Official Sony XBR-55X850A / XBR-65X850A Owner's Thread - Page 41 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1229 Old 04-25-2016, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Well, after being part of this thread from the beginning and whining and complaining with everyone else about this set not being able to play internal apps in UHD format, and everyone waiting for Amazon, M-Go, etc being added to the FMP-X10, which never happened. I can proudly say my new set, upgrading from the 850A, is being setup this Saturday. However, since HDMI 2.0 & HDCP 2.2 finally incorporated into receivers, we don't have to fight over what component we're going to plug in next.

As a true early adopter of 4K, I can honestly say this thread has had more volatility than most, but I'm still keeping this set, just moving it to the bedroom for now. Thank God technology has grown from what it was. I'm happy to say that I'll probably be the last one who posts in this thread.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
rolldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1229 Old 04-25-2016, 06:06 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
So what did you end up getting? Does it have HDMI 2.1?
boe is online now  
post #1203 of 1229 Old 04-27-2016, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I was dead set on an LG OLED set, but I thought I would give OLED a little more time to mature where more than one manufacturer would be making these panels, so, I decided to buy the new Vizio P75-c1. I'm a little anxious since I haven't been able to find anyone with a model on display, so I'm buying it without ever even seeing it in person.

I've been following both threads, for the Vizio and the LG, and I must say just listening to others who have this set, some who bought it to replace their 2015 LG OLED set, I think this is the set to get the most bang for your buck. The Vizio is UHD, HDR (currently supports Dolby Vision with HDR10 coming soon via firmware update), Wide Color Gamut, 128 zones of local dimming, etc, this set can produce black levels as low as OLED and it's only a portion of the price of OLED. Not to mention, that's comparing it to a 65" OLED. The Vizio is a 75" and the only other OLED close to this size is $25,000. I bought this Vizio for $3700.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
rolldog is offline  
post #1204 of 1229 Old 09-02-2016, 10:04 AM
Newbie
 
nluna75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the exact same set i'm getting. How do you like it so far?
nluna75 is offline  
post #1205 of 1229 Old 09-13-2016, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
VincentB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. Just purchased a Xbox One S to use as a uhd player on my XBR55X850A. Main screen is indeed in 4K but when I try to play a uhd movie, comes back to 1080p. Xbox says my tv can't play 4K in 10 bit color. I have a Samsung 4k cablebox and it plays 4k movies nicely. So what gives? Does anyone have any ideas on what's going on?
VincentB is offline  
post #1206 of 1229 Old 09-13-2016, 08:39 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I could be wrong but I think only one of our hdmi ports will handle any 4K.
boe is online now  
post #1207 of 1229 Old 09-13-2016, 08:49 PM
Newbie
 
VincentB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
I could be wrong but I think only one of our hdmi ports will handle any 4K.
You're right! It's HDMI4 and it works. Thank you very much Boe!
VincentB is offline  
post #1208 of 1229 Old 10-06-2016, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
ahsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Early adopter who has never had the privilege of watching 4k on this set LOL. Will the new Chromecast Ultra finally make this a proper 4k set for me? I just want to watch some Netflix content in 4k.

I've got this set in my smallish home theater getting served up content mostly from an old Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver via HDMI1. I am curious if I can simply plug in the upcoming Chromecast Ultra into my HDMI4/HDCP (4k) port and use my optical out from the TV set to get sound out of my home theater. Currently I only use the optical out for the native smart apps (really just Netflix) but as these are not 4K, I have mostly been using my Apple TV for Netflix as well. I hope there is no technological hurdle (compatibility issues) between the new Chromecast Ultra and the 65X850A.

- Ahsan

Last edited by ahsan; 10-06-2016 at 11:43 AM.
ahsan is offline  
post #1209 of 1229 Old 10-12-2016, 06:58 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Has anyone actually bought a 4K bluray player and connected it to their 850a?
boe is online now  
post #1210 of 1229 Old 10-12-2016, 11:18 PM
Newbie
 
dknigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahsan View Post
Early adopter who has never had the privilege of watching 4k on this set LOL. Will the new Chromecast Ultra finally make this a proper 4k set for me? I just want to watch some Netflix content in 4k.
You definitely should be able to, I've run 4k on my HDMI4 from the PC with no issues.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahsan View Post
I am curious if I can simply plug in the upcoming Chromecast Ultra into my HDMI4/HDCP (4k) port and use my optical out from the TV set to get sound out of my home theater.
I'm pretty sure HDMI passthrough to optical is 2.0 only, you only get 5.1 optical from native TV and apps.
dknigs is offline  
post #1211 of 1229 Old 10-13-2016, 04:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Figarou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Has anyone actually bought a 4K bluray player and connected it to their 850a?
Yes.

I bought the Panasonic DMP-UB900 for my XBR-75Z9D. It automatically made the proper adjustments for that set. Tried it on the 850A using HDMI input 4, popped in a UHD Blu ray and it works.
boe likes this.
Figarou is online now  
post #1212 of 1229 Old 10-13-2016, 07:16 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Thanks
boe is online now  
post #1213 of 1229 Old 10-20-2016, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ace of Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Figarou View Post
Yes.

I bought the Panasonic DMP-UB900 for my XBR-75Z9D. It automatically made the proper adjustments for that set. Tried it on the 850A using HDMI input 4, popped in a UHD Blu ray and it works.
How does an UHD Blu ray look on the 850A? I have the 65 inch version and I'm thinking of getting the new Oppo 203 when it comes out. No HDR on the TV, but I'm hoping it will at least look better than a regular 1080p Blu ray. Comments?

Sometimes I think my brain has a mind of its own.
Ace of Space is online now  
post #1214 of 1229 Old 10-20-2016, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Figarou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace of Space View Post
How does an UHD Blu ray look on the 850A? I have the 65 inch version and I'm thinking of getting the new Oppo 203 when it comes out. No HDR on the TV, but I'm hoping it will at least look better than a regular 1080p Blu ray. Comments?
I was impressed that the Panasonic DMP-UB900 was able to play UHDs on the 850A. Just make sure you run the quick setup so it can detect the type of HDTV you have.

The picture, to me, seems a little bit better than regular blu-ray. But I didn't buy the Panasonic DMP-UB900 for the 850A. Only plugged it in to see if it works. I'm spoiled with the Z9D.

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Emotiva XPA 7 Gen 3
OPPO BDP-103D
Panasonic DMP-UB900
Klipsch RF-7II (X6), RC-64II, RB-75 (X4) RW-12 (X2)
Figarou is online now  
post #1215 of 1229 Old 10-20-2016, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ace of Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks for the feedback. Looks like I'll have to wait a few years until I'm able to afford a new TV.

Sometimes I think my brain has a mind of its own.
Ace of Space is online now  
post #1216 of 1229 Old 10-21-2016, 11:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Figarou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace of Space View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Looks like I'll have to wait a few years until I'm able to afford a new TV.

There's some info you need to read at this post. <---link


Since I'm posting in the 850A thread, there's a firmware update for this model.

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Emotiva XPA 7 Gen 3
OPPO BDP-103D
Panasonic DMP-UB900
Klipsch RF-7II (X6), RC-64II, RB-75 (X4) RW-12 (X2)
Figarou is online now  
post #1217 of 1229 Old 10-23-2016, 01:06 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Figarou View Post

Since I'm posting in the 850A thread, there's a firmware update for this model.

I just got the firmware update installed. I'm not sure if it has always been this way but when I turn on my TV if it is set for HDMI 4 the SEN entertainment menu pops up. I really don't want that to happen. Is there a way to disable that? This is only the case if the Sony FMP X1 has power.


I got this as a response from Sony -
Home>>Settings>>External Inputs] →[BRAVIA Sync Settings]>>OFF


I can't find external inputs or Bravia Sync settings.

Last edited by boe; 10-23-2016 at 05:58 PM.
boe is online now  
post #1218 of 1229 Old 10-23-2016, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Figarou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
I just got the firmware update installed. I'm not sure if it has always been this way but when I turn on my TV if it is set for HDMI 4 the SEN entertainment menu pops up. I really don't want that to happen. Is there a way to disable that? This is only the case if the Sony FMP X1 has power.


I got this as a response from Sony -
Home>>Settings>>External Inputs] →[BRAVIA Sync Settings]>>OFF


I can't find external inputs or Bravia Sync settings.

Go to Settings

Then go to Channels & Input located between Preferences and Network. Scroll down and you'll see BRAVIA Sync Settings

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Denon AVR-X7200WA
Emotiva XPA 7 Gen 3
OPPO BDP-103D
Panasonic DMP-UB900
Klipsch RF-7II (X6), RC-64II, RB-75 (X4) RW-12 (X2)

Last edited by Figarou; 10-23-2016 at 07:34 PM.
Figarou is online now  
post #1219 of 1229 Old 10-23-2016, 08:32 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Thank you very much! I turned them off and unfortunately the menu still comes up if I have something plugged into HDMI-4.
boe is online now  
post #1220 of 1229 Old 10-24-2016, 04:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Figarou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
Thank you very much! I turned them off and unfortunately the menu still comes up if I have something plugged into HDMI-4.
Bravia sync is not limited to Sony products. My Panasonic UHD player can communicate with the Sony Z9D.I press play on the Panny and the Sony automatically switches input. Maybe the Oppo can do the same with the 850A. Thing is, you'll need an HDMI switch hooked up to the HDMI port #4 if you plan on having more than one product utilizing that port. Or a receiver that can take 4K HDCP 2.2
Figarou is online now  
post #1221 of 1229 Old 10-24-2016, 06:05 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I do have a new prepro that can take advantage of the hdmi 4 so I'm good there. I guess I'll reset my TV to factory defaults to see if that helps. I was hoping to avoid this since I had spent an hour tweaking it.
boe is online now  
post #1222 of 1229 Old 10-27-2016, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Long time lurker first time poster. I am buying a new home in a few weeks and the owner is leaving his 65 inch 850a. With only HDMI 4 being 2.2 compliant I was thinking that I would buy an AV receiver that was compliant, plug everything into it and then one cable out to HDMI4. But with the ARC on HDMI 1 how would I get the sound from the internal apps back to receiver? If I use the optical out I am reading that I will lose surround sound on these apps. Why didn't Sony put the ARC on the 2.2 compliant HDMI4.

Anyway I have Hopper 3 4K (I know no content yet), planning on a OPPO 203 and a Roku 4K. How would you guys set this up so that I can get the most out of the TV?

Thank you
Jecopp is offline  
post #1223 of 1229 Old 10-27-2016, 12:27 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I'd probably get a denon receiver - connect everything into the receiver - cable box, oppo, Roku and have it be the default sound for everything. Have video/monitor out to HDMI 4 on the TV.
boe is online now  
post #1224 of 1229 Old 10-27-2016, 12:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe View Post
I'd probably get a denon receiver - connect everything into the receiver - cable box, oppo, Roku and have it be the default sound for everything. Have video/monitor out to HDMI 4 on the TV.
Thanks boe thats what I thought. Im still puzzled on how to get the best sound from the internal apps on the tv back out to the receiver. I have not seen the back panel of the TV yet.
Jecopp is offline  
post #1225 of 1229 Old 10-27-2016, 02:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ace of Space's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have the 65 inch 850A. On the back of the TV there is an optical out port. I run an optical cable from the TV to one of my optical in ports on my Yamaha RX-A1010 receiver.. I get 5.1 sound from the WWE app on the TV and I'm pretty sure from YouTube as well. There may be a setting in the TV's menu that has to be set up too. In the sound menu I think you need to set the speakers to Audio System instead of TV Speakers. Just guessing from memory here, but I think this should work for sending the TV's app sounds to the receiver and getting 5.1 sound. Hope this helps.

Sometimes I think my brain has a mind of its own.
Ace of Space is online now  
post #1226 of 1229 Old 10-27-2016, 02:39 PM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
The best you can do is optical. For the most part if you can use those same apps from the Roku or Shield or Oppo instead of the TV you'll get the best sound. I understand not all of them may be on the Roku or Oppo but ones you can you should use them. The Shield is pretty flexible and I think a new model is about to be released - this is from what I've read - I don't have one.
boe is online now  
post #1227 of 1229 Old 11-29-2016, 09:35 AM
Member
 
bavboym3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys I haven't been on here forever. My TV has done a lot of updates, and im wandering id some has the best/latest calibration for it? Its the 65" XBR

Also. I have the new 4k Xbox one, and the Xbox says it wont let it do 4k cause of the Motion rate. Is there an update or fix to make that work,.

Thanks guys!

TV: XBR-65X850A
Receiver: AVR-891
Subwoofer: Sunfire HRS-10
Towers: PSB T6's
Center: PSB C5
Surrounds: BA Satellite Speakers
bavboym3 is online now  
post #1228 of 1229 Old Today, 08:00 AM
Member
 
bavboym3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anyone still have this TV?

TV: XBR-65X850A
Receiver: AVR-891
Subwoofer: Sunfire HRS-10
Towers: PSB T6's
Center: PSB C5
Surrounds: BA Satellite Speakers
bavboym3 is online now  
post #1229 of 1229 Old Today, 11:17 AM
boe
AVS Special Member
 
boe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,635
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 342
I still do - use it every day. I don't have an xbox or an oppo 203.
boe is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
kd-55x8504a , kd-65x8504a , Sony , Sony Xbr55x850a 55 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led , Sony Xbr65x850a 65 Inch 4k Ultra Hd 3d Led
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off