Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 30 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #871 of 877 Old 07-19-2014, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raitzi View Post
What makes you think than normal HDMI switch won't work? I mean it is just routing the signal to the port of your command and not decoding anything.
I'm not certain, but I think everything in the chain has to handshake and requires HDCP protection.
Duke02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #872 of 877 Old 07-19-2014, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I believe only one input on an updated X850A has HDCP 2.2 compatible and only one is HDMI 2.0, correct?
All four are HDMI 2.0 but only one is HDCP 2.2
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #873 of 877 Old 07-19-2014, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
All four are HDMI 2.0 but only one is HDCP 2.2

Good catch. Sorry I missed that before.
Duke02 is offline  
post #874 of 877 Old 07-19-2014, 01:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Raitzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
I'm not certain, but I think everything in the chain has to handshake and requires HDCP protection.
You may be right. Must depend on how switch operates whether it can break the HDCP handshake or not.
Raitzi is online now  
post #875 of 877 Old 07-19-2014, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Well the honeymoon is over to some extent. Two things that I noticed today. First, on gray screens, I noticed a lack of uniformity with a particular 6" bright spot at the top of the screen about 1/3 of the way in from the right. But the really noticeable problem is a significant amount of banding for 3d content. It really manifests itself most with a bright background content (like a bright sky or a white wall) but even my wife noticed which means it's not a case of anal perfectionist. Overall, I still like the TV for its fantastic black level and rich colors but it certainly ain't perfect.
Duke02 is offline  
post #876 of 877 Old 07-20-2014, 01:24 PM
Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I was doing some checking on the forth coming 4K bluray coming early 2015 and apparently they will be using the AVCH-.265 codex. If this is true how will the X850A and X900A be able to use them since they only have the H-.264 codex built in?


I am considering purchasing the 65X850A and with paying a premium I am concerned for the future proof of these TV's. Maybe the X850B makes more sense for connectivity but will loose the deep blacks due to the IPS panel used in this set.


I would appreciate your comments.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #877 of 877 Old 07-20-2014, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
I was doing some checking on the forth coming 4K bluray coming early 2015 and apparently they will be using the AVCH-.265 codex. If this is true how will the X850A and X900A be able to use them since they only have the H-.264 codex built in?


I am considering purchasing the 65X850A and with paying a premium I am concerned for the future proof of these TV's. Maybe the X850B makes more sense for connectivity but will loose the deep blacks due to the IPS panel used in this set.


I would appreciate your comments.

The Blu ray player will decode the h.265 material just like it does now, just with a different codec. You'll most likely need a new Blu ray player but that'll be needed irrespective of what TV you hook it up. The tv won't be doing the decoding.

BTW, this set uses an A-MVA panel. The b uses IPS
Duke02 is offline  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off