. Strange that it allows you to do that on youtube but not Netflix.
amughal is offline  
post #827 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by amughal View Post
Actually you can change the picture settings. Just go into youtube and play a video. While its playing you can change all the picture settings. I found this out by trial and error. Strange that it allows you to do that on youtube but not Netflix.
I was trying to do this in the youtube app. You have access to change SOME picture settings, but apparently can't change all. No idea why Sony would limit it like that
Duke02 is online now  
post #828 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
I was trying to do this in the youtube app. You have access to change SOME picture settings, but apparently can't change all. No idea why Sony would limit it like that
Use CRACKLE app (play any selection) and all settings are available.

Lee
LeeSoFl is online now  
post #829 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Use CRACKLE app (play any selection) and all settings are available.

Lee
Just tried it. Not on my set.... Any ideas?
Duke02 is online now  
post #830 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
Not definitively sure what all of your options are, but I think you're going to have to pick up some sort of intermediate component that will output HDMI and Toslink at the same time. I don't think the TV has any sync options over toslink, but I may be wrong

I think the DVDO Edge will do that and controls the A/V Sync in it. it runs around $300 but and is a good processor for managing multiple components but it doesn't upconvert to 4k, so you're TV will still do that. I'm sure there are probably other processors that can do this as well, that's just the only one I knotwabout

Thanks, I paid only $230 for the system new got a good deal, not worth it to buy an extensive component now for it, rather put that towards the new sony 4k players that coming out. Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it. The tv speakers are bad, the audio is low on speech but it really high on action scenes.
phrurx is offline  
post #831 of 1017 Old 07-03-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Videoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls NY.
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I am wondering which is the better tv now the x850a or the x850b? The price difference for me is only $400. I know the x850b does not have triluminos filter, no local dimming but has frame dimming and is only 240 motion flow . Is there any new technology that would make the x850b any better. Thanks.
According to the Sony website, the x850b does have Triluminos.

Ticking away.. the moments that make up a dull day.

Cheers
Bob
Videoz is online now  
post #832 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoz View Post
According to the Sony website, the x850b does have Triluminos.
He meant quantum dot
Mattopotamus is online now  
post #833 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 05:39 AM
Member
 
knlmwq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by knlmwq View Post
Does anyone use a sound bar with this tv? Is it possible to use the sony remote to control the sound bar? I am guessing I can do this if I purchase a sony sound bar with bravia sync (maybe not). But I am wondering if I could use the sony remote if I purchased a vizio sound bar.
No sound bar users?
knlmwq is offline  
post #834 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by knlmwq View Post
No sound bar users?
I do not think you could use a non-sony soundbar with the remote.

If you are looking for a great universal remote that will not cost you a lot, the harmony smart remote is awesome. It is around $120, but is easy to set up (no computer required).
knlmwq likes this.
Mattopotamus is online now  
post #835 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Videoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls NY.
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
He meant quantum dot
Thanks for the clarification

Ticking away.. the moments that make up a dull day.

Cheers
Bob
Videoz is online now  
post #836 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
ayase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so what's up with impulse mode? I've read a few people saying it's an awesome setting, but it greatly dims the picture?
ayase is offline  
post #837 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayase View Post
so what's up with impulse mode? I've read a few people saying it's an awesome setting, but it greatly dims the picture?
Useless IMO. Way too dark. Honestly all of the motion controls are useless to me.
Mattopotamus is online now  
post #838 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
It gives me a headache after a few minutes as it visibly flickers....
Duke02 is online now  
post #839 of 1017 Old 07-04-2014, 04:24 PM
Member
 
ayase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
It gives me a headache after a few minutes as it visibly flickers....

hmm.. I only tried it once today on a bluray but I didn't notice any flickering.
ayase is offline  
post #840 of 1017 Old 07-05-2014, 07:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayase View Post
hmm.. I only tried it once today on a bluray but I didn't notice any flickering.

It's worse on bright scenes. Some people are less sensitive to it I would imagine.
Duke02 is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off