Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 40 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1190 Old 08-11-2015, 09:25 AM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Squeaky Whee View Post
I've run into the same problem. I have a 4k pass through Yamaha receiver, but only at 4k 30hz.

If I connect Shield to TV and then TV to receiver either via HDMI ARC or optical then I get a 4k picture (beautiful) but 2 channel sound
If I connect Shield to my Receiver, I only get a 1080 picture but 5.1 sound.

There are no settings on the receiver to adjust for 4k quality.

any suggestions?
I was reading some earlier posts in this thread and it says the optical will output 5.1 if it's DD. Have you played Dolby Digital content through Shield and it's still outputting 2.0? I'm in the market for a 4k Netflix box soon, but am afraid of needing to upgrade my receiver as well.
chillstatus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1190 Old 08-11-2015, 11:02 AM
Member
 
The Squeaky Whee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillstatus View Post
I was reading some earlier posts in this thread and it says the optical will output 5.1 if it's DD. Have you played Dolby Digital content through Shield and it's still outputting 2.0? I'm in the market for a 4k Netflix box soon, but am afraid of needing to upgrade my receiver as well.
I haven't seen anything but 2 channel output from my TV to my receiver using the optical out on the XBR. At this point, I accept that I won't get surround sound with my current setup of the XBR850a, the Nvidia Shield and my current Yamaha receiver.

Having said that, for $200 the upgrade to the 4k picture is worth it, and my receiver does a good job at simulated surround sound. I'm pleased and content for now. In time, I may upgrade the receiver to one with true 4k passthrough and then connect the Nvidia to the receiver, as opposed to my current setup of connecting it directly to the Sony TV
The Squeaky Whee is offline  
post #1173 of 1190 Old 08-16-2015, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I haven't been on this thread in a while so I hope someone hasn't already brought this up, but I just got off the phone with DIRECTV, and they now offer 4K programming for anyone with a 4K TV. DIRECTV used to only offer 4K programming if someone had one of the Samsung 4K TVs with built-in RVU technology, but they now offer an external mini receiver, which replaces the regular mini receiver, and it broadcasts 4K content to any make/model 4K TV. It says on their website that the TV must have HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2, but that's every 4K TV.

The bad thing is I bought a Sony 850A when it first came out, and it only has 1 HDMI port that's both HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 so I'm already to the point where I have to unplug one device and plug in another if I want to use a different 4K device. I can't wait for someone to release a switch so I can just plug everything into it and have it running to my 1 HDMI port. The technician is supposed to be out on Tuesday to install it.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
rolldog is online now  
post #1174 of 1190 Old 08-17-2015, 09:22 AM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
I haven't been on this thread in a while so I hope someone hasn't already brought this up, but I just got off the phone with DIRECTV, and they now offer 4K programming for anyone with a 4K TV. DIRECTV used to only offer 4K programming if someone had one of the Samsung 4K TVs with built-in RVU technology, but they now offer an external mini receiver, which replaces the regular mini receiver, and it broadcasts 4K content to any make/model 4K TV. It says on their website that the TV must have HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2, but that's every 4K TV.

The bad thing is I bought a Sony 850A when it first came out, and it only has 1 HDMI port that's both HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 so I'm already to the point where I have to unplug one device and plug in another if I want to use a different 4K device. I can't wait for someone to release a switch so I can just plug everything into it and have it running to my 1 HDMI port. The technician is supposed to be out on Tuesday to install it.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Is there an increased charge for the 4k material (what channels or is it PPV only)?

Please post your review of the service once it gets hooked up!

Marantz 8801 Arcam P1000 Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable ATC SCM 19 V2's (L&R) B&W LCR6 (center and heights) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #1175 of 1190 Old 08-17-2015, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Nope, no additional monthly charge. Once the technician comes out, which will be tomorrow, I'll report back to let you know more details on how it works, what channels I get, etc. I know it's a couple of PPV channels, but there are a couple more channels of regular broadcasting which is all 4K. If I had to guess, ESPN is probably one of them.

The only thing I don't understand about DIRECTV are the receivers. I was asking the lady I was talking to yesterday if I could just exchange one of my mini receivers for this one, and she said no because my monthly fee includes renting the receivers. The mini receivers cost $99. Doesn’t that mean I'm buying it and I own it? It's been my experience that the people who you talk to when you call in don't know anything. It's always best to ask one of the technicians when they come out. She said the only thing I own is my wireless bridge, which streams the DIRECTV signal to my wireless receiver, and I own my Nomad, which allows me to transfer or stream content from my DVR to my phone or tablet, which I've used probably a handful of times. That doesn't cost anything monthly either, just the cost of the box.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
rolldog is online now  
post #1176 of 1190 Old 08-17-2015, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My X850B brethren,

Having some troubles with my 49" so I wanted all your opinions and suggestions before I went to Sony. I originally purchase this TV back in January of this year. Within a month I noticed a dead green pixel appear located on the lower left side of the screen. I didn't give it to much attention because I felt it was an insignificant problem. Months pass by and now I see a dead red pixel on the right middle side of the screen. Also, it appears as thought there is some clouding occurring around the right side as well.

It's been quite some time since I purchased this from Best Buy so it's not like I can go to get a replacement from them. So, what should I do at this point? Should I contact Sony? What kind of solutions would they offer me? Am I screwed?

Thanks for the help yet again, guys. Love this thread.
whatsamatteryou is offline  
post #1177 of 1190 Old 08-17-2015, 03:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry, please disregard my post above. Moving to proper thread.

Mods, please delete if possible. Thanks.
whatsamatteryou is offline  
post #1178 of 1190 Old 08-19-2015, 12:15 PM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Firmware Update yesterday:

Sony has designed the BRAVIA® Televisions software update process to be customer friendly. This software update (version PKG4.550AAA) provides the following benefits:

Improvements over version PKG4.540AAA:
  • Improves the YouTube™ Cast function

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG4.550AAA:
  • Improves general performance of the TV
  • Improves performance and stability of the Internet TV features
  • Improves video and audio playback performance
  • Enables Transport Layer Security 1.0 (TLS1.0) to enhance security of Internet applications
  • Improves reliability to the Secure Sockets Layer 3.0 (SSL3.0)
  • Improves performance and stability of your TV
  • Improves the login function for the Skype® online calling service
  • Improves stability of the Screen Mirroring function
  • Provides HDMI® 2.0 compatibility (Applies to 4K models only)
  • Supports 4K 60p (3840X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit, 4096X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit)
  • Improves stability of the sound output with a Blu-ray Disc™ player using an HDMI connection
rsonnens likes this.
chillstatus is offline  
post #1179 of 1190 Old 10-08-2015, 08:49 PM
Member
 
mario315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillstatus View Post
Firmware Update yesterday:

Sony has designed the BRAVIA® Televisions software update process to be customer friendly. This software update (version PKG4.550AAA) provides the following benefits:

Improvements over version PKG4.540AAA:
  • Improves the YouTube™ Cast function

Benefits provided by previous updates and included in version PKG4.550AAA:
  • Improves general performance of the TV
  • Improves performance and stability of the Internet TV features
  • Improves video and audio playback performance
  • Enables Transport Layer Security 1.0 (TLS1.0) to enhance security of Internet applications
  • Improves reliability to the Secure Sockets Layer 3.0 (SSL3.0)
  • Improves performance and stability of your TV
  • Improves the login function for the Skype® online calling service
  • Improves stability of the Screen Mirroring function
  • Provides HDMI® 2.0 compatibility (Applies to 4K models only)
  • Supports 4K 60p (3840X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit, 4096X2160p (59.94/60Hz) YCbCr 4:2:0 8bit)
  • Improves stability of the sound output with a Blu-ray Disc™ player using an HDMI connection
Will the new 4K ROKU 4 be able to allow access to Netflix 4K on this SONY TV model ???
mario315 is offline  
post #1180 of 1190 Old 10-08-2015, 09:36 PM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mario315 View Post
Will the new 4K ROKU 4 be able to allow access to Netflix 4K on this SONY TV model ???
Yes I believe so. I have the new Fire TV and 4K netflix works on it.
chillstatus is offline  
post #1181 of 1190 Old 10-08-2015, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
I haven't been on this thread in a while so I hope someone hasn't already brought this up, but I just got off the phone with DIRECTV, and they now offer 4K programming for anyone with a 4K TV. DIRECTV used to only offer 4K programming if someone had one of the Samsung 4K TVs with built-in RVU technology, but they now offer an external mini receiver, which replaces the regular mini receiver, and it broadcasts 4K content to any make/model 4K TV. It says on their website that the TV must have HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2, but that's every 4K TV.

The bad thing is I bought a Sony 850A when it first came out, and it only has 1 HDMI port that's both HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2 so I'm already to the point where I have to unplug one device and plug in another if I want to use a different 4K device. I can't wait for someone to release a switch so I can just plug everything into it and have it running to my 1 HDMI port. The technician is supposed to be out on Tuesday to install it.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
I came across this today on the 900A thread.
http://www.amazon.com/Panlong-3-Port...ywords=Panlong 3-Port HDMI 2.0&tag=viglink20246-20
rockaway1836 is online now  
post #1182 of 1190 Old 10-17-2015, 05:40 PM
Member
 
admranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Nevermind...AustinJerry answered my question via PM.

Marantz 8801 Arcam P1000 Oppo 95 SystemDek IIX turntable ATC SCM 19 V2's (L&R) B&W LCR6 (center and heights) B&W in ceiling surround speakers Velodyne SPL-10 Subs (2) Sony xbr65x850a
admranger is offline  
post #1183 of 1190 Old 11-12-2015, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all!

NEED HELP

i have a XBR-65X850A and im trying to play 4k netflix content but is not allowing me to see the UHD content in netflix

i have:

-the netflix plan with netflix to uhd
-i have a 4k pass through receiver
-tv firmware is updated
-nvidia shield tv firmware is updated
-i have nvidia shield set to 4k 30hz
-when i press display on sony tv controller, it shows me at 4k resolution
- i know our model isnt on the official 4k netflix supported list (is this why it doesnt work?, ive seen here people say it does though...)
-i updated receivers firmware just in case
-i have hdmi from receiver going into tv at hdmi input 4


i cant think of anything else... cant see any UHD content on netflix still... even on the tv's app netflix.. but nvidia shields doesn't work neither
frostyjaws is offline  
post #1184 of 1190 Old 11-12-2015, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
also when im in invidia shield it shows 4k resolution but when i go to netflix in nvidia shield it shows 1080 as well as netflix app on tv applications it shows 1080
frostyjaws is offline  
post #1185 of 1190 Old 11-23-2015, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
scpanel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: El Sobrante
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 22
im just starting to get into this 4k and am having a similar problem with my OPPO 103D and Sony 4K. I can get them to sync at 4k if I force the Oppo so I know that its really a 4K path, yet when I try Utube or NFLX 4K, it doe not look 4K.

When I left the resolution on Auto on the OPPO, it reported 1080, so still not getting the 4K content and not sure why, unless the Oppo is the issue. I have the Foundation bypassed and am looking at trade in options for that this week.
scpanel is offline  
post #1186 of 1190 Old 11-23-2015, 04:39 PM
Member
 
chillstatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostyjaws View Post
also when im in invidia shield it shows 4k resolution but when i go to netflix in nvidia shield it shows 1080 as well as netflix app on tv applications it shows 1080
The built in TV Netflix app doesn't support 4K. I'm only able to get 4K by using HDMI port 4 with the new Amazon Fire TV. Connection looks like this:

TV -> Denon AVR-X1200W (via HDMI 4) -> Amazon Fire TV

Your receiver may have 4K passthrough, but does it support HDCP 2.2?
chillstatus is offline  
post #1187 of 1190 Old 12-18-2015, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
No power; no LED lite - HELP

I bought my XBR55X850A 19 months ago. On Black Friday I sat down to enjoy some gaming time while wife was shopping. Turned TV ON. It stayed on for about 20 seconds and clicked off. For those of you that have this TV, it was the normal "click" you hear when the TV is turned off and on. At 1st I thought I had inadvertently hit the power button on the remote. Tried turning it back on - nothing. Dead. It's as if there is no power AT ALL. the LED lite at the bottom of the screen bezel is black - nothing. I checked around and people have been saying power boards are shot (maybe main board). I went to ShopJimmy and ordered the aps353 and aps352 power boards. Nothing - same problem. Now I'm onto main boar do, but I can't figure out how to disconnect the 2 large ribbon cables from the board. The small ribbon cable has a plastic shows that flips up to release the cable. The larger 2 cables do not have the shroud. I don't want to pry on the thing for fear of ruining the cables or the connector. But unless I can disconnect them, I can't replace the board. Question 1 - am I on the right track? I don't want to invest another $125 into this thing if the main board is not the problem. Question 2 - does anyone know how to disconnect the 2 large ribbon cables from the main board? I greatly appreciate the help!
Zelie is offline  
post #1188 of 1190 Old 12-19-2015, 03:52 PM
Member
 
steve1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI 4k 2 to 1 Switch / Splitter

Has anyone come up with a HDMI 4k 2 to 1 Switch / Splitter that works well with these first edition 4k XBRs since they only have one HDMI in that is capable for the 4k ?
I have the Sony BDP-S790 4k/3D BluRay player and I am adding the Roku 4 and need a 2 in to one out hopefully one that can auto detect rather than a manual switch but open to the manual as long as the signals work well and I can get by not having to unplug the two devices to use the HDMI 4k input on the TV.
steve1a is offline  
post #1189 of 1190 Old 01-05-2016, 01:26 AM
Member
 
andrewjamesdean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Which HDMI port is the 4K enabled one?
andrewjamesdean is offline  
post #1190 of 1190 Old 01-05-2016, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Ace of Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HDMI input 4 is the one with HDCP 2.2.

Sometimes I think my brain has a mind of its own.
Ace of Space is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off