Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 37 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1103 Old 12-09-2014, 01:03 PM
Newbie
 
alieti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So looks like Amazon prime is now streaming 4k content. I'm assuming this TV is not compatible with that service. This is really beginning to bum me out. I have the original X1 media player. Really no option for me to do any streaming of conent is there?
alieti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1103 Old 12-09-2014, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Generationz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the noobish questions, but is there a cheaper alternative to 4k streaming besides the FMPX10?

Do I have to buy a 4k blu ray player for blu rays or can my PS4 do that?

Thanks in advance!
Generationz is offline  
post #1083 of 1103 Old 12-09-2014, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
For the last two comments. I don't have a X1 or X10 but my understanding is that the X1 can't stream and that in Canada we can order a X5 for $400 CDN. That's cheaper than the X10 but doesn't give you Sony's 4K Unlimited. I am sitting tight right now and will wait longer to see what shakes out over the next year. I noticed GoPro just released a 4K 30hz video camera recording in MP4 and Sony's consumer 4K camera records in XAVCS both of which the X5 and X10 can handle. I shoot a lot of photos and viewing them in 4K on my 55" was the main reason that I bought this set. I was a little surprised the TV can't play any 4K files but I'm patient. Now if I get a GoPro for Xmas, that changes everything!
baba Louey is offline  
post #1084 of 1103 Old 12-10-2014, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been waiting so long for a 4K set top compatible Netflix and now Amazon Prime player to use with this TV other than the FMP X-10. I hope something comes out by February for House of Cards Season 3.
chillstatus is offline  
post #1085 of 1103 Old 12-10-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
For me, I'm looking forward to a 4K BlueRay player which I hope will have streaming and 4K file playing capabilities. Late 2015 as I understand it. FWIW, I see all major TV manufacturers pushing 4K very aggressively and the pricing is dropping by the week. People argue as to whether 4k is noticeably better than 1080 but when I compare my photos saved in both 1080 and 2160 resolutions,, there is no argument that 4K looks better. And that is even with the 1080 upscaled to 2160.
baba Louey is offline  
post #1086 of 1103 Old 12-29-2014, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ahsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Soooo...been a while since I've been on avsforum. Managed to pick up the 65x850a from BB over the summer but hadn't really hooked up til this weekend (full wall mount and connected to my current AVR which is an Onkyo SR-606 which lacks ARC and HDMI 2.0). Anyway, before I end up splurging on an AVR with ARC and HDMI 2.0, how do I know that indeed the X850A supports HDMI 2.0? I've read that it was going to eventually get a firmware upgrade or something that would make the ports HDMI 2.0 compliant. Has this already happened? I ran the TV's software update program and it said I was already up-to-date. Does this mean I can be confident my display will be compatible with hopefully-soon-to-arrive 4k media players hooked up to my expensive TV via an HDMI 2.0-compliant AVR that I will also have to purchase? How close am I to getting me some 4k from a hardware perspective, content providers aside.

Thanks,

- Ahsan
ahsan is offline  
post #1087 of 1103 Old 12-30-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Check the Sony support site for this tv and it will tell you what all the firmware updates added. It is HDMI 2.0. Buy the X10 or hook your PC up to the tv and you can get real 4k.
baba Louey is offline  
post #1088 of 1103 Old 01-04-2015, 01:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi there, Ive been lurking and reading this page of this site for a couple of weeks now. I recently Bought a KD55x850a and its working great.... except that i downloaded a 2160p mkv file and i am unable to play it. the TV says its unsupported, it has audio but the picture is rainbow squares haha. All other mkv files work great but this one is a 2160p SBS 3d mkv but all my other 3d mkv files works great.... im hoping its a easy fix. i have thought about maybe running that file through the PS4 but that shouldn't matter should it? The TV should be able to play the file format and the resolution.

Thanks
MRDOCA is online now  
post #1089 of 1103 Old 01-04-2015, 06:15 PM
Member
 
fenderu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey all. A local store has a 55xbr 850a for 1,000 as an open box. I currently have a 51" samsung 8500 in my office, but watch a lot of cnbc and have got some burn in on the stock ticker. I'm thinking of grabbing this sony for the office, and putting the samsung in another room. Seems kinda like a no brainer for $1k. Think it's a great deal??
fenderu2 is offline  
post #1090 of 1103 Old 01-05-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I take it noone has a solution for me. I can post a screen shot of the codec and resolution details.

Sent from my SM-G900F
MRDOCA is online now  
post #1091 of 1103 Old 01-12-2015, 06:16 PM
Member
 
spinachpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRDOCA View Post
Hi there, Ive been lurking and reading this page of this site for a couple of weeks now. I recently Bought a KD55x850a and its working great.... except that i downloaded a 2160p mkv file and i am unable to play it. the TV says its unsupported, it has audio but the picture is rainbow squares haha. All other mkv files work great but this one is a 2160p SBS 3d mkv but all my other 3d mkv files works great.... im hoping its a easy fix. i have thought about maybe running that file through the PS4 but that shouldn't matter should it? The TV should be able to play the file format and the resolution.

Thanks
You can't play 4K files from USB on this TV. You have to have the B series. Also, I don't know if 4K 3D file would be supported. Someone else may be able to answer that for you.
spinachpie is offline  
post #1092 of 1103 Old 01-13-2015, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your reply. You are correct and im probably looking at taking it back to the shop as im not overly happy with it and ill get the bseries for a extra $200.

Sent from my SM-G900F
MRDOCA is online now  
post #1093 of 1103 Old 01-16-2015, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Full Pixel

Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
Some additional information:




The reason why I was asking because I was checking the manual and it said that "Full Pixel is available only when the input signal is 1080i/1080P and Wide Mode is set to Full". Now I am not sure why the manual is saying that. Is that how the people have them set upsets are?


Here is how I have my screen setting set up, are they correct?


-Setting Memory-Common input


-Wide Mode - Full


-Auto mode - Off


4:3 default - Off


-Auto Display - Off


-Displayed Area - +1 According to the manual should have the selection for Full Pixel for 1080I/1080P but do not




Thanks.
Does anyone have an answer for this? My 70" 850b is receiving 1080i signal and I have the same screen settings as above, but there is no option for full pixel...only normal, +1 and -1, what do I need to enable in order to have full pixel as an option - thanks
jdash7777 is offline  
post #1094 of 1103 Old 01-17-2015, 11:25 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdash7777 View Post
Does anyone have an answer for this? My 70" 850b is receiving 1080i signal and I have the same screen settings as above, but there is no option for full pixel...only normal, +1 and -1, what do I need to enable in order to have full pixel as an option - thanks
The +1 is the correct selection. Since this a 4K TV you only get the full pixel option when there is a 4K signal. otherwise the +1 is the best setting for upscaled signals.
acermen1212 is online now  
post #1095 of 1103 Old 01-18-2015, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by acermen1212 View Post
The +1 is the correct selection. Since this a 4K TV you only get the full pixel option when there is a 4K signal. otherwise the +1 is the best setting for upscaled signals.

Many thanks for the clarification
jdash7777 is offline  
post #1096 of 1103 Old 01-24-2015, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
App Video Settings

I just started using my netflix app that is built into the tv. It seems like cinemotion is on is there a way to adjust the settings for Apps like you can for inputs? Any help would be appreciated thanks.
mc_carter is offline  
post #1097 of 1103 Old 01-24-2015, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_carter View Post
I just started using my netflix app that is built into the tv. It seems like cinemotion is on is there a way to adjust the settings for Apps like you can for inputs? Any help would be appreciated thanks.
Instead of starting Netflix, load "Crackle" and make your estimated adjustments there. Those settings will carry over to Netflix.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #1098 of 1103 Old 01-24-2015, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Instead of starting Netflix, load "Crackle" and make your estimated adjustments there. Those settings will carry over to Netflix.
Worked perfectly thanks!
mc_carter is offline  
post #1099 of 1103 Old 01-25-2015, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
pretty good artictle in Yahoo comparing 55 inch tv's from 1,200 to 3,200

after calibration, no one could tell the difference. Looks like the Samsung is way way over priced


https://www.yahoo.com/tech/4k-tvs-te...838783644.html
detroit1 is offline  
post #1100 of 1103 Old Today, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey everyone, new member but long time lurker here. I've read most of the thread.

I was in Best Buy today, and they have an open box XBR-55X850A for $799. I would typically not consider an open box item, however the price and features of the XBR-55X850A make it a consideration. This would be my first 4K TV. I understand this model has local dimming which is preferable over edge dimming in newer low-end 4K displays, and that it does not offer Netflix 4K streaming through the TV.

Any opinions? Pull the trigger and take a chance, or get the XBR-55X850B (currently $1799)?

Thanks!
jnp489 is offline  
post #1101 of 1103 Old Today, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sergiohm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
55 is too small for 4k, but if that's the best size for your space go for it!
sergiohm is offline  
post #1102 of 1103 Old Today, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. Our living room is 18x13' and we are sitting 12-13' away from the screen. My current Sony is only 42" which is way small for the room. Should I be looking at going bigger than 55" with a 4K display ? We're looking to move into a larger house within the next year, so I want to buy something we can grow with for a few years. Perhaps out of the scope of this thread now.
jnp489 is offline  
post #1103 of 1103 Old Today, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
RicFlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 36
how is the motion on this TV with fast paced sports like Hockey?

is this 240HZ?
RicFlair is online now  
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off